Product Reviews

Cruise Town Dress

Casual and cool knitted tank dress with metallic sheen. Cinched at the waist. Lined. *Shell - 47% Polyester, 25% Rayon, 11% Lurex *Lining - 100% Rayon *Machine Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 32 1/2" Bust (all around): 29" Waist (all around): 32 1/2" Armhole Drop: 8 3/8"
overall average rating:
3.857 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cruise Town Dress
Review 1 for Cruise Town Dress
Name:
Location:Finland
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
absolutely love it!
5.23.2013
" I ordered the charcoal dress in size XS, as it was the only size left, and the reviews stated that it runs a bit large. Made a good choice!
I'm 5'4 and 110 lbs, and it fits very nicely! I could have gone for S too, as this one is a tiny bit tight around the chest but it still looks great.
I'm loving the light fabric and the shape of the dress! The colour is not quite as blue as in the pictures but I'm sure it will look great in the summer eve:) "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Cruise Town Dress
Name:
Location:minneapolis
age:21-25
body type:petite
wish they would restock
4.24.2013
" I really love this dress! I tried it on in the store and fell in love but decided to wait to buy online because i needed a small instead of a medium. to my disappointment there are only larges left :( hopefully fp will restock soon! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Cruise Town Dress
Name:
Location:Syracuse NY
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Love Love Love!!
4.8.2013
" definitely one of my favorite dresses! perfect fit! absolutely love it :) "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 4 for Cruise Town Dress
Name:
Location:Michigan
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Snagged
3.29.2013
" I loved the dress the moment I put it on. Fit perfectly. But it snags easily. Second time I wore it, the fabric got caught on something and snagged and ripped. "
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb4.2.2013
So sorry that this happened! We will be in touch. xoxo
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Cruise Town Dress
Name:
Location:Austin, TX
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
cute dress
2.24.2013
" I got this in the gold color and it was perfect for NYE. I am 5'7" and the medium hits right above my knee but the arm pits sag a little... I would probably get a small if i got another color. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Cruise Town Dress
Name:
Location:Minneapolis, MN
age:over 45
body type:athletic
cruise town dress
2.10.2013
" Great dress. Really like the fabric and the way it feels on soft and very comfy. Made well, fits true to size. Plan to wear it with a leather moto jacket. Will be great for Spring! Love this dress. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Cruise Town Dress
Name:
Location:Milwaukee WI
age:36-40
body type:petite
great dress for my "tough girl in a dress" wardrob
2.9.2013
" I had been longing for this dress for a while and finally took the plunge and bought it. I got the charcoal one in a small. I'm about 5'4" and 120lbs.
I always love how little dresses of this length look on the girls on FP website but sometimes they can make a girl of my size look "squat". Not that case with this dress! Because it's more fitted on top then swingy on bottom it is perfect.
I love dresses but, being a tattooed tough mama, I must be able to rock a dress with knee socks and my Sven clog boots or vintage Fryes AND over jeans. This dress was DARLING! Loved it both ways. I'm a buyer&mgr of a boutique and got compliments on it from my sales girls and customers.
Some reviews said it was sheer and mentioned the slip creepin up. I had neither of these issues. I really appreciated the slip bc i love slips under almost every dress. The slip stays put while the outer dress is flowy&swingy.
In my opinion this is a year round dress. Fall/Winter with an infinity scarf, oversized sweater and sock&boots. Spring/Summer with a big necklace and sandals/dock shoes/low top chucks.
now i may have to get another color;)
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 8 for Cruise Town Dress
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Pretty in theory, awkward fit
1.9.2013
" Like on the model, this dress adds no shape and it just fit awkwardly on my tall frame. Pretty colors, but it went back immediately. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Cruise Town Dress
Name:
Location:Honolulu, HI
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Cruisy Cute
1.3.2013
" I have this dress in all three colors. I LOVE it! Its just perfect for a lazy day or when your not feeling like dressing up to much. But it also can be pared with a pair of wedges and a cute necklace and look dressy. My favorite is the pink and ivory. I got the grey one first in a medium which is my normal FP size but it was a little lose. So i got the pink and ivory in a small and they fit nicely. For reference I'm a 34DD and a size 6. But I love them and wear them all the time. The only downside is that because I wear them often the breast part gets a little fuzzy but nothing a lint roller cant help. Anywho its a great dress for the price and so cute & comfy! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Cruise Town Dress
Name:
Location:Annapolis, MD
age:14-20
body type:curvy
Cute, but nothing special
12.28.2012
" I got the cream color and it was very pretty with a bit of shimmer to the fabric. I am 5' 5" and 145lbs and got the small, knowing the dress ran larger based on the other reviews. It fit me perfectly, hid my larger hips #a plus#, and hasn't too short on my body. I did like the dress, but it was not enough for the price. Although it is lined, the top was sheer and my bra showed through. I don't really like the idea of having to wear another layer underneath the built-in slip, especially in the summer. A nude bra might fix this problem. This dress may work for some, but I didn't necessarily fall in love with it. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Cruise Town Dress
Name:
Location:center valley
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
i wasn't overwhelmed with this dres
10.10.2012
" i got it in the white color and was kinda disappointed. i'm 5'11" and the dress just didn't fit my figure flatteringly. it was too short and just looked to small on my tall frame. i even got a larger size. i don't even think it looks that good on the model personally. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Cruise Town Dress
Name:
Location:New Orleans
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Cute sparkles; sadly had to return
10.4.2012
" I loved this dress, but the lining underneath didn't work for me. The lining is soft, thin cotton that rides up when I move. I have a booty, so most straight fitting skirts become obscene on me once I take a step. Plus, the straight lining causes the outer skirt to stick to your curves. I get the idea - so you can kind of see through the sheer outer skirt to your body underneath, but it didn't work for me. Too bad, because I love the material! Would work for a more slender body type. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Cruise Town Dress
Name:
Location:Austin, TX
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Perfect!
9.12.2012
" I absolutely adore this dress! I have worn it a million times - I love how easy it is to slip on and it can be dressed up or down with the right accessories! I love wearing my ankle boots with it and a great necklace; that's all it really needs! It's easy to wear and super flattering. I want it in another color! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Review 14 for Cruise Town Dress
Name:
Location:Washington
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Very Versatile!
8.31.2012
" This is definately the most versatile piece I have in my closet. I have worn it for formal occasions with a long sweater and tights, and well as for casual days with a jean jacket and boots. I bought the charcoal, and I would say that it is a medium gray with subtle blue undertones. The rolled hem at the bottom is a nice detail. It's also cute with a chunky pullover (like the marigold pullover) for fall and winter. I will say that the material does stretch out a bit, but it is not a big issue. I have a hard time finding dresses that fit well at the top because I am very long and lean, but this dress has a very flattering cut. I would highly reccomend this dress. :) "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 15 for Cruise Town Dress
Name:
Location:New York
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Disappointing
8.12.2012
" I bought the dress in silver/black, knew it fit a bit big, but thought it was comfortable enough to order in this color as well. Unfortunately, the picture doesn't really give you a true idea of what the fit is really like. This is way too big. Way too much material. I'm 106, curvey and petite. When I put this on, you could fit another person into it. The other color, somehow the extra material didn't bother me so much - but in the light color - it just looked totally unflattering. On the model - look at how she holds her elbow - flattening all that extra material against her body to give it a prettier look for the picture. Unless you want to push your elbows against your dress all day to make the dress more flattering - or unless your a bigger woman and order down a size - skip this dress. It doesn't hold up to Free People's sexy free-flowing style that I've come to expect. I returned it. "
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Cruise Town Dress
Name:
Location:St Joseph, MO, USA
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Cute summer dress...
7.6.2012
" I purchased this dress in the mauve color, was torn between it and the blue dress. The fit is loose so you might want to drop down a size. It looks cute with leggings as well. The glitter looks nice against tanned skin. Every time I get it I get many compliments. Very fun. Excellent price. Love it! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Cruise Town Dress
Name:
Location:new york city
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Perfect Summer dress
7.1.2012
" I have been looking for a perfect throw on over everything summer dress and i finally found it. I had placed an order for this dress, and a few others, but wound up at a store yesterday anyway. when I saw this dress I figured i'd try it on to make sure I had ordered the right size. I ordered the grey in a small, which fit perfectly except for being the smallest bit too tight across the chest. I usually wear padded bras so a non padded one should be perfect. There was one lonely pink one in a size medium and the color was so pretty I knew I had to try it on too. Now this was a bit too big, but doesn't look bad by any means so I decided to get it anyway, i addition to keeping the grey when it arrives in the mail. I love this dress so much that I'm keeping both colors which should say something about how great it is! It is perfect and can be worn anywhere - errands, the beach, a night out - with the right accessories. Come fall it will layer nicely with boots, tights, and sweaters. I am 5'3 and about 135 - 140 lbs for reference. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Cruise Town Dress
Name:
Location:ny
age:26-30
body type:petite
photos don't do this justice!
6.22.2012
" I never wanted this from looking at it online. Today I was in a store and the girl helping me was wearing it in the cream colour. I am 5'3" 122lbs and the small fit PERFECTLY. It is so light and airy...great from hot summer days. Can also be styled so many ways. The sparkles are something that would normally detract me, but they are so subtle on this color it doesn't bother me in the least! :) "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Cruise Town Dress
Name:
Location:New Jersey
age:21-25
body type:slender
Nice
6.18.2012
" I saw all three colors in-store and thought the sparkles made the other colors look a bit tacky. The mauve looked the prettiest, which is what I bought and it is so pretty on. I think it's true to size, I'm 5'6 and 120 lbs - the small fits great. It's well-lined and fitted underneath, so I don' feel like there's too much fabric as other reviewers said. Overall a very easy dress to throw on with a necklace and sandals! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Cruise Town Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles and Florida
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
true to size
6.14.2012
" I do not find this to be sheer. It is double lined and requires no under garment pieces. It is kind of a scratchy outter material because of the sparkles. Inside slip is soft. Easy throw on dress. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>