Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

On A Whim Lace Top

Pieced together sheer chiffon and lace top. Bottom hem are of different lengths. Sleeves are short and sheer lace. Boxy neckline in front. Lined with sheer chiffon.
overall average rating:
3.533 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Customer Reviews for On A Whim Lace Top
Review 1 for On A Whim Lace Top
Name:
Location:Calgary
age:over 45
body type:curvy
LOVE the sale price!
11.20.2013
" I was suprised to see this on sale, and couldnt order it quick enough! I love it! I may have to wait 6 months for warm enough weather before I wear it , but for a pretty lace top from FP, I couldnt be more pleased with the price! Glad I was able to order it in white while it was still available. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for On A Whim Lace Top
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:26-30
body type:petite
HUGE DRAPE
10.17.2013
" I'm not sure who is saying this top runs "true to size," but I got an XS and I was literally SWIMMING in this shirt. It was almost comical! It was a beautiful massive drape, then they wouldn't refund me for shipping costs when I returned to the store, so essentially, I just wasted $8. "
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb10.18.2013
So sorry this top didn't work out for you - we'll be in touch about your shipping costs. xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for On A Whim Lace Top
Name:
Location:Duvall, WA
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Fun top to wear
10.14.2013
" This top is just about exactly what I expected from the photo and description. I bought it in ivory and absolutely love wearing it. It's fun, floaty, and feminine. The size small fits me fine (I'm 5'5" and 120 pounds). It's sheer, but I expected that, so I can change it up by wearing different colors underneath. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for On A Whim Lace Top
Name:
Location:Alberta,Canada
age:over 45
body type:petite
beuatiful flowing
10.3.2013
" got this in xsmall and fits perfect with a cami underneath....light and featherweight it drapes nicely over hips...love the coral color!! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for On A Whim Lace Top
Name:
Location:Long Island
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Really Cute
9.30.2013
" Its exactly what I thought.Just like the picture.
I am 5'5 weight 138 lbs bought medium.
Was orignally concerned with the top not fitting over my chest 36 D, but it covers well.
Just need a a cami underneath it because it is see through.
"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for On A Whim Lace Top
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:14-20
body type:petite
Beautiful
9.18.2013
" I love this top. I got it in an XS and Ivory. It's pretty loose, but very flattering. The front isn't too low cut, but it IS very sheer. I found that I can get away without wearing a bandeau or cami underneath by simply wearing a white or tan bra. It's also just short enough that you have to wear pants or shorts underneath. Overall, it's very beautiful and flows nicely. It can be dressed up or dressed down. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for On A Whim Lace Top
Name:
Location:New Jersey
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Beautiful
8.30.2013
" Beautiful top. Really, really pretty, but unfortunately it just didnt look right on me. There was too much fabric on the sides that just looked strange on me. If you are tall and thin, I think this top would look great on you. Runs true to size- I tried it on in a medium and it fit perfectly. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for On A Whim Lace Top
Name:
Location:Seattle, WA
age:21-25
body type:petite
Super cute
8.30.2013
" This top is super cute on. Although it is completely see through but I paired it with a white tank top underneath and it looked perfect. I'm 5'2", 102 lbs and size xs fits very well. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for On A Whim Lace Top
Name:
Location:Sacramento
age:31-35
body type:slender
so pretty
8.19.2013
" This top is so lovely. The fabric is soft, flowy but oh so delicate. When I received my top it was already ripped in several places. It was just stunning on...but I decided to just return it. I didn't want to exchange it considering it had ripped before it was ever even worn. Sad cause it really is so beautiful. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for On A Whim Lace Top
Name:
Location:Galloway
age:14-20
body type:athletic
Cute but not for me
4.12.2013
" I've loved this top since the first time I saw it. However, when I received it I quickly learned that it is not for busty girls because of the way the shirt falls and forms to your body, or in my case doesn't. I'm very upset that this shirt didn't work for me because it really is pretty. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for On A Whim Lace Top
Name:
Location:orange county
age:31-35
body type:petite
just not for me...
3.6.2013
" i fought really hard to purchase this top. When it arrived in the mail I was really excited. The top is completely sheer, but that's not the reason i didn't like it. I'm 5.2 and 105 pounds and this just looked like a maternity shirt on me. It wasn't flattering at all. Maybe it didn't look as good on me as it does the model, but sadly i returned it. AND IT IS COMPLETELY SHEER.....For future buyers "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb3.7.2013
So sorry that this didn't meet your expectations -- this top is lined with sheer chiffon and can be layered with many of our Intimates tops such as the Honey Textured Tube! A member of our service team will be in touch to offer additional assistance.

http://www.freepeople.com/honey-textured-tube/
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for On A Whim Lace Top
Name:
Location:Bethesda, MD
age:31-35
body type:slender
Beautiful
2.24.2013
" This is a beautiful top ... I looked like an angel in it. It seems to be sturdily made despite the delicate materials; I still recommend very gentle use. Yes, it is very sheer, but that is easily remedied with a flesh-toned camisole or lacy bra. The lace paneling on the side is substantial and does add volume to your silhouette, so curvier women may want to stay away. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for On A Whim Lace Top
Name:
Location:Connecticut
age:14-20
body type:slender
Gorgeous!
2.12.2013
" I received this as a valentines gift from my parents and I absolutely love it! I will admit that it is extremely sheer, more so than what the picture shows, but nothing that a cream or beige tube top wouldn't fix. I feel gorgeous in it and will enjoy wearing it with leggings in the future! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for On A Whim Lace Top
Name:
Location:Southern California
age:over 45
body type:pear shaped
Too Revealing
2.12.2013
" I have to agree with Jerseygirl; this top is way too sheer. It looks incredibly beautiful in the photo, I ordered ivory, but it is truly white. Just no way to wear it without something underneath. Too bad; I had to return mine also. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for On A Whim Lace Top
Name:
Location:NJ
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Disappointing
2.8.2013
" This looks so beautiful in the picture, however the lace panels on the sides (which you can't even see in this pic) made me look like I have huge hips! I bought the ivory and it's completely sheer. A camisole would have to be worn under, you can see everything! I generally love everything from free people but this will go back for sure! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large