Product Reviews

Phulkari Embroidered Shift Dress

Multicolor embroidered mini shift dress. Gorgeous pattern throughout. Zips up the back with clasp closure at top of back. Cutout detailing at upper back, as well. A stunning piece that takes inspiration from traveling. *Body - 51% Linen, 49% Cotton *Decoration - 100% Polyester *Machine Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size 6: Length: 33 3/4" Bust (all around): 35 1/2" Waist (all around): 32 1/2" Armhole Drop: 8 3/4"
overall average rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for Phulkari Embroidered Shift Dress
Review 1 for Phulkari Embroidered Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Spain
age:21-25
body type:petite
Nice but really BIG
5.13.2013
"Very nice dress, and quite different from what you can usually find out there, but it runs very big. Plus, it doesn´t fit your curves as it does in the model at the pic, so I had to get it fixed.
Colours are also a bit duller than the picture, but it's still a lovely dress.
I would never buy it at it's original price, but it's fine if you purchase it on sale, even though most of you will nedd to spend some more money on alterations.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Phulkari Embroidered Shift Dress
Name:
Location:houston, TX
age:41-45
body type:petite
Gorgeous dress - complicated customer service!
4.15.2013
"So I had seen this dress for $49.95 at my local store but they sold out. Online it was 99.95. I called FP Online and explained the dress was 49.95 at the stores - so I wanted the size S available, but that they'd honor the price at the store. They said they could not do it!!! I ended up calling a store in Minnesota, and they ordered the *same* dress I had seen online (size S a return that would only be available on APril 8 so the *very same*...) for $49.95.
GORGEOUS dress, crazy online customer service. Why not honor the in-store price??
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Phulkari Embroidered Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Bellevue, WA
age:26-30
body type:slender
Big
3.29.2013
"I love this dress. My husband says it's for fall (because of the coloring) but I have olive/tan tones so I think it can work year round.
I ordered a small instead of sizing down because I tend to be a little larger in the hips. But I really should have sized down.
Other reviewers said this is shapeless but that's not true, part of the issue is that is does have shape to it and the embroidery allows for it to be slightly stiffer so the fit is even more important. The entire dress hovers over my bust, waist and hips.
The detail is amazing though and, for such a lovely, delicate dress, it is very sturdy.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 4 for Phulkari Embroidered Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Oregon
age:31-35
body type:athletic
New Fave
3.18.2013
"This dress exceeded my expectations for fit and quality. I am really surprised it is on sale, but I am thinking of getting another as I assume I will wear this one out. I have worn it to conferences with black tights and a black blazer, and changed for a night out with friends by taking off the tights and jacket. The little cutout in the back is just enough sassy without shouting for attention. The embroidery is a nice quality too. Love this dress!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Phulkari Embroidered Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Southern California
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
Adorable dress! Love the details!
2.20.2013
"I love this dress. I generally wear a size 6/8 and I ordered a small. It fit perfectly, except it was a bit short for me (I'm 5'10"#, so I returned it#. It might work well with leggings, but I don't wear them. The length is similar to the length that the model is wearing. Some reviews made the length seem longer #and I suppose it may be when the dress is in a larger size#. Anyway, very lovely dress and I would have kept it if I had figured out how to add length to it; I didn't think I could find a fabric that would work. The colors are muted and beautiful!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Phulkari Embroidered Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Canada
age:21-25
body type:slender
Overall a good buy
2.7.2013
"I really like free people for the fact that they use higher quality fabrics. The dress looks heavy but isn't, still good quality. The zipper on the back isn't one of those usual chinsy ones, it's strong.
My only complaint about this dress (and other things I've ordered) is sizing. I ordered an XS and its noticably large on me. I don't know what size this model is wearing... "unavailable XXXS" maybe because I'm the same proportions as her just 3 inches shorter and swimming in an XS (104lbs, 5'6) This is my biggest frustration with FP is that even when I order an XS it still needs to be altered."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Phulkari Embroidered Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Cleveland, OH
age:31-35
body type:petite
So Cute:)
2.6.2013
"This dress is very unique - I love it! It does need to be altered, though. I am an XS (5 foot, 100 lbs), and it does not curve to my body like the picture. It is worth getting it altered to fit, however."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Phulkari Embroidered Shift Dress
Name:
Location:California
age:36-40
body type:slender
Unique Dress
2.5.2013
"This dress is different from the typical "skater" dress style that is popular now. It stands out with its more sophisticated lines and quality fabric. I ordered both a small and an extra-small (I typically wear a small or, depending upon the cut, a medium in Free People items). I could have kept the small for a roomier look but choose to keep the extra-small, as I prefer the more form-fitting style of that size on me. FYI; The pattern for the two dresses differed slightly from each other, so, if you order, know that the "X"/blocking motif varies from dress to dress. Length was good for me, not much above my knees (I'm approx. 5' 3" tall). Overall, I feel that the cut and fabric transcends age, as I believe this dress would be appropriate and stylish on both young and more "seasoned" shoppers."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Phulkari Embroidered Shift Dress
Name:
Location:colorado
age:26-30
body type:slender
Cute but not as expected
1.31.2013
"I ordered an XS rather than my usual SM based on reviews and I'm glad I did. The hips of the dress are sewn in an A-line shape, so it doesn't really form to the hips (no way to avoid this as this is the pattern of the garment). Creates extra room from the waist down and is a bit stiff in shape.
I thought it was going to be heavy with intricate stitching based on prior reading, but it is actually very light and thin with a material that more resembles embroidery than true embroidery. Additionally, the back of the skirt's pattern doesn't line up which you can kind of see on the model, but it is more noticeable in person especially if it is the burgundy stripe that is not aligned like mine.
It's cute enough and I'll likely keep it, but I wouldn't have paid full price and even on sale had i tried it on in person I don't think I would have been inspired enough to buy it."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Phulkari Embroidered Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Santa Barbara, CA
age:26-30
body type:pear shaped
Made in India
1.30.2013
"So in love with this gorgeous embroidered piece. There a mixed reviews regarding this dress, however I tried on an xs and it fit perfectly. I agree it runs extremely large, since I usually wear a medium in fp. For reference, I am 5'8, 36B and 135 lbs."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Phulkari Embroidered Shift Dress
Name:
Location:UK
age:41-45
body type:petite
Unique dress
1.10.2013
"A truly beautiful shift dress with intricate embroidery. The embroidery gives it a heavy texture, so if you're petite and lean, this dress will look beautiful. Not for curvy body shapes. I ordered a small and it fits me perfectly. The colours are more muted than in the photograph, but they come out beautifully in low light spaces. Great for an evening out. Will be a regular in my wardrobe!"
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Phulkari Embroidered Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Louisiana
age:31-35
body type:slender
LOVE the dress-not the size
1.4.2013
"I am 5'7" thin straight through the body (narrow hips) and wear 36C. i bought the small and its very big, large gaping armholes, baggy (not shift like, i mean BAGGY), but not too short. i'm having the dress tailored because it IS STILL a great dress. High and interesting neckline, beautiful color and design, and the back is a conversation piece all its own. i would rather buy a great designed dress and have it fitted for me than settle for a dress i'm not especially in love with! I love this dress!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Phulkari Embroidered Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Australia
age:41-45
body type:curvy
its ok
12.25.2012
"*note to self* shift dresses are not for vertically challenged / curvy people like myself, having said that I wasnt disapointed the colour is slightly lighter than on the model, the size runs large/bigger I didnt like it on myself at first it looked boxy on me not flatering at all but after a few alterations ( I didnt want to send it back)
1. shortened length of bodice
2. and made it a bit more fitted for my body type
i now love it and have had a lot of compliments, I wear this now as a tunic.
"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 14 for Phulkari Embroidered Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Australia
age:31-35
body type:petite
Fit just didn't work
12.20.2012
"I couldn't wait to get this dress after seeing it on the site and on a fashion blog but was disappointed when I finally received it.
I ordered the XS after reading the reviews (i'm 5ft 3in & 115 pounds) but even that was too big in the end. The top half wasn't so bad except it is cut so that you can see a lot of your bra at the arm holes so you need to pick a special bra for this one.
However, my main issue was with the mid section which was just huge. It was really unflattering as there was so much material that it just made me look big.
I loved the colours and the length but unfortunately this one is being returned.
"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Phulkari Embroidered Shift Dress
Name:
Location:New York
age:over 45
body type:athletic
LOVE THIS NOW THAT I GOT THE RIGHT SIZE
10.30.2012
"I am 5'8" and about 130 and had to order an Extra Small. This dress is everything that I hoped for, it is long enough for someone that is no longer in her 20. I looks rich and will look great for 3 seasons of I layer a turtleneck in the winter."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Phulkari Embroidered Shift Dress
Name:
Location:FL
age:26-30
body type:petite
Gorgeous!
10.17.2012
"This dress is so intricate in it's embroidery details. You must know that it is a shift and therefore has less of a shape to it. It does run a little big because of this and doesn't look as form fitting on as it does on the model."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Phulkari Embroidered Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Westchester NY
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
not what I expected
10.12.2012
"This dress was well made, though the colors were very dull and muted. It ran way over sized so even an XS wouldn't cut it! Ended up returning it, such a shame!"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Phulkari Embroidered Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Oakland
age:26-30
body type:petite
too bad it was too big! but good for my wallet.
10.12.2012
"have been loving this dress from afar and finally decided to order and try, even if just to return. while i tend to go for fits that have some room and drape (not tightly fitted/bodycon), i was swimming even in the XS and had to return it. i usually wear a 0 or 2, and do have another free people shift dress in 2 that fits well with room."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Phulkari Embroidered Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Long Beach, CA
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Shapeless
10.11.2012
"Oh, so disappointing. Ordered the XS and still waaay too big, especially in the hip area. The colors are not so vibrant as shown in the photo. The top clasp closure wouldn't stay 'closed'.
How could this dress have gotten so many positive reviews? It is not worth its price!
"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Phulkari Embroidered Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Mosow, Russia
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
wide at the bottom
9.19.2012
"i ordered size small, and it fits good on bust, but from the bust down it is very wide. and the dress is quite long, while i expected it to be short, like on the model"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>