Product Reviews

Sawyer Ankle Boot

Distressed brushed leather ankle boot with leather fringe trimming on each outer side. Slightly pointy toe. Rubber Sole. **Special Note: This pair runs about a half size too small, so it is recommended to order one size up and wear with a sock for a perfect, confortable fit. *By Jeffrey Campbell *Leather Upper *Import *5 1/4" shaft height, 2 3/4" heel height
overall average rating:
3.118 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sawyer Ankle Boot
Review 1 for Sawyer Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Shell Beach, Pismo Beach, CA 93449, USA
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Perfect wardrobe staple
8.3.2013
"I experienced the same problem with getting these boots on. I use the plastic bag technique - put a piece of plastic bag around your ankle, then easily remove it once the boot is on. I found the boots to fit perfectly once on so unless you're in between sizes I don't recommend sizing up. These boots in the brown go with everything and I got them on sale so its worth the little bit of hassle of getting them on!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Sawyer Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:China
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
The plastic bags do the tricks….
5.2.2013
"I was hesitating about the color, and the stock ran quickly as these were on sale, so I end up order both color in size 6 (I’m size 5 but with width C, so I usually have size in 5.5 or 6). When I finally received these babes, it took around 20 min for me to take them on and 10 min to take off. I tried everything that came to my mind, with socks, with thin socks, without socks, then with plastic bags and voila, I finally put my feet in it! However, my question is that after you take them in, how do you do with the plastics bags? Wear them within these boots? Would it be awkward? And despite it’s such a pain in the axx for me to put the shoes on, they fit me perfectly, so if I ordered size 7, it would be too large for me and if I wear thick socks, how could I ever put my feet in it? All in all, I give it a 4 star as both brown and black one looks awesome."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Sawyer Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Radford, VA
age:21-25
body type:petite
i know everyone's complaining butttttt
4.6.2013
"everyone's talking about how hard they are to get on butttt theyre sew freakin cayoot! i got them in a black 8 and they look amazing. i will admit that they are incredibly difficult to put on but DO NOT BE AFRAID just cutting down the inside of the top of the boot looks good and makes it the opposite of difficult to put on :) i even have some room in the pointy toe which i thought would be uncomfortable. they literally go with everything any season <3"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Sawyer Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Redondo Beach
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Boho Booties!
4.5.2013
"I am a huge Jeffrey Campbell shoe fanatic and noticed that these cute booties were on sale for such an awesome deal! After reading the reviews, I ordered these boots one size larger than my normal size, which works well for me. I ordered the brown, which is a little lighter color than I expected, but a beautiful brown to say the least. I really love these boots, and I'm looking forward to having some fun with them! They are really soft and comfortable to wear... And the heel height is perfect!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Shifty Shift Tunic
3.7 out of 5(40)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Review 5 for Sawyer Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Maryland
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Love my Sawyer ankle booties :0)
3.27.2013
"Just received my booties today in both brown & black. I must say I am in love & so glad I purchased both colors. Im in between an 8.5/9 medium width, bought these in a 9 & they fit comfy with socks. However I did have the same problem as other reviewers mentioned with the opening being too tight :0( No problem! I just cut them on the opposite side of the fringes enough to get my foot through the opening & viola! I’m going to have a shoe repairman add a piece of leather where I cut them :0)"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Sawyer Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Washington, DC
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Can't get em on!
3.27.2013
"These are absolutely beautiful to behold. I had been waiting for them for ages, but when I finally got them, I couldn't get my foot in them. I thought, maybe I need to size up... no such luck. There is no zipper (which I love! but adds some difficulty), and my feet aren't abnormal. I was so disappointed. Jeffrey, you let me down!"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Sawyer Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Columbus, OH
age:21-25
body type:slender
Most strenuous boots, ever.
3.25.2013
"It's undoubtable that these boots are awesome, but since they lack elastic, a zipper, or even a bootstrap, they are almost impossible to pull onto your feet. It cost me a half hour and nearly two thumb nails trying to put these babies on, and needless to say, it was exhausting and frustrating. I'm going to keep them and hope they stretch out over time, for they are much too awesome to let go, but next time, I'll be certain not to purchase boots with such a major design fail. I want my shoes to make me feel good and confident, not aggravated!"
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb3.26.2013
Oh no! I have tried these on too and had to size up about 1/2 a size. As you wear them, they should loosen up a bit. If you have any problems with them please feel free to email us at service@freepeople.com and we'll see what we can do!! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Sawyer Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Love, Love, Love...
3.14.2013
"Ok, so these boots DO run small at the opening of the boot and can be difficult to get on... However I sized up and they fit perfectly!! I got the black in size 10(am usually a 9) and they are truly amazing. Comfortable too- barely needed breaking in!! I'm so happy I added them to my boot collection (="
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Sawyer Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Southern California
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
dissappointed
1.22.2013
"I've been waiting for these to go on sale and was so excited after the holidays to order them. They took over 2 weeks to receive and after waiting patiently, they were not what I expected! First impression upon opening box was the color was nothing like the brown pictured on website. They were more of a taupe-grey and really distressed looking. Secondly, I could not get my foot in the opening! I almost twisted my ankle just trying to pull them on. I couldn't even get my heel in. Unfortunately, I returned and even the sales associate at cashier said she couldn't get them on either!"
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Sawyer Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:21-25
body type:slender
great purchase for the sale price.
1.22.2013
"I wear 6.5 so based on FP employee suggestions I got 7 and its perfect!! looks awesome and feels great/comfy. I had no problem with opening, didn't seem small AT ALL! true to size
Can't believe the price I paid for it.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Sawyer Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Denver
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Way to small to even put your foot in
1.11.2013
"I ordered these. THey are really cute but there was no way I could get my foot in them. The opening is really small and does not stretch.
Had to return them.
"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Sawyer Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Baltimore
age:41-45
body type:curvy
unwearable
1.10.2013
"Unfortunately I, like other customers, couldn't even get my foot through the boot so can't comment on the overall comfort or durability.
I returned them.
P.S. They looks awesome though!
"
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Sawyer Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Oregon
age:14-20
body type:pear shaped
Comfy
8.14.2012
"Like the other reviewers, I had a bit of trouble getting them on at first. However, I didn't find it to be impossible. After wearing them a couple times the top has loosened up a bit and they're easy to put on and take off now. They're super cute and very comfortable, but I found them to run a bit big. I'm normally a 7 but if there had been a 6.5 I would've taken that instead. The color was also not as pictured, yet still very nice. I got the brown and it's more of a taupe. Overall a really cute, versatile boot!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Sawyer Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Virginia
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
WEAR THEM IN AND ITS SO WORTH IT!!
8.13.2012
"I agree with the other reviewers that these boots are almost IMPOSSIBLE to get on at first. I originally sized up in order to be able to get the boots on, but once I got them on they were too big. So I risked it and got my normal size and am so happy I did! Here's the trick: wrap a plastic bag around your heel the first couple of times you put them on. Yes its still hard to get them on when you do this but it makes it possible to get them on at least. After you do this a couple of times they are already loosened up a good bit. But what I did to make them even better was spray that leather softener spray (you can also just dampen them with water) around the ankle/heel and then stuck my foot in there halfway and wiggled it around a bunch. Then I wore them around until the spray dried and now they're perfect and easy to get on. Definitely worth the work for these amazing boots!"
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Sawyer Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:LA
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
buzz kill
8.9.2012
"what a buzz kill! these boots are so cute, too bad the opening of them is made for mini feet and there's no way anyone is getting these puppies on. I just broke a sweat trying! Jeffery campbell fail! a zipper would have been nice or a little give in the leather. something!"
Response from Free People:By FPJulieBWeb8.10.2012
Hi! We are sorry that these didn't work out for you. We recommend sizing up in this boot. A few of us tried these boots on and found that sizing up allowed us to get our foot in the opening of the boot. Hope this helps!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Sawyer Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:new york city
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
So Bummed 2
8.7.2012
"could not even get these shoes on!!! I was very excited for them, now they will be returned. I even thought about cutting a slit in the back to get my heel in but am too scared :("
Response from Free People:By FPJulieBDirect8.8.2012
Hi!! We tried these on in our office and found that going up a size did help the fit issue. Hope this helps!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Sawyer Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Cali
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
SO BUMMED
8.4.2012
"I've been waiting to receive these since they came up on the website, I got them yesterday and I can't even get my foot in them the opening at the top is SO small. I seriously tried everything.I am so sad as i was really looking forward to getting these, i dont know if sizing up would help at all because I feel if i could have gotten my foot in them they would have been perfect, sadly i have to return these :("
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large