Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Castello Embroidery Top

Long sleeved top with deep scoop neck and gorgeous floral embroidery. Lace-up tie detail at neck. High-low hem. *100% Cotton *Hand Wash *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 26 " Bust: 32" Sleeve Length: 26"
overall average rating:
4.389 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Customer Reviews for Castello Embroidery Top
Review 1 for Castello Embroidery Top
Name:
Location:toronto
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Beautiful top
1.11.2012
"I love the embroidery and the lacing up detail. Kind of a renaissance thing going on here and just gorgeous. It's too bad they don't have anymore of these I would order them in every frigging colour they had."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Castello Embroidery Top
Name:
Location:Virginia
age:31-35
body type:petite
even better in person
12.27.2011
"the embroidery on the vanilla is so beautiful in person. It's a very pale peach. this looks great with jeans or shorts. I think this top has a medieval vibe to it. so worth the sale price. you may have to see it in person to appreciate it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Micro Tap Pant
4.6 out of 5(22)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 3 for Castello Embroidery Top
Name:
Location:Western USA
age:41-45
body type:athletic
70's chic --updated...
11.23.2011
"I ordered the X-Small, and the upper arm area of the sleeves of the one sent to me measure 9 & 1/2" in circumference. The elbow area is about 8" around. Sleeve length from shoulder seam: 25 &1/4", Front length from shoulder seam: 26", Back length from back neck: 32", Bust (when tied): 32". If these tops are consistently sized, this info could help if you are thinking of sizing down to snap up the ones that are left."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Castello Embroidery Top
Name:
Location:Pennsylvania
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
love but tight...
10.22.2011
"I saw this in the store in a small and it looked very large and like it would not fit me so i decided to go with an XS. i got home and put it on and the sleeves were so tight it just looked like my skin but a different color. It was a tad tight in the chest but nothing unbearable. I loved the length in the back though so i didnt want that to change and i was afraid if i went with the small that it would be too long and not fit like i wanted it to. I think i am going to stick with the XS just because i like the length but if you dont want it to fit tight then i would recommend sizing up."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Castello Embroidery Top
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA
age:over 45
body type:petite
very cute
10.3.2011
"Got this in rust and love it, and plan to go back for the other colors. Great fit, cute style, nice details."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Castello Embroidery Top
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
Really gorgeous!
9.26.2011
"As one reviewer said, this top IS gorgeous and worth every penny! The embroidery is very beautiful and the top is well made. It does run true to size and yes, the sleeves are cut a little bit tighter than normal but they are not uncomfortable. I'm a 34B and the medium fits perfectly. Also, I am 6' tall and 125lbs. I love the long length of the back.
I would only size up if you want less of a fitted sleeve but then the top might be too big around the bust.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Castello Embroidery Top
Name:
Location:New York
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Pretty, but...
9.23.2011
"I tried this on in-store after mooning over it on the site for a while. I love the contrast embroidery on the rust, not so much the coordinating embroidery on the faded black and the white. I loved the rusty-red shade on here as well, as it seemed perfect for autumn. Luckily the other reviews prepared me for it being a little off, but when I saw it in person, it was dusty pink! The lace-up tie is made of the same fabric as the front panel, so it doesn't look quite as nice as the cord shown in the photo, though the embroidery is definitely as intricate as the photos show and more. The bodice part is more loose-fitting than I'd thought it would be, as the measurements on the site had me thinking an S would not fit over my bust. It was fine there, but as others have pointed out, the sleeves were unflatteringly tight. A M looked much better. While I'm sure the colour would look absolutely gorgeous on another person, the pink didn't really flatter my complexion, so I didn't end up getting it. A bummer. I might consider snapping up the white (as I really don't need another charcoal-coloured tunic at this point!) once this goes on sale, however."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Castello Embroidery Top
Name:
Location:santa clarita
age:14-20
body type:petite
rugged chic!
9.19.2011
"love this top! totally passed it but it's soo comfy and cute which is a major plus. it is a tad long on my frame i bought an XS and i'm 5'2 104 for ref. the arms on the top are tight but it's something i prefer. the detail in the front is super cute and kinda has a washed out look as for the color its just a tad off maybe a little more muted than the wine they show. all in all awesome piece."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 9 for Castello Embroidery Top
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Details, Details
9.12.2011
"I saw this top on line and didn't really think much of it by the pictures shown so passed it right by. But when I went into the FP store and was looking around I spotted it, and it looks so much better in person. The detailed design on the front is so cute! I tried it on and for my body type, long and lean, it was very complimentary. I bought my usual size S in the faded black, and I just love it. It is kind of a charcoal color. Paired with leggings or skinny jeans with tall boots this will look adorable. Now I'm just waiting for cooler weather..."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 10 for Castello Embroidery Top
Name:
Location:Santa Fe, NM
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Think I Should Have Bought a Different Color
9.10.2011
"I bought the black in this and think maybe I should have bought a different color. Since it is a faded black it looks like it's an old faded garment which I am not so keen on. Also not crazy about the long back hemline with the short front. The arms are tight as mentioned by other reviewers. Otherwise true to size."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Castello Embroidery Top
Name:
Location:Australia
age:21-25
body type:petite
the back is too long
9.9.2011
"I am 159cm tall and 105lbs. I bought a size XS rust. The colour is fine. The upper part (the arm) fits well. I know the design of the bottom part should looks loose. However, it is a bit way too loose and too long for me. I need to wear heels or platforms in order to make it overall looks fit to me. Although it fits me when I wore heels/platforms, it a bit disappointed me because I was bought it for casual wear purpose."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Castello Embroidery Top
Name:
Location:New Mexico
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Rust color is not rust
9.1.2011
"The detailing on this top is lovely, especially the lace-up scoop neckline. I ordered the "rust" color, and the contrast of the black design is striking. However, I imagined "rust" would be a warm brownish red, but instead I would describe it as being more of a mauve-toned, dusty rose color. I was hoping for something red or maroon, so I'm not sure about this shade for me. Descriptions are everything..."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Castello Embroidery Top
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Beautiful.....but tight fit in arms
8.29.2011
"I really love this top and it looks like more reviewers were drawn to the burgandy color however I felt the black was beautiful with its washed out look. It's a great tunic and looks great with skinny jeans, leggings, etc. I normally wear a M/L in free people tops and I got a large in this top. I tried the medium and it was a perfect fit, even in the bust (and I'm a 36DD) but it was reallly tight in the arms. I decided to size up to a L and it fits in the arms but doesn't have the fitted look I liked with the M, it's a little more loose. Either way, LOVE this top and keeping it.!"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Castello Embroidery Top
Name:
Location:New York
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Slight disapointment
8.28.2011
"So I listened to previous reviews (before the ones that said it fit true to size) and sized down with an xs. I should have just gotten the small as the arms are VERY tight, and I have extremely skinny arms. The rest of it fits nicely but it is more of a normal length top in this size. I ordered the burgundy and while one reviewer said it looked more fire engine red, mine could not be more different. It is a lot duller than in the picture, and is very muted. I still love the top because of the details and I knew there would be some coloring differences, but I think I'll have to spend more money and get the small."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Castello Embroidery Top
Name:
Location:Massachusetts
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Gorgeous Top! Worth every penny!
8.25.2011
"This top is absolutely gorgeous and worth every penny! It runs true to size and looks awesome paired with the solid kimono (which you have to order a size down if you buy it)."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Castello Embroidery Top
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:21-25
body type:petite
stunning
8.19.2011
"the detail in this top is stunning in person. believe me, it needs to be seen. the photos do not do it justice. the fit is true to size. i am 5'4, about 115-120 lbs, and I got an XS. It's tight in the bust, so if you have a large bust you might need to size up. Other than that, a perfect tunic! I bought the black, but the red color is amazing too. It seemed a bit brighter in person, too. A bit more fire-engine red than it looks here."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Castello Embroidery Top
Name:
Location:bend, oregon
age:36-40
body type:athletic
gorgeous!
8.19.2011
"this is a wonderfully beautiful and comfortable top that will layer well or look outstanding on it's own. i ordered the rust color and it looks like it does in the photo which i would describe as more of a faded burgandy than anything close to what i consider rust to be. this top does run very loose and relaxed, so unless oversized is what you desire, i certainly would not go up a size and some may consider sizing down for a more streamlined/fitted look. the embroidery/detailing is really very beautiful and i really like the contrast that is offered with this particular color. it is nice to have such beauty and comfort in one article as this piece feels like your favorite old t-shirt....i am sure i will love this for years to come!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Castello Embroidery Top
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
Classic Hippie Chic
8.16.2011
"I loved the look of this top the moment I saw it, but worried my hourglass figure might not work with it. I tried it on (size medium, could have worn a large for a loose fit, but liked the more fitted look) and it looked great! Paired it with black leggings, black jeans and a funky flowered skirt and it looked great with all three! I got so many compliments and questions about where I got it. The assumption was I got it in Europe! I like being unique! Haven't washed it yet, so fingers crossed it holds up well. Love this top!!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large