Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Lightweight Stretch Skinny

5-pocket stretchy skinny jeans with low-rise waist. Zipper and button fly closure. The perfect, everyday skinny jean!
overall average rating:
4.235 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(81 Reviews) 81
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 41 Answers
Customer Reviews for Lightweight Stretch Skinny
Review 1 for Lightweight Stretch Skinny
Name:
Location:New York
age:26-30
body type:slender
Disappointing Quality
3.31.2014
"I've been buying Free People jeans for 10 years and never had a problem, until this pair. When I first got them, they were easily my favorite yet. Then a belt loop ripped, then the pocket ripped and finally, the crotch. Now I can't wear them. For the price, these are horrible quality and will make me think twice next time I buy jeans from FP."
Response from Free People:By Free People3.31.2014
Hi Mistborn,

We're sorry to hear about your pants. Someone from our team will be in touch shortly to help make this right!

-Free People
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Lightweight Stretch Skinny
Name:
Location:Bay Area, CA
age:14-20
body type:pear shaped
gaps in back
3.8.2014
"- got a seaside blue, size 27, short inseam
- skinny fit w/o making you look like a sausage
- gaps in back about 1 1/2 inches, so i'll probably get it tailored
- color is more grey than picture, exchanging for ocean blue
- 5'2, 108 lbs, 24 waist 35 hips
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Lightweight Stretch Skinny
Name:
Location:newport beach
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
cranberry mistake
3.7.2014
"this review is for the cranberry color. i would strongly suggest not ordering this color. the dark lowlights seen in the photo are actually a sort of black paint/dye applied over the entire surface of lighter red fabric. after just one wash, the black coloring had unevenly come off of portions of the fabric. it looks terrible, like the fabric was slightly bleached out in a weird pattern. very disappointing quality. if i were just rating the fit this would get more stars, but the color looks so cheap that i can't justify more than two. i am 6'0" 145 lbs; the 27 long fits a bit loose, is flattering, and is very comfortable. the inseam is great for someone with long legs. the cranberry fabric is fairly sturdy denim without any stretch."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Lightweight Stretch Skinny
Name:
Location:New Jersey
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
So glad
2.19.2014
"So glad I listened to what I read. These jeans are so cool, will be ordering more. Thanks FP!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Lightweight Stretch Skinny
Name:
Location:MD
age:26-30
body type:petite
Fades
2.11.2014
"These jeans are super comfortable but the color really fades. I bought the black one 5 months ago and they are now light gray."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Lightweight Stretch Skinny
Name:
Location:Charlotte, NC
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Amazing!
2.3.2014
"These are the greatest jeans I've ever owned..so great that I have them in 4 different colors! And the price is unbeatable. Very comfortable and true to size. The "long" inseam option is wonderful! Rusty orange is a little to metallic/shiny for me but that faded to the perfect amount once I washed them. I am 5'10" and 120lbs and the 26/long inseam fits me perfectly."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Lightweight Stretch Skinny
Name:
Location:Woodstock NY
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
I can't believe it's not butter.....
1.25.2014
"These jeans feel buttery soft ...as if you're not wearing jeans at all!!!
I purchased the Nightfall sz 27 R
They are 14.5 " waist and 30" inseam
And the Seaside blue sz 28 L
They are 15" waist and 32" inseam.
I normally always wear a sz 25-26 in all jeans.
The sz 28 are bigger in the waist ....when I sit down my undies stick out the back...they don't fall down off my waist though and the length actually fits better than the regular sz 27 ....odd but true.
I love the fit of both pair...however , am more comfortable in the sz 28 because they are looser ...the sz27 are not skin tight or too tight at all ...just the 28 feel less restricted. I like a looser more comfortable fitting jean.
The color of the seaside are lighter and the nightfall are pretty much what ya see in the photos.
All in all a great pair of jeans that are easy to wear and look great!!!!
5'4 ( long legs) 105 lbs 32 A
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Lightweight Stretch Skinny
Name:
Location:Virginia
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
nice material but misleading color
1.14.2014
"I was in love with the vintage-y look of the rarebird, but when they came, like the reviewer before me, i thought it was one of the plain darker washes and they'd sent me the wrong pair. COMPLETELY bummed. I was looking for something different and got something like what I already have. Fit seemed normal, material was light and stretchy. PLUS they were sent with the anti-theft plastic tag still on the leg, impossible to get off. So these will be going back. I rarely am disappointed with Free People but FP needs to work on their photo accuracy."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Lightweight Stretch Skinny
Name:
Location:Eugene, OR
age:31-35
body type:slender
Nice fit, but the colors are different in person!
1.6.2014
"Ugh, I am totally bummed! The fit is nice and snug and the material is lightweight and comfortable but the colors were completely off from the pictures. I do a lot of online shopping and never have monitor/color problems so I was surprised with how different the colors were when these arrived. I ordered the seaside blue and the rare bird and the seaside blue looks grey. When I pulled them out of the box I thought they had sent me the wrong pair. And then the rare bird does not have that cool vintage color with the fading it was more of your classic darker rise with hardly any fading : / Other than that I love how they fit, but I ordered these because of the unique washes so I might be sending these back."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 10 for Lightweight Stretch Skinny
Name:
Location:memphis
age:21-25
body type:petite
my go to jeans
1.2.2014
"I received one pair of these jeans as a gift in the grey color. They are my favorite pair of jeans, so much so that I ordered another pair! The fit is great, but more importantly to me.. they are beyond comfortable! Also, I am 5'3 so having the option to buy short jeans is really nice."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Lightweight Stretch Skinny
Name:
Location:NYC
age:31-35
body type:athletic
love!
11.28.2013
"I got these last year in the color cadet grey and have been living in them ever since. I wear them so much I also go them in the color abyss about a month ago. They are so comfortable and flattering, and the quality is great. I've probably worn my first pair a hundred times and they're still like new."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Lightweight Stretch Skinny
Name:
Location:Minneapolis
age:21-25
body type:athletic
LOVE!
11.26.2013
"I have these now in Ocean blue and grey and I LOVE them. they feel like your wearing yoga pants! Also they fit great in boots. I highly recommend!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 13 for Lightweight Stretch Skinny
Name:
Location:Connecticut
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
favorite jeans!
11.24.2013
"i ordered these in rarebird and the color looks exactly like the picture. they fit great and i noticed have alot more stretch in them then the colored pairs. absolute must-have in my closet!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Lightweight Stretch Skinny
Name:
Location:Oregon
age:21-25
body type:athletic
New go-to jeans
11.16.2013
"These skinnies are amazing. I've always had a hard time finding jeans that fit the way I want and have always been hesitant to order jeans online but these fit fantastic! I ordered the rarebird and the color is exactly like the picture."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Lightweight Stretch Skinny
Name:
Location:Washington
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Love
10.28.2013
"I bought two pairs: fatigue and cranberry. I absolutely love both colors!
My only "complain" is that although they are both size 27, they fit differently. The cranberry pair is slightly tight but the fatigue pair fits wonderfully.
I'm short and the short fit great."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Lightweight Stretch Skinny
Name:
Location:Jacksonville, FL
age:36-40
body type:curvy
Awesome
10.17.2013
"I love these jeans. They look so hot. I am a curvy girl. I'm 5'3 & weigh 135lbs. I'm not a twig, nor do I have any desire to be :). and these pants were made for my curves. My husband loves them! I love them so much that I have several pairs and will probably buy more colors. They look great with sandals, moto boots, or tall boots.
But I will warn you, they fit really tight, like a second skin, & they will loosen a bit after wearing for about an hour. And when I say loosen I mean they no longer feel too tight, but still look tight :)"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Lightweight Stretch Skinny
Name:
Location:NYC
age:31-35
body type:slender
Most gorgeous deep red color
9.21.2013
"The cranberry is Scrumptious. Pics do it justice. I'm normally a size 27 but got the 28. It's fits good on waist but has those lines across thighs. Hoping they'll go away upon breaking in. Regular inseam sold out so I got the short. I'm 5'7" and the short inseam comes a tad bit above my ankles."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Lightweight Stretch Skinny
Name:
Location:NW Arkansas
age:31-35
body type:petite
Great fit!
9.11.2013
"I do not like any of the pairs of skinny jeans I have, none of them fit quite right, until these came along. The fit is perfect. I am a size 0, and ordered the 26 short. I probably should have ordered the 25, since these will stretch out little, but would rather have them be slightly loose than too tight and get the sausage look. For reference I am 5'2" and between 100-105 pounds.
I ordered ocean blue. The pair I got are not as bright as pictured, and as a matter of fact, the pair I got look exactly like the pictures of the seaside blue color. That is fine because I love the slightly lighter wash."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Lightweight Stretch Skinny
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:36-40
body type:petite
Love them!
8.16.2013
"I purchased both the cranberry and fatigue in a size 25, and the colors are even nicer in person (I just hope they don't fade b/c they are perfect); couldn't be happier with the way these jeans look. With regard to sizing, I typically wear b/w a 24/25 in jeans. I have a very small waist but have a bum so my hips/behind area need more room, and the 25 fit like a glove in all areas (jeans are low-waisted so they sit near hip). I got them in regular length (I'm 5'3,) and they are a bit long, but look perfect tucked into booties or rolled under a bit. They do stretch out a bit so despite them fitting like a glove when you first put them on, they do start to loosen up and stretch out. For me, they feel fantastic and are comfortable AND flexible. The button area is a bit stiff, but a non-issue once you get used to it. I also found the quality and price point to be very satisfying. Highly recommend and one of the few colored jeans that I find to be flattering and stylish."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Lightweight Stretch Skinny
Name:
Location:New York, NY
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Best Skinny Jeans Ever!
8.15.2013
"Being rather hippy and having thicker thighs, I've always strayed from skinny jeans, as they've never really fit how I'd like them to. These jeans, which I got in the Ocean Blue color, FIT LIKE A GLOVE. They hugged my curves and actually made me look skinnier, which is always a plus. I would recommend maybe going a size down if you can, because I feel jeans always fit a bit better when they are a little tighter, and that way they won't get baggy by the end of the day. All in all, I can't wait to wear these when it gets cooler, and I definitely will be purchasing more colors!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 3 4 5 next>>