Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

FP ONE Sunburst Maxi Dress

Crinkled tiered maxi dress with ribbon spaghetti straps and raw eyelet trim throughout. *100% Cotton *Hand Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length (at longest point): 50" Bust (all around): 26" FP One is a collection made with love from India. The collection has been curated from the fine details that India has to offer; embroideries, prints, embellishments, rich colors and fine gauze fabrics. The collection brings a modern twist to old world techniques and creates a line that has a cultured feel with special attention to detail.
overall average rating:
4.122 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
Customer Reviews for FP ONE Sunburst Maxi Dress
Review 1 for FP ONE Sunburst Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Eeeeehhhhh
4.18.2012
" My beef with the dress is the smocking at the back... it makes your rear look about ten times wider than it actually is and gives you an instant pear shape. Glorious. (not) From the front the dress looks nice though. Size down a full size, if between sizes just get your smaller size. I wear this with a swimsuit to the pool. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for FP ONE Sunburst Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Santa Barbara
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
beautiful , but this one is for under 30 crowd.
3.23.2012
" I really loved this in dark blue. I thought it might make a nice sleeper in Greece, but it drapes across the bust /shoulders for a super slender/ small busted body type. I'm 5'5" 128-130lbs normally wear S, XS in something like this. the small fit fine, and I loved the way it draped down the body, very flattering, but the top portion is really a better fit for more small breasted body. I'm a 36B , which is average, but it just didn't look right on me. It's very lovely on the right body type. so I returned it, even though I thought it was beautiful. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for FP ONE Sunburst Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Ohio
age:21-25
body type:slender
Love it so much, I have two colors!
3.15.2012
" This is such a Meadow dress! Love it. I have the tie dyed one in green from last season, and I had to get a solid one this year because I wore the tie dyed one so much! Now I have two to rotate! Lovely fit. Like the other reviews said, it runs a bit big. I see no reason any anyone couldn't just rock it without it being skin tight! It is EXACTLY as pictured. If it isn't as tight as you like it, a skinny belt does wonders. However, I think this dress is meant for lace up flat sandals, a floppy hat, and your hair down and flowing. Such an amazing dress. If you're on the fence, do it.
XS, 120lbs, 5'4" "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for FP ONE Sunburst Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Toronto Canada
age:over 45
body type:curvy
OMG!
2.23.2012
" Fantastic Dress/ I bought this in a small in coral color.Nice color for a blond fair person. Fit is perfect I am a 34 on top. I love the way it falls shorter in the front and longer in the back. it is a little thinner than I expected but the details are lovely. . Can't wait to wear it. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for FP ONE Sunburst Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Australia
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Gorgeous
1.28.2012
" I absolutely love this dress, I bought it in ivory, it is sooo comfortable and lightweight (it is see through so you need something under it). I bought it in the medium and it fits perfectly - I'm normally a medium to large. This will be an all year round dress, perfect in winter with boots and a jacket!! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for FP ONE Sunburst Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:austin,tx
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
AH-MA-ZING!
11.11.2011
" I have this in the ivory and wear it all the time! I really want to pair it for fall with the Vegan Leather Jacket, but i don't have it yet! It looks super cute belted or not, with sandals or booties! I usually wear a small or medium and i got an xs in this, its perfect! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for FP ONE Sunburst Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:California
age:36-40
body type:slender
Light and just right
11.9.2011
" I got this dress in x-small in the ivory and it is true love. I'm 5'5 and it's pretty long. Only a couple inches off the ground so I'll have to make sure not to snag it on anything. It's super comfy and definitely requires a slip underneath. I think with a long cardigan and a pair of tights and boots it'll be my winter staple. I think with this dress you could easily size down and still have loads of room. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for FP ONE Sunburst Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Edgewood, New Mexico
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
A Sundress for All Seasons
10.20.2011
" I hesitated about ordering a sundress on the cusp of autumn, but the coral color was so tempting that I gave in to its delicious beauty. And I'm glad that I did! It's as luscious as it appears in the online image. The fabric is very lightweight, which will be perfect for summer, but I've realized that its wear can be expanded by putting a long sweater over it (such as the Genteel V-Neck Tunic), and also by wearing it with a blazer, a leather jacket, tights and boots. There are so many options for this dress.
The fabric washes well. No problem with recreating the crinkles, plus it's an easy companion for traveling. The length and front uplift of the hem are very flattering for my height, which is 5'9". With most of my height being in my legs, this cut nicely balances my body. It also gives a more feminine shape to my boyish figure (33-25-34).
Overall, I love the versatility of this dress and the color choices are divine! I hope that Free People continues to explore new color combinations for this style. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for FP ONE Sunburst Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:middle of nowhere
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
An ethereal dream come true!
9.18.2011
" As I'm sure the model pictures show, this dress is quite roomy, so I'd suggest sizing down (I'm usually an M, bought an S). I got the white and paired it with the On the Go Tunic in heather gray and bright reddish pink, since it's see-through. Now that it's fall, it will look great with boots too! The S is still pretty long, so I had to shorten the straps a bit (I'm 5'7"). The white looked so amazing, I snapped up the navy as well! :) "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
On The Go Tunic
4.2 out of 5(5)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 10 for FP ONE Sunburst Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:toronto
age:over 45
body type:curvy
rockin dress
9.16.2011
" I love this dress, it is just gorgeous. Other reviewers have mentioned its fragility so it does require a lot of TLC, but the colour turquoise is just amazing and the distressed features make this just amazing. I am very happy with this. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for FP ONE Sunburst Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:BAY AREA - CALIFORNIA
age:over 45
body type:curvy
You can see right thru me...
8.7.2011
" I love the idea of this dress - but there are some significant issues you might want to consider before buying it.
Like many of the garments at Free People, these dresses have raw edges - the hem is attached to some eyelet trim, so it's probably not a problem - my issue was at the top, where the bodice meets the ribbon trim. The dresses were starting to fray in the store - particularly the white version. With such a thin fabric, which is cut at an angle, as the threads begin to fray more, you may find your lovely dress coming undone, as the threads run a straight line - you know what I mean? It was worrisome enough for me to pass on these beautiful but fragile dresses :(
I had the pleasure of trying on all three colors of this dress - the orange one is the least transparent. The black dress is more of a dark navy, and maybe it's because I am so pale that I practically glow in the dark, it was surprisingly see-thru - almost more so than the white dress.
BE WARNED - these dresses all fit differently! The black and orange were pretty similar, but the white fit much more tightly - also, the white and black fabric was much thinner than the orange fabric. And there was a significant difference in length between the white vs the black an orange (the white was over 3" longer!) - and yes, I adjusted the straps! :)
I'm taking a chance and ordered the tye-dyed version of this dress, in the hopes that it won't be as problematic as the solid ones. "
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 12 for FP ONE Sunburst Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:DC
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Beautiful
7.23.2011
" I'm 5'7 and my BWH is 34-25-36 and I got a small in ivory. The longer side of the dress stops at my ankles, so its a good length for me but a shorter person may have problems with it dragging on the ground. I didn't think it was that sheer, but my mother won't let me leave the house without a slip, so i've been wearing a half slip with it which doesn't change the shape of the dress. The material is light and delicate in an angelic way that seems to float as you walk. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for FP ONE Sunburst Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:San Francisco
age:over 45
body type:curvy
nice detailing
6.21.2011
" this is a beautiful dress, the detailing is really nice. The only issue i have is the top part is a bit small, would fit a skinnier person best (but still great). i love the rough edges at the neckline and the overall pleats. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for FP ONE Sunburst Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:connecticut
age:14-20
body type:petite
appropriate for petite FP girls?
6.13.2011
" i've been wanting to buy one of FP's amazing maxi dresses for so long now, but considering the fact that i am just 5 foot 1, i am very hesitant to buy anything maxi. reading other's reviews about this pretty little number, i thought that this might be the perfect long dress for me. i bought it in the pink in my usual xs and well...basically if you want to wear it like you see on the models, you have to have the straps loosened (yes, the straps are adjustable) all the way. this makes it so that the neckline hits right above the cleavage. however, for me, having the straps completely loosened makes it so the back of the dress is about 4 inches longer than the heels of my feet, making it drag on the floor. i decided to tighten the straps all the way, and when i did this i noticed that the dress did just reach the floor, which is what i wanted, however the top just looks awkward. the neckline then comes up way too high, up to my collar bone. i didn't like this look at all, so i decided to adjust the straps again into about the medium position. it is still too long in the back, but only by an inch, and at least the neckline looks a bit better. i really like the idea of this piece, and on my small body it doesn't quite work as well as i had hoped, but i must say this is a gorgeous dress. perfect for the taller people out there. perhaps i will get it altered at some point, but for now, i just wear it as a nightie. oh, and btw it is pretty sheer. i can get away with wearing no bra just because of the pleating at the top, but white or nude underwear is a must! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for FP ONE Sunburst Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:seattle
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
In Love
6.10.2011
" I have the ivory color of this dress and I am loving the versatility. I can wear it like a bedtime slip, a summer coverup dress, or with chunky tights and boots with a gnarled sweater for fall. It's seethrough and a lightweight delicate fabric as with most FP items, and needs to be layered. Best for a long and lean body shape. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for FP ONE Sunburst Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:King of Prussia
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Subtly sexy
5.30.2011
" I went to free people recently just to browse to pass the time, and I tried this on in the antique white color. I HAD to buy it. It has a loose silhouette that tones down the sexiness of it, because it is indeed extremely sheer. It is perfect with the little ivory romper slip by Intimately Free People. It is one of my new favorite dresses. Definitely a head turner! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for FP ONE Sunburst Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Knoxville, TN
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Cute but See Through
5.28.2011
" I love this dress. I wore it to my eight grade graduation, and I got so many compliments on it. And I'm totally taking this with me when I go to the beach.
It's light and breezy -- really great for summer.
The only draw back of this item is that it is very see through (I got it in the washed black shade). I had to wear a black slip underneath. It would have been a 5 star if it wasn't for the fabric.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for FP ONE Sunburst Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:SoCal
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Maxi Dress, Maximum Style
5.9.2011
" The hem makes this dress! It's very light and easy to wear. Has that lazy summer feel without looking shabby. Care free fashion. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for FP ONE Sunburst Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:ky
age:36-40
body type:pear shaped
Awful!!
4.19.2011
" I loved this in the catalog, but when I put it on it was like a shapeless potato sack, with gobs of extra fabric to make me look like a cow. I'm 5'6 146 and I couldn't get it back in the bag quick enough!! "
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for FP ONE Sunburst Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:mississippi
age:14-20
body type:slender
very pretty
4.18.2011
" this dress surprised me. i almost didn't order it because of the reviews that it had no shape because my hips are a little curvy, but this dress is so flattering. i suggest the seamless romper to wear under as it is very see-thru "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 3 next>>