Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Flutter Slip

Soft chiffon maxi slip dress with off-the-shoulder flutter sleeves and lace detailing at the front of the chest. Shoulder straps are adjustable. Fitted at the waist. Tiered top layer that has a chevron shape at the front and back. Zips up side of waist.
overall average rating:
4.077 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Customer Reviews for Flutter Slip
Review 1 for Flutter Slip
Name:
Location:NJ
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Romantic
9.4.2013
"This dress is perfectly romantic. I am a 36DD and "just" fit into the top (size L), which became more of an empire than in some of the other's pictures. I was also able to wear it with flats without a problem, perhaps because the length was taken up in the bust area. I marked the sizing as "small" so others with a large bust can determine if it would fit them. The dress overall is very generous in size without having too much material. A slip is definitely needed, but I did not feel that it detracted from the look. I thought that it added to the romance of the dress. One of my favorites!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Flutter Slip
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:31-35
body type:slender
Sooo big
8.21.2013
"the dress is beautiful and the fabric is great but it runs HUGE! i usually wear a medium or a size 4 to 6, this dress fits like a size 10 on me. They are out of small sizes so I guess I'll be returning it."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Flutter Slip
Name:
Location:Mississippi
age:over 45
body type:slender
Lovely...however next day shipping failed
6.29.2013
"This dress is so pretty. I ordered it right before my daughter's spring formal and paid for next day shipping so that she would receive it in time. She didn't receive it in time to wear it to the event but liked it so much that she kept it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Flutter Slip
Name:
Location:santa monica
age:26-30
body type:petite
dress
6.21.2013
"I am usually a huge fan of free people....my favorite pieces come from this brand. However, this piece was a bit of a disappointment. im 5'4'' and about 105 lbs, and it sorta just hung on me. Then i started to think how much i would wear it and where i would wear it too, and decided it was not for me. Makes you shapeless, and when you turn to the side it looks large. Maybe belted would look best, but honestly the photo makes it look better than real life."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Flutter Slip
Name:
Location:Hawaii, USA
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
LOVE
6.15.2013
"This is my favorite dress ever!
I know you can't really see the whole dress in my attached photo, but you can get a feel for this dress. It is a princess-fantasy dress. I have a large chest, and it fits me great! The straps shorten and the flowey material is very flattering. At first I thought it would be better on a flatter chested woman, but no- it is wonderful for all shapes and sizes. It is so so so pretty!!! Highly recommend. I LOVE it!! Hope this helps : )
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 6 for Flutter Slip
Name:
Location:Boston, MA
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
BEAUTIFUL!
5.14.2013
"This dress was suggested to me by a friend, and it is BEAUTIFUL! I ordered a Large, I'm 5'10, 165, with a 30 waist and a 34E. And it's BIG on me. I wish I ordered a Medium, because now they're sold out - and I'm praying someone returns one! The length couldn't be any more perfect. It is a bit sheer, but nothing a slip (or nude undies) couldn't fix."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Flutter Slip
Name:
Location:canada
age:31-35
body type:curvy
pretty, with issues
5.12.2013
"i do like the design of this dress. it has a fairy-like quality and feels ethereal. i'm on the bustier side so i sized up so that it wouldn't be too tight up top, and would fit more like it does on the model. now the cons. i think the longer underskirt makes the dress look matronly, but i'm inspired by the picture where the skirt is hiked up, so i'd have it altered so that the bottom layer ends around the longest point of the top layer. i think the knee/tea length makes the dress look cuter. lastly, i know this is advertised as a slip so the total sheerness is justified. however, it's shown as a dress and that's how i would want to wear it, so for me, having to wear something else underneath to cover up, like a slip where the straps would show, just takes away from the design."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Flutter Slip
Name:
Location:Ontario, Canada
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Unflattering on a larger bust
4.27.2013
"This was my first freepeople purchase and unfortunately for me this dress didn't work out. I am tall with an average build and larger bust - this dress is definitely not suited for a girl with a larger chest, it just hangs loosely in all the wrong places. I was also disappointed that the material was so thin, I kind of expected it to be however given that the description says 'slip'. I was also disappointed to see the dress was made in China. The dress arrived at a reasonable time but I paid for faster shipping and it didn't arrive as soon as advertised. I will be returning this dress back to the local store in my area. On a positive note I will say that the stitching was of good quality."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Flutter Slip
Name:
Location:SC
age:over 45
body type:slender
Beautiful
4.27.2013
"I am a 55 year old lady in SC. Ibought this dress. It fits well, it does not need a slip. I adore it! Thank you to the girls who responded to my question! Sylvie"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Flutter Slip
Name:
Location:a cabin in the woods
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Stunning
4.25.2013
"I just got this dress today and I couldn't be happier - it's stunning! I'm going to be wearing it for my wedding dress (we're having an unconventional wedding in the woods) and it's perfect!
I was worried that the material would look and feel like a nightie, but it doesn't - it feels like a light crepe material and it's very flowy. My only complaint is that it's actually not the blush rose color that it looks to be from the pictures - it's actually a little more on the peach side; it's still very pretty, though.
It fits true to size and it has an empire waist, with the bottom of the lace sitting right under the bust. I think the previous reviewer was right when she said it isn't really made for really busty girls. I'm on the small side (34C, 27" waist, 35" hips) and I got a size small, which fits perfectly, but if you're bigger than about a 36C up top, you'll probably have to size up. The really busty girls might have trouble with the lace being too constricting because it doesn't have any give (although there's a little give in the back and the straps are adjustable). Having said that, small and medium sized girls should be fine.
Also, I'm 5'5" and it hung onto the floor about an inch, so if you're my height or smaller, you'll need to wear a small heel or get it hemmed. I'll be wearing boots with a little heel. :)
It's extremely sheer on the very bottom (you can see the slip I wore to try it on today in the picture). The rest of the dress is surprisingly opaque, though.
The quality is just what I'd hoped for - delicate but sturdy. The little flutter pieces on the arms are a bit constricting, but that's just the style. They're actually constructed very well - it won't be easy to rip them, as I'd worried!
Definitely worth the money!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb4.26.2013
Congratulations! We'd love to see pictures of the ceremony!! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Flutter Slip
Name:
Location:Denver, CO
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
not for the "shapely"
4.24.2013
"saw this and immediately had to have it! a friend is getting married and this is the EXACT color of the dress she wants her bmaids to wear. certainly pretty in person, if not a litttttttle chincy looking. also, great point by the other reviewer that it's pretttty sheer. definitely recommend a slip underneath.
i'm a curvy chick (big boobies, wide hips, little waist - hourglass to the T). bought a large and this just unfortunately was not made for ladies with big jugs. the lace part barely came down below my bust line and i thought the straps were going to burst. otherwise, fit relatively nicely.
going to keep shopping for the right dress. this one could get X rated really fast...i'll be returning this one."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Flutter Slip
Name:
Location:Akron, Oh
age:36-40
body type:slender
Beautiful!
4.24.2013
"I love this dress it's romantic and whimsical! Very sheer and the color is more peach in my opinion. I bought the small and it fits perfectly. This one is not going back!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Flutter Slip
Name:
Location:Twin Falls, ID
age:26-30
body type:slender
A Must Have!!!!!!
4.14.2013
"The second I saw this I ordered it, and I had it overnighted!! I am 5'10, 118 lbs and ordered the xs. It fits so lovely!!! I felt like a goddess when I put this on. This dress is sheer so I had to wear a mini body con slip dress under. The day I wore it I had at least a dozen compliments on it!!! Everywhere I went people stopped me to either tell me how much they loved loved loved this dress or ask where I got it! The length is perfect on me and the color is delicate and pretty. It's the type of piece you think about buying two of just so you always have a backup when the other one is dirty. I'm literally obsessed, hope you will be too!!!"
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large