Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Victorian Inset Tunic

Stunning Victorian-style tunic with lace and voile inset detail. Crochet trimming throughout. Button front closure. High-low hem. Sheer. *100% Rayon *Hand Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 24 1/4" Bust: 38 1/2" Waist: 42" Sleeve Length: 18"
overall average rating:
4.682 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Customer Reviews for Victorian Inset Tunic
Review 1 for Victorian Inset Tunic
Name:
Location:alpine, tx
age:over 45
body type:petite
victorian inset tunic
5.28.2012
"this is the perfect tunic. i purchased it in the brick red and couldn't believe my eyes when i saw the green. am ordering today. one reviewer is correct, it does fall somewhat in front. i just put on a lace bra or tank. would highly recommend. sondra"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Victorian Inset Tunic
Name:
Location:South Louisiana
age:over 45
body type:curvy
All Time Favorite!
5.22.2012
"After waiting and watching forever, I finally got this in the tea color. It is even more beautiful in person!!! I ordered online and was over the moon when I received it in the mail. I could have gone with a medium (I got a large), but it still looks amazing and flowey. Not at all baggy or bulky. Super feminine and sexy at the same time. It can be casual or dressy, depending upon the bottoms."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Victorian Inset Tunic
Name:
Location:Anchorage, Alaska
age:over 45
body type:petite
Love this!
3.29.2012
"One of the prettiest FP tops ever. Flattering on and so comfortable. Purchased both the tea and rust colors. You can't go wrong with this one!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Victorian Inset Tunic
Name:
Location:New York
age:over 45
body type:curvy
really cool!!
2.22.2012
"I love love this top!! It looks and feels great! It is femine and edgy. It looks great with skinny jeans and boots, and bootleg cut jeans too. The length is perfect, not too long."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Victorian Inset Tunic
Name:
Location:Canada
age:over 45
body type:petite
Very Nice
2.17.2012
"I sized down one size and could have sized down a second. It's very very cute. Fabric is quite light. Colour (green-ish) is fairly captured in picture. Flattering even on a petite frame. Looks fabulous with jeans."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Victorian Inset Tunic
Name:
Location:Orange County
age:14-20
body type:curvy
LOVELOVELOVE!
2.9.2012
"I absolutely adore this top! The color is the same as in the picture and the fabric is soft and breezy, perfect for summer! I've gotten many a stain on this blouse and it's withstood washing very well. It is a bit roomy, but that's just the way the blouse is designed to be. I always get so many compliments when i wear it! Overall I would say though it is a bit pricey, it's worth every penny!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Victorian Inset Tunic
Name:
Location:Denver
age:31-35
body type:petite
If you have been thinking about it..get it!
1.26.2012
"I got this shirt in XS, tea color. For reference I am 5'2" 100lbs, but am pregnant also. I bought this blouse because it is roomy and feel that it would be great for when I get larger too. If you are worried about it looking too big, it doesn't. When I took the shirt out of the package the first thing I thought was, wow, this is going to be huge. However, it hangs and drapes so nicely that while it is meant to be roomy and flowy, it is not overwhelming or boxy. It looks great. Nice bohemian flair to it, and very versatile. Great job FP, this shirt is beautiful!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Victorian Inset Tunic
Name:
Location:Toronto, ON
age:26-30
body type:curvy
victorian love
1.23.2012
"before purchasing this, i saw it numerous times in different stores that carry FP and was drawn to it every time. i finally decided to purchase it after i saw it was on backorder. when i received it i loved it MORE than i could imagine. i bought the cream color in a LARGE. i'm usually between a M and a L at free people but i wanted the length on this to be long...and that it was! the sleeves are a beautiful bell shape, and the back is longer than the front. it is beautifully dressy yet casual and can be thrown over any bottom-- a slip, a pair of shorts, a maxi, a mini...demin, shiny leggings! the possibilities are endless. this shirt is classy and sexy. a good piece to have in your closet.
FP definitely hit the nail on the head with this one. GORGEOUS shirt. for reference i am 5'7", a size 10, 36DD bust.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Victorian Inset Tunic
Name:
Location:Austin
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
Beautiful top
1.21.2012
"I actually just bought this top yesterday in my local Free People store. This top reminds me of a top I use to wear back in the 90's. I'm so glad bell sleeves are back. :-) Anyway, I bought it in the cream color and plan to wear it a couple of different ways. One way is as you see in the picture but with my high waisted wide leg Free People jeans or open as a jacket with a funky T-shirt. I love all the buttons and loose fit. At first I was afraid it would be to high waisted and make me look big or cut me weird in the waist but it doesn't at all. Love it!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Victorian Inset Tunic
Name:
Location:San Diego
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
LOVE LOVE LOVE
1.8.2012
"One of my all time favorite FP tops! I am so glad it was available in S and I could grab the last one! I probably would be an XS but they weren't available at the time. I decided to keep S because of the oversized, bohemian and flowing look it has! Wore it was a black bralette, skinny jeans and tall boots. As beautiful in person as pictured! Go for it!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Victorian Inset Tunic
Name:
Location:CA
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
LA Woman Sunday Afternoon
1.3.2012
"WOW. 34 B & curvy, I tried on the Medium in the Tea color and it fit beautifully. This top is designed to be big and flowing, but the details, cut, and beautifully draping fabric flow in such a way that my figure didn't get lost in it. I found that wearing an under layer is necessary in the tea color (bandeau, tank top, cropped bralet, bikini top, etc) because it's sheer in some places. I could have probably sized down, but the small was not in stock at the store to try on, Sadly, I didn't buy it due to price, but continue to drool over it's pictures, wondering why I didn't just give in. *kicks self*"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Victorian Inset Tunic
Name:
Location:Plymouh NH
age:26-30
body type:petite
Lovely
12.19.2011
"I had eyed this shirt when I first got the catalogue. I thought it was the prettiest shirt I had ever seen. Alas it was a bit out of my price range. It went out of stock and I was kicking myself for not getting it. I searched other stores, vintage clothing blogs, and Etsy but couldn't find anything that compared. I was so excited when I saw it was back in stock! I looked at it everyday, reading the reviews, wishing it was in my closet. My husband laughed everytime he saw me gawking at it and then surprised me by getting it as a gift. I LOVE IT! It is so lovely, when I wear it I feel creative and whimsicle. If you are thinking about ordering this shirt I say go for it! But make sure you size down considerably. I am 5'3 120lbs and usually wear a S but I got the XS and it's roomy. The fabirc is great and goes with everything! Thanks FreePeople for a beautiful product!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Victorian Inset Tunic
Name:
Location:New Zealand
age:over 45
body type:slender
So so
12.16.2011
"I bought the tea colour which is actually a very deep strong cream. What doesn't really show in the photos is that the top is VERY wide in the body and under the arms. Yes, that's obviously the style, but it actually just ends up looking way too big and wide."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Victorian Inset Tunic
Name:
Location:So Cal
age:41-45
body type:curvy
My favorite top right now
12.12.2011
"So happy they brought this top back. I missed it the first time around. It just came Saturday and I love it. A great purchase! I did size down after reading the reviews. A size medium is still pretty roomy but it doesn't look "too big." It's a def must have FP piece for sure!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Victorian Inset Tunic
Name:
Location:San Mateo, California
age:41-45
body type:athletic
VERY pretty!
12.9.2011
"This is beautiful. I ordered an XS - and it is pretty large - I will likely have to have my seamstress narrow the rib cage/waist area but I am small there, so it appears a bit boxy on my 5'4" frame.
Great quality fabric and lots of it.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Victorian Inset Tunic
Name:
Location:Alaska
age:41-45
body type:slender
SWEET
10.26.2011
"A beautiful and well constructed garment. I love the look and the drape of this top. I wore it with sweater leggings and over the knee boots and it looked great and received loads of compliments. The only thing I didn't like was that the cut is so low it requires either zero modesty OR a contrasting cami. I have the problem of showing the "girls" in alot of the tops here unless there are undergarments involved!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Victorian Inset Tunic
Name:
Location:Canada
age:31-35
body type:petite
Gorgeous
10.22.2011
"This top is beautiful! So pretty and flowy. It is loose but of course is supposed to be that way, I ordered the Rust in an XS (5"1' 95 lbs) and it is nice on, strangely though it is shorter on me then it is on the model. I was planning on wearing it with leggings but the front isn't long enough, will have to layer with a longer shirt to do so. It came extemely wrinkled and this only seems to happen with Free People clothes which is a bit annoying. Overall though don't hestitate if you can get your size!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Victorian Inset Tunic
Name:
Location:connecticut
age:14-20
body type:petite
SO CUTE!
10.18.2011
"i absolutely ADORE this top! i bought the cream color in my usual xs and i found it to be rather roomy, not sure if its worth sizing down for, but it looks great. i love the bell sleeves and the hi-lo hemline, so cute! i sort of feel like a pirate (but not in a bad way!). this is delicate looking yet durable. i'm sure i'll get plenty of use out of it. with the cream, i was able to wear a nude bra underneath without having it show for those who are wondering. i'm really glad i bought one, get it while you can!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Victorian Inset Tunic
Name:
Location:Asia
age:31-35
body type:curvy
beautiful, drapes well
10.11.2011
"gorgeous item!
I agree with what v i, the other reviewer says about the stocks that come online, things run out soooo quickly on FP, popular items don't get brought back despite popular demand? This means a lot to international customers!
There should be a system to remind customers if there is a restock on certain items if they leave their email down, and I do agree that online customer service is of no help at all, and I do wish they went the extra mile for customers.
Anyway I got this gorgeous top in rust in size M. I am about 5 foot 2 130 pounds, and it fits perfectly without looking oversized, such a beautiful boho vibe!
About a week later I checked the FP site, I spotted some size L's in Tea and I jumped on it, knowing it was a full size larger because I loved this tunic so!
The large fit fine, if not a little too much of a deep V, but I should be able to fix that at a tailor, the only gripe I had about the Tea tunic was that it arrived so horribly CRUMPLED, whereas the rust tunic arrived without a lot of creases. I think I must have gotten a returned tunic, but it should have at least been ironed nicely before packing.
If this came in black or other colors I'd be so all over this and I'm sure other customers (especially those living in sunnier weather) will as well. If you're not bringing this back, FP, you really are missing the boat like what the other reviewer says."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Victorian Inset Tunic
Name:
Location:santa clarita
age:14-20
body type:petite
amazinggg
10.7.2011
"great top! i bought it in the reddish color xs im 5'2 104 for reference and it fits perfectly the material isn't soft which was what i was expecting but it has a lot of detail and drapes extremely well on the boody. The back is sufficiently longer than the front but its suppose to be like that."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
1 2 next>>