Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

FP ONE Patchwork Maxi

All over printed patchwork maxi skirt with elastic waist. Patchwork edges are raw edge and lightly frayed. FP One is a collection made with love from India. The collection has been curated from the fine details that India has to offer; embroideries, prints, embellishments, rich colors and fine gauze fabrics. The collection brings a modern twist to old world techniques and creates a line that has a cultured feel with special attention to detail.
overall average rating:
3.696 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Customer Reviews for FP ONE Patchwork Maxi
Review 1 for FP ONE Patchwork Maxi
Name:
Location:CA
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Perfection.
4.6.2014
" This skirt is perfect. Nothing to complain about, I am simply IN LOVE! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 2 for FP ONE Patchwork Maxi
Name:
Location:Fort Lauderdale, Fl
age:31-35
body type:petite
Magical comfort
9.12.2013
" I love the print and frayed hems. I got it in Medium and it is super comfortable! A very magical skirt <3 "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for FP ONE Patchwork Maxi
Name:
Location:Melbourne, Australia
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Disappointed
8.1.2013
" I was really excited when I ordered this skirt as it looks beautiful online but was really disappointed when it arrived as it wasnt what I was expecting. the light blue at the front of the skirt was much shorter than the rest of skirt, which I intended to edge myself, but wouldnt have been able to cause the skirt would have then been too short for me. Unfortunately I will be returning this. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for FP ONE Patchwork Maxi
Name:
Location:NY
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
its just ok
8.1.2013
" got this skirt and now i honestly dont get why everyone was raving abt it. colors are pretty, size is fine, took a size down from my usual-it fits but i think my usual size would fit as well. its looks like scrunchy scarf more than a bottom wear. not as flowy as i expected. the lengh is fine only if i keep it down on my hips rather than my waist. im 5.9 4 reference. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for FP ONE Patchwork Maxi
Name:
Location:Australia
age:21-25
body type:athletic
not great quality
7.26.2013
" LOVE this skirt
but I have only worn it twice and haven't even washed it and it was already started to fall apart, might not even be able to fix it. so disappointed, I really did love this skirt :(
"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for FP ONE Patchwork Maxi
Name:
Location:Upstate NY brrrr.
age:over 45
body type:slender
runs large and falls apart
7.10.2013
" I do love the idea of this skirt but geez...I'm going to have to alter it immensely! It's way too big (I got the small-I'm 5'3" and weigh 116) It's too long and about 3 inches too big in the waist-I trip over it constantly! I've washed it twice in cold water and it has faded and frayed badly....I know I'll have to be sewing on this one! This is way too expensive to have to be doing so many alterations and worrying about fading etc. Come on
FP, please keep it classy.
"
Response from Free People:By Free Peopleweb7.12.2013
Hi, We're so sorry to hear this. Our team will be in touch! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for FP ONE Patchwork Maxi
Name:
Location:Cornwall, UK
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Patchwork maxi
7.1.2013
" I like that the colours in this skirt are more muted like the studio shots_from a personal point of view the softer colours suit me better. I also like the length-ankle length on me at over 6 feet-though because the waist is elasticated, and a little big I can pull it down a bit to be floor length-I am a little concerned that I have just read it shrank quite considerably for one customer when she washed it-I haven't washed mine yet and am praying it doesn't do the same as it would then, I feel. be too short. All in all I really do like this skirt, the fabric is quite heavy and drapes well and it is versatile enough to be worn with lots of different tops, just worried now about the shrinkage issue!! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for FP ONE Patchwork Maxi
Name:
Location:virginia
age:14-20
body type:slender
runs large
6.19.2013
" i thought i would be a small but i was swimming in it! i exchanged for an xs which is still big but it stays up better than the small. the colors are really nice and i get tons of compliments whenever i wear it. overall, great skirt but size down! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for FP ONE Patchwork Maxi
Name:
Location:NC
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Beautiful...but design is slightly flawed
6.5.2013
" Let me start off by saying this skirt is absolutely BEAUTIFUL! It's totally versatile and easy to style. I've worn it to a birthday party, to the beach as a cover up, and to a concert. I was in love when I tried it on.
It runs large, in my opinion. I normally wear a M or L in fp, but I got this skirt in a S and it's still a little bit loose around my waist. Granted, I am hourglass and have a smaller waist, but it's still big.
The dress is very long - at first. There was no way I could wear this dress at my hips (I'm 5'6), not that I would want to. It's much cuter high-waisted in my opinion. But, I have machine-washed it about three times and it shortens each time. Because the bottom of the skirt is not hemmed, it unravels a little each time. At purchase, the skirt grazed the ground when sitting at my waist. Now, it's about 4 inches off the ground when sitting at my waist. Very disappointing because I liked it to graze the ground.
On the website it says to machine wash cold. I would say definitely hand wash to preserve length, though it is a lot of fabric. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for FP ONE Patchwork Maxi
Name:
Location:South Carolina
age:41-45
body type:curvy
not good!!!
5.23.2013
" I altered the waistband, as I didn't like it. Then the first time I wore it, all the squares started unraveling. I called to see if I could get a replacement, but I can't, because I altered the waistband.
Beware that the squares fall off! I wasted 150 dollars.
"
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb5.28.2013
We're sorry that this happened -- we'll be in touch to provide help! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for FP ONE Patchwork Maxi
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
The Best!
5.16.2013
" I love everything about this maxi: the color, the length, the waistband, the fabric and so on. I bought my normal L and it fit perfectly. I can wear it at my waist or hips. This looks great with a casual tee and sandals, or a bralette, boots, and a leather jacket for a great night look. I am 5'9" and the length was absolutely perfect. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for FP ONE Patchwork Maxi
Name:
Location:California
age:21-25
body type:slender
Perfect for summer
5.14.2013
" Love this skirt, I'm 5'5'' and 105lbs. It's a bit long but definitely works, even with flats. Highly recommend! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 13 for FP ONE Patchwork Maxi
Name:
Location:Canada
age:36-40
body type:curvy
Color not as vibrant as shown
5.8.2013
" While I loved the images of the skirt, especially in the model photo where she is wearing a blue shirt, the skirt misses the mark with color when you receive it...quite dull in my opinion. With the price tag I am sorry but I expected a little more wow on this one. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for FP ONE Patchwork Maxi
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:41-45
body type:petite
Beautiful
5.2.2013
" Love love this skirt. It is a bit long i had to roll it a few times. It looks like Paris blue gray in a great way. I'm 5"2 and 110 pounds so for short girls it may need to be hemed. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for FP ONE Patchwork Maxi
Name:
Location:Boulder
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Perfect
4.30.2013
" I love this skirt. Yes, it is expensive for what it is. However, it is that sort of effortless, "go-to" item of clothing that I reach for over and over again. To me, that makes it worth every penny.
I'm 5'4" and a size 14. I easily I took a medium, so SIZE DOWN. The skirt skims the ground on me and is not too long to wear with flats. The pattern and cut are very flattering on my broad through the hip figure.
Although fully lined (THANK YOU FP!!!) the skirt is airier than you might think. It is a perfect weight for summer and I love how the breeze picks up and flutters the hem as I walk.
Don't like the cut of the pattern in front? This skirt can be turned around any number of ways to show the different materials. I personally wear it with the big grey panel more to the side/back.
As I said, this is my new go-to skirt. Every time I wear it, someone stops me to tell me how much they like it. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for FP ONE Patchwork Maxi
Name:
Location:Calgary
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Pleasant surprise
4.26.2013
" Had a baaad day at work, and my wonderful husband took me for retail therapy and for me it's here. He spotted this skirt and loved it. I wasn't too impressed at first because I don't generally wear maxi's. it was in the dressing room when I got in there. It was the last thing I tried on. WOW .
I am 5'7" and 130 lbs. I LOVED the way this skirt moved. It hangs beautifully. I'll wear it with heeled and non- healed boots. It looks great with the "any which way" sweater. I walked out of there with 4 things AND the skirt I would not have even looked twice at on the hanger . My husband has an eye for my style, even for an engineer!
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for FP ONE Patchwork Maxi
Name:
Location:So Cal
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Hippie Skirt
4.17.2013
" Another great skirt from FP. Glad I was able to find IRL. I purchased a Med, which is fine since the waist is elastic... the Large wasn't a whole lot larger, just much more fabric. Paired it with a simple white tee.... PERFECT. "
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for FP ONE Patchwork Maxi
Name:
Location:New York, New York
age:14-20
body type:slender
Beautiful
4.8.2013
" I absolutely love this skirt, the colors and detail are beautiful. It does run a little large around the hem, so I'd order the next size down. I normally wear a small but the extra small fit perfectly. "
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for FP ONE Patchwork Maxi
Name:
Location:UK
age:41-45
body type:slender
Nope!
4.3.2013
" Very disappointed- the colours are very drab and flat, no where near as pretty as in in the picture and certainly not worth the price. More beige and greyish blue. Average fit, a bit large as everyone mentioned, it's just nothing awesome. Maybe in the sale price but not current price, it's going back "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for FP ONE Patchwork Maxi
Name:
Location:Washington, US
age:21-25
body type:slender
Pretty, but troublesome
3.31.2013
" When I saw the ad in the Free People lookbook catalogue for this skirt, I knew I had to have it. I love patchwork, I love blue, and I love maxi skirts--so what wouldn't be to love about this? Sure, it's $150, but after a decent bonus at work I decided to just dive in and buy it. I ended up finding it in a local Free People store and trying it on in the fitting room first. My initial feelings were that I'd want a medium, but the waist band was HUGE. I loved the feel of the skirt everywhere else but there was no way I'd be able to wear a medium comfortably. So, I tried on a small. Better. But still big. Here's the thing: the waist bands of these skirts run very large. I'm 5'6", a little over 110lbs, and I comfortably wear an M/L in American Apparel maxi skirts, but even the small size for me here was too large for my natural waist. Unfortunately the store I went to didn't carry any XS (now I know why) so I ended up going home with the S, but I might just end up returning it for fit alone. The rest of the skirt is great. It's definitely not as vibrant as the catalogue picture but its fabric is nice and thick and falls beautifully. I just wish the sizing wasn't so off. "
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>