Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Lyla Sandal

Leather strappy flat sandal with stud embellishment. Leather wrap ties that go around the ankle. Leather sole. *By Free People
overall average rating:
3.167 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Customer Reviews for Lyla Sandal
Review 1 for Lyla Sandal
Name:
Location:Chicago, IL
age:36-40
body type:athletic
I love these! Awesome Style
6.3.2014
" I actually bought these sandals last summer, and this summer I still love them and wear them all the time! I have not had the quality issues that others have had, mine have held up really well. I got the black embossed and they look great with many outfits/colors. I wonder if the black is made with better materials than the brown crochet, I noticed many of the bad reviews mentioned the brown and the positive ones mentioned the black. The sole is minimal - just a rather primitive slab of hard leather. This does not bother me at all, and I have walked long distances in them. However, if you have foot pain issues the lack of cushion and support may be a deal breaker. The fit is TTS - I am a size 8 and the 39 is a perfect fit - the straps over the top of your foot should be a touch loose. Overall, I love this style and get tons of compliments every time I wear them! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Lyla Sandal
Name:
Location:New York City
age:21-25
body type:athletic
loved loved loved, now broken :(
6.2.2014
" I had the orange/red pair of these that i wore EVERYDAY for two summers, including mud hikes in Hawai'i and throught the urban jungle of NYC, I tried to make them last as long as I could but now they are gone. I am dying for FP to sell these back in that red color, they were TOO CUTE! please come back!!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Lyla Sandal
Name:
Location:Seattle,WA
age:21-25
body type:petite
Beautiful but won't last :(
4.30.2014
" I got these (in taupe) last summer and they are so beautiful, I constantly got compliments on them. The straps were very quick to snap and fray, so I exchanged them in hopes of better luck with a new pair. Within a few days part of the strap snapped off again, but at the end, so they were still wearable. Since then the straps have snapped repeatedly, as well as have started separating. While I've had them almost a year, I've only had the chance to wear them about 5 times living in Seattle, and with an unheard of 80 degrees today, I took the chance to wear them. They snapped three times: twice while re-tying (very gently, I might add), and once while walking. Because of where the final snap was, they're officially toast. So disappointing :(
These are gorgeous but not worth the money and unfortunately not constructed to last. "
Response from Free People:By Free People5.1.2014
Hi modland,

We're sorry to hear about your sandals. Someone from our team will be in touch shortly to help make this right!

-Free People
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 4 for Lyla Sandal
Name:
Location:near San Francisco
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Really lovely design but poor quality!
9.1.2013
" I have to concur with some of the other reviews. The design is lovely, but this is unfortunately where the positive aspects of this sandal end for me. I purchased these to go with my summer outfits this year and was excited to wear them on my summer vacation. After one week of wearing them - and I did not go on crazy hikes, but strutted through a city - and the leather straps broke of while walking (I fixed them temporarily with a knot). I was extremely disappointed as I did not bring any other sandals with me on this trip. I simply assumed they are brand new and will last at least one summer. These sandals should be of better quality for the money. Very disappointed! "
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb9.5.2013
Oh no! We'll be in touch right away. xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 5 for Lyla Sandal
Name:
Location:Melbourne Australia
age:over 45
body type:slender
So Far so Good!!
8.17.2013
" Bought 2 colours for summer and waiting for my daugher and I to wear them when it warms up. They look really nice on and seem comfy, only tried them on so far, so no issues yet. Have spoken to FP re falling apart over summer and they have noted
the problem just in case it happens to my 2.
Really pretty on, hope they sustain wear.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Lyla Sandal
Name:
Location:Savannah, GA
age:14-20
body type:slender
love them, but fell apart
7.20.2013
" I love how the sandals looked on and fit great but I went to wear them for the first time and as I was putting them on the tie broke off. I wish they were better made! "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Lyla Sandal
Name:
Location:Ohio
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
So cute but fell apart :(
7.9.2013
" I love these sandals! Saw the crochet ones online, bought them - within the first hour of wearing them, the thong part in between the toes completely just broke. So I had to return them. When I returned them the girl was very sweet about it, and told me this has been a common problem with these sandals. SO disappointed because they are so darn cute!!!!! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Lyla Sandal
Name:
Location:New York
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
very surprised and disappointed
6.18.2013
" Not only was I sent the wrong pair of sandals (I ordered the black and I received the brown), but the studs on the brown sandals that I received looked like they were glued on, one of the studs actually looked like it was going to fall off. This was the first pair of shoes I ordered from free people and I was quite disappointed, because usually everything that I have bought by them were really unique and of good quality, I will definitely be taking these shoes to the store to exchange or return them. "
Response from Free People:By Free Peopleweb6.19.2013
We're so sorry to hear about this! If you need any help with your return or exchange, we're here to help 24/7! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Lyla Sandal
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Leather Tie Sandals
6.12.2013
" These sandals are a lot like the Laila sandals except the Lailas are made out of PU and these are real leather. I got the brown with studs and I like them very much. Cute style and very comfortable. I took away one star though because even though I have thin legs, the ties are actually shorter than as pictured here so a little difficult to tie.. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Lyla Sandal
Name:
Location:Michigan
age:14-20
body type:curvy
DONT BUY VERY CHEAP
6.10.2013
" I received these in the mail and i wore them about four times and the ties ripped off and as the day went on every single tie had ripped off and now they are just a sandal they are so cheap and come apart very easily i love the brand i am a constant and i was very very disappointed with these shoes especially for the price they are not worth it at all "
Response from Free People:By Free Peopleweb6.11.2013
We're so sorry to hear about this! We'll be in touch soon to help! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Lyla Sandal
Name:
Location:UK
age:41-45
body type:petite
Classy
6.6.2013
" I love these sandals. Bought them in the black embossed, and they are true to my size (38 Euro). Extremely comfortable and versatile---would go to the beach or a party with them. Also they are flat and ideal for walking over rough terrain. Very happy with this purchase. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Lyla Sandal
Name:
Location:Colorado
age:21-25
body type:slender
Love!!
6.1.2013
" When I saw these sandals in the tan crochet, i was so excited. i'd been keeping my eye out for the laila sandals to be restocked in my size. the print is basically the same, except these sandals are suede. i am normally a 39 euro, and the shoes are a bit tight but not too uncomfortable and looks okay. When i received them it seems that the brown suede must have rubbed off onto the cream colored lace design, because in some spots of the design, the white is really, really brown. not too bothered by it, they're still super cute! i'd recommend buying these but maybe sizing down! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large