Product Reviews

Bella Donna Dress

Crochet high-low dress with "V"-neckline and crisscross straps in the back. Low drop back. Bottom hem is scalloped. Lined.
overall average rating:
3.867 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Bella Donna Dress
Review 1 for Bella Donna Dress
Name:
Location:San Jose ca
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Amazing!
1.11.2014
"I bought this dress and I love it. It fit me perfectly. It was very slimming and looks great with leggings. The part under neath the crochet was a little too short for me, I'm 5'8 and I ordered a large. It fits great in shoulders and back and butt."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Bella Donna Dress
Name:
Location:Moscow
age:21-25
body type:slender
Dreams come true
1.11.2014
"I've been dreaming about this dress since 2012, when it was red or white. Today I've received it in "dark cherry" color. But it is more purple than cherry. I expected something like wine color. The dress is very soft and comfortable. I'm totally satisfied."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Bella Donna Dress
Name:
Location:New York
age:36-40
body type:curvy
Heavy Material
1.1.2014
"I ordered this dress in the army green. I really love it and get compliments all the time. The one thing though is that the dress is very heavy and slides down and sometimes exposes my chest a little. The fabric is quite heavy."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Bella Donna Dress
Name:
Location:California
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Easy, Breezy & Sexy!
10.20.2013
"I love texture in fabrics--especially crochet! It reminds me of my college years & Reggae on the River :) This dress is beautiful & just the right amount of sexy! Super comfortable, soft fabric. I usually wear a S in FP but found this on the "One of a Kind" rack in my local store...in an XS--it fit perfectly with no bra. Hangs perfectly! Bought it in the purple. I only wish I had found this earlier in the summer! #34C, 130lbs, 5'5"#"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Bella Donna Dress
Name:
Location:philadelphia
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
favorite dress of the summer
7.11.2013
"I was surprised by the reviews I read. I'm 5'8 and very thin and i found this dress to be amazing. There is a lot of extra material but it is still flattering and not noticeable. The only problem I have is that the dress is heavy and pulls down from my bust, but with the correct bra it is not an issue. I adore this dress and it is my favorite fp purchase of the summer. I get compliments everywhere i go and it is so versatile. looks great as a skirt with a loose fitted tee and some ankle boots too."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Bella Donna Dress
Name:
Location:Florida
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Nice
6.11.2013
"I like this dress, but do agree with previous reviewers. This dress does make you a little bigger around the hip area due to the extra material. I've noted that the extra material seems to give me more volume than I care for. Not extensively, though, enticing me to return the garment. I included a pix to demonstrate. I do, however, like the way it fits overall. Because I have narrow hips, the fit is not too frumpy or baggy. The material is also soft, which is a big plus and looks great with the Black Joe lace up Boot."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 7 for Bella Donna Dress
Name:
Location:Oklahoma
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Not quite as pictured
6.4.2013
"I really loved this dress and am so sad it didn't fit right. The dress is gorgeous, but in the pictures it looks like it is form fitting. I have a larger bust and when I tried it on it hung out from my body and made me just kind of look boxy. I was hoping it would cling to my curves but it did not. The slip part fit me perfectly but the lace portion draped out far from my body. This is obviously meant for girls with a smaller bust."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Bella Donna Dress
Name:
Location:canada
age:31-35
body type:curvy
better fit for curvy?
3.23.2013
"probably because I'm not petite, I didn't find this to fit massive like the other reviews. I find this to fit tts. the slip isn't super form-fitting which I like, but it's quite short as I'm 5'3" and it's just a bit past my bum. the crochet is just right for me, not too much and just enough for a nice drape. I'm also a little bustier so it doesn't fit as low cut on me. overall, I think it's actually quite flattering for my body type."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Bella Donna Dress
Name:
Location:New Jersey
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Not thrilled
3.20.2013
"I jumped on ordering this because it is just like a dress FP came out with last summer in coral and white that I missed out on. Unfortunately, this wasn't great when I tried it on. The dress is lined with a slip in the same color as the crocheted exterior, which makes the whole middle section look like a shapeless blob. There is no waist definition and the whole fit is just awkward. The dress did seem well made and I liked the green color, but the fit was too unflattering to keep. Sadly, this went back. I recommend trying it on in person first."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Bella Donna Dress
Name:
Location:Florida
age:21-25
body type:petite
Disappointed
3.18.2013
"I fell in love with this dress immediately so I ordered it despite the average rating. I did read the reviews and decided to size down to an XS, thinking that would solve the sizing issue (I'm 5'4 and about 117 lbs). The slip fit perfectly but I was swimming in the crochet fabric. It didn't hug my body like it does on the model (I'm guessing they had to pin it to get that effect). I'm still giving it an average rating because it's beautiful; if you don't mind looking like a mermaid caught in a net."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Bella Donna Dress
Name:
Location:Chicago, IL
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Runs Big
3.12.2013
"So I got the dress in yesterday. I ordered a size SMALL/ Color CAMO. Let me just start by saying this. The dress itself was perfect and as described. Just too too big. I read all of the reviews prior and should have just gone with my gut instinct on this one and ordered the XS. Also the CAMO color/labeled moss on the package. Is more like an army green. I originally thought it was closer to a brown. It isnt !
Well i returned the small and In waiting on my Xs.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Bella Donna Dress
Name:
Location:95076
age:21-25
body type:petite
HUGE
3.6.2013
"It is so upsetting to me that so many of FP's dresses run large. This would have to be taken in in order to fit and an XS fits perfect (if not too small sometimes) in every other brand I buy. Also, it was a lot thicker and heavier than I expected. I wouldn't be able to dance easily in this which is what I wanted it for. Sigh."
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb3.7.2013
We are sorry that you were not happy with your purchase. A member of our service team will be in touch to offer assistance!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Bella Donna Dress
Name:
Location:New Jersey
age:21-25
body type:slender
Beautiful dress
3.6.2013
"Despite the other reviews I went ahead and ordered this dress. Given my past experience with FP dresses I opted for the xs instead of a s. The dress itself is stunning and fits beautifully. Love it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Bella Donna Dress
Name:
Location:Santa Barbara, CA
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Not cute
3.2.2013
"I bought this dress in size xs and it was huge and super unflattering. Sadly it was returned to the store."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Bella Donna Dress
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:36-40
body type:pear shaped
Not quite right
2.27.2013
"After reading the reviews on the previously offered colors, which mostly said the dress runs large, I meant to order an XS but accidentally ordered a S, which is the size I wear most of the time from FP. The built-in slip fits fairly perfectly (could be a smidge tighter around my 34B bust) but had I sized down, I know the slip would have ridden up (I am normally a 6 or 8 pant). But... the crochet overlay is massive. It lays perfectly from the side seam to the back. But the side seam forward has TONS of extra fabric which hides all your curves. I pulled it away from my body about 8+ inches. So I debated having the extra crochet cut away but at the end of the day, it's an expensive fix and the black looks a bit too witchy (vs elegant like it looks on the model). The yarn is a heavier casual knit. So it's going back."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large