Product Reviews

Focus on Center Top

Acid washed jersey top with mesh inserts and bead embellished "V"-neckline. Slight high low hemline. *Cotton Jersey *Machine Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 26 1/2" Bust (all around): 48" Sleeve Length: 21 3/4"
overall average rating:
3.979 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Focus on Center Top
Review 1 for Focus on Center Top
Name:
Location:San Francisco
age:36-40
body type:petite
A Beauty - definitely a Keeper!
8.21.2013
"What a pretty top - beautiful beadwork and detailing. Love the brick color - I was afraid it was going to be too orangey for me, but it is a nice washed, rosy red - lighter than in the photo - a color that would brighten up any complexion. 4 stars vs. 5 just to hedge my bet - I haven't worn it yet - just rec'd it, so don't know if the beading will hold up. Hope so! It has a cute peplum-like horizontal piece on the bottom, which you can't see since the model has the blouse tucked. Gives it a very feminine look, much like the Rolling Stone/Fondly St. Tropez blouse (my other favorite!). I know many people say FP is usually oversized and to size down, but I disagree. I'm petite - 5' tall, 110 lbs, but my shoulders are a true medium. I find the FP medium is usually what fits me best - yes, the body is very loose and flowy, but I think that is how the clothes are designed - they are supposed to be peasanty/boho/60's, not fitted at all. PS: the arms are snug, but fit fine, and I can hike them up easily on my short arms!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Focus on Center Top
Name:
Location:Houston, TX
age:21-25
body type:petite
A keeper
5.7.2013
"I bought this in the ivory color and I absolutely adore it! I always get compliments on it when I go out as well. I'm 5'3" 1/2, 115 pounds and have a 34D and I got the top in a small. Its flowy and roomy but in a good way because it doesn't swallow you whole like some of the other FP tops do. I've worn it with leggings and pants and I think it goes well with both. It was a perfect cute/casual top in the end of winter/spring when it was kind of cold but not really. I always wear a white cami underneath it because otherwise you can see your bra and its not really the appropriate shirt for that. Great detailing down the front and back. Overall a great buy!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Focus on Center Top
Name:
Location:NYC
age:31-35
body type:slender
CASUAL GLAM
4.25.2013
"Very special top. Gives you instant and easy great style. 5'7", 130 lbs, 34a bust - got the extra small in Brick. Big n boxy, but drapes well. The saleswoman in FP store couldn't stop gushing how amazing it looks. Very soft too! Could be sweatshirt or dressed up. And scored it on sale :) win win"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Focus on Center Top
Name:
Location:Chicago, IL, USA
age:36-40
body type:curvy
Not quite as cute as the photo
4.21.2013
"I bought the sapphire in a medium. The fit is overall more boxy than the photos and the sapphire is considerably more muted. It is closer to a teal than a true blue."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Focus on Center Top
Name:
Location:Torrance, CA
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Perfect Top for Spring
4.1.2013
"I NEVER wear pink or anything close to pink. However, when I tried this top in stores in all the colors they had (brick, ivory, sapphire) the brick surprisingly looked the best on me. I really like this top and it has the perfect boho look. I purchased it about 2 weeks ago, but have already worn it about 5 times to different hang outs. The only con is that I have to constantly adjust the top throughout the day by pulling it down in the front so that the back doesn't look too loose and awkward. Definitely size down!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Focus on Center Top
Name:
Location:Texas
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Cute Top
3.5.2013
"I ordered this top in the blueish color! It does fit very loose, I tried on a large in store and it swallowed me. I ordered a Medium online and it is still a little big, but still fits well. The arms are tighter than the rest of the top, which is kind of weird. I love the detailing!
I wore this over the white Emily Slip!
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 7 for Focus on Center Top
Name:
Location:Aussie girl
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Beautiful top
3.2.2013
"I sized down with this top after reading reviews and was glad I did. I am normally a size small so got the X small. It is as past reviewers have mentioned a little tight in the arms but I know this will stretch out a little and be fine. It is still such a beautiful top. I do wish I got the grey but the cream is lovely."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Focus on Center Top
Name:
Location:Central IL
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Great but not perfect
2.21.2013
"I've been stalking this top ever since it came out. I finally got to try one on and I was disappointed. It is real roomy through the bodice which doesn't bother me at all, love roomy tops. However, the sleeves felt like they were not the right sleeves for the top. First off the sleeve actually starts several inches off shoulder and are very narrow there. Then the sleeves get even skinnier as they go down to the wrist. I'm not a super model, just a regular gal, and there's no way I could wear this in my usual size. Will consider still getting it if I can try on a M or L if the sleeves would fit comfortably."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Focus on Center Top
Name:
Location:ny
age:14-20
body type:athletic
So pretty but....
2.18.2013
"I wanted to love this top soooo bad! I got this in navy in a medium and then I returned it for a small. All together being that it is very expensive I think the beading should have been better, some are almost falling off. However it is a very pretty top! Besides the beads not being fully intact, the arms are also very tight, the fit is kind of boxy"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Focus on Center Top
Name:
Location:Pittsburgh
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Mixed Review
2.15.2013
"The sleeves are tight at the triceps area but bulky at the shoulder!
It has a VERY full flowing fit. I made an adjustment to the back to try to make it not so big.
It is weighted down by the beads and that causes me to constantly be adjusting it because it will sink down my back then have to pull it to the front.
The BIGGEST disappointment was that the netting in the front got a hole! I treated this top like a baby and have no idea how it happened especially since I had only worn it 3 times. I tried by hand stitch it but it looks bad.
With all of that said, you might think "why keep it"? Well, I thought this was one of the most beautiful tops I had ever seen and just had to have it. This was the first time I ever spent $98 on an article of clothing.....and the LAST.
"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Focus on Center Top
Name:
Location:Denver, Colorado
age:over 45
body type:slender
Love this top!
2.14.2013
"This is one of my favorite purchases from Free People! It fits loosely, which I like, but is still flattering. I got the gray one (stone) and love it--looks great over skinny jeans. I'd love to have the red one, too! Fits true to size."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Focus on Center Top
Name:
Location:Columbus, ohio
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
just what i expected
2.12.2013
"Before i purchased this top i read every review and stared at the photos to make sure i was buying the right size for me. While i think that this shirt is boxier than what the photos show from the front, it is still wearable. The arms are slim creating almost a dolman sleeve. the back really does go down past your butt and i think the high low hem is super cute. the embroidery is kind of heavy and i find the vneck creeping up to a point of strangling, but you just adjust and keep going.
i normally wear a medium in free people, but because of the other reviews got the small and i am really happy with that choice.
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Focus on Center Top
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:over 45
body type:petite
Fits funny
2.6.2013
"First of all I have to say this top is beautiful. The beading, color, and fabric are great. That said, this top fits really funny. The body is way to big, the arms are too tight, and the shoulders bunch up and won't lay right. Very disappointing. Considering the glowing reviews I assume that they don't all fit the same (mine is the gray one). I'm usually an xsmall but got the small so it would be more casual. The arms are still way too tight and they pull weird causing the shoulders to lay wrong. This went back immediately. :("
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Focus on Center Top
Name:
Location:Canada
age:over 45
body type:curvy
new favorite top
2.1.2013
"I love this top.....it's comfortable,beautiful and very boho..I bought the stone color and I wear it with my FP Canadian flag scarf . They compliment each other. P.S. My husband loves it on me:)P.S.S. Size down."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Focus on Center Top
Name:
Location:Canada
age:41-45
body type:athletic
cute and casual
1.29.2013
"I just received this top. It is very pretty and casual. The beading detail is very well done and the mesh just makes the top all the more special. The back is the most beautiful part of the top. Very flowy.
Sizing: I do not find the armholes or sleeves tight as other reviewers mentioned but perhaps this is due to the size. I ordered medium, which is my normal size, it is very big, bigger than on model but Based on other comments, It makes me feel like it really should be this big. to balance the armhole and sleeves being tight comments. Consider this when ordering.
Color: I ordered the grey, color is pretty close to website but what looks reddish coral is brighter in person and leans more to orange.
Love love love this.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Focus on Center Top
Name:
Location:Massachusetts
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Beautiful
1.28.2013
"I bought this top in gray, and sized down to an extra small instead of my usual small. It is still baggy, as it is meant to be, but somehow I still find it to be flattering on me and all of my friends with varying body types who try it on. The beading/ sequins are beautiful, my only problem is that they seem to be very delicate. Looks great with tight pants or even a flowing maxi skirt."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Focus on Center Top
Name:
Location:New Zealand
age:over 45
body type:curvy
disappointed
1.28.2013
"When I got the top I was very excited about getting it it looked exactly like the photo but as soon as I put it on I noticed one of the brass beads was half off and so that was disappointing because it was already faulty so decided that based on that and the comments about the beading coming off from other customers I would not waste my money so it was sent back following day. Sizing is roomy which I prefer and I got the size small I think and I am normally a NZ size 12. Waiting for credit to be refunded at this stage"
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb1.29.2013
Sorry you received the top in this condition. You will receive an email as soon as your return is processed. xoxo
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Focus on Center Top
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Cute Look, Awkward Fit
1.27.2013
"I bought this top because of the unique embellishments. It's not over the top and definitely not plain or ordinary. However, the fit around the body is very large. The slender fit in the sleeves narrows towards the wrist. I wear L in all my tops. I ordered this in M based on other reviews and experience with FPs tunic styles. They run large. M is a near perfect fit but still very roomy. Also, as others have stated, the fit between the shoulder and the neck bunches and rolls. It actually shows on the model wearing the ivory version. The mesh and the fabric are not a good blend in this area on the front of the top. But, it's a very cute top in Brick and Stone. Great with jeans."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Focus on Center Top
Name:
Location:New York
age:36-40
body type:petite
Embroidery in focus!!!!
1.26.2013
"Very beautiful top, i went in search of the gray one and ended up with three! stone, sapphire and brick! Love them all and want to see how the colors work with the rest of my clothes. Am definitely keeping the sapphire, color is amazing. Its def a large fitting shirt...i found it cool to layer with the take two top underneath, for warmth..and a bit for privacy, but as many notice, its not really needed . clearly the gray has the most contrast between beadwork and fabric, but the two others are as beautiful, like one reviewer said, its like wearing jewelry, it truly is. Highly recommended. I am 5'4'' 100 lbs and 32b and the XS is super roomy but looks great tucked in front, it fits like the mode image of the white one. Shall be interesting to wash this one:) the stone color is darker, more like shown with the military jacket in my product recommendation than in the actual model shot"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
We The Free Round Two Tee
3.8 out of 5(21)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Review 20 for Focus on Center Top
Name:
Location:Australia
age:41-45
body type:petite
Lovely in Grey
1.16.2013
"I love this top. It is very soft and confy. Looks great with jeans or tights and boots. It is a little on the large side but it is fine as it has a baggy look about it. I tend to buy size M just in case as I really hate clothes that look tight. I could have got a small this time!!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 3 next>>