Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Portland Lace Up Boot

Leather boot with leather laces strung through metal eyelets. Leather accents throughout. *By J Shoes *FP Exclusive
overall average rating:
4.385 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Customer Reviews for Portland Lace Up Boot
Review 1 for Portland Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:San Diego
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
I never want to take these off!
12.25.2010
"When I began my boot search, these were not the tall, sleek riding boots I had in mind. After months of searching (and returning), I came back to these. They look rugged in the photos and I was worried that they would already be worn out. Even after ordering, I was a little skeptical. They arrived yesterday (in time for xmas eve!) and I never want to take them off. They are so warm and comfy. The sole is very thick, but it just makes it more cushy. I feel like they run true to size, but comfortably fit thick socks. I will say that they make my long legs look more short and stalky, but they have a quirky, cute look that I already adore. I've already gotten many more compliments on these than my sexier boots. The details and color are rich and really pop with outfits. The leather is thick and great quality. I feel confident that these would do fine in mucky weather and even a bit of snow. Would be great hiking boots too if you don't mind the slick sole. Will last for 10 years. Worth every penny."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Portland Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Tampa, FL
age:26-30
body type:pear shaped
The perfect boot!
12.7.2010
"I just got these boots today. They are just awesome! They look nice and rugged, but stylishly so. I can see wearing these with girly dresses or just jeans and tee shirts. The leather is a very high quality oil tanned leather that flexes very nice. The leather around the ankle and the foot are two different kinds so there is that extra bit of contrast. The foot part is more like a cold weather moccasin leather where as the ankle is more of a heavy suede. The foot part also has a unique treatment that makes the leather discolor slightly when bent or creased which makes these instantly look like your favorite boots. With the ankle part being softer, there is no binding or uncomfortable rub and they conform nicely to your foot. Instantly the comfiest pair of shoes I own with NO break-in period needed. They literally feel like slippers when on, but still seem very durable and high quality. I can see them lasting for many years to come. The sole is nice and thick without being clunky and I can see wearing through the bottom anytime soon, even with all the walking I do. As another poster mentioned about the bottoms, I would have to disagree, they are not slippery, they just don't have a lot of tread, but the sole rubber is very grippy- akin to maybe a basket ball shoe.
Mine came in looking exactly like the picture. No color variation. Maybe it was a bad first batch?
I ordered a 6.5, which is my normal size for boots, and they feel very roomy. I put in a pair of insoles so my feet wouldn't slip around and the insoles fit in the shoes all the way to the toe- I think they feel big because they are wide shoes, not because they run larger in sizing. If you plan on wearing thick socks a lot I would order your normal size, maybe a half size down if you only plan to wear thin socks. Or do like i did and just put in a big cushy insole.
They also have decent arch support, a lot more than you would think form this kind of shoe- the inside almost feels like a tennis shoe when on your foot.
They are nice and warm in the 37 degree weather we have here right now, but I think they are light enough for me to get use our of them even in warm weather."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Portland Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:seattle
age:21-25
body type:petite
pretty thick soles
12.6.2010
"These boots are super comfy - & i really want to like them, but i can't decide if I want to keep them! Mine came with a lighter bottom trim color too( kind of bummed :[ they're not like the picture ). The sole of these boots are also really big! They stick out on the sides a lot, I worry they make my feet look big...
Normally i wear i size 5.5 - but i got the 6(it was the smallest size). They fit snug on the sides(careful if you have wide feet!) and there is a little over an inch at the toe. I think they're good cold weather boots though. Very "Pacific Northwest," great for Seattle.
Also, if you wear these boots the way they are in the picture - they make noise! the D-rings jingle with every step(people in my office took notice today...)
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By EmilyWeb12.7.2010
Hi There,

The shoes that are pictured on our website were used in our July catalog shoot, so they've had some wear and tear, as our model was wearing them outside in the mountains in Colorado. Don't worry! As you wear these boots, the soles will darken and fade to look just like the photo above.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 4 for Portland Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Santa Cruz
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Oh how I love these
11.30.2010
"I debated for months about getting these because I do not spend $200 on anything- but that said, I love these boots! I took the advice of other reviewers and got them a half-size larger than my normal size (I'm generally a 9; I got a 9 1/2) and they fit perfect with my woolly socks. Mine did not have the color variation on the trim; they look like the picture. I'm road-tripping to Portland in a couple weeks- how perfect. Tight jeans, Portland boots, big sweater...yay"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Portland Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Indianapolis
age:36-40
body type:slender
I LOVE these boots!!!!
11.5.2010
"Several compliments were given while wearing these boots. Very, very comfortable and worth every penny. Ordered a 7.5 and they fit perfectly. Only advice would be is to make sure you have them waterproofed."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Portland Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:31-35
body type:petite
trim color
10.20.2010
"To fix that little problem about the off colored trim, I would suggest rubbing a bit of darker brown shoe polish on it. Sparingly. If it's not enough put another light layer on it. I'm sure this will work."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Portland Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Canada
age:26-30
body type:slender
love love love
10.1.2010
"I've had these boots for a few weeks now and they are my "go to" shoe. I love them. They are incredibly comfortable and they look amazing...they're also getting softer and more worn looking the longer I wear them, which I love because they're leather. Like another reviewer suggested, I got a size up which was perfect because they fit the socks in the photo perfectly (I bought them as well).
All in all, a fantastic boot. The color on the bottom is lighter than pictured but still looks fantastic. I would buy these again in a heartbeat!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Portland Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:East Coast
age:21-25
body type:slender
hiking boots?
9.24.2010
"I bought these boots expecting them to be perfect for hiking, as well as looking good. The bottoms seem to be a soft, flat, slippery material. I don't want to try them outside because I am thinking I will have to return them. They are cute, but not functional. I am quite disappointed because I was so excited to find hiking boots that were good looking."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Portland Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Delaware
age:41-45
body type:petite
Very Cool!
9.24.2010
"I wasn't sure about whether I wanted these, but once I received them, I loved them! They are a much more richer dark chocolate brown than shown in pic and they have that very rustic outdoorsy woodsy appeal that I so love. Glad I took the advice of one of the reviewers regarding these running a half size small, because they do. Get them while you can, cause theyr'e going fast!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Portland Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:new york
age:14-20
body type:petite
nice boots!!!
9.1.2010
"When i got these boots I thought they were going to be less chunky and more flexible. But the bottoms are slightly larger than i expected. these boots are still really cute and they go with a lot. there worth every penny!!!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Portland Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:florida
age:31-35
body type:petite
Great! but slight color difference on trim
8.13.2010
"I found a sizing chart for these online and measured to be a 6.5. Room for thin to regular socks but not any thick and chunky socks for me anyway unless I size up to a 7. Looking forward to them wearing in a bit. When I received them I thought they looked a little different than what I was expecting but couldnt quite put my finger on it. Wore them out and got a compliment from a complete stranger. Now that I see the online pics again I realized that the trim at the base of the shoe above the sole is a different color. It is much lighter than on the online pics. I'm a little annoyed over it although I've decided not to return them over it, but for $228, thought it was worth noting. Maybe it was just a fluke on my pair? I attached a pic just in case it helps anyone else. The width was nice I have a little bit of a wide foot and the shoe overall is comfortable. Will get a lot of use out of them."
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 12 for Portland Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Boston
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Best boots ever!!
7.26.2010
"I'm soo glad I sized up in these boots! I'm normally a 7 1/2 but I heard Jshoes run a half size small so I got an 8. They fit perfect! They look ever cuter on than in the pictures! These will be so warm in the fall and winter months!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Embroidered Floral Border Dress
4.9 out of 5(11)
 
 
 
Malawi Vines Dress
4.1 out of 5(24)
 
 
 
Patchwork Paisley Necklace Dress
3.3 out of 5(15)
 
 
 
He Loves Me Bandeau Dress
4.6 out of 5(24)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 13 for Portland Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:New York
age:41-45
body type:athletic
had to exchange
7.22.2010
"I have wide feet so they must really run a bit large. I like them enough to try again at a 1/2 size smaller."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large