Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

FP New Romantics Pennies From Heaven Dress

Patterned chiffon maxi dress with deep "V"-neckline. Metallic triangular stitch embellishment around entire waist. Slit at lower right side of skirt. Scalloped lace trimming around neckline in front and back. Zips up the back. Chic patterned tail of fabric in the back with lace insert. Lined. We also love the versatility of this dress when it comes to styling options. Wear it long or shorten the hem for a more bustled and laidback. To shorten the dress, match the button loop to the corresponding button at each bottom side of the skirt portion. Super easy! The delicately romantic and texture heavy New Romantics collection was inspired by the dream-worthy beach views and magically hidden coves of Sardinia, Italy. *Body - 100% Polyester (exclusive of trims) *Lining - 100% Nylon *Hand Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size 6: Length: 58" Waist (all around): 31 1/2" Inner Strap Length: 12 1/2" Outer Strap Length: 14"
overall average rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for FP New Romantics Pennies From Heaven Dress
Review 1 for FP New Romantics Pennies From Heaven Dress
Name:
Location:Miami, FL
age:21-25
body type:slender
Gorgeous!
3.7.2013
"Perhaps one of the best Free People purchases I've ever made. I saw it a couple months back and fell in love with it, but I had no event to justify the expense for. After mulling over it a couple of weeks, I relented and bought it. It was worth every penny. It's gorgeous. I wore it to a wedding and got tons of compliments. It does run a tad bit big but it is so flattering. The only drawback is that Selena Gomez wore it once and now it'll never go on sale."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for FP New Romantics Pennies From Heaven Dress
Name:
Location:Pennsylvania
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Charming
3.7.2013
"I bourght this to wear to a baby shower and it looked amazing on! I got so many compliments. It was a little low cut for my taste - I am a 32 DD and had to wear a lace bralet under it otherwise it would have been obscene. It is also VERY long - I am 5'3 and had to wear 5 1/2 inch heels and it still dragged a bit. However, all in all it was gorgeous!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for FP New Romantics Pennies From Heaven Dress
Name:
Location:Melbourne, Australia
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Dress received and I'm in love
1.29.2013
"Beautiful design, workmanship and true to picture. Very impressed with my first purchase from freepeople.com."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for FP New Romantics Pennies From Heaven Dress
Name:
Location:NM
age:31-35
body type:slender
Sadly Not in Love
1.10.2013
"Like a few of the other reviewers, I was sadly disappointed that I did not love this dress as much as I had hoped. One reviewer commented that the colours are slightly darker than pictured. This is true. The creme top portion was not nearly as light as it is in the pictures. Aside from that, it is largely what I expected but fit was more the issue. Based on other reviews, I ordered a size 0. I am usually either a size 2 or 4. For ref 34B-C, 27" waist, 5'4", 115 lbs). Because I am rather small chested, even the 0 was just too loose for this to look good in the top, though it did feel like it fit fine under the bust where it zips. It wasn't horrible but at the price point of $350, I couldn't justify keeping it since it didn't fit well in the bust. I will comment that reviewer courtneysinclair notes her figure as curvy and the pic she posted of her in this is fabulous. I really think this would work well with someone with a fuller bust but if you're pretty flat chested, it just doesn't wow. That with the duller colour made this unfortunately not work for me. I am giving this a three star rating because I do think the dress would work well on the right body type."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for FP New Romantics Pennies From Heaven Dress
Name:
Location:seattle, wa
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Sooo different than on the picture
1.9.2013
"I wanted to love this dress so badly
I was trying to buy it in size 4 or 2 for months.
Finally it was back in stock in December and i BOUGHT it>
I was so disappointed when i opened the package.
One thing is that size 4 was too loose on me. Im 5'9 138Lb C cup,
That was not the biggest problem though, i would have taken it to alterations if I truly loved the design. The biggest disappointment was that the fabric was not as I expected. Based on the picture i imagined the dress had that rougher/fishnat/knit mesh feel and look on the skirt part,
instead it was just charmless smooth chiffon (as it was described on the website), nonetheless i was expecting something what i saw on the picture. OHHHhhh
Lace trimming around neckline felt a bit shabby next to the pattern chosen for the top.
Overall, I cant believe It can look so different on the picture and in person
"
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for FP New Romantics Pennies From Heaven Dress
Name:
Location:norway
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
not true to size or color
12.26.2012
"to big.
In the picture the colors on the dress looks much brighter than in real life. the top looks white/ cream in pictures. IRL its more of a really dark cream. the bottom looks like it has a hint of silver in it, but IRL it's more brown...
I love the dress in the pictures but it looks totally different in real life....
"
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for FP New Romantics Pennies From Heaven Dress
Name:
Location:Boston
age:31-35
body type:pear shaped
Literally from Heaven
12.3.2012
"This dress is amazing. I have never seen anything like it. I went down a full 2 sizes because it is very roomy from the waist down. I usually am a size 6 and sometimes 8 on bottom and ordered this in a 2. I purchased this for a friends wedding NEXT year. That's how much I loved it.
It is so much more delicate looking in person and ethereal.
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for FP New Romantics Pennies From Heaven Dress
Name:
Location:Bloomington, IN
age:14-20
body type:curvy
Perfect
11.30.2012
"I ordered this dress back in September, and I love it. It's so beautiful and perfect, and it fits pretty well (a bit big). Definitely worth the price!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 9 for FP New Romantics Pennies From Heaven Dress
Name:
Location:mississippi
age:21-25
body type:slender
Favorite Dress!
10.10.2012
"This dress is perfect. I wore it and got stopped everywhere I went getting compliments on it. It fits beautifully! I am about 5'4" and 115 lbs and got the size 2. I didn't wear a bra and had no problems even though I am a 34C. WORTH EVERY PENNY!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for FP New Romantics Pennies From Heaven Dress
Name:
Location:HI
age:26-30
body type:slender
absolutely gorgeous
9.13.2012
"this dress is simply stunning! the details make this dress so unique and beautiful. i have no idea where i would use this dress but i knew i just had to have it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for FP New Romantics Pennies From Heaven Dress
Name:
Location:nyc
age:21-25
body type:petite
Fell in LOVE
9.1.2012
"As crazy as it sounds, I tried this dress on and KNEW it was my wedding dress. Im not engaged or anything, so although I dont know the man i am spending the rest of my life in, I know this is the dress I will marry him in. Its BEAUTIFUL in every way. It is usually difficult for me to fit into dresses like these because i have a larger bust and small waist and I am short, but this dress did not disappoint in any of those areas! I will need to tailor it a bit, but not so much that its not worth it. The waist band detail is impeccable also! This dress definitely shows my personality and so I know its crazy to say, but this is undoubtedly my wedding dress."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for FP New Romantics Pennies From Heaven Dress
Name:
Location:MS
age:over 45
body type:petite
Lovely, light weight
8.12.2012
"I love the dress...I am 5.2, 118lbs.
I ordered a 4,it fits me like a 6 soooo I just re ordered a 0 because size 2 has been sold out! I really hope it fits...if not my 4 will go to my tailor! That is how awesome this dress is...
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for FP New Romantics Pennies From Heaven Dress
Name:
Location:Thailand
age:21-25
body type:petite
Amazing!!!!
7.25.2012
"I just received this today in the mail and I was so surprised by how much prettier it looks in real life! This dress feels literally from heaven.
BEAUTIFUL! thanks so much free people :)
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for FP New Romantics Pennies From Heaven Dress
Name:
Location:Palm Springs, CA
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Beautiful & Whimisical! <3
7.24.2012
"I had been looking about 2 months for a wedding dress when I came across this unique beautiful dress on FP. I know it's not traditional white but that's what I love about it! It's like no other dress I've ever seen. I am 5 7' and my measurements are 36/33/36/38 #FP measure guidelines#. I bought size 10 which fit good enough that if my weight fluctuated before the wedding there's nothing a little tailoring can't fix. I do have a larger bustline so the belt sits right beneath.The length falls long to the ground so heels will be necessary. The white skirt underneath is sheer so careful to wear a nude/white underwear.The fabric chiffon is flowy and dreamy. What I thought looked white is actually a soft cream where the feather print lays. I fell in love with this dress and I can't wait to wear it on my wedding day in the romantic woods!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for FP New Romantics Pennies From Heaven Dress
Name:
Location:Anaheim, CA
age:26-30
body type:petite
AmAzInG,BeAuTiFuL, EyE-CaTcHiNg
7.21.2012
"This dress is amazingly beautiful. I love just about every aspect of it! Don't have anywhere to wear it to, but I didn't care, I just had to get it!. I ordered it online, got a size 4, its a little too big for me, (Im 5'4 and 120lbs) should have gotten a size 2 but I'm okay with it because I plan on having kids so it would be perfect for pregnant women too because the skirt part is flowy and spacious. I only wish the underlining was the length of the dress and not above the knee, but for this dress, I can live with it just fine!! Thats how beautiful it is!
FYI, it is a bit long for short gals like me, it definitely touches the ground, but nothing a pair of heels cant fix or hem."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large