Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Mainland Distress Boat Shoe

Super comfortable boat shoe made with aged leather giving them a distressed and vintage appeal. Leather lace up front. Padded footbed. By Bed Stu. * Leather Upper, Rubber Sole * Imported
overall average rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Customer Reviews for Mainland Distress Boat Shoe
Review 1 for Mainland Distress Boat Shoe
Name:
Location:Boston
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Not Your Father's Shoes
2.3.2011
" These shoes are the perfect alternative to flip flops. They're edgy, yet still sweet and feminine. Plus, they give off the relaxed, "I didn't try too hard (and I still look rad)" vibe. Love them. Do take this advice: Size down by a 1/2 size. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Mainland Distress Boat Shoe
Name:
Location:New England
age:14-20
body type:petite
This shoe is worth it!
9.6.2010
" First off, I bought these shoes in a 6.5 instead of my usual seven, and while for the first few days they were tight and mildly uncomfortable (I got a few blisters), they're now exactly the size I wanted in the first place, and they won't stretch out of shape. My pair is also lighter than in the picture; a bit more gray tinged than brown, but I'm not picky about the exact color when the distressing looks like I've worn them for years. One thing I really love about these shoes is the width; I have wider feet, and these shoes are beyond comfortable, easy to slip on and off, and look adorable on my feet. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Mainland Distress Boat Shoe
Name:
Location:Atlanta
age:31-35
body type:petite
If there was a fire...
8.27.2010
" & I could only grab one pair of my shoes-- I think these would be it. Mine look even better than the ones photo'd! The "aging" is so convincing, I'm fascinated by it. I got a half size smaller, after reading the reviews, & they are PERF! #fivestars "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Mainland Distress Boat Shoe
Name:
Location:Canada
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
LOVE
8.14.2010
" I bought these in an 8 (my normal size) and was very pleased with them. They are very distressed looking (in a realistic way, which I was pleased about) and fit quite loose. Initially they were very painful to wear, but once I built up callouses on my heels (they were well worth it) I found them very comfortable. I am complimented on them all the time - and I enjoy that they look different from standard boat shoes (Sperrys, for example) because I hate my clothes/shoes looking like everyone else's! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Mainland Distress Boat Shoe
Name:
Location:San Diego
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
What a Great Surprise
8.6.2010
" I have to admit I had my doubts about these. They look adorable on the model but I have rather long, narrow feet so I wasn't sure how they'd work for me. Well, they are FAB! I took the advise of the other reviewers and ordered a 1/2 size down and the fit is perfect. They are not wide at all..actually quite narrow. The leather is soft and the pair that I received is as pictured (maybe slightly darker but whatever). It's obvious that these are going to stretch but I don't mind because I want them to be slip on. Living in So Cal these are a perfect alternative to the customary flip-flop. Totally in love with them already!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Mainland Distress Boat Shoe
Name:
Location:pittsburgh, pa
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
The Best of the Boat Shoes!
8.2.2010
" I purchased these a couple of months ago, and I wear them all of the time! They do stretch, so sizing down a half size is a good idea. I ordered mine in my normal size 7, and I still love them stretched out. They are so comfy and look really cute oversized. My color is actually a slightly darker brown, especially after getting them a little wet a few times! Boat shoes are very popular right now, but these are still my favorite despite the dozens of other styles I have seen ppl wear! These will last for a long time as well. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Mainland Distress Boat Shoe
Name:
Location:Minnesota
age:21-25
body type:slender
these shoes are great
6.29.2010
" I was hesitant to buy these because they are a bit spendy, but they were totally worth it. I orignally bought a size 8 (my typical size) and they did stretch out alot. I was able to exchange them for a size 7.5, customer service was awesome! It didn't matter that I had already worn them. The 7.5 felt snug at first but they STRETCH and ended up being perfect. I recommend sizing down a half size. I agree with the comments on color, not as picture, more of the grey brown look than the rich caramel/orange cast, which is totally fine and didn't bother me at all. Love the distressing too! I've fooled everyone who has asked about them, no one believed they were brand new. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Mainland Distress Boat Shoe
Name:
Location:Portland, Oregon
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Perfect!
6.4.2010
" These are exactly what I wanted, I didn't even know how much I would wear them but I thought they were so cute. I have worn them for the past week straight. I think they are very comfortable which is very important to me when shoe shopping since I have had quite a few foot surgeries . I would say they are a tiny bit big. I usually wear a 6.5 so I ordered a 6, 6.5 and 7. The 6 fit best but I really didn't notice much difference between the 6 and 6.5. They all looked different from each other and than shown online. Mine were quite a bit more distressed than showed and a little more grey brown than the carmely color shown. I still love them!!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Mainland Distress Boat Shoe
Name:
Location:Georgia
age:21-25
body type:curvy
love these shoes
5.30.2010
" I absolutely love these shoes! The pair I got is a bit different in color and more distressed then this picture, which I was even more pleased with. They are very comfortable and the leather is a nice quality. Can't wait to wear them!! I am usually a size 8 in shoes which is what I got and the fit is perfect. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Mainland Distress Boat Shoe
Name:
Location:Philadelphia
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Great Shoe
5.27.2010
" I love this shoe! It has a great fit. I love the worn look to it. I wear it all of the time! This is a great buy. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Mainland Distress Boat Shoe
Name:
Location:Jersey
age:21-25
body type:slender
Not as pictures
5.21.2010
" I just got these in the mail and they are not brown at all and do not look like the photo whatsoever. The color is an extremely light tan and are not comfortable either. What an extreme disappointment. I dont know what shoes are pictured here but the ones they sent me are completely different. Also they seem to run half a size small. "
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By EmilyFP Web5.26.2010
Hi!
The leather may slightly vary on these shoes, as they are made to be distressed. Some of them may appear to be lighter than others, but I can assure you that they are all the same, high-quality leather that we usually use! If you contact service@freepeople.com, they will be able to help you exchange your order for new pair!
Thanks!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large