Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Johnny Tall Boot

Distressed suede lace-up tall boot with low heel. Zips up the inner side. Rubber sole. *By Jeffrey Campbell for Free People
overall average rating:
4.164 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 54 Answers
Customer Reviews for Johnny Tall Boot
Review 1 for Johnny Tall Boot
Name:
Location:brooklyn
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
exquisite
5.1.2014
"got them in charcoal and the color is a spot on grayish black. they feel and look divine! the suede hugs my calves like an army of bunnies and i never want to take these off. materials and workmanship are excellent - the boots look and feel expensive. i would go 1/2 size up - i'm an 8.5 and the 9 fits with a little room for warm, thicker socks. i could go on about these beauties for hours but really there isn't enough space or time! get complimented all the time and now 2 of my friends are getting them :D love love love!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Johnny Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Milwaukee, Wisconsin
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Beautiful & SO Comfortable
4.6.2014
"Just received these in the mail the other day, and they are just awesome. I got them in charcoal and the color is rich and pretty, very similar to the pictures. I see that some reviews thought they would be darker, but I think the gray is perfect. I normally wear a 7.5, I got these in an 8, and they fit great. I can wear them with a thin sock, too. The suede is soft, and because the laces are so long, you can wear these boots as fitted or loose as you want. The heel height is great, I wore them all day at work and my feet felt fine. Also, I see that some reviews mentioned a problem with the laces-although they are very long, mine haven't broken and don't seem to be the glued-together leather pieces others have mentioned. My one complaint is that the tongue of one of my boots is longer than the other, so it shows more at the top. Great quality boot & definitely worth the money."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Johnny Tall Boot
Name:
Location:NY
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Lots of broken shoelace.
3.17.2014
"I had read the other reviews so wasn't completely surprised when the lace broke instantly as I was putting them on for the first time. In fact the laces broke many times as I was trying to put them on. They are made of many leather pieces glued together. I am handy so I pieced together the right sizes for the boot and sewed them together to get the boost to be functional. I also had to pierce my own holes the in the laces to get them to look the same as each other. If you are not handy, I'd stray away from this purchase. It was comical how much work I had to do to make the boots wearable. I kept the extra pieces that were left over in fear they may break again. Other than this huge flaw I was happy with the boots, obviously, or I wouldn't have gone to all of that trouble, but really I shouldn't have had to do all of that considering the price. Otherwise I feel they are comfortable and cute. I am a solid 7 1/2 and the size 8 fit very perfectly. I ordered the charcoal. If I hadn't had the lace problem I would have rated them higher for the style."
Response from Free People:By Free People3.18.2014
Hi craftywoman,

We're sorry to hear about your Johnny Tall Boot. Someone from our team will be in touch shortly to help make this right!

-Free People
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Johnny Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Oregon
age:26-30
body type:athletic
not so great
1.26.2014
"I finally bought these after thinking about it for a very long time because they were pricey. I was a bit disappointed with the color. Definitely grey not charcoal. I decided to keep them only because I loved the height. The second time I wore them out one of the laces broke. The suede is super soft and thin. As I tightened them one just ripped at a very thin spot. I think the quality is definitely not worth the 350.00 price tag. I would not recommend this. :("
Response from Free People:By Free People1.30.2014
Hi yamilleth,

We're sorry to hear about your laces. Someone from our team will be in touch shortly!

-Free People
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Johnny Tall Boot
Name:
Location:hamburg, ny
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Gorgeous
1.15.2014
"I got these in brown. Sometimes I'm an 8 or 8 1/2 , so I got size 9. Glad that I did, an 8 may have been too snug. The 9 does not look big though. No problem with the laces. They are not glued together like some reviews said. They are one long continuese piece of suede. Quality is excellent, suede is soft. I love these boots. Eyed them for awhile because they are expensive. Definately worth it. They are very unique."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Johnny Tall Boot
Name:
Location:France
age:26-30
body type:petite
Beautifull but ....
11.26.2013
"The boots are beautifull but the quality is really cheap ! The leather has a chimical smell , which is a bit worrying. The sole is low quality plastic. The price is too expensive for such a low quality. However , the size feet perfectly, and the style is amazing, i'm just sad about the quality is not that expected whith shoes as expensives !!!
I ordered from France and the taxes are huges! 106€!
"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Johnny Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Montreal, Quebec
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Disappointed.
11.18.2013
"I’m probably going to be the only person writing a negative review about these boots. But here it is:
I bought the color charcoal in 7. Maybe there is something wrong with my eyes, but my boots were gray, not charcoal, but gray. Big disappointment there. I really don’t understand why there is such a big difference in color between the boots and the picture on the site.
I’m 5 feet and have big calves, almost 16 inches circumference and it was pretty tight on me.
I’m 6.5 in shoes and the 7 fit perfectly.
I’m really sad because those boots are so gorgeous.
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Johnny Tall Boot
Name:
Location:California
age:26-30
body type:petite
Love-hate relationship
11.15.2013
"As titled, I love this boot. Got the charcoal and it is just like in the picture. Color is beautiful, love the style and the material. Totally worth the price. I'm a 6 1/2 and the 7 was perfect. As for the hate part...toooo long. I'm only 5 ft 2 inches and no way does these look okay on me. Kept them for a year but never wore them out cus I look ridiculous. So I finally had to return them, love FP for allowing the return, they just looked up my account since it was ordered online."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Johnny Tall Boot
Name:
Location:New York
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
Great boots but tricky for skinny legs
11.1.2013
"I actually ordered this boot because I have skinny legs and figured I could tie them up to fit my legs. Unfortunately when you do this it kind of loses the 'look' of the boot. It was tied up so tight the boot bunched and looked messy. My recommendation is try them and see if they work for you but if your legs are skinny like mine don't get your hopes up."
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Johnny Tall Boot
Name:
Location:UK
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Lovely boots!
10.29.2013
"I ordered them in brown suede and they are stunning! They makes my legs look more slender and it soooo soft and comfortable! About the size, I usually a UK size 5 and US size 7.5 I think. Considering some reviews about the size I ordered size 8, and it a bit loose. I think they must be true to size. For me, I may wear some thick socks..."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Johnny Tall Boot
Name:
Location:UK
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
Nice looking boots, quality issues?
10.25.2013
"I tried these in my usual JC size 10 and they were comfortable; also tried 11, too big (for comparison: I have Minimal Heel 10, Ex Ex Heel 9.5, Joe boots 11 - Joe and James boots both way too small for me in usual size 10). I tried the charcoal which is a lovely colour and contrasts nicely with the brown stack heel, though not quite so strongly as in the product images. There's a bit of an issue with placing of the holes for the buckle, as observed before, but it would be possible to punch extra holes so there isn't so much lace left over. Very adaptable to calf size and these will work for all kinds of legs and look good! I have not kept them in the end because of quality worries: as happened to another reviewer, when I put on the 11s, the lace which was clearly glued together at a few points pulled apart (with no undue pulling), and one of the metal fixings just flew out with barely any pulling at all. This pair arrived in a brown cardboard box, not a JC box, and I wonder if they had been previously returned as faulty. Customer services were as always very prompt and courteous in response. I was going to keep the 10s but started to worry that the laces might snap on those too. If I had seen only this pair I probably would have kept and rated them 4 or 5 stars. Have opted finally for the Joe boots which are nice and supple, slightly more svelte in style and maybe a little more reassuringly sturdy. Probably I was just unlucky with the 11s and could have kept the 10s with no trouble. Happy with the Joes."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Johnny Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Atlanta
age:over 45
body type:petite
Love the Johnnies... Hate the laces!
10.22.2013
"I loved these boots as soon as I opened the box but when I put them on the first time, the lace broke as I was (gently) attempting to tighten them. I am 5' and I keep hearing that they are not for short women -- well I am short and they look terrific. Make my legs look longer and I have gotten so many compliments. I had to get creative with the laces for now but I'm thinking about replacing the laces with something else. I love them so I don't want to send them back but darn those laces!!! I should check to see if FP can replace the laces?"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Johnny Tall Boot
Name:
Location:northridge, ca
age:14-20
body type:petite
Love them!!
10.21.2013
"i got these in tan suede and i love them! theyre gorgeous in person. the color is absolutely stunning! i have the joe boots too and theyre the same height on my leg and fit the same."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Johnny Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Paris
age:21-25
body type:slender
Well done!
10.19.2013
"I've been thinking about these beauties for about 6 years (haha), but I've always restrained myself from buying : being french and living in France, I knew I would have to pay A LOT of taxes. But a few days ago I've suddenly decided to acquire them, whatever the price. And this morning, here they are, my gorgeous little Johnnies :). Size 6 fits perfectly, though I have very narrow feet. I was a little scared they would be too high (I'm only 6 ft 3), but the height hits just like on the model. The brown suede color is just as expected and I'm very pleased with the quality, and although I can tell the suede leather will tend to get loose (it loosened around my ankle after just a few hours of wear), I think the laces will fix it easily. They are very flattering, and when my father passed by me trying them this morning, he proudly said something like : "Wow, those LEGS ! Well done, girl !" hahaha. Delivery was impressively fast also.
However, please Free Peope, please hear me, I'm begging you : do something for us, poor little strangers. A few FP items are available on european webside, but there's so, so much less interresting things than on the main FP website ! That's so frustrating, so tantalising ! Please FP, I promess that if only I could, I would almost only do my shopping on FP, and buy half the site every week. That's so unfair, come on !!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 15 for Johnny Tall Boot
Name:
Location:California
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Best Boots, So Fab!!!
10.18.2013
"I love love love these boots. They work with many different outfits and make the outfit more chic, sexy, fun and worthy of all fantistas.
Runs true to size and so comfortable. I have them in the tan suede and they are extremely versatile.
Definitely, one of my fav boots."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Johnny Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Ontario Canada
age:over 45
body type:curvy
In Love!
10.17.2013
"I have wanted these for a long time. Got them in the mail yesterday and was so happy with them. The fit is perfect and they are very well made. Definitely the sexiest boots I have ever had. Can't wait to wear them constantly for fall. Love! Love! Love!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Johnny Tall Boot
Name:
Location:New Zealand
age:over 45
body type:petite
Shocked and happy
10.17.2013
"Thought about it for almost a year! But they still were appearing in my dreams, so finally I ordered them.
They are absolutely WONDERFUL! A nice fit and a soft, good quality material. I'm 5.2 feet and I don't think they look weird on me ;) (see picture).
The only bummer was that I got a letter from the customs here in New Zealand ... I had to pay them 130 USD tax before they send them through my home address! I was in shock and almost had to cry.
But after a while I realized the boots were already so close to me ... I could not let the customs return them to the USA. That should be cruel to the boots, isn't it?!
Anyway, this is not the fault of FP (although it would be helpful if the value was NOT on the outside of the box), but let us be honest; it is something to consider for foreign customers. Or discuss in advance with the FP about maybe another way of shipment. I'm still very happy with my purchase.
"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 18 for Johnny Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Woodstock NY
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
these boots were made for....
9.23.2013
"me!! I received these boots as a bday present and I love them!!!
I normally wear a sz 7 - I can often wear a sz 6 too. I got the sz 7 and they fit well , alittle loose which leaves room for heavier socks if need be. They are super soft, and very comfortable.
I had to tighten the laces and was left with about a foot of leather lace that I will need to cut off and poke a new hole through so they can be buckled.
The length is as pictured on the model.
Quite a gorgeous pair of boots and far as I can tell very well made.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Johnny Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Pittsburgh,pa
age:31-35
body type:petite
Made me smile!
9.12.2013
"I wanted these boots for awhile and finally broke down and bought them. I feel guilty spending so much money on one item but I couldn't be happier with these boots. I <3!
These boots rock!
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Johnny Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Alabama
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Statement Boots!
9.3.2013
"LOVE these boots and so does everyone who sees them. I couldn't resist-absolutely perfect with mini dresses, maxis, jeans...can't wait to wear them all fall. Wonderful quality, will hold up well over time, fit true to size, and are comfortable. So pleased with this purchase. ADORE!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 3 next>>