Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Long-Sleeve Lace Dropwaist Dress

Sheer lace dropwaist dress with ruffled bottom hem and scalloped trimming around neckline and sleeve hems. Comes with slip dress to be worn underneath. Slip has ruffled hem that peeks out from bottom of dress. Stretchy fit.
overall average rating:
3.933 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Customer Reviews for Long-Sleeve Lace Dropwaist Dress
Review 1 for Long-Sleeve Lace Dropwaist Dress
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:petite
Beautiful Dress but so LARGE
6.19.2013
"This dress is even more gorgeous to look at in person than it is online. I love the colour, the fabric and the general aesthetic. BUT like with most Free People dresses of late, this dress just hangs off me like I'm a stick figure. Which I must emphasize, I am not. I do not understand how the dress on the models appears to be showing something of a waist when, in fact, the model is much skinnier than I am. I really do think that Free People ought to offer petite sizes like many other popular brands do nowadays. Some of us girls are tiny but that does not mean that we cannot find clothes elsewhere. Free People just makes the most beautiful casualwear that is impossible to wear because the clothes just fall off small girls. For the record, I am 5ft tall and I ordered the XS."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Long-Sleeve Lace Dropwaist Dress
Name:
Location:LA
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Pretty...but unflattering
5.3.2013
"I really wanted this dress to work!
I'm 5'7", healthy/thin frame, purchased a S and could've gotten away with an XS. The extra material at the bottom of the dress doesn't help to flatter the overall shapelessness of the look either. (I tried it with a belt, still wasn't sold and had to return it.)
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Long-Sleeve Lace Dropwaist Dress
Name:
Location:New Zealand
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Exquisite
4.15.2013
"I bought this dress after I saw a picture of Taylor Swift wearing it and I have to say, it looks even better in real life!! Absolutely exquisite dress - very strongly recommended."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Long-Sleeve Lace Dropwaist Dress
Name:
Location:toronto
age:31-35
body type:slender
Pretty layers
4.1.2013
"I ordered this dress in tea and size xs. There is a slip that comes with this dress, and the longer layer of the slip's unfinished hem peeps out below the lace. It's a nice contrast to the pretty lace. On me, the dress almost hangs the same way as in the pics but just a tad wider. The length hits me a couple of inches above the knee. I'm 5'5 and 108 lbs for ref. I really love the layering effect - it's almost like getting 2 dresses for the price of one! I also love the 3/4 fitted sleeves that you could push up for a more casual feel - the lace is stretchy. Very comfortable and very versatile in style. I loved it so much I ordered the copper one too! I wish fp would have this in black... or maybe they did and I missed out?! (With any of fp's unfinished hems, I use 'fray check' (it's sort of a fabric glue) to prevent further fraying on the more delicate pieces. You could buy this or equivalent in fabric stores. I will definitely get a lot of wear out of this."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Long-Sleeve Lace Dropwaist Dress
Name:
Location:London
age:21-25
body type:slender
Gorgeous, but fraying
3.28.2013
"I absolutely adore this dress. Wonderful, unique shape, gorgeous colour (I have the copper) & really comfortable. It is meant to be a bit lose with a lovely slight drop waist, which makes it really interesting. The only thing keeping it from 5* is the fact that the slip underneath is incredibly frayed. I think it is meant to be this way & you can even see it if you look at the close photos, but I wish it were more sturdy on the ends. I feel like I spent so much time while wearing this dress worried that it will unravel around me! Still adore it & wear it loads, though."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Long-Sleeve Lace Dropwaist Dress
Name:
Location:Denver
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Lovely dress!!
3.7.2013
"Love the lace and slip beneath. The tea color is more darker than shown in the picture which looks nice. The ruffled hem adds layers and texture to the dress. Looks pretty. Can be dressed up or down. Great buy!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Long-Sleeve Lace Dropwaist Dress
Name:
Location:Chicago, IL
age:21-25
body type:slender
Adorable
2.26.2013
"This dress is more like an "old lace" color, but the color is versatile - it goes with all sorts of natural colors. I am ~100lbs 5'5" and an XS hangs to just above my knee. fits perfectly in arms & shoulders. It's a bit big in torso for me, needs a belt or to be used as a layering piece. I have dressed this down with jeans and it's adorable, adds a nice feminine edge. i also love that this comes with a separate slip; the slip is lovely in its own right, and will be getting a lot of use with other outfits!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Long-Sleeve Lace Dropwaist Dress
Name:
Location:california
age:36-40
body type:slender
YES!
2.12.2013
"I got this in the tea color and it is much darker than in the photo on here (a dark creme).. I would have loved to see the red in person, but didn't want to order just to see, and they didn't have it in my local store. I ordered the small and had to exchange it for XS b/c it was too roomy, looked a bit maternity, but even still, I loved the look. The underneath slip is what makes it. I like it with jeans and boots, very pretty!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Long-Sleeve Lace Dropwaist Dress
Name:
Location:Sydney, Australia
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Shapeless
2.10.2013
"I was originally drawn to the red colour of this dress however the colour of the style book differed from the actual model so I decided to go with the cream to be safe. It's a really lovely dress - very pretty, very lacey and I adore the slip underneath. My only complaint is that it's not very form-fitting. In the models' pictures the dress seems to show their shape better, which is what I wanted. However, for me, it just hangs off of my bust. I do have a 34D bust but, regardless, I was expecting more shape. I ordered the small, for reference. My friends said it looked really pretty as is without a belt or without going down a size so I might keep it but just be wary."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Long-Sleeve Lace Dropwaist Dress
Name:
Location:Canada
age:over 45
body type:petite
Be my Valentine dress
2.7.2013
"I love the red lace , and I knew I would love slip being longer then the dress. However, the size runs large and for some reason threads are hanging out from the bottom of the slip.(you can see this on the model as well). The length is perfect, not too short. I totally love this dress!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Long-Sleeve Lace Dropwaist Dress
Name:
Location:Chicago, IL, USA
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
beautiful belted or unbelted
2.5.2013
"I saw this online and bought both the copper red and ivory versions to try out, in XS. (For reference I am 5'8'', 117 lb) They are both so great! The slip peeks out from underneath and gives it a shredded vintage feel. The slip hem is raw, so a few threads do hang from it, but nothing some scissors can't trim off.
The lace on the copper is beautiful and rich; the ivory is nice and clean. Both look pretty close to the model pics, so that was a pleasant surprise. It's not really "dropwaist" but rather an elongated torso. The dress is a tiny bit flared from the bust, so you can belt it for a cinched look without extra bulk near the waist, or leave unbelted for a slightly trapeze-y feel.
Overall a great updated lace addition to this year."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Long-Sleeve Lace Dropwaist Dress
Name:
Location:Florida
age:41-45
body type:athletic
I've had better
2.5.2013
"This dress could be better in the tailoring so it would fit nicely rather then just hang taking away your shape. I cant tell if I have a bust and a waist in this dress. With a padded bra it's better, but do not always want to have to wear a padded bra with this dress. This dress runs on the large side. I normally buy a large for more of a loose fit, but the large made me look pregnant. My measurements are 36-29-36. I'm exchanging the large for the medium. If the medium hangs on me making me look pregnant this dress is going back."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Long-Sleeve Lace Dropwaist Dress
Name:
Location:canada
age:21-25
body type:petite
Not to sure..
2.4.2013
"I was so excited to put this dress on. There are two separate pieces to this dress which is really nice. The slip fit me great however the lace dress is super roomy. I usually like my clothes fitting a bit loose however not this loose. I completely agree with the previous statement, the models dress must be pinned in the picture. Order this dress in a size down. I am 5'5 120 pounds, I ordered my regular size small and this dress is very, very roomy. I am going to keep it and try and work with it however. The dress overall is stunning and I Love the color, cant help to be a bit disappointed though."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Long-Sleeve Lace Dropwaist Dress
Name:
Location:Boston, MA
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Kinda, Sorta, Maybe...
2.4.2013
"This is one of those FP dresses that I pounce on, anxiously await, and then go..."meh..." The color of the copper is exactly as depicted, but there is something missing from this dress. I ordered a medium, up from my usual small, because I wanted it to fit like the model and not be clingy. The medium was HUGE so I exchanged for a small and it's still super roomy. It needs a belt for sure to give it any shape - I think the model's dress must be pinned, because on me it is baggy and shapeless. The slip is a lightweight jersey material, and the dress itself is stretchy lace. You would think that it would all work, but it just doesn't come together. The color is great - very vibrant, but the dress itself just doesn't have any zip to it. I'm going to try styling it with a few different things to see if it wakes up. If not, it's going back...."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Long-Sleeve Lace Dropwaist Dress
Name:
Location:New England
age:21-25
body type:petite
Gorgeous dress
2.3.2013
"I loved this dress from the second I saw it. Both colours are really lovely (as a note - the copper is more accurate to the studio shots, and is more of a burnt orange). It has a great, stretchy fit to it, which you don't see often with lacey dresses like this. Very sadly though, I had to return it. I'm 5'2" and it's just too long on me - even with heels, it shortens my legs too much."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large