Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

FP New Romantics Stole My Heart Dress

Patterned 3/4-sleeve shift dress with velvet, ribbon, and chainlink embellishment running down side of each sleeve and at each bottom side. Velvet ties at each sleeve hem. Slit at each bottom side. The delicately romantic and texture heavy New Romantics collection was inspired by the dream-worthy beach views and magically hidden coves of Sardinia, Italy. *100% Rayon *Dry Clean Only *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 33" Bust (all around): 40" Sleeve Length: 19"
overall average rating:
4.35 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for FP New Romantics Stole My Heart Dress
Review 1 for FP New Romantics Stole My Heart Dress
Name:
Location:Montreal
age:31-35
body type:slender
Weighty cainlink ribbon!
3.12.2013
"Just like some of the other reviews, I cannot get over the weighty chainlink ribbon! It does something funny with the neckline... pulles it back... making me feel like I'm choking! It's really a pretty dress, I got mine in black, but I cannot justify the price with the feeling of being choked. Once again, FP's sizing is off as the XS runs large... Maybe FP should consider making an XXS since many reviewers have shared the same concern, especially with dresses and sweaters..."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for FP New Romantics Stole My Heart Dress
Name:
Location:mesa az
age:21-25
body type:petite
In Love!!!!!
2.23.2013
"This dress is absolutely beautiful. the detail work is lovely and it's not too heavy. I bought the blue version in a small. I am 5'2 and 130lb w/ a 34C in bust and it was a perfect fit, not too big and not too long. I get a lot of compliments on the uniqueness of the dress, so if you are looking for a head turner this is the dress for you."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for FP New Romantics Stole My Heart Dress
Name:
Location:UK
age:36-40
body type:petite
Love it
2.21.2013
"Detailing is amazing and it isn't at all heavy to wear as some earlier reviews suggest. I am a UK size 8 and the XS fits really nicely. I even wore mine on Christmas day."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 4 for FP New Romantics Stole My Heart Dress
Name:
Location:North Carolina
age:14-20
body type:pear shaped
Just Okay
1.27.2013
"Will sadly be returning this dress. For $170 I wanted to love it, and it was just okay. The colors aren't as bright as presented in the photo and the dress was a little big so it didn't look too flattering. I think it depends on your body type."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for FP New Romantics Stole My Heart Dress
Name:
Location:PA
age:31-35
body type:petite
Stunning, one of a kind!
1.22.2013
"Absolutely lovely, as gorgeous as it appears on FP. The colors are slightly more subdued, but not in a bad way. (I got the blue version)
Yes, the "chains" add weight- But for me, the weight is fine! The detail is stunning, and high quality. Does not make me look like a tent... a bit like a shift dress. (I'm 4'11", average proportions, XS dress hangs about mid-thigh) SO GLAD that I splurged on this, I'll never see anything like it again!
-Beautiful, well-made, a bit wrinkly, unique, RECOMMENDED
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 6 for FP New Romantics Stole My Heart Dress
Name:
Location:Ontario Canada
age:31-35
body type:petite
Uniquely Lovely
1.17.2013
"The fabric and detailing of this dress make it an absolutely fabulous addition to my wardrobe. The embroidered detailing adds real drama, and dresses it up to make it appropriate for most occasions, but it can be dressed down too with some great boots. The fabric is soft, and while the chain work down the sleeves does have some weight to it, I liked it and didn't find it pulled at all (and the fabric underlying the chains keeps them from laying on your skin). It does slide off one shoulder a tiny bit but if anything that adds to the look in my opinion."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for FP New Romantics Stole My Heart Dress
Name:
Location:worcestershire, uk
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Stunning!
1.10.2013
"I got this dress in the blue, in medium. I am 5''7 and a UK size 10. It fits perfectly, loose but flattering! The neckline sits almost off the shoulder so you may find yourself pulling the shoulders up but it didnt bother me. Can be dressed up with heeled boots or down with leggings. Definatley worth the money it is beautifully detailed and very different, I have had so many compliments!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for FP New Romantics Stole My Heart Dress
Name:
Location:Brooklyn
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Love this Dress
1.10.2013
"I'm 5'9 generally a 6, I bought this in a Small in the Blue and I love it, normally cuts like this look like a potato sack on me as I am chesty, but this works, the cut the pattern it works.
I'm very pleased and may buy it in a Black as well"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for FP New Romantics Stole My Heart Dress
Name:
Location:Louisiana
age:31-35
body type:slender
Gorgeous!!!!!!!!!
1.9.2013
"This dress is more beautiful when you see it. The colors are not as red and deep blue as the pictures. More rust and blue (in my opinion, more beautiful). The shape, drape, rings, and velvet ribbon detailing are artistic. I wore this dress yesterday and turned heads. I am 5'6, 120 lbs, (36 leg and 26 or 27 jeans), skinny athletic, have broader shoulders than my straighter hips. I bought the extra small. I usually wear a small or medium in clothes. If you are contemplating buying this dress like I was and you are afraid of the other reviews, JUST BUY IT. It's a keeper."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for FP New Romantics Stole My Heart Dress
Name:
Location:Boston
age:21-25
body type:petite
So pretty!
1.5.2013
"I happened upon a singular XS in the black at my local free people store. I never really cared for it online, but decided to try it on anyways. So glad that I did. It's very pretty and flattering on. It is a boat neck and the chains do weigh it down a bit, but not more than I expected. I love the formless look of the dress. The print is also much more vibrant in person. This is what I couldn't tell from the online pics and why I passed it up before: 1) The print is yellow and light purple (which is so pretty against the black fabric), 2) the ties and lining near the chain are velvet (the detail makes it very luxurious looking), 3) the neck sits a little lower than it does on the model (granted I am petite though and have a small torso). These things all add up o make it one heck of a special dress."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for FP New Romantics Stole My Heart Dress
Name:
Location:detroit
age:31-35
body type:petite
gorgeous with the right accessories
1.3.2013
"i couldn't decide between the black or blue versions, finally went with the blue to wear with my camel coat as pictured... love this dress. It's true, it's not the most flattering. I have narrow shoulders and the boat neck made me look maybe a bit wider in the shoulders than i'd have like. But, but but... the detailing on this dress is fantastic. It isn't as rich in color as on the website, but then actually goes better with a more casual boot, brown or camel accessories, and longer, chunky necklaces. I added a scarf to offset the wide shoulders and loved this dress even more. And, best of all, it's comfortable and i didn't feel like i had to suck in my gut for the holiday feasts this past month. I am pleased with the purchase and found it worth the price."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for FP New Romantics Stole My Heart Dress
Name:
Location:Knoxville, TN
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
comfortable
12.30.2012
"This dress is flattering on a curvy figure. It hits about mid-thigh. The 3/4 sleeves are super cute. The detailing is more prominent in person, and the color is rich and has a vintage appearance. Very pretty."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for FP New Romantics Stole My Heart Dress
Name:
Location:San Francisco
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Great Dress!
12.17.2012
"I got this dress in the blue color and I absolutely love it! It is perfect with boots and a scarf or a nice statement necklace."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for FP New Romantics Stole My Heart Dress
Name:
Location:Eugene, OR
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Great Dress
11.13.2012
"Not sure what all the fuss is about regarding the chains and boat neck. Sure the chains make the sleeves feel slightly weighted, but not badly. The boat neck rests just below the collarbone- although it definitely does rest on the shoulders- you'll need a strapless bra. The shape isn't shapeless at all if you order the correct size. I am a 38D and I don't look like I am wearing a tent at all. The hips are quite fitted when wearing skinny jeans underneath- I may size up to a large to see if that extra inch helps with that and send back the one I don't want to keep. The color isn't as blue as shown on my monitor, definitely muted, which is disappointing but not a deal breaker. Overall, great dress."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for FP New Romantics Stole My Heart Dress
Name:
Location:California
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Beautiful, flirty, yet classy
11.10.2012
"Finally FP!! I have a thing for FP dresses, and unfortunately the last several I have tried had made me look more like a bag lady than what I was going for based on the fit of the dress by the model. This dress finally provided me what I have been missing out on! While it is "shapeless," the cut and fit is very flattering. I am about 5'5", 135 lbs and a lot curvier than your typical FP model. I ordered my usual FP size S. This dress was not too short on me; however, I have to be careful bending over or doing any wild movement in it to avoid providing any freebies. The links do weigh the dress down a bit, but the boat neck sort of turns into a sexy off-the-shoulder top, which I do not mind. Probably good to have a well-fitting strapless bra to go with. I wore this with some brown leather fringe, knee-high boots, and received lots of compliments! The fabric is very delicate, per typical FP, and it does say "dry clean only." I would recommend it to those who do not fit the standards of FP models (tall and super skinny), and are looking for something sexy, yet appropriate to wear during this holiday season! I will say the dress does not look as "shapeless" on me as it does pictured! LOVE IT!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for FP New Romantics Stole My Heart Dress
Name:
Location:bakersfield
age:36-40
body type:athletic
amazing
11.1.2012
"I LOVE this dress. it's lighter weight than I thought from the photo- but very comfortable. it's beautiful on!! over skinny jeans and boots. perfect for fall and winter."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for FP New Romantics Stole My Heart Dress
Name:
Location:New York
age:36-40
body type:petite
chain chain chain..change of heart
10.27.2012
"was going to wear this to a really cool 80's concert with chic here in nyc but i guess not..this dress is going back. sadly need to agree with other reviewers, this is a dress that might be bugging you a lot when you wear it. the chainlinks weigh and pull down the neck opening so it does not feel right . Its supersoft, very very beautiful but the boat neck opening in combination with the shapelessness and the links kill this this dress. Completely agree with previous reviewer, if you're kinda really skinny with no chest this might work well for you, else make sure you try it in a store or take advantage of the free shipping.... i'm 5'4'', 105 lbs 32C, the XS fits loose on me, but its a shift dress so id say order your regular size, it reaches mid thigh."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for FP New Romantics Stole My Heart Dress
Name:
Location:Western, NY
age:41-45
body type:petite
great looking dress
10.16.2012
"I love this dress. But, I could not wear it. I ordered in XS and it fits but not exactly comfortably. I am 5'1" athletic, petite build. The chain links on the arm pull the arms back (note photo) and by doing so, pull the neck back and I felt like it was choking me! The photo does make the colors look just a smidge richer. Wish it would have worked for me:("
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for FP New Romantics Stole My Heart Dress
Name:
Location:Seattle, WA
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
byzantine princess...
10.11.2012
"This is a gorgeous, versatile piece. I'm fairly tall (5'11") and busty, so I was worried that this would hang 'funny' or be short in the arms or other odd places.
This doesn't! It is gorgeous on. I'm wearing it with skinny jeans or purple leggings and my usual crazy boots depending on my mood. It is really comfortable--the details are amazing, without looking like a ren-faire escapee ;)
"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for FP New Romantics Stole My Heart Dress
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:26-30
body type:petite
Lovely!
10.5.2012
"I received this dress in the mail, and the colors are just as rich and lovely in person. Although, be advised that this dress really has no shape. It's really like draping a piece of fabric off your body, so wearing something to maybe flatten the chest area is a must, otherwise you run the risk of having the fabric drape out in an unflattering way. My one complaint is that the collar is a little bit strange, in that it hangs in an unusual spot on the shoulders. The underarms also have a little extra fabric that makes the dress just a little bit more "sack-like" and the arms are actually rather heavy from the chain detailing. Overall though, it really is a lovely, well-crafted dress, just don''t be looking for something with fitted shape."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations