Product Reviews

Casablanca Sundress

Mesh cotton body-conscious maxi tank dress with large floral embroidered pattern all over. High-low hem at the bottom with slit at bottom back. Lined. *By Jen's Pirate Booty *100% Cotton *Machine Wash Cold *Made in USA Measurements for Size Small: Length in Front: 47 1/2" Length in Back: 55" Slit Length: 29" Bust (all around): 29" Waist (all around): 28" Armhole Drop: 9 1/2"
overall average rating:
3.312 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Casablanca Sundress
Review 1 for Casablanca Sundress
Name:
Location:New Hampshire
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Bad Quality
4.28.2013
"I love the dresses from free people and have always loved the fit and quality. however, with this dress it was another story. I bought this dress in December thinking ahead, so I could wear it for graduation and the summer. I ordered it so early in fear that it wouldn't be available when I wanted to wear it and recently when I went to try it on for the first time since I received the dress, a friend of mine noticed a huge cut in the slip of the dress above my right butt cheek revealing my cheek for all to see. the dress must have been cut in the packaging process or in the making of the dress because the lace outer part was not cut at all just the slip, which is made out of very stretchy cotton unable to be discreetly sewn. Needless to say I was devastated with the poor quality in this dress along with how expensive it was for it to have such a defect. I wish I had saw this when I first received the dress and tried it on. I am unfortunately unable to wear it because through the lace paterial you can see my butt through the cut in the fabric. As for sizing the dress fit like a glove. Wish I had a better made dress"
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb4.30.2013
We are sorry that this ripped -- we will be in touch. xoxo
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Casablanca Sundress
Name:
Location:san francisco
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
love it
3.1.2013
"I ordered this in an XS because I want it to hug my body - and it fits great. For reference, I am 5'6'', 135 lbs, 32C with a 37'' waist. The XS fits great once I get it on, but my only problem is that the lace layer is very fragile and I felt like I ripped it a couple times while pulling it on. Overall, though, I love this dress and can't wait to wear it!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Casablanca Sundress
Name:
Location:VA
age:21-25
body type:slender
Not As Pictured.
1.27.2013
"Height - 5'4"
Weight - 120 lbs
Bra Size - 34B
Received this in the mail today - Ordered a size S. IS NOT AS PICTURED. The fabric barely fit over my hips (I wear a size 2 in jeans) and was loose and unflattering on my waist. The dress underneath is so short it's indecent, and the slit in the back reached all the way to my behind. I can't believe anyone looks good in this dress - I'm not fat and it made my belly/waist look enormous."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Casablanca Sundress
Name:
Location:BC
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Pretty but had no tags!
1.12.2013
"Got the dress last week and tried it on.
The chest is pretty roomy and it falls quite low on me, and I'm 6'1".
The waist is huge too and offers minimal curve appeal.
The most disappointing thing of all is the dress had no tags on it. All new articles of clothing should have price tags and care tags attached.
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Casablanca Sundress
Name:
Location:San Diego, CA
age:26-30
body type:petite
gorgeous!
11.16.2012
"This dress is really beautiful! The mini dress underneath is very soft and comfortable and the lace is very pretty. It does run a little large so I'll have to have it taken in a little, I have NO hips and it is certainly cut for someone with a little more curve than myself. That said, I still really love this dress and look forward to wearing it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Casablanca Sundress
Name:
Location:Western USA
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Gorgeous "Mini Dress"
11.11.2012
"Tried this in the store and it is designed with a stretchy attached slip and a gorgeous, thick and comfy fabric. Note that it is a mini-dress; the lining is short and the slit at bottom back of the overdress is revealing to almost slip level. Check out the back view studio shot carefully to see how big and wide the slit is. Note that you only see the fabric from the front of the skirt through the slit, not the model's legs. I highly recommend this dress if you are OK with the price, like the slip length and want this style."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Casablanca Sundress
Name:
Location:Clifton Springs, NY
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Will make a Beautiful wedding dress ...
9.26.2012
"I bought this dress for my daughter who is planning a beach wedding in Florida next year. She is curvy (like her mama) and needed to go up a size. (can take it in if needed) For reference she is 5 foot 6 inches, about 125 lbs., and normally takes a 6. We went with the medium in her case becuse the small was very tight across the hip/butt area. The dress is simply beautiful and well made. She will be a beautiful bride!!! :)"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Casablanca Sundress
Name:
Location:Toronto, Canada
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Casablanca Dress- A must for every curvy girl!
7.26.2012
"This dress was absolutely beautiful!
- The fabric is lovely quality and it quite heavy, so the lace doesn't turn out sheer. Perfect for more formal events!
- The fit of this dress seems to flatter a specific body type best. Because I'm quite curvy (I ordered a Large) and also fairly tall (5'7") this dress turned out really splendidly on me. It hugs the bum snugly and fits nicely in the bust area. Yes, the waist is a bit loose; but not so loose that it looks off. (In fact, the loose waist is quite nice because the dress shows off so many other curves!). I tried pairing the dress with a stretchy waist belt - a good look if you prefer to show off your middle, too!
- The bottom of the dress is divine. The slit in the back is very sexy, yet classy at the same time. The high-low hem is also really trendy right now. The bottom of the dress adds movement and flexibility to the dress. Very nice touch!
Overall, gorgeous dress! If you consider yourself to be quite petite or slender, this might not be the dress for you. Anyone with curves looking for a flattering body-con dress - this is it!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Casablanca Sundress
Name:
Location:California
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
I love it...
7.16.2012
"I'm getting married in this white dress...on the beach....I saw it online, tried it on and bought it all the same day, without hesitation.
I'm not the typical FP customer, I'm in my 50's, a bit curvy (D cup) and this dress fits me perfectly. It's really nice in the back too...It's sexy but not trashy..I think it would fit anyone with curves very nicely, whether on top or bottom or hourglass..
Additionally, it packs well, its lightweight and cool. I can wear it the rest of the evening, to dinner, and I won't be freaking out about sand or water getting on it during photos...the price is less than what some brides spend on their hair and nails.
:)
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Casablanca Sundress
Name:
Location:Athens, Greece
age:31-35
body type:slender
ELEGANT and UNIQUE
7.9.2012
"I’ve been looking for a unique white dress like this for a long time and my excitement didn’t change a bit when I received it. It is an astonishing dress that gives prominence to the female body. It definitely doesn’t flatter women that aren’t a little bit curvy, and I feel that the body that is wearing it gives it shape and not the dress on its own. Although it needs a few adjustments on the straps and waist, I’ve rated it with 5 stars because I just love it and at the end what would you expect from a 100% cotton crochet dress like this. I recommend it to everyone that feels that elegance can be sexy as well."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Casablanca Sundress
Name:
Location:
age:26-30
body type:slender
Way, way too big
6.14.2012
"Lately I am not impressed at all with JPB. The quality has gone down with popularity and the sizing is sooo inconsistent. The material is very nice, pretty thick and comfy.
This dress is DEF not tight. This runs HUGE. Unless your hip/but less this dress isn't going to flatter you as it is clingy and hugs the right/wrong depending on your body type places. If you are narrow this dress is not for you either. So I am not sure who it's fitting. The straps kept falling off and the neckline came down so low it was at my nipples. Def inappropriate. Very sad :("
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Casablanca Sundress
Name:
Location:Santa Barbara
age:26-30
body type:petite
not was i was expecting
6.5.2012
"i've been waiting to get this dress and when it finally got here i was disappointed. i love the patterned fabric, which is very white, but the fit was loose just as the other reviews stated. the dress has no shape really, it's just straight down so it doesn't fit to curves. it also runs big. i normally wear a small (i'm 5'3" and weigh 115) and this dress was long like a maxi on me and pretty loose. i'll have to return it but i hope it works for someone because it really is lovely!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Casablanca Sundress
Name:
Location:Seoul
age:36-40
body type:slender
Classy and Flattering!
5.22.2012
"I was looking for my wedding party dress for ages and this dress is just perfect for that. I am mostly xs ,160 cm and a bit curvy around hips. I was more worried if it runs too small because it is crochet but it's actually a bit loose around my waist but not too much. It is still ok just to wear but I will fix the waist line tighter for a better fit. The colour is pure white as I expected from the studio shots. I am very happy to find this dress!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Casablanca Sundress
Name:
Location:los angeles
age:over 45
body type:petite
The picture is so misleading
5.21.2012
"Doesn't the dress look exquisite in the picture? Forget it, even taking into account that I am no model. But I am slender, and an xs. The dress was so baggy all over. It had the shape you see in the picture, but was just too big. It fits actually more like the studio shots at the bottom........sort of baggy, shapeless and loose at the waist, and less so at the hips. I'll bet the dress was pinned to the catalogue model in the back, to achieve such definition at the waist. But that's how it should look. Also, the color in the picture is altogether wrong. The dress is pure, crisp white, and while it was pretty, I was expecting the tea color for a more vintage effect.
The fabric is beautiful, and I gave it one star for that, but the styling and fit leave it just "blah" on the body. Too bad!
"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Casablanca Sundress
Name:
Location:california
age:26-30
body type:athletic
way too tight and I'm usually an FP small
5.17.2012
"I made the mistake of thinking because I'm usually an FP small I would fit into this.. WRONG. As the other reviewer said it hugs all the wrong places and is a lot less ivory as pictured, I would say more like a minty bright white color with curtain details. Also I would not recommend this dress for ladies shorter than 5'.2.
I'm short so I had to return mine."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Casablanca Sundress
Name:
Location:Atlanta, SLC, Charleston,
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Thought I'd love it....
5.11.2012
"The dress fits the model so perfectly. I wanted it to be as form fitting as pictured, so I ordered the xs. I'm a 35.5, 25, 35.5. Unfortunately, the waist was 2 inches to big. Although it hugged my hips perfectly, it fit baggy in the waist. And it did nothing for my 32d chest. My fiance said it made me look "flat-chested." So alas, will be sending back."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large