Product Reviews

Hair Chalk

Complete set of 24 different colored hair chalks. Easy to apply to hair and easy to wash out! This product has not been tested on animals! How to Use Hair Color Chalk: 1. Dampen the hair where you would like the colors. 2. Rub hair color chalks on the damp section of hair. 3. For longer lasting colors, straighten or curl the hair using heat. 4. For chalking dry hair, wet the pastel chalks first and then rub on your hair. To remove the hair color chalk, shampoo your hair and the colors will fade. Easy! *By Kisspat
overall average rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hair Chalk
Review 1 for Hair Chalk
Name:
Location:Madrid
age:26-30
body type:petite
Lovely chalks!
9.3.2013
"I definetly love these chalks. The colors are amazing and they don't damage the hair at all. I am brunette and all the colours are visible in my hair. Very happy with my purchase!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Hair Chalk
Name:
Location:Canada
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
A good way to pop out without commitment.
6.19.2013
"This is great to add some colour to your look without a commitment. I just find myself using the same colours: the two pinks, the purple, and the blues. I wish the other colours weren't wasted on browns and yellows and blacks, but would focus on the vibrant colours. Because I'm paying for some of the colours that I won't ever use.
But the chalk itself is quite nice, it leaves my hair a bit dry but it washes out easily and stays in most of the day. I find myself using it every day! At least just a pop of colour here and there.
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Hair Chalk
Name:
Location:Australia
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Vibrant colours
5.18.2013
"This came perfectly intact no broken pieces.
I bought this for my niece who turns 14 next month and is at the experimental stage of being a teenager and its perfect as she can colour her hair and be BOHO at a low cost.
Coulours are vibrant easy to apply but the only thing is perhaps some instructions maybe style ideas but im sure she will google Very please , well packed for shipping.
oh yeah I have supplied a photo of " Cheryl my dog " she looks pretty
"
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb5.20.2013
Cheryl!! We love her! There are some great tips on how to use our Hair Chalk on our blog -- you can check this video out http://blog.freepeople.com/2012/11/video-hair-chalk/ for some helpers. Also, if you go to the blog and type "Hair Chalk" in the search field, you'll find oodles of ideas!! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 4 for Hair Chalk
Name:
Location:Melbourne, Australia
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Excellent Present
4.1.2013
"I gave this set to my cousin, who is a musician, for her birthday. I was a little worried that it might be damaged in the post (I live in Australia), but it arrived in PERFECT condition, looking fab!
My cousin has RAVED about it ever since, and apparently it was her favourite present by far.
For the record: she has very dark brown, almost black, hair that is quite thick. She puts a different colour in for each gig, and whilst it's a little difficult to style her hair once it has the chalk in it, she says it lasts a few days or until she washes it. Her hair gets a little straw-like once it's in though, which is to be expected as it's chalk!
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Hair Chalk
Name:
Location:Canada
age:21-25
body type:petite
Product
3.27.2013
"I just receive my package from the mail today and as much as I was excited to try this since I heard from PURA VIDA Bracelets blogs, I was very disapointed that nothing was done to protect the chalk; I have about 3 wholes pieces on 24 pieces. Even the box was bent- I can't understand why (considering the price of this product# you don't out bubble paper or tape the protecting sheet or the box to try to prevent this.... Anyway, I'm a natural blonde and I hope with all your tips #not to wet my hair etc..# I'll enjoy it this summer... But for me,, considering the price of it+shipping... I'm not rebuying for a long time srry..! :S :#"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 6 for Hair Chalk
Name:
Location:Vancouver
age:14-20
body type:pear shaped
Bad packaging
3.26.2013
"I have nothing against the product itself. The colors are beautiful and I love it. But the packaging was horrible! The hair chalk itself was in a box, which was in a loosely wrapped plastic bag, which was then placed in a cardboard box for shipping. When I opened the cardboard box, pieces of hair chalk had fallen out of the original box and were rolling around inside the plastic bag. There were broken pieces and all the hair chalk had fallen out of their spaces. I thought they would have had the sense to at least tape the box shut so the hair chalk didn't fall out and break."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb3.28.2013
We are sorry that the hair chalk arrived in this condition! We will be in touch. xoxo
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Hair Chalk
Name:
Location:Portland, OR
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Get all the facts
2.28.2013
"I had generally an ok experience with the chalk but there were a few unforseen things that I experienced: I have naturally blonde hair that is highlighted in certain areas. The first time I tried it I used blues and greens that washed out within 2-3 days. The second time I used the bright pink, red and purple. The purple came out but now it is 2 weeks later and the pink is still in my hair in large areas. Red based dyes are the most stubborn and now I have to go to my hairdresser to get it fixed. Also if you are blonde you dont need to wet the chalk, just twist your hair while rubbing the chalk to activate the pigment. Anytime you wet your hair the pigment actually turns into a semi-permanent dye. Also if you wet the chalk too much it breaks in your hand. I suggest using rubber gloves and a smock and wiping excess chalk from your skin afterwards. Also wear dark clothing after the first day of coloring as it will still be dusty, after you wash once you can wear whatever. The chalk will dry out your hair slightly, so if you have thin dry hair with split ends and breakage it will be even more drying for your hair. Whatever you do rub the chalk DOWN from the root to tip, not upward or it will get ratty. The most fun thing to do though was to do ombre! The colors rub on top of each other and blend well :) A tip for dark hair is rub white chalk before the colored chalk, and always wet your hair first (dark hair only). I hope this alleviates some mystery behind this trend."
15 of 15 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 8 for Hair Chalk
Name:
Location:PA
age:26-30
body type:petite
Didn't work for my dark hair
2.25.2013
"Sadly this did not work well with my hair type or color. I have coarse dark brunette hair which is probably not a good combo for hair chalk in general. Most of the color ended up on my fingers and I could barely see any show up in my hair so I returned them. They look really nice on hair that is lighter or softer."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb2.26.2013
If you work on damp hair or use a spray bottle to wet the areas where you want to apply the chalk, it should show up on darker hair! Sorry that this didn't work out for you. xoxo
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Hair Chalk
Name:
Location:los ángeles
age:26-30
body type:petite
great idea
2.25.2013
"I loved it! Had fun with a couple of the colors.I think it takes practice to perfect though. The only thing that bugs me is that it gets on your clothes a little."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Hair Chalk
Name:
Location:new York NY
age:31-35
body type:slender
ADDRESSING FIRST REVIEW ABOVE
2.25.2013
"I'd like to point out that the broken chalk is more than likely the fault of the postal system. Free People are clearly more responsible than that and the postal people are not! And, if you communicate with customer service, they are helpful, generous and prompt. I think that's a more responsible thing to do than criticize the company. Once a package is sent, we are all at the whim of grumpy, careless post persons! And look at the lovely response FP posted under her complaint!
Just sayin :D
FF
"
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Hair Chalk
Name:
Location:Salt Lake City Utah
age:21-25
body type:athletic
broken
2.12.2013
"all the chalk was broken and the box was damaged I was very upset, I thought coming from freepeople and such an expensive company they would at least give me what I'm paying for...."
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb2.18.2013
So sorry about that Selma -- we will reach out to help get a new set out to you! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Hair Chalk
Name:
Location:Canada
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Good
1.2.2013
"My first attempt, I used 75% of the purple chalk on all my ends. I realized that it was way too much!
I find that if you use too much of the chalk, it will be hard to brush your hair once dried as it becomes tangled and starts to harden a bit.
It did NOT damage my hair though once I washed it out; everything is back to normal^__^
I have dark brown hair and the purple shows well in the light/sunlight. At home in my bathroom, it was hard too see. When I went to work, it was fluorescent and gorgeous in the light! I highly recommend this product as can't wait to try the other colors.
Came out fast in the shower with shampoo&conditioner too!
Do not use too much as it did bleed for me. It did come out of my clothing but it did scare me!! Got many compliments and I will buy this again!
"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Hair Chalk
Name:
Location:New York
age:26-30
body type:petite
Fun product, need to build up to more color
12.6.2012
"Got the chalk on a whim (and after my former roommate talking at length about dyeing her hair all the colors) and am VERY pleased. The price is reasonable, the range of colors amazing, ease of use equally amazing. The only thing is that I have to work up to building a greater/brighter color coat! For now I'm very tentative with the chalks, use only a little and am experimenting as I go. My hair is basically brown, but the color still shows up fairly well (though I've only used the blue shades so far). I'm hoping that with a bit more guts, I can work up to a more vibrant coat of chalk—it won't ever be as vibrant as on the blonde-haired model in the product picture, but it'll still look fun!"
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Hair Chalk
Name:
Location:Tacoma WA
age:36-40
body type:curvy
Love it
12.5.2012
"All of the colors are true, but the one down side is that when the chalk got wet it got soft, and it made more then half of my pieces break.
Pretty much devisdated me.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Hair Chalk
Name:
Location:rolling hills meets prairie
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Color blast
12.3.2012
"I have light brown hair and the colors of the chalk show up vibrant. I used the chalk on wet hair and the color took well. I found that touching the hair would cause the chalk dust to come off throughout the day. Does not permanently dye fingers, but I would not want to get the color on clothes. Also, for me, the color faded out by the end of the day."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Hair Chalk
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Pretty & Fun (1 Negative)
11.30.2012
"Easy to use, lots of colors, worth buying. Just know that its very hard to wear your hair down with the color in or at least it was for me. I have fine, straight hair that is highlighted blonde and there was no way I could have worn my hair down after putting the color in the texture was gross. The color rubs off very easy and leaves hair feeling kind of like straw. However, it's pretty if you put it back into a braid."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Hair Chalk
Name:
Location:Texas
age:31-35
body type:pear shaped
Really pretty
11.20.2012
"I bought this for my daughter. She's a natural blonde, so I'm afraid I have no advice for darker hair'd individuals. We do it on dry hair and we just wet the chalk itself and it writes right onto the hair. However, it stays in a little past one shampoo, and it does seem to dry the hair out just a little bit. It's chalk - meant to absorb moisture - so this makes sense. I want to use it on my hair, but as I'm also a natural blonde, and a bit older than her, I'm afraid it will damage my very hair. Not sure. I might try it on a lower layer. The colors are vivid and gorgeous, though. I highly recommend this product to anyone who wants a non-permanent rainbow head."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Hair Chalk
Name:
Location:welfleet
age:41-45
body type:curvy
So fun!
11.17.2012
"What a great way to add a little color to your hair.it is true that it does not show up as well on darker hair( I have grey/blond streaks in my hair) but on the lighter areas it rocks!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Hair Chalk
Name:
Location:canada
age:31-35
body type:curvy
hair chalk fun
11.15.2012
"i have dark and colored hair, so that's probably the reason why the colors don't show up as well or stay on as long. i've tried it on dry hair with wetting the chalk, but i ended up with more chalk and color on my hands than on my hair. i've also tried it on wet air and it worked a lot better. the color actually showed and it's much easier to color that way. i do find that the color does rub off quite easily. once my hair dried, there's not much color left anymore. if you do try to apply heat to the colored parts, i'd suggest that you don't slide the hot iron as that would take some color off as well. once the color is on, i do find that it leaves a residue and makes the hair a bit sticky. and since the color doesn't stay on my hair as well, they wash away easily. overall though, it's pretty fun to add some color to your hair temporarily."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Hair Chalk
Name:
Location:sunny south
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Great Art Chalk
11.8.2012
"I'm an artist so I love this chalk. The colors are wonderful and I can use it for lots more than hair -- mixed media paper and canvas. I just dip it into a glass of water and use it or I wet the surface and use the chalk dry. It has great coverage, colors are worth the investment."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>