Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Monarch Wings Dress

Adorable long sleeve dress with crinkled print fabric and high, ruffled neckline. Features elasticized sleeve cuffs and hidden zipper in the back. Semi-sheer. Lined. *100% polyester *Machine wash cold *Import Measurements for Size 6: Length: 33" Bust: 36" Waist: 31" Sleeve Length: 26 1/2"
overall average rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Customer Reviews for Monarch Wings Dress
Review 1 for Monarch Wings Dress
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Sweet!
1.25.2012
"This dress is amazing!!! I wish FP would make more long sleeve, high neck (but not turtle neck) dresses. I don't look good in low cut or sleeveless/capsleeve dresses and I end up wearing t-shirts under all my dresses which makes me sad. This is fantastic! Also nice is that the sleeves are billowy instead of obnoxiously tight. The length is perfect as well! The fit is TTS and the color is exactly as pictured. Highly recommended!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 2 for Monarch Wings Dress
Name:
Location:Vancouver
age:26-30
body type:pear shaped
A beauty
7.20.2011
"I love this dress. I like when items have this little girl charm (babydoll) feel to them, but since the length is more short, you don't feel like an actual child. Also because this dress is modest everywhere else, I dont mind that this dress is a bit more shorter in length. I ordered a size 6 (128/5'6") and it fits nice, there is a bit of room, but I don't like tight fitting clothes anyway so it worked out for me. If you want a fitted look I would opt for one size smaller. I usually am a size 4 or 6, but decided with the 6 and am very pleased :o)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Monarch Wings Dress
Name:
Location:where the moose are
age:14-20
body type:slender
I am in love!
7.9.2011
"This dress is absolutely adorable! I am 5"3 and the size 2 fits me perfectly and isn't too short! I honestly think this dress is to die for and its perfect for a wedding. This dress is definitely a must-have."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Monarch Wings Dress
Name:
Location:CA Bay Area
age:26-30
body type:petite
Beautiful summer day dress
6.19.2011
"Got it in size 0. Normally my dress size is 2 but this piece is little big loose. I love the cream color its so girly and fresh. To me it looks shorter than pictured which I like. FP always has dresses/tunics too long for my body type. It is not see-thru safe to wear alone. It also gives a light touch of vintage. I think it is a classic FP piece."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Monarch Wings Dress
Name:
Location:Philadelphia
age:21-25
body type:slender
casual and cute
6.16.2011
"I absolutely love the styling of this dress. It is so different from anything you see today. Very vintage and victorian, perfect for a wedding. I purchased the ivory and would love to find a great belt to mix it up a bit. 115lbs size small and it fits wonderfully. Recommend it? Sure do!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Monarch Wings Dress
Name:
Location:Salt Lake City
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
channeling the 70's
6.9.2011
"Love this dress. I got the tea combo. I love the cute designs in the print and the ruffle neck detailing. This dress is the perfect length, not too long or too short! The sleeves are the best part, they are breathable for summer, so much character! I've gotten many compliments on this dress."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Monarch Wings Dress
Name:
Location:Boston
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Very Retro.
5.17.2011
"I own this in the "tea combo." It's very cute and girly :) I love the billowy sleeves and the high neckline. It looks great with the taupe suede Jeffrey Campbell Litas. I found that the fit is true to size. Great purchase!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 8 for Monarch Wings Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Beautiful and Elegant
5.10.2011
"I just bought this dress in an FP shop. It fits TTS and I found it rather flattering. I was a little anxious how the loose sleeves would look and if they would be flattering or not, but they really are. They are just the right shape and lay on the arm and shoulders just right. I got the lighter color and it seemed just a little sheer as well. The length is short, but I'm short (5'3") and so this works perfect for me. The fabric is also nice, breathable and good quality and texture. A very lovely dress and worth the price. I'm very happy with it. For sizing reference, I am 5'3", 36C, lean 140lbs and went with a size 6, which fit nicely, just a tiny bit loose."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Monarch Wings Dress
Name:
Location:SoCal
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Fit For A Lady
5.9.2011
"Great dress. It fits very well. I was afraid the style of the dress would look too juvenile, but it depends on how you pair it. It will look better if you have a small to medium size chest. Definitely worth a try."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Monarch Wings Dress
Name:
Location:Midwest
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Beautiful, but not for me
5.6.2011
"I loved this dress immediately when I saw it and ordered. It fits TTS, but it's just too short for me to wear with bare legs. I could see myself wearing with tights and boots in fall, though, but that's a long way off, so I'm returning this. If slightly short doesn't bother you, I highly recommend this dress. For the record, I'm 5'4 and the dress hits me where it does on the model."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Monarch Wings Dress
Name:
Location:Boston
age:14-20
body type:petite
Looks good on everyone!
5.5.2011
"This dress is So flattering. I was a little nervous because the design is so different, but I put it on and felt like a princess. And everyone else I have seen in the dress looks wonderful. The only think is the neck comes pretty high, so if that bothers you I wouldn't recommend the dress. Otherwise PERFECTION!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Monarch Wings Dress
Name:
Location:Florida
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Awesome
4.29.2011
"I love the vintage retro feel of this dress. It comes lined and is made of thin delicate quintessential free people material. It runs true to size. The size 6 is perfect with no sizing issues in the chest for me. I am a 36 c."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Monarch Wings Dress
Name:
Location:USA
age:14-20
body type:slender
I'm in love!
4.22.2011
"I bought this dress in the "charcoal combo" color, I'd been eyeing it online for a while, but I wasn't sure if it would fit right. So I tried it in the store---let me just say, I LOVE THIS DRESS! It looks just as it's pictured, the color and fit are beautiful, and it's not super short, which I know can be a problem,(it comes to the same place on me as it does on the model, and I'm 5"5) BUY IT!!!!!! Worth every single penny! The material is lovely---soooooo flattering!!!! It feels so slinky and soft on my skin. BUY THIS DRESS IT WILL NOT DISSAPOINT!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Lace Flounce Dress
4.6 out of 5(27)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 14 for Monarch Wings Dress
Name:
Location:MA
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
So vintage and quaint
4.15.2011
"We just got this in my store today and bought the lighter color. First off, I just want to let everyone know that it is not white like in the first picture it is more of an antique ivory like in the other photos. Nonetheless, it's super cute. Very Victorian/70s doll dress. I am anywhere from 6-10 in dresses. I had to choose between a 6 and 8. I have long arms and legs (5'6ish). I ended up getting the 8 because i felt the size was a little too short for my comfort and stiff on the shoulders. It is a LITTLE loose in the mid section but it still looks great, You can belt it and it looks complete! Another thing is the the ivory one is sheer. You will need to wear a slip or a long tank or a nude bra and underwear. Great to wear all year long (winter with tights and boots and spring just as is with flats or wedges) It is a vintage statement piece, I can't wait to wear it out! So pretty!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large