Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

FP X Gibson Top

Gorgeous gauzy cotton tank with stunning crochet detailing around Victorian-style neckline. Pleat detailing down middle front. Longer on the sides than the middle front and back. Button closure at upper back.
overall average rating:
4.077 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Customer Reviews for FP X Gibson Top
Review 1 for FP X Gibson Top
Name:
Location:Diamond Bar, CA
age:36-40
body type:petite
Classic Touch
4.5.2013
" Victorian style meets modern trend. I purchased this in the black, size S. I am 5'1" 116 lbs. and it fit true to size. I love the unique neckline and the flowy gauzy material. There are so many tops out there of a similar cut but, the detail on this definitely sets it apart from the rest. My only complaint is that the button loops are looped so tightly that it can be hard to get the buttons in. A small thing to overlook for such a beautiful tunic. Definitely a must have! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for FP X Gibson Top
Name:
Location:australia
age:31-35
body type:petite
love
4.1.2013
" was looking at this top for ages and when it came back online in my size, xs, i snapped it up in the tea color! i love it! i was surprised by the material though, was not expecting it to be so thin and sheer and was not expecting the yellow, but that doesn't bother me, however because of this i do think it is over priced, looks a bit cheaper than what i was expecting and the material on one of the buttons was hanging off, but that is easy fixed! overall i love it though, can be dressed down or up and you can tie the sides when you want a more fitted look, win win! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for FP X Gibson Top
Name:
Location:Kansas City
age:21-25
body type:slender
Cute top but picture is misleading
3.25.2013
" I fell in love with this top online, and I was soo excited to get it in the mail. I opened it and was surprised to see the trim was a yellow color (didn't look like that in the picture). Still cute detailing, but wasn't expecting the color. I'm always a small in everything and I tried this top on and it made me look pregnant. It's not fitted through the body whatsoever. I have bigger boobs (TMI, I know) but I think this shirt seriously would've looked better if I was flat chested. Having a bigger chest made the shirt hang out on me more. The arm holes are cute pretty big as well. An XS would've probably fit better, but I'm going to purchase something else on here instead. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for FP X Gibson Top
Name:
Location:Gainesville, Florida
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Very misrepresented
3.22.2013
" This is the most misrepresented item I've ever purchased online. It appears so beautifully antique and tea colored, and poplin and gauze material. The lace around the neck is pure white and appears cotton ! SO disappointed. The body of it is more of a soft knit, close to a very thin sweater-like material - not gauze or more poplin-like cotton as appears and as expected. Really just such ashame because as pictured it is stunning, but 100% different product in reality. I'm 36D, 5' 4", about 135 lbs, broad shoulders, and the Small fit easily, so I'd say it runs a little large if a 36D can fit a Small easily. Looks very cheap and typical in person, not beautiful antique. If FP manufactured this as pictured, it would be stunning and absolutelyworth every penny. "
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb3.26.2013
So sorry that you were unhappy with this top -- we will be in touch! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for FP X Gibson Top
Name:
Location:glendale,ca
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
VICTORIAN IT IS!
3.13.2013
" What a stunning top! I love long sides style effect that made this so remarkably beautiful! It fits very flattering, I like how it drapes and flows as you move! Amazing and unique! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for FP X Gibson Top
Name:
Location:New York
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
Simply Elegant
3.12.2013
" I fell in love with this top. It looks beautiful and elegant on. I've dressed it up with elegant pencil black skirt. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for FP X Gibson Top
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
pretty delicate top
3.7.2013
" Just got this in the mail an hour ago. As I pulled it out I thought the top looked kind of cheap. The lace is really nice but the cotton part is a bit cheap looking. The bottom of the shirt is cut with no hem. It's basically a casual top with fancy lace decoration.
I'm 5'8" about 130 lbs (usually a size 4 or 6) and it hits right at the hip.
All in all though I will enjoy this top in the summer or even on cooler days for layering. If it was half the price I would give it 5 stars.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for FP X Gibson Top
Name:
Location:Boston, MA
age:21-25
body type:petite
Amazing details!!
2.23.2013
" I'm a sucker for anything with a high neck and buttons down the back so naturally, I was drawn to this top. I got a small. Being petite, I usually have to get xs, but the small fit perfect, so I'd say it runs a lil' bit small. The details are beautiful in person! The studio shots don't do the top justice. The catalog shot is a much better representation. Its so unique and flattering!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for FP X Gibson Top
Name:
Location:Maryland
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Beautiful
2.23.2013
" This is such a beautiful top! It does run a bit weird under the arms. I originally tried on a Med, but went with a small because under the arms, the cut is low and will show your bra or whatever you choose to wear under it. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for FP X Gibson Top
Name:
Location:Maui, HI
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Looks cheap
2.21.2013
" I love FP and most items I buy but this top was disappointing. The top part looked cheap and there was thread sticking out of every seam. Had to return and happy to look for another top in new arrivals. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for FP X Gibson Top
Name:
Location:United States
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Lovely and pretty
2.20.2013
" This is the best purchase (never regret) I have made over thousands of dollars shopping online! I have been waiting for item so long and finally received it. After trying it on, I fall in love with it. The style and design are great. The fabric is comfortable. It worth every penny I have paid. I bought it in black, didn't know there's white color too. Probably will get white as well. I'm 5'3 always weight 145, and M fits me greatly. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for FP X Gibson Top
Name:
Location:Alabama
age:26-30
body type:athletic
feminine and flowy
2.18.2013
" Very pretty top, very well made. I am 5'5" 120 32DD and ordered a small and it fits perfectly. The top looks just as it does in the pictures, it's a bit sheer, so a bralette would look best under it, or a tight tank. Very pretty detailing on the neckline and it buttons up the back of the neck which adds to the vintage look. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for FP X Gibson Top
Name:
Location:Under Cover of Night
age:over 45
body type:petite
Gorgeous
2.13.2013
" I purchased this in tea and it runs pretty tts. I'm a short petite at 5'2" so it hangs a little longer on me than the model pics but that is ok because it looks even more flowy that way. The fabric is see through so some form of undergarment is a must. The bottom hemline is unfinished.The crochet and detailing is absolutely gorgeous! The buttons are tiny with ribbon acting as the button loops, so getting in and out of the top is a bit of work but so worth it. Love! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large