Product Reviews

Untold Secrets Dress

Semi-sheer floral embroidered bohemian dress with crochet detailing around neckline. Sheer bell sleeves. Main body is lined. *100% Polyester (minus embellishment) *Machine Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size 6: Length: 34" Bust (all around): 38 1/2" Sleeve Length: 24 1/2"
overall average rating:
3.688 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Untold Secrets Dress
Review 1 for Untold Secrets Dress
Name:
Location:Philadelphia, PA
age:21-25
body type:slender
Gorgeous Dress!
12.27.2012
"I was so excited to get this in the mail, it definitely exceeded my already high expectations! It's a gorgeous color and a very flattering cut. The details are beautiful. Another great thing about this dress is how versatile it is. I can pair it with jeans or leggings and turn it into a tunic or just wear it as a dress. Love it!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Untold Secrets Dress
Name:
Location:USA
age:26-30
body type:slender
Perfect for my pregnant tummy.
12.20.2012
"So I ordered this dress in a Large, hoping it would fit my belly (I am 6 months pregnant) and it did. It was longer in length because of the larger sizing, but that was fine by me. One complaint is that I ordered this dress in Ivory. In the picture it was bleach white. When it came it was Antique Cream. But I'm still keeping it. It's going to be worn for Xmas. Beautiful detailing. The sleeves are sort of tight, which is fine by me, because they aren't tight under the armpit. So it looks fitted through the arms, but you have room to breathe without being uncomfortable. I think the tightness is more than likely uncomfortable in a smaller size. Not in the case of the Large size. The larger size also makes the fabric on the bell sleeves longer. It's a unique piece that I will pair with black leggings and knee high boots."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Untold Secrets Dress
Name:
Location:Canada
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Great Dress !!!!!!!
12.19.2012
"The fabric of this dress is very beautiful, I love the detailing. I ordered the dress in large and the fit was very roomy but flowed nice with the A-line style.. The bell sleeves are quite long. I also really liked the whole vibe of the piece, The only complaint would be that the color was quite abit different than the picture....... more of a yellowish cream but still very pretty."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Untold Secrets Dress
Name:
Location:Ireland
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
Fab Dress!
12.13.2012
"I love this dress!! The look and feel of it are great. It hangs beautifully. I am a slender build and 5'11", so although it would be long enough for a dress on most people, it is a little short. However I paired it with skinny blue jeans and some heeled boots and it looked great!. It will look equally as good with leggings. A great piece that can be dressed up or down. Delighted with my purchase. Irish purchasers order through the UK website so you dont get stung for taxes and use EIRE as postcode."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Untold Secrets Dress
Name:
Location:New York
age:36-40
body type:petite
biiiiiiiiiig!
12.12.2012
"This dress is absolutely scrumptious..yeah, totally Stevie Nicks! Sadly i would have needed an XXXS...it fit really big, especially the armhole was very very big, the bottom of the armhole hit at the bottom of my ribcage...I am 5'4'' 105 lbs 32C for reference Love every thing about this dress except for the size."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Untold Secrets Dress
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Weird
11.16.2012
"The fit of the dress is huge. I am a small and the xs was large. BUT the sleeves are tight, and the armpit is wide... so you can't really size down or move in the dress. Slight oversight. The fabric is silky smooth and the detailing is gorgeous. The fit is just weird."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Untold Secrets Dress
Name:
Location:RI
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Love it, but wish it fit a little tighter
11.9.2012
"I got this dress in the Mocha color. I absolutely love it. My only complaint is it is very big in the body. I am 5'8" about 140 pounds. I got the large because I have very long arms and wanted the sleeves to be longer, but I think the medium would have fit better in the body. I am keeping the large because the sleeves are long enough and because they seem to be out of the medium. Plus I think I can get it taken in if I decide there is just too much room in the body. I understand what the other reviewers are saying about the sleeves being attached to the body of the dress a little lower down, but that doesn't bother me in the least bit. In my opinion, that does not take away from the beauty of the dress."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Untold Secrets Dress
Name:
Location:San Diego CA
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Glad I tried this one...
11.4.2012
"Like many of the reviewers, I thought this dress had the potential to look like a tent. To the contrary, I thought it was gorgeous once I had it on. Although it is a boxy cut, the material is light and flowing. I'm 5'10", 130 and I tried on the antique dress in XS (my usual size) with a pair of blue floral print skinny jeans. I can see how this dress might not flatter everyone's body type, but I thought the dress fluttered around beautifully as opposed to making me look huge."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Untold Secrets Dress
Name:
Location:
age:26-30
body type:slender
Hello Stevie Nicks!! :-)
10.27.2012
"Wow! I can not believe all the unfavorable reviews this got! considering it is sold out in stores and online, I can't be the only one who loved this! ;-)
Yes the dress is very "wide" at the opening and very "A-line". However this is meant to be this way. It is the style of the dress. the cut of this is very 60's. I absolutely love it!! I feel a lot of people don't "get" that some FP items are meant to be open and big, that is just the nature of the cut.
I did not even give this a second glance in the catalog. Honestly the B&W photo does not do it justice AT ALL. I saw this in the 5th Ave, NYC store and tried bother colorways on. It was so heavenly!! I am 5'6.5, 108lbs 32B - 24 - 34 and very narrow in the shoulders. I am always an XS in FP dresses. I did contemplate getting this in the SMALL beleive it or not for the length. I felt it was too short as a dress for me , esp if I lifted my arms at all. I do understand what some of the reviews were stating with the arms "pulling". Do to the ribbon detail in the arms, if you move to fast I could see maybe ripping them. However I personally am careful with all my clothing, esp FP stuff and esp. if I know the piece I am in is delicate. When I tried it on, I knew I had to own this. Anyone who is a "true" bohemian and loves 60's/70's style NEEDS this dress! Super Stevie Nicks! I decided to get the Mocha as it looked nicer against my skin tone and hair color. I was iffy about this even after I purchased it due to the price tag, but something changed my mind! What really made me decide to keep this was the "Lady of the Canyon" feature. I just loved how it was styled and I purchased the jeans featured in the look book a week prior! Def don't pass this up!! Colors are true to photo!
"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 10 for Untold Secrets Dress
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
huge!
10.19.2012
"I heard about this woman who shoplifted a 60" flat screen TV by hiding it under her dress. This must have been the dress she was wearing. It's big enough to conceal a washing machine, maybe even a SmartCar. From the photo, it appears to hang straight, but actually it's A-shaped, flaring way out at the bottom like a circus tent. SInce the sleeves are also wide and the shoulders droopy, it doesn't define any part of the body, and makes me look like the "Untold Secret" is about forty extra pounds. Too bad, because it's gorgeous on the hanger."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Untold Secrets Dress
Name:
Location:Portland, OR
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Beautiful, but..........
10.17.2012
"I so wanted to love this. I do love the color, the length, and material, but.......like everyone has said, when you lift your arms up the material underneath is enormous. I was thinking of trying a smaller size but from the reviews that doesn't work either. I may check with a seamstress to see if they can cut some out of the top, otherwise it is going back. Sadly."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Untold Secrets Dress
Name:
Location:Kansas City, MO
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Great as dress
10.16.2012
"This piece is very beautiful I love the detailing. I usually wear a medium, and the medium is very large. I decided to keep the item because it makes a great dress. Long enough, and very A-line, I feel like Stevie Nicks. The bell sleeves are accentuated. I really like the whole vibe of the piece, and it is not fitted anywhere, which allows for tons of motion. The neckline is the only place where is was even moderately fitted, and it features a nice collarbone. A keeper for those days where you want something comfy AND pretty!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Untold Secrets Dress
Name:
Location:Colorado
age:41-45
body type:slender
Not a keeper
10.15.2012
"I am usually an XS in Free People dresses, but I love when the sleeves are really long as I have very long arms, so I ordered the XS and S thinking there wouldn't be much difference in the size since it's not fitted, but perhaps a big difference in the sleeves. There was almost no difference between the XS and S. I ended up returning both dresses. The structure of this dress is just odd and unflattering and uncomfortable. It is very wide under the arms so the shoulder seam on top is very off from the armpit which leads to an awkward pulling feel when you lift your arms and it is just not very flattering. I expected the dress to be loose and full and hoped for a fun and flirty look, but instead it was really wide -- if I lifted my arms out to the side the dress would extend several inches past my armpit on both sides...just not a nice fitting dress. I did LOVE the sleeves as I am a huge fan of bell sleeves and these are beautiful. I also loved the color which is like an antique beige. This is not designed to fit a narrower shoulder. In fact, I just don't know if it will look good on anyone unless they are standing still with their arms straight down."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Untold Secrets Dress
Name:
Location:NYC
age:31-35
body type:petite
super big
10.15.2012
"this dress is so gorgeous, but WAY too big. i think even the XS might be big on even the skinniest person! i got a medium (5'4", medium build, petite frame) and three people could have worn it with me. i was bummed, mostly because it's so gorgeous. if you are into it, i would recommend starting with an XS and working your way up if need be. :)"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Untold Secrets Dress
Name:
Location:nyc
age:21-25
body type:athletic
love, but..
10.15.2012
"I am in love with this dress, it's absolutely beautiful on. It's exactly as pictured, however, the sizing is kind of weird. I'm normally an XS-S in free people dresses - I tried the XS in this dress and it was so tight across the back. I felt like if I raised my arms the armhole seam would tear. When I tried the S, it was HUGE. Like 5 inches longer, much wider, and too loose in the shoulders. I ended up purchasing the XS anyway because it's an amazing dress, I just wish the sizing was a little better."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Untold Secrets Dress
Name:
Location:Texas
age:31-35
body type:pear shaped
Nice material, but way too big
10.11.2012
"Once again, the product I have received doesn't resemble the product pictured on the sales page. In the pictures, the piece appears more fitted, as if it were a simple straight drop tunic. But in reality, the dress is enormous and fans out in an a-line shape.
The material is beautiful, admittedly. It's very soft and very feminine. But the trim also doesn't stand out the way it does in this picture; I'm assuming they used some sort of lighting on it to make it do this. I'm also assuming she is wearing an extra small. I ordered a medium and it feels and looks like an extra large.
In the pictures, by keeping the model's hands down at her sides, they've managed to cleverly hide the way the sleeves bell out. They're actually very roomy.
In reality, this dress should be worn with super tall skinny boots to off-set the too-generousness of the dress itself. Otherwise, you may come off looking like you're either trying to hide something or you're about to conduct a seance. And if you don't like seriously bell-shaped sleeves, I would recommend against this one.
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large