Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Romantic Insets Dress

Pieced together linen and lace inserted bohemian dress. Long sleeves are slightly bell shaped. Comes with removable slip dress underneath. Linen fabric is lightly crinkled and semi-sheer. Scalloped trimming around neckline and all other hems are scalloped. A stunning piece to bring back the 70's with! *55% Linen, 45% Cotton *Hand Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 34" Bust: 34" Waist: 34" Sleeve Length: 26" Slip Length: 25" Slip Bust: 34" Slip Waist: 32 1/2" Total Strap Length: 18"
overall average rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Customer Reviews for Romantic Insets Dress
Review 1 for Romantic Insets Dress
Name:
Location:rolling hills meets prairie
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Insets of lace
6.28.2012
"The color of this dress is more like a washed out black. The material is rather thin. I sized down to a small. I found the dress too short and my athletic arms and shoulders did not fit, as in when I reached forward my arms were very restricted. Had to send back."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Romantic Insets Dress
Name:
Location:California
age:14-20
body type:petite
TTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
6.7.2012
"Okay, so I fell in love with this dress when I saw it online. I figured since everyone was saying it was HUGE I would size down so I ordered an xsmall. My body type is kinda funky. Im 5'1 but I'm not skinny. I am just normal. I have ins and outs where I'm supposed to so I don't relate to people who have no ounce of fat whatsoever on their body. I think they are the people who said this dress is huge. The xsmall was too small!!! Also people saying that the straight look is unflattering. If you like vintage-looking fits, this is the dress for you. I tried buying a medium. It was too loose in the arm area. So I am keeping the medium and getting it altered so It won't be so huge on me. I regularly wear a small and a small in this dress would have fit me perfectly. (: The crochet area is pretty, but if you wear it the wrong way it can look cheap. Cute dress (:"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Romantic Insets Dress
Name:
Location:Western USA
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Fab but too short, strange little slip... indeed!
5.11.2012
"Dress is loose and yet is so mini that at 5'8" I will have no choice but to wear it as a tunic.... ....which I WILL DO because I am LOVING it otherwise! Note: for some reason the cotton "pull on over the head" slip that comes with it has a disproportionately tight circumference around the top which sits above the bust and continues under the arms and around the back. Maybe it's just a product defect on this one, since the rest of the slip is fine and the dress/outer layer it goes with has plenty of room."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Sunburst Double Wrap Belt
5 out of 5(2)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 4 for Romantic Insets Dress
Name:
Location:UK
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
Too Short
5.8.2012
"Ordered the dress in both colours. I don't think its oversized at all, its just a shift dress. I did not find it stiff either as some reviewers have said. However at 5ft2, I think its too short, its several inches above my knee. I am a UK size 8/10 and ordered the Small. I am glad I did not irder XS as it would have been too tight around the shoulders. Its a lovely dress, the crochet detail is gorgeous. It is not cinched in like the photo. But its still a ncie dress. My only complaint is that you do not sell in the UK and the huge customes charge I received means I won't be ordering again even though I love the clothes."
Response from Free People:By Free Peopleweb5.8.2012
Hi, We hope to have a UK site later this year! Stay tuned!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Romantic Insets Dress
Name:
Location:Australia
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
exquisitely feminine!
4.27.2012
"a real feminine bohemian creation that makes you feel beautiful and it's a little old-worldy. Very comfortable as well and can be worn as a mini dress, with boots or even as a top over leggings and jeans or other pants. So flexible! So gorgeous!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Romantic Insets Dress
Name:
Location:canada
age:31-35
body type:curvy
meh
4.7.2012
"if this was actually more boxy and shapeless, i'd have liked it more. it fits loose but does have some shape to it, but an odd shape. the bust and waist are the same width so the top does fit boxy. but the skirt part has a little bit of a tulip shape, which makes your hip look a bit wilder than it really is. and if i lift my arms up, then the whole shape is just weird ad it doesn't look flattering at all. the crochet details are pretty good, but i thought the sleeves are a bit longer. and the linen material makes this a casual dress. overall, this isn't one of fp's best."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Romantic Insets Dress
Name:
Location:Oregon
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Cute!
4.3.2012
"This dress is adorable, it actually comes with a slip underneath. The tea color is a little too yellow, less 'this-used-to-be-white-but-it's-vintage' and more 'the-color-is-meant-to-be-yellow.' Hope I helped if any of that made sense."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Romantic Insets Dress
Name:
Location:san francisco,california
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Not what I expected...
3.7.2012
"Was soooo excited to try this dress on at a local fp, but was so dissappointed once it was on. It didn't flatter my body whatsoever. It was really roomy and boxy. The only cute thing about it is the lace detailing. Other than that, not worth the price"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Romantic Insets Dress
Name:
Location:Massachusetts
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Pretty Shift Dress
2.22.2012
"I wear a LOT of shift dresses similar in look and fit to this one. I'm a musician and they look great on stage and the styling is perfect with my style of music. So when I saw this online, I thought that it could be the next in a long line of off white lacy shift dresses. I tried it on in my local FP and I have to say it is truly gorgeous. I'm tallish and skinny and I tried the XS and its shapeless, yes, but its a shift dress people! its supposed to be that way. I have skinny legs so i dont really mind the straight look on top. The lace fabric is to die for. Its very stiff and unyieldy though. the whole dress has no give so its a bit difficult to get on and off, especially with the long sleeves and the strange little slip it comes with (VERY long straps, very flimsy fabric) Definitely wear nude underwear with this, but thats a no brainer since its white-ish. Very pretty. Not grandma-esque at all to me."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Romantic Insets Dress
Name:
Location:los angeles
age:over 45
body type:petite
Not good
2.6.2012
"Pretty fabric; really pretty fabric.
What a waste on such a shapeless, boxy, unflattering, ill-fitting dress. It looked worse on than any cheap nightgown I have. Just ridiculous. Why do you take such pretty fabric and make it unwearable? I suppose I could have it altered to fit me, but it's too expensive. I am an XS. This XS was way to big. I returned it to a store, a small/medium customer tried it, and although she filled it out better, it was still pretty shapeless on her. It has no curves or shape. It looks and feels like a plain, straight sack. Too bad. A better thought out design and this dress could be dynamite. Now it's going to be one of those dresses that pleases very few women. No wonder the model has a huge bouquet of flowers in front of her!!!!! One star for the pretty fabric.
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Romantic Insets Dress
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Looks older than I wanted.
2.6.2012
"I thought this dress looked beautiful online, so I ordered a medium. It fit just fine, but maybe a bit too big for being without much shape. The fabric between the lace wrinkles easily, poofs, and doesn't help the baggish look of the dress. I would love to have ordered a smaller size to see if the shape got better, but I don't want to pay for shipping. It went back. I am 5'10'' and have hips, so maybe on a more petite or small hipped gal it would flatter with the straight cut."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Romantic Insets Dress
Name:
Location:Vermont
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
very boxy
2.3.2012
"i fell in love with this dress when i saw it online! i ordered it, and when it arrived, the first thing i noticed was that the fabric and lace a beautiful. i wanted to love it when i put it on, but it was just OK. it was very boxy and unflattering - it did not accentuate my figure at all. i am 5'9 and weigh about 135lbs., and ordered a small. i was surprised that the small was so loose on me. the dress is straight up and down, with no curves at all. i was disappointed, and will be returning it :("
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Romantic Insets Dress
Name:
Location:Nashville
age:21-25
body type:petite
Ehh
1.28.2012
"By the looks of the models, you can tell that the dress runs loosely, and I already knew that when I recieved my dress I would have to get it altered. I'm 5'2" and a size 0 so when I ordered the XS and put it on, it pretty much looked like a night gown on me. My alterations lady kept asking me if I still wanted to get it altered because it would be crazy expensive, which sucks because I payed so much for the dress. Which was poorly packaged, might I add. But i'm going to get it altered and I'll post back what my thoughts are. Pretty fabric and lovely lace though!"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large