Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Love Birds Maxi Dress

Sleeveless maxi dress with beautiful hummingbird print throughout. Ruffled hem that is longer in the back than in the front. Piping detail on the bust. Stretch panel in the back. Zipper closure. *100% rayon *Machine wash *Import Measurements for Size Small: Back length: 58" Chest: 32" relaxed
overall average rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Customer Reviews for Love Birds Maxi Dress
Review 1 for Love Birds Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
LOVE this maxi!
12.12.2011
"I got a 12 because that was the only one left and it fit pretty well, though I would have preferred a 10. The length hit me just like it does the model at 5'9". The fabric is soft and pretty, but a hair sheer. The slip that came with it is nice and long, and will be good to layer with other pieces too!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 2 for Love Birds Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Santa Barbara, CA
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Cute and Comfy
7.29.2011
"I am so glad I purchased this dress! I love how this dress flows and contours my curves in a flattering way. And it has a sheer slip dress too! Perfect for the summer & spring! If it gets a bit chilly I throw on my jean jacket or a cropped taupe top. Don't forget the accessories. For reference I'm 5"7 140 lbs and I got a sz 6, the length was perfect for my height!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Today's Denim Jacket
4.6 out of 5(14)
 
 
 
Native Bird Earring
 
 
 
 
 
Review 3 for Love Birds Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Charlotte, NC
age:14-20
body type:athletic
Incredible, Really!
6.25.2011
"This dress is worth every penny. It's sheer, but it comes with a little slip (which is also gorgeous). I also put the Point D'Esprit Maxi Slip in antique underneath, and pair it with some chunky platforms. Since it's so loose, I like to belt it and layer a cropped, lace tank over it. It is quite long, but at around 5'9", I can wear it with flats without a problem. Someone said that they didn't like the print's color, but I think it's beautiful. It does have some reds and moss greens, but they are lovely. I get compliments on the dress every time I wear it."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Regis Wedge
4 out of 5(8)
 
 
 
Cast Away Hip Belt
5 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
Point D'Esprit Maxi Slip
4.7 out of 5(47)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 4 for Love Birds Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Florida
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
stiff and small in chest
5.6.2011
"I sized up from a 6 to a 10. It runs small in the chest and long in the bottom. The material is stiff. But this dress is absolutely gorgeous. A beautiful edition to your summer wardrobe. Light and flowy material."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Love Birds Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:VA Beach
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
I want to live in this dress!
4.28.2011
"Tried this on in a size 10 in store, but my chest was too big for it too zip all the way (34 G for reference) so I ordered a 12. I'm also 5'5, so I will be wearing the dress with a great pair of espadriles since it is definitely too long for us shorter gals. It is worth the price because it is so beautifully done! I love the bird print and the soft colors. I wear my dress with a cropped jean jacket or my FP green linen army jacket. I would say it runs large because I can sometimes size out of a lot of Free People clothing due to my bust size...so if you have a larger chest, this is a great dress...plus, you can wear a supportive bra without your straps showing! LOVE!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Love Birds Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:RI
age:21-25
body type:petite
Pretty but so sheer.
4.14.2011
"I didn't have any intention of buying this dress when I tried it on in the store. I don't think I would have bought it anyway. I did love the back being longer than the front and it is very pretty and soft, but it was so extremely sheer - I don't see how anyone could get away with wearing it on its own. Yes, there is a slip, but it barely does anything because that is so thin as well. I can't tell much about sizing because all they had was a 2 which was huge on me (5'0, 100lbs) and I am far from busty. I wish I could have at least tried a 0. I would recommend wearing another slip under it (unless you like that sort of look). And it really is only for the tall and busty."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Love Birds Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Santa Monica
age:31-35
body type:athletic
beautiful
4.9.2011
"I agree with other reviews, the model don't do justice to this dress. It's so much beautiful in person!. I'm normally size 2 or 4 in free people dresses and 2 in this dress was perfect. I was lucky to find my size and I can't wait to were it!"
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Love Birds Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:NYC
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Beautiful but....
4.2.2011
"I was under the impression that this dress was made up of pastels and light pinks and nudes but when I got it the hummingbirds had a blue and red, orange an yellow tint to them. The hi-low length is great and so is the fit but I really didn't like the color pallete and the hummingbird print and palete of rainbow colors looked a little childish to me so unfortunately I had to return it, but if you like the color scheme then this is defenitley a good purchase"
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Love Birds Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:California
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
Sweet, pretty & great if you are tall & busty too
3.28.2011
"The dress's him caught my eye so I decided to gve it a try not expecting it to work for me as I'm tall (5'11) and curvy/busty (36 G) and don't usually have much luck with dresses. It looked so cute on and the size 12 fit just fine in spite of my having gained some extra weight in the last year. The cut is extremely forgiving despite the fabric's sight/sheer nature. It has an elastic panel in the back which allows it some give so I am confident it will look just as good if not better when I get my weight back down to where it should be. In the meantime I still have a great looking summer dress. I paired it with some creme colored over the knee socks and brown boots plus a short bell sleeved cardigan from elsewhere and the look couldn't be cuter. Unfortunately my boyfriend didn't compliment me on it unprompted but the waitress where we lunched did. :) When I asked my bf, he said he hadn't really noticed the dress because all had eyes for was my chest which did look very nice in the dress. sigh... lol. Anyway, if you are tall and chesty this might just be the perfect dress for you. Also I have a bit of a baby tummy and this dress skimmed right over that. This dress was definitely on the high end of what I am willing to spend but it is special and I am keeping it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Love Birds Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Philadelphia
age:14-20
body type:petite
Best Maxi Dress Ever
3.26.2011
"I was apprehensive about this dress based on the way it looked online, but when I saw it in person I fell in love. The fabric is so light and flowy but it's still sturdy and just by the feel of it you can tell that it's high quality. I am about 5'4, 130ish lbs. and a 36C. I got the size 4 and it fit perfectly. The chest definitely fit better on me that it looks on the model. On the model it looks a little loose and formless, but on me it fit close and snug in the chest (but not like distastefully tight) and then flowed nicely to the floor. The back drags slightly on the ground but I think it looks really romantic that way. To sum it up, this is my new favorite dress and I would live in it if I could! =)"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Love Birds Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Texas
age:21-25
body type:slender
Totally worth it
3.23.2011
"This dress is amazing. Everything from the cut, soft muted colors, subtle print, and ruffled hem make this dress completely worth its price tag. The piping at the bust is amazing as well. I also love that it comes with the slip. It may run just a hair big-I got a 2 and still have some room but I never tried on a 0 and when I ordered there wasn't one available. Get it, you will not regret it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Love Birds Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:asia
age:31-35
body type:curvy
love birds :)
3.18.2011
"i always love maxi dress and this 1 definitely my top 3 fav maxi dress in my wardrobe :)
i love the birds print so much! the fabric is so soft, fits super comfortable and it moves very flowy while u walking~ thats the best part i love abt :)
i m always between 4,6 and i got size 6 with this becoz i dont want it fits snug on my chest.. voila~ i m happy that i choose the size6, it fits just perfect on my 34DD
:-)
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Love Birds Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Midwest
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Awesome Summer Maxi
3.14.2011
"I tried this dress on in a size 2 in the store and had to buy it! I am 6ft and 135lbs, and am a 32DD. I LOVE the way this dress fits in the bust--usually when seam lines define the bust/cup, they end up falling too high on me and are unflattering/make my chest look small. This dress fits beautifully, so if you you have a bigger bust/cup definitely give it a try. The length hits me where it hits the model on the back view, and looks great with tall boots or statement sandals because of the length in the front. It's not as sheer as the first photo makes it seem, but it would be cute with a cool FP slip under it too."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Love Birds Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Lexington, KY
age:21-25
body type:curvy
pretty!
3.14.2011
"the fabric and cut of this dress is beautiful- the birds have a lot more color variation than you can see in the photo and i love the teal piping! Also it's nice that it comes with a slip to fit the cut of the dress."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Love Birds Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:San Antonio
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
In Love with Love Birds
3.10.2011
"I love this!!! I just wish it were a bit more body con. I usually wear a 2 but needed this in a 0 and it is still loose. Also i am 5'7" and the back drags on the floor so i need to wear heels. I also think the price is too $$$. But over all i had to have this because it is unique and beautiful! I think it will be perfect for summer!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Love Birds Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:baltimore
age:21-25
body type:slender
pretty dress, but too long
3.8.2011
"this maxi dress is way too long, and i'm not even short!!
for the price, i don't want it dragging across the ground. i also don't want to have to wear heels every time i wear the dress. major bummer."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Love Birds Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Golden, CO
age:31-35
body type:curvy
true to size chart i
3.2.2011
"I just bought this dress in a size 6 despite the reviewers' advice of sizing down. If in doubt, use the f.p. size chart. I'm a 36C and found that the size 6 was perfect in the chest area. If I had sized down, it would have smashed my chest in an unflattering way. I did buy an Ivory Point d'esprit maxi slip in medium because it looked too beautiful underneath to pass up. Just glad I was able to try before buy. The size chart is very accurate."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Love Birds Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:chicago IL
age:21-25
body type:slender
can not wait to wear it!
2.13.2011
"I saw this dress online and knew it would be perfect, I was lucky enough to find it in a store near me and bought it immediately! It is flowy and the pattern colors are subtle. It does however, drag on the floor a bit, if you are any shorter than me (I'm 5'6") it will be very long on you. I am getting it taken up in the back and then I don't really plan on taking it off! Worth every penny."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Love Birds Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:California
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Beautiful
2.11.2011
"This dress is lovely in person, and so silky soft! My only complaint is that the built in slip is still very sheer. Unless you were wearing skin tone undies I would recommend layering another or just a thicker slip underneath. It's very loose and flowy and I don't think the photos really show how much dress there is. I am a 6 in the real world, and usually a 4 in FP, however, the 4 was too baggy on me, and I had to exchange for a 2. I have a small chest, so after trying on the 2 I think I could have even gotten away with a size 0, but I'm satisfied with my 2. I'm 125, 5'7 for reference.
(Sorry the photo is kind of blurry, I hope it helps at least somewhat to show the fullness & length of the dress!)
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Love Birds Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Jacksonville, Alabama
age:36-40
body type:petite
Pretty and Romantic- Love the Slip!
2.8.2011
"I am 5/2 and weigh about 115 (ish). I am very small boned so I was not sure what size to choose. I ended up ordering a size 4 because I would rather a dress be a little large than too tight and wasn't sure how this would fit. I probably could have worn a 0 perfectly as the 4 was a little big. That being said, I'm not sending it back because their is a beautiful cream color slip (removable) which allows you to adjust the straps so that I can adjust it to the right size so the dress is not really that big afterall. As for the length, a pair of high wedges makes it fit perfectly, especially since the front is much shorter than the back. This is a really nice feature for showing off your shoes!
The fabric is so delicate and the print is subtle and pretty. I absolutely love this dress. It is so romantic and sweet looking. I definitely plan to wear it with a pair of cute wedge sandals and a cream cardigan. I love it! Thank you."
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Bed Of Roses Platform
5 out of 5(18)
 
 
 
Sunny Wedge Sandal
4.8 out of 5(6)
 
 
 
 
 
1 2 next>>