Product Reviews

FP New Romantics Speak Easy Shift Dress

Floral and striped crochet shift dress with scalloped bottom hem. "V"-neckline with cap sleeves. Neckline and sleeve hems have embroidered scallop trimming. Zips up the back. Fully lined with light pink fabric. The all over crochet, scalloped detailing, and universally flattering shape wins over our hearts. The delicately romantic and texture heavy New Romantics collection was inspired by the dream-worthy beach views and magically hidden coves of Sardinia, Italy. *100% Polyester *Hand Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size 6: Length: 34" Bust (all around): 37 1/2" Sleeve Length: 4 3/4" Armhole Drop: 8 1/4"
overall average rating:
3.522 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for FP New Romantics Speak Easy Shift Dress
Review 1 for FP New Romantics Speak Easy Shift Dress
Name:
Location:New York
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
a favorite
1.14.2013
" this dress is great for any season, fits true to size. the cap sleeves are a little snug but thats to be expected. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for FP New Romantics Speak Easy Shift Dress
Name:
Location:indianapolis
age:over 45
body type:pear shaped
straight shift
1.11.2013
" This is a dress for a very thin person. Even the large size is very small in the hips and shoulders with no give. The picture looks like the dress is A-line but it's not really. I am going to try to alter it because I like the fabric. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for FP New Romantics Speak Easy Shift Dress
Name:
Location:denver, co
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
not your average shift dress
1.4.2013
" the dress has a classic "shift" look but w/ unique details. I am 5'9", but the dress was just long enough (size small). the fabric also looks good with both tights and thicker leggings if you're tall and worried about the length.
beautiful and at the price definitely worth it. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for FP New Romantics Speak Easy Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Australia
age:over 45
body type:petite
speak easy shift dress
1.4.2013
" Drees arrived today after 17 days, it takes along time to get to Perth. Its a lovely dress just like the photo, and a great price. I will be taking it to Bali with me next week. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for FP New Romantics Speak Easy Shift Dress
Name:
Location:NY
age:14-20
body type:slender
intricate
12.20.2012
" It's hard to tell from the picture but the detailing on this dress is extremely intricate and pretty. I love how it's the perfect length to wear either with leggings or just on its own. However, the fabric snags VERY easily. I found it in a store and realized that a lot of the threads were broken or snagged, and I couldn't find another one that wasn't like that. It's a shame because it's a gorgeous dress but you'll have to be very careful with it. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for FP New Romantics Speak Easy Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Michigan
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Beautiful Dress
12.16.2012
" I really like this dress its made well and is beautiful!(plus I got it for a great price!) I got it in the purple color, it fits really well ! 'm 5 8" and my bust is a 32b and a size 2 fit well, a little short and snug in the butt though. Overall a really great dress! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for FP New Romantics Speak Easy Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Phoenix
age:21-25
body type:petite
In Love
12.14.2012
" I bought this in a size 0 as my Christmas dress.
My measuremetents :
Height: 5'2
Waist:24
Hips:32
When I first looked at the dress it looked rather large, but after trying it on, it fits perfectly. I love the retro look and it shows off my petite shape without being too snug.
Just a little sacred the scalloped edges will fray with washing.
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for FP New Romantics Speak Easy Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Az
age:41-45
body type:slender
Fits as pictured
12.11.2012
" Cute dress, definitely casual. I am 5'4" 118 lbs size 6 was perfect. The waist is loser than the photo shows, it will require a little tailoring . "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for FP New Romantics Speak Easy Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Australia
age:over 45
body type:slender
Stunning
12.10.2012
" Perfect dress to just throw on with little thought and know that you will look fab. It is a little shorter than I would have liked but a gorgeous dress, I bought e ivory colour in a 6 and blue in an 8 and they both fit but 8 is perfect. I am 5'5" Aust.10/12.
Don't hesitate to buy.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for FP New Romantics Speak Easy Shift Dress
Name:
Location:BMore
age:over 45
body type:athletic
wasn't looking for a nightgown
12.8.2012
" After reading reviews, I ordered a size smaller than usual. The fit was fine then, except it was WAY too short. The material and overall style of this dress was very attractive, but it was so short it looked like a nightgowvn, and I'd be afraid to bend over wearing it without my underwear showing. The pretty pink laciness made it appear even more like i was still in my night gown. It was knew I'd be put-off by all the jokes I'dgeceive about being out in my pjs, so I returned it. (If only they had added 2 inches in length to it, I would have worn it out anyway!) "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for FP New Romantics Speak Easy Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Washington, DC
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Beautiful and versatile
12.5.2012
" I absolutely love this dress. It is so versatile. I have worn it with tights and heels, thigh high socks boots and a blazer, and tights with flats and a sweater. The only thing that I was a little bit iffy about was how it fits at the top. I am 5'5'', 130lbs, and wear a 34B bra. the top was a little bit baggier than I hoped but not in the sense that it didn't fit. The dress is beautiful. just be careful not to snag the threads on the front! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 12 for FP New Romantics Speak Easy Shift Dress
Name:
Location:ny
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Not crazy about it
11.21.2012
" I thought this looked really cute in the August catalog. In reality it fits like a pillowcase, big but not oversized in a flattering way. I got it in white, and while it was higher quality than I was expecting, it just looks like an old curtain. I'll be returning. Oh- for tall girls, it's also short. I'm 5'9" and it's too short for me. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for FP New Romantics Speak Easy Shift Dress
Name:
Location:New York, NY
age:21-25
body type:petite
Cute but not very flattering
11.4.2012
" I bought this in blue in a size 0 (I'm normally an XS, 5'4"), and at first I liked it, but it really does lack any sort of shape. My sister pointed out, "It looks shapeless on you so it looks like you're trying to hide a pregnancy or something". This definitely doesn't accentuate any shape or curves on a girl, so I don't find it flattering, overall. I prefer a dress that accentuates a feminine form, and this is just a little too potato-bag-like for my liking. The lace is really beautiful, it's just a shame the cut of the dress makes you look 15 lb heavier. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for FP New Romantics Speak Easy Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Boulder, CO
age:31-35
body type:petite
This ones a keeper!
11.3.2012
" I love the quality of this dress, very femine! I bought the ivory in a 0. Im 5'3, 106 lbs and thought it could've been taken in a tiny bit on either side, but still a good fit. Loose, but wearable! I wore it wtih sweater and boots "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for FP New Romantics Speak Easy Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Sarah, Mississippi
age:31-35
body type:curvy
nope....
10.25.2012
" Its a pretty little dress, but the fit was odd - on me, anyway. it was tight through the butt/rear, yet too big in the armholes and shoulders. Shame, I really wanted it to work! "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for FP New Romantics Speak Easy Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Perth
age:21-25
body type:petite
lovely but not for me
10.16.2012
" This dress was lovely but it didn't work for me. I ordered size 4 but it was still too large. It was kinda shapeless and looks like a night dress to be honest. The fabric was good but I was really disappointed. Definitely returning this :( "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for FP New Romantics Speak Easy Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Orlando, FL
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Lovely but had to send back.
9.25.2012
" This dress is lovely. I ordered the blue in a size 6. My measurements are 32-24-34. I'm 5'6". Since we do not have a Free People store in my area (Orlando, FL), I have to take a big risk to order from the website. This dress fit too baggy and the armholes were way too loose. I decided not to exchange it for a 4 because I needed it by a specific deadline. The detail and quality is beautiful and is exactly what I expected from Free People. I highly recommend this dress if you have the option of trying it on before buying. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for FP New Romantics Speak Easy Shift Dress
Name:
Location:San Diego CA
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Not for me
9.16.2012
" This dress didn't do much for me. The ivory dress looked like a night shirt on me. My size 2 was way too short as a dress (I'm 5'10") and would've made a nice tunic except that it looked boxy. I passed on this one. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for FP New Romantics Speak Easy Shift Dress
Name:
Location:California
age:14-20
body type:petite
Beautiful Details
9.10.2012
" I purchased this dress in the ivory & it's very pretty. The cut is not super flattering & sort of boxy, but I like it. Being 5'2 I didn't think it was too long, but I think it would look better on taller girls. I'm 110 pounds & a size 0, but I would recommend going down a size or two, because it is quite roomy! Overall, I'm really happy about this dress. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for FP New Romantics Speak Easy Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Milwaukee, WI, USA
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Gorgeous
8.29.2012
" I bought this dress to wear to my engagement party and it was perfect! Blush pink is one of our wedding colors and that is the color of the lining of the dress. I love the relax fit of the dress, which made it very comfortable and also makes it great for transitioning for different occasions. Can't wait to wear it with tights for fall! I paired it with a simple necklace, chunky bracelet and nude pointed toe flats. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>