Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Moon Duster Maxi

Casual and cool cable knit button-front maxi dress. Long sleeves. Can be worn as either a dress or a maxi cardigan. *60% Cotton, 40% Polyester *Machine Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 55" Bust: 28 " Waist: 27" Sleeve Length: 26"
overall average rating:
4.885 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Customer Reviews for Moon Duster Maxi
Review 1 for Moon Duster Maxi
Name:
Location:Sydney
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Moon Duster Must have
6.13.2012
"Great dress for winter , nice and soft , dress it up with boots or wear as a long cardigan"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Moon Duster Maxi
Name:
Location:Buffalo, NY
age:36-40
body type:slender
Wow!
5.6.2012
"I use as an accent sweater. This piece is an awesome accent when left open and paired with coordinating crop pants, light weight top and long flowing scarf draping from the neck paired up with wedged foot wear. A cross body bag and get ready to turn heads because you are something to look at. Love this piece it is a must have! I'm 5'6 If you are much shorter... you may have an issue with it touching the ground. Runs true to size."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Moon Duster Maxi
Name:
Location:Toronto, ON
age:26-30
body type:curvy
perfect-- but not for me.
5.1.2012
"I was so excited to get this in! i ordered it online and got it in today....unfortunately it went back today as well.
For reference I am 5'6", size 10 and i ordered a size L# The dress/cardi was kind of loose but my biggest issue with it was just that the color didn't go well with my skin tone# It is exactly as pictured, but when i had it on it washed me out# It didn't flatter my body and you could see every bump and curve-- plus it fell weirdly over my bum and was semi-sheer#
i STILL gave this 5 stars because it is beautiful, soft and just as pictured# I wasn't going to deduct marks just because my body didn't suit it# If the black was still in stock I think that would have been more flattering for me# I shall use my refund to buy myself something else FP=)
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Moon Duster Maxi
Name:
Location:Boston
age:over 45
body type:petite
Perfect
4.19.2012
"Love this dress! It's comfortable, looks great on, and can be worn as a sweater or dress. I want another one!!!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Moon Duster Maxi
Name:
Location:northern colorado
age:over 45
body type:pear shaped
Perfect dress!
3.14.2012
"I bought both available colors (Tea and Mocha) and plan to wear them to death this spring/summer. Perfect over a silk slip, or under a maxi skirt, I love the long sleeves and lightweight fabric. Belted or not, the seamed fit is flattering and hangs without clinging, in all of the right places. Don't pass this one by."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Vintage Tie Dye Slip Dress
 
 
 
 
 
Review 6 for Moon Duster Maxi
Name:
Location:Alabama
age:21-25
body type:athletic
<3 <3 <3
2.28.2012
"LOVE this duster!! I saw a girl wearing it in the FP store and had her order it from another store in the tea, chocolate and black. So versatile, not too long-I'm 5'5" and it came well above the floor. The quality is great and it fits true to size. If your arms are a little larger you may want to size up though, as it is a little snug in that area."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Moon Duster Maxi
Name:
Location:Dallas, TX
age:21-25
body type:slender
beautiful dress
2.8.2012
"got this dress in black in the stores, and it fits so well. I normally don't wear it as a cardigan - just on its own, and the fit is very incredible - form-fitting around the top, and sweeping at the bottom. I'm 5'3, almost 5'4, and this goes right below my ankles. It's the perfect length without needing to be hemmed."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Moon Duster Maxi
Name:
Location:NYC
age:26-30
body type:slender
It's perfect.
2.3.2012
"Love this, I got the black one and it's great quality and very versatile."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Moon Duster Maxi
Name:
Location:Philadelphia
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
A little big
1.28.2012
"I must admit that this was a first time purchase at Free People. I was looking for a maxi cardigan to go over an Anthropologie dress and I chose this one in tea color. It is bit beige and larger than I thought it might be considering the reviews but that may be due to my lack of familiarity witth the free people sizing. It is thin and if I were to wear it alone it would need a full slip to the floor. It looks great open over my floor length chemise though. I am sad that it is so roomy. I am 5'7" and 117 lbs. I wear a full 32c and thought I would need the size small. I am still toying with exchanging for an xs but for the fact that I am loathe to send it back and wait for the new one to get here."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Moon Duster Maxi
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Soft Light Dress
1.15.2012
"Firstoff...my first thought when trying this on was "yes! I dont have to have this hemmed!". I am 5'6" and this lies right above my feet. The material is a kind of ligh tpointelle a bit sheer but not too bad...very soft. I plan to wear mine with a tank underneath as even though I sized up to a Large from my regular S?M the bust area is a bit too snug for my liking but I think that the tank will work fine. Bonus is looks great as a cardi too."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Moon Duster Maxi
Name:
Location:Minneapolis
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Perfect length, cut and fit.
1.9.2012
"This dress is cut to make your waist look small and give you nice curves. This dress comes right at my ankles and it's a perfect length for me at a size 6 5'5" tall. The top buttons gap, that that's my breast size, not the dress. It's a bit more sheer than I had expected. It has a very nice "weave" or knitted pattern. Overall this is a perfect dress to have. One can wear it as a dress or as a duster. Wish it came in more colors!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Moon Duster Maxi
Name:
Location:Western USA
age:41-45
body type:athletic
For Winter and beyond...
1.6.2012
"I sized up like one of the other reviewers who reported her build as being similar to mine (5'8", approx: 35x27x36). I usually wear a size small but I prefer this one in a medium--fits gals with our measurements like the model wearing the cocoa. I bought the black and it is great for winter under the Travelin' Rodeo Plaid Dress with boots, scarf, beanie and any FP pocket hip belt. Also works as a maxi cardigan; a little heavier and longer than the FP BEACH Ribbed Up Maxi and not marled, and a comfy, breathable choice for layering. Feminine without being frilly."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Serbian Fur Beanie
4 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 13 for Moon Duster Maxi
Name:
Location:New York
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Pleasantly surprised
12.25.2011
"When I pulled this out of the package it kind of looked like a brown sack, so I was a bit wary before trying it on. What a difference when it's on the body! The way this has the two seams in the front is very flattering to my figure. The entire fit is very slimming to my natural waistline. It is a bit sheer so you'll need a slip or leggings/tights underneath, but I think it is definitely worth trying out. It is kind of a medium weight so it will be versatile come warmer weather as well.
The sleeves are a little bit tight on me in my usual size small, but I think due to the knit they will stretch with more wear. Also, on my 5'6" frame it isn't too long! I always find FP maxi dresses to be 2-3" too long. This hits right at the top of my foot in the front, so it's perfect. It is a really remarkable dress!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
The Hills Are Alive Slip
4.4 out of 5(25)
 
 
 
Turquoise Warrior Necklace
5 out of 5(2)
 
 
 
Colorblock Cardigan
4 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 14 for Moon Duster Maxi
Name:
Location:Russia
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Wonderful dress!
12.17.2011
"I've purchased this dress in black,S, and it's so beautiful! I'm 5'7'' and it barely touches my ankles.
A little bit transperent, though.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Moon Duster Maxi
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
thin soft material
12.12.2011
"And runs true to size. Just as pictured. Not an incredibly warm winter piece. This will definitely carry you into spring though."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Moon Duster Maxi
Name:
Location:california
age:21-25
body type:slender
Wonderfully flattering!
11.18.2011
"I bought this in a size Small, in Black...and I absolutely love it!! It is so flattering and just looks casually elegant. I'm about 5'2 and the hem barely touches the floor with no shoes. I've only worn it as a dress, not open as a cardigan, but I'm sure it's just as nice open. It is a little bit sheer under certain lighting (especially flash pictures in a dark room), so i advise wearing some sort of slip. I like to unbutton the bottom portion like the model to make it a tad sexier."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Moon Duster Maxi
Name:
Location:PNW
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Perfect!
11.16.2011
"I got this dress in a size M (Black) and it fits me perfectly. There was also no gaping at the button placket when it's all buttoned up at the chest. I am 5'1, 34C with broad shouldered and this dress gave the illusion of a slimmer and longer torso (as I have a short torso). Moreover, it can be worn as a long cardigan over shorts + tights + boots or by itself with a maxi slip as it is a bit on the sheer side. I don't need to hem this dress as it falls exactly at my ankles. Would really look good with Jeffrey Campbell Lita platforms and some silver cuff bangles. I'll definitely buy another one as I can see myself wearing this dress frequently."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Ana's Mitered Maxi
4.4 out of 5(7)
 
 
 
Armor Cuff
 
 
 
Arrow Feather Hair Clip
4.3 out of 5(4)
 
 
 
Swift Uneven Scarf
4.8 out of 5(5)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 18 for Moon Duster Maxi
Name:
Location:Austin, TX
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
I love this dress!
11.15.2011
"I bought this in-store in the tea color (which, by the way, is not as white as the pics online make it look - it's a little bit more on the beige side). I've had my eye on the black version of this dress for a while, but I already own the black Miles of Henley dress, which is rather similar, so I tried it on in tea and fell in love! It's very flattering, not too long (I'm 5'4" and it skims the floor without shoes), and GREAT for layering! I am all about the layers :D I just couldn't wait for it to go on sale, and I'm so glad I got it!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Moon Duster Maxi
Name:
Location:Georgia
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
GO-TO dress for fall/winter
11.8.2011
"I LOVE this piece! A great addition to my wardrobe! I ordered it in cocoa, size M, my normal size for my 36-29-39", 5'6" body. It is very flattering and versatile. Wear it open, closed, or somewhere in between, layered over other FP dresses, with leggings or jeans. I love that I can open up the bottom buttons to show off my tall boots. Love the inset/saw seam details in the back. Great soft material. Thick enough to be worn alone with a light slip, or layered for cooler temperatures. This will be a staple piece of my wardrobe. WELL DONE! Great with the 'move west maxi' and 'sundial' dresses, paired with the cara pocket hip belt, and any great pair of boots."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Move West Maxi Dress
4.5 out of 5(33)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 20 for Moon Duster Maxi
Name:
Location:California
age:14-20
body type:athletic
Lovely
11.8.2011
"I'm 5'4 118 lbs and the size small fits perfectly. It's just the right length and loose enough to wear buttoned or opened."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>