Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Crochet Monokini

Deep-V crochet one piece with lined bust and bottom. Cut out sides. Halter tie top. **Special Note: Orange neon color is more like the catalog shot than studio shots. *By Lisa Maree
overall average rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(75 Reviews) 75
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 46 Answers
Customer Reviews for Crochet Monokini
Review 1 for Crochet Monokini
Name:
Location:US
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
If Mermaids wore Monokini's...
7.9.2014
" I debated over this gorgeous swimsuit for 2 summers. I've never spent so much on anything like this, but I finally gave in. Soooo glad I listened to other reviewers about sizing. I normally wear an XS/S in Free People; size 6 or 28 in jeans; I have an hourglass figure (36-26-38, 32DD). I purchased the wine color, in a size Medium. The suit is absolutely stunning! Super soft crochet, nice lining. Fit a bit tight in the hips at first, but adjusted after wearing for a little while. Perfect honeymoon swimsuit - my husband loves it :) "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Crochet Monokini
Name:
Location:NYC
age:31-35
body type:slender
Wine's the winner
5.13.2014
" So sexy and flattering. The wine is a deep, rich red. Truly jaw dropping. It does run small. I'm size 4, 34-27-36 and went according to the reviews, and got the medium. Perfect fit. Conceals "flaws", highlights the feminine figure. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Crochet Monokini
Name:
Location:Little Rock, Arkansas
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
I'm SO Sad!!
1.11.2014
" I tried this suit in a S first, then an XS, but neither worked for me. I am 5' 7" 108 pounds 34B. I have a really long torso & a teensy girth to the width of my bone structure, which always gives me a hard time with clothes!
The S fit perfectly in the bottom. Seriously perfect. But the middle part was too baggy. The triangles covered well, so I didn't feel too exposed, however with the middle part (even when I cinched the string in the middle to take up the slack) I still had a half-inch gap at the top of my ribs. Cue the small girth of my body.
I returned it for an XS with high hopes. The XS fit even worse! I could hardly get it over my hips without thinking it was going to bust open. It took me a good 2 minutes of delicately sliding the suit over my legs just to get it on. The bottom was way, way too small to the point of pain. It was digging into my thighs (which are not very big at all, people!). The vertical length of the suit seemed to have lost a good two-inches compared to the S. So the top fit fine around my middle part, but the strings were tied so tightly around my neck just to stretch the suit up to my chest where it was supposed to go, that I thought it was going to break. Cue my long torso. On top of that, the triangles were so very tiny with the XS. I had so much side-boob that the side of my lady-doughnut-holes (don't want to say the n-word) were showing. The triangles were just microscopic.
Also, in looking at the pics at some of you lovely ladies in the suit, the tops of the triangles on both suits did not come up as high on my chest as all the photos I've seen. I could barely pull it up to my chest & I see some girls' have the triangle tops hitting right below their collarbones.
I am so heartbroken!! I had been eyeing this suit for a long time & finally had a vacation to justify the purchase of it, but I couldn't keep either one. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Crochet Monokini
Name:
Location:s florida
age:36-40
body type:petite
Surprised!
7.11.2013
" Alright I am not a swimsuit kinda person AT ALL, I bought this piece to wear as a top with shorts or maxi skirts, etc or a piece to wear just in case I was forced into wearing one for any pool/beach parties, came across this one and decided to give it a try. I'm 5'3 108lbs, 34b, 25in waist, 34 hips - definitely would not say i have a fit beach body type since im soft, just keepin it real - fit bodies and soft bodies just look different in swimwear hence not being a fan of having to wear one. Now with that being said - this is a pretty suit, it's sexy and flattering for the most part... and I do like that you have coverage but still the feel of a bikini. I will say the bottom part is a little snug but I believe this will have some give to it with wear so I'm not overly concerned about it nor would I size up for fear that it would then become a little saggy on the bottom part. I ordered this in size small. Hope this helps anyone trying to decide if they want to purchase. "
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 5 for Crochet Monokini
Name:
Location:Texas
age:21-25
body type:slender
Beautiful but...
6.5.2013
" This swimsuit is very flattering on! The cutouts are in the right places to create a curvy shape. There is light padding in the bust area, so you don't have to worry about nipping. As other reviewers noted, it does run small, so definitely order a size up. If you have a booty, you may want to order two sizes up, or just deal with the fact that it is not a full coverage bottom. For the look alone, I would give it 5 stars.
There is one drawback to this swimsuit - the color fades. After wearing it the FIRST time in the hot tub, the color faded from deep black to a dingy brown. This is VERY annoying for so pricey a swimsuit! I would expect it to fade eventually, but immediately is unacceptable, hence the 3 star rating.
The suit is lovely though, and there is always the possibility of it staying true to color longer if you wear it at the beach or non-chlorinated pool. Or you could always stay out of the water... "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Crochet Monokini
Name:
Location:United States
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
I LOVE IT!
4.19.2013
" This is a BEAUTIFUL suit! I feel so good in it! I can't wait to wear it all of the time. It is a very delicate item but it is so comfy and so beautiful. And I by no means, have a body like that of the models, but it is such an incredibly flattering suit and I do not feel self conscious at all. It makes me feel sexy! And that's always good on the beach! I am so glad I purchased this suit in black. But, if I had the money, I'd buy every color FP ever comes out with. If you're thinking about this suit, I highly recommend it. I have no problem with the fit on any part of it. A super plus is the tie halter doesn't hurt and dig into my neck like other swimsuits I have. DO IT! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Crochet Monokini
Name:
Location:New England
age:21-25
body type:slender
should've listened to other reviews...runs small
4.15.2013
" i'm always always an XS in everything, so i decided not to listen to other reviewers suggesting i size up and ordered my usual size...big mistake, it barely covers my chest and that's only if i pull it up so much that i feel like the string around my neck is about to rip. other than the size issue this is a very beautiful and sexy piece, hence the 5 star rating! i can't wait to exchange it for a size up, i'll be rocking this all summer "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Crochet Monokini
Name:
Location:florida
age:14-20
body type:petite
beautiful!
4.9.2013
" ive been wanting this swimsuit for sooo long and saw how most reviews said it ran small but still decided to order the xs because im tiny (5'0 100 lbs) it fits me perfect and is sooo flattering! the top is a little bit small but I still think it looks great ahh best thing I ever purchased!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Crochet Monokini
Name:
Location:Boston
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Runs tiny but I love it!
3.15.2013
" I am typically an xs (5'4'' 103 lbs) so I ordered an xs. It fit beautifully in the body and top, but was waayy to small in the bottom! I sized up to a small and though the bottoms are still a bit small, and the cups are a bit bigger than the xs, it does fit better. It is definitely worth purchasing, but I highly recommend sizing up 1 or even two sizes depending on how curvy you are. Overall I love the suit, just wish the sizing was more proportional! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Crochet Monokini
Name:
Location:Honolulu
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
perfection
3.8.2013
" This is possibly my favorite item of clothing I've owned. I'm a size 3 in jeans, but a small up top, so I grabbed a medium just in case since I've heard it runs a bit tiny.
This looks amazing with a pair of cutoffs! I have yet to use it as actual swim gear because it seems so delicate, but it looks so beautiful underneath a sheer top. I've been using mine for months without issue.
I'd be tempted to get this in another color if they begin selling in blue or burgundy...don't pass it up, it's definitely worth the price! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Crochet Monokini
Name:
Location:delray florida
age:21-25
body type:petite
so sexy its rediculous
3.5.2013
" I bought this first in black in an xs which is my usual size but it was soo tight from the butt so i exchanged for a S and it fit perfect. im 34-24-34 for reference. Its so amazingly pretty and sexy so i decided to buy the neon orange too. I love both of them. Definitly size up. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Crochet Monokini
Name:
Location:New England
age:21-25
body type:petite
Keeping it
2.28.2013
" After much deliberation, I have decided I can't bear to return this beauty. My thoughts: there are some cons. It runs quite small - I sized up and even on my little bum it's still pretty small in the bottom part, and, as expected, the cups are very small but when pulled tight enough, it is pretty sexy, so that I can overlook. The other cons are how delicate it is - I'm terrified I'm going to snag it and I am unlikely to ever actually wear it swimming. BUT, the pros: it's an absolute head-turner. A beautiful suit like this is sure to bring tons of compliments, and it's just so cute, you can't help but feel like a badass in it. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Crochet Monokini
Name:
Location:MA
age:21-25
body type:petite
Super Pretty
1.28.2013
" Surpringingly flattering, this unique piece is gorgeous and I cannot wait until the warmer weather!!! As a 32B size 0/25 in Free People, I felt that the cups were a bit small but I'm pretty sure that's just a part of the sexy design! Must have!!! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Crochet Monokini
Name:
Location:State College, PA
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Must-have
1.7.2013
" By far the sexiest item I've ever owned. I got it to wear for Spring Break in Miami and I try it on all of the time because I feel so amazing in it. I ordered a Medium (I'm usually a S/M in FP) and it's barely tight, but any size bigger would be too big. I have a pretty big butt and it covers it well. I wear a size 32 C/D so I have a decent amount of side-boobage, but I'm ok with that. Just warning those who may not be. There's no way you can't feel amazing and sexy in this. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Crochet Monokini
Name:
Location:Brisbane, Australia
age:31-35
body type:petite
Love it!!
12.10.2012
" I love this beautiful monokini, I can finally go too the beach without worrying about my tummy which has been through a twin pregnancy 2.5 years ago!! It is a little bit tight around the hips but I think it is more due to the fact that my hips are slightly big in comparison to the rest of my body!! When I have lost that final difficult kilo it will fit perfectly. Quality is fantastic and I love that it sits quite low on the hips,. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Crochet Monokini
Name:
Location:Columbus, OH, USA
age:14-20
body type:petite
Stunning and unique!
12.9.2012
" I've been on the hunt for a crochet monokini for quite a while! And when I stumbled upon this one, I just knew I had to have it. You honestly just can't go wrong with Free People- This suit is so flattering and well made! I read in previous reviews that this does run a tad small (especially in the waist), and I'm typically a size small (5'3", 118lbs) so I ordered a medium just to be safe. I'm definitely glad I did! It fits perfectly and although it's winter, I'll be looking for an excuse to wear this ASAP! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Crochet Monokini
Name:
Location:Boston, MA
age:14-20
body type:petite
awesome.
11.29.2012
" So I had been eyeing this bathing suit for two summers before I finally decided to purchase it... and I was not disappointed!! I am 5'2, 110 lbs, a 32A, and the bathing suit fit almost perfectly, although it was a bit small (I purchased the S). It is super flattering -- I wore it to a concert and got tons of compliments! I think it is such a unique and great piece although a bit pricey. I unfortunately purchased it at the end of the summer season but I can't wait to wear it again. The only complaint that I have is that there is the potential to get a really weird tan line... "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Crochet Monokini
Name:
Location:Washington, DC
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
Stunning, Sexy and Stylish Swimming Suit
11.19.2012
" I looked at this swimming suit for a about a year. I thought, no it's not going to work on my type of body. I am curvy and I have a large chest. But it did, I just received it in the mail and tried it on. It's stunning and gorgeous and sexy. My husband loved it. I bought it in black. My measurements are 34C, I traditionally wear size 6 in clothing. In the jeans, I am size 28. My height is 5.3 feet and my weight is 130 pounds.I bought size M in this Swim Suit. I love it!!! Get the suit and you will not regret it. "
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 19 for Crochet Monokini
Name:
Location:FL
age:26-30
body type:petite
not the best fit
10.17.2012
" I tired this on in small and medium. It is a gorgeous swimsuit, but it fits a little weird. The top fit fine in both small and medium for 34b, but the bands on the bottom kind of cut into my legs and didn't flatter well. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Crochet Monokini
Name:
Location:stl
age:26-30
body type:pear shaped
beautiful but very delicate
7.28.2012
" i bought this suit in a L in plum. im am 5'8 and about 155lbs. this suit was so stunning when i put it on, but i realized how fragile the yarn is that was used to make it. to my disapointment there was already a snag in the back of the suit upon arrival. with a heavy heart i returned it bc for that much money it needs to be perfect. also, it fit amazingly and is very flattering, but the top is tiny. i am a 34c, and the suit uptop fit just like the model in the pic. you have a lot exposed, and i imagine if you wore it swimming (which i would actually not advise due to how fragile the material is- you would have to be very careful so that nothing rips, or "falls out". i think if they restocked this i would still buy it again, EXAMINE it very carefully, and just wear it as a top/statement piece. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 3 4 next>>