Product Reviews

Sweetheart with Lace Slip

Textured body-conscious slip dress with beautiful sheer lace yolk. Low sheer laced back. Unlined. Sexy stretchy fit. *92% Nylon, 8% Spandex *Hand Wash Cold *Made in the USA Measurements for Size Small: Length: 31 1/2" Bust (all around - relaxed): 28" Waist (all around - relaxed): 22" Bottom Opening (all around - relaxed): 24" Armhole Drop: 7" Back Neck Drop: 9 1/2"
overall average rating:
3.655 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sweetheart with Lace Slip
Review 1 for Sweetheart with Lace Slip
Name:
Location:Maui, HI
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Super Cute!
10.11.2013
"This slip dress flatters all the right places, nice color and it was on sale :)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Sweetheart with Lace Slip
Name:
Location:Burlington, VT
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
Very soft
8.27.2013
"I ordered the cream color, the fabric is very soft. I bought this to wear under another dress with a low back and I liked the layering. The fabric is sheer but I don't find it cheap. I think it is very comfortable layered underneath -note that it is extremely form fitting."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Sweetheart with Lace Slip
Name:
Location:New York
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Waste of money
8.1.2013
"This dress is SO thin and cheap looking! And because of the ridiculously thin material the dress is completely see though. The dress looked pretty online...It's a shame. Don't bother!"
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Sweetheart with Lace Slip
Name:
Location:Maryland
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Phew..
7.10.2013
"It's not just me! Ok, let's quickly verify one thing, it does say Lace Slip in it's name. So yes, this is very revealing, but not necessarily meant to be worn as a dress. So, try layering! This was a cute alternative to still showing the lovely qualities I bought this for in the first place. For instance, I pair this with a looser skirt as a top and voila! Easy fix to my thin-material-body-concious dress."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Sweetheart with Lace Slip
Name:
Location:New york
age:26-30
body type:petite
Material is awful
6.30.2013
"I got this in the pink xs/s. im petite and the fit was perfect. The only problem is the material of this dress is super cheap and thin! This dress has so much potential.. Could be a knock out dress... But nope - the material is poor. Not worth the sale price - Returned."
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Sweetheart with Lace Slip
Name:
Location:Melbourme, Australia
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Unexpectedly amazing!
6.25.2013
"when i first got this dress in the post it looked way too tiny for me. I ordered XS/S and am 5'2" and 61kgs. When i finally tried it on - I don't know how, but it sucks everything in and i looked great in it!
Ive always been body conscious - especially after having a baby; But this dress is so flattering! Pleasantly surprised - although I've never had a mad order from Free People.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
Henna Crescent Necklace
4.8 out of 5(5)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 7 for Sweetheart with Lace Slip
Name:
Location:austin
age:21-25
body type:slender
material is cheap and thin
6.13.2013
"this dress is not flattering at all due to how thin the material is. even if you are skinny, it shows EVERY lump/bump on your body. it is no wonder it is on sale for so cheap. even at this price though, i wouldn't want it."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Sweetheart with Lace Slip
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:26-30
body type:slender
AMAZING IF YOU ARE THIN
6.9.2013
"This is an amazing dress for someone that is skinny. It does fit me perfectly so I m definitely keeping it. I am 5.3 and weight 100 pounds. Got the XS. Not recommended if you have some extra pounds since the dress is very fitted and will reveal every single imperfection."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Sweetheart with Lace Slip
Name:
Location:Greenville, SC
age:31-35
body type:slender
You'd Better Be In Shape...
5.21.2013
"You need to be very comfortable with your body to wear this dress. It is very unforgiving. The material is so thin it is literally transparent; therefore, every curve and every bump shows clearly. Seriously, picture yourself naked with a slight bit of tight fabric over yourself...that's how you're going to look in this piece. Even on the darker colors. Not sure if I'm secure enough to wear this in public. The design is beautiful; however, for me its not a keeper."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Sweetheart with Lace Slip
Name:
Location:New York, NY
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Scary!!
2.1.2013
"This dress had a lot of potential. However, the fabric is too thin. I feel like this dress would fall apart after my second time wearing it. I couldn't even imagine washing it for that matter. i'm definitely returning it. Great idea, poor execution."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Sweetheart with Lace Slip
Name:
Location:Texas
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Super cute dress
1.26.2013
"I got this dress for my homecoming dance and am in love with it. Very flattering and the lace back/front is great. Only problem is that when i recieved the dress the lace was slightly torn in a couple places where the streachy material and lace meet. Luckily, it was an easy fix. Very good for the price:)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Sweetheart with Lace Slip
Name:
Location:Palo Alto, Ca
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
My Go To LBD
1.24.2013
"Love Love Love this dress! My go to party dress when I'm too lazy to put together an outfit. I have it in black and the lace is gorgeous. It's extremely flattering considering how thin the material is. That being said quality is a little lax on this dress. After a while some of the elastic started sticking out of the lace, however, I've worn it quite a bit so some wear and tear is expected. I'll probably just reorder it when it gets too damaged. It's semi short and very form fitting, but the neckline makes it semi-decent. I'm 5'6" 120 lb and I got the small which fits like a dream. It hits about mid-upper thigh on me."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Sweetheart with Lace Slip
Name:
Location:Florida
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Great dress
1.4.2013
"I ordered the black in M/L. I'm 5`5 135lbs. It's not too short, and not too long. It does tend to ride up a little when you're walking, but nothing to worry about. It is pretty see-through like most people have mentioned, and underwear was a little difficult to find. If you're comfortable I recommend not wearing any. I do wish it had some sort of padding in the chest (I'm a 34C). I'll have to get a NuBra or the stick on bras for sure. Overall it's a great dress, and I LOVE the lace."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Sweetheart with Lace Slip
Name:
Location:FL
age:26-30
body type:petite
Not quite...
10.17.2012
"This slip is a little on the low quality side. It is a thinner almost nylon hosiery type material. It runs on the small side too. The color is very pretty though."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Sweetheart with Lace Slip
Name:
Location:FL
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Expected better quality
10.16.2012
"I order this in XS in the teal color. I am 5'2, 115lbs. The color is really pretty, but the material didn't convince me. It is really stretchy (and really comfy), but to me it just looks cheap...and slightly trashy due to the cheap looking material. Not my favorite -- but I'm sure it looks great on other people. Sending this one back."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Sweetheart with Lace Slip
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Do not size up
8.29.2012
"I bought this dress in the teal/navy combo for my cousin's upcoming bachelorette party in Vegas and sized up based on reviews. I do not recommend this. The dress material is thin and stretchy and sizing up caused it to be baggy in some areas.
I am 5'4" and typically between 119-124 pounds and the M/L is too big. I typically order S at Free People and i should have stuck with that so I will be sending it back to exchange.
I am yet to find some underwear I can wear with it however finding a bra was not a problem. I purchased one of those stick on bras (at Target) that is backless and it looks totally fine under the dress.
It's really cute and I'm hoping the small works out- gave it a 4 due to the underwear factor.
"
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Sweetheart with Lace Slip
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA
age:21-25
body type:slender
Beautiful and Flattering
7.19.2012
"I am 5'5, 105 lbs and bought the teal combo in xs/s. The dress fits perfectly and is extremely flattering. The material is thin and stretchy so it hugs the body everywhere and shows off the figure. I must point out that the lace part is actually navy--not black. If you look closely at the picture you can tell, but when I ordered it I had thought the lace was black. I would have given it five stars if the lace was black, because I feel that would have made it easier to match with shoes/bags/etc. Either way, the navy is dark enough to where black shoes and accessories could still be appropriate. Very feminine and pretty piece--I am looking forward to wearing it out."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Sweetheart with Lace Slip
Name:
Location:Atlanta, GA
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Eek!
7.3.2012
"This dress is awful! Truly, I don't understand the glowing reviews. I am 5'5, 120 lbs and ordered the M/L and it was tight in some places and baggy in others- not flattering at all. In addition, the white is almost transparent. It looked like an unflattering nightshirt."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Sweetheart with Lace Slip
Name:
Location:frozen north
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Pretty but sheer
7.1.2012
"I bought this in the white a while ago, thinking it would be ok to wear on its own. Not so much. It's beautiful, so I'm going to keep it just in case I find something to wear it with (keeping my fingers crossed). I do plan on ordering this in the black though. The quality seems good, the fabric is soft and stretchy, and it's sexy without being too over the top."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Sweetheart with Lace Slip
Name:
Location:San Jose, CA
age:21-25
body type:petite
Body-con to the max!
6.25.2012
"I ordered this dress in teal and in both sizes since I was wary if it running small but I ended up fitting the XS/S perfectly! I'm 5'0 " 109lbs (32B) and the XS/S is quite a slim fit. The M/L was quite baggy on my torso so ladies beware if you're smaller on top like me and are worrying about sizing. The fabric is very thin as others have described so I'll have to hunt for some new undies to have as seamless of a look as possible but my trusty NuBra will work perfectly up top. Do note that if anyone is worried about any tummy bulges or anything else like that this may not be the dress for you, this fabric is too thin to mask any imperfections that a thicker dress may be able to do."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>