Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

San Jose Maxi Dress

Empire-waist maxi dress with gorgeous crochet detailing at front of bust, shoulders, and upper back. Light pleating below bust line. Metal circle studs trimming bust *By Blesse'd are the Meek
overall average rating:
4.476 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for San Jose Maxi Dress
Review 1 for San Jose Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Boston
age:41-45
body type:curvy
LOVE this dress!!!
4.9.2014
" Gorgeous dress! I got the army, not my usual color, LOVE the crochet detail. The dress is not as flowy as the usual FP dresses, but it's as pictured, and is really beautiful! I may get the mauve. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for San Jose Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:MA
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Not Flattering
3.7.2014
" Bought a Large in the taupe online and was really excited for it to come. When I tried it on it was pretty loose and maybe 3 inches too long for me (I'm about 5'6"). One of the other reviews said the lace seemed cheaply made but it was very soft and the small sequins were a nice touch. Unfortunately, this dress just billows out under the boobs so the lower body just balloons out. I would probably be mistaken for pregnant in this dress. Very unflattering. 3 stars because it is very nice quality. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for San Jose Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:31-35
body type:curvy
A dress to live in
1.4.2014
" This dress is hands down the best maxi dress I own. I purchased in the taupe and the green color and both are divine. The dress runs big. I normally wear a large in all free people clothes. I bought one dress in large and the other in medium and I like how the medium fits best. The skirt is totally free sized (I'm a 16 on bottom and there is room to spare!)...and the top is a perfect fit. Wish I had it in every color!!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for San Jose Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:castle
age:21-25
body type:petite
will shrink in wash
1.4.2014
" yay this dress will shrink in the wash, and for good!! Its a couple inches shorter, makes me so happy cause when i first put it on i was tripping on my shoeies.
i like how it fits "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for San Jose Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:New York
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Love it!
12.29.2013
" Have had this dress for about a year now and love it so much. As other people have said the length shrinks a lot in the wash so don't alter it until you've washed it. I wear an 8 and the medium fit perfectly, but if you have a smaller bust you might need to size down. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for San Jose Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:los angeles
age:41-45
body type:curvy
love this dress!
12.3.2013
" ordered in Large get many compliments when I wear it. its so versatile super casual and can be dressed up with ease got in taupe and getting in black too now! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for San Jose Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Philadelphia
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
I really wanted to love this dress
8.30.2013
" I ordered this in the black in a large (5'9, 140 lbs, hourglass), but it just had too many problems for the price. First I felt the crochet stiching was a bit stiff and looked a little cheap, and it also hit in weird places in the front. Also as other reviewers had mentioned, the top of the dress fit perfectly, but below the bust was a huge billowing disaster. I do a lot of sewing and often tailor my clothes to fit, but there was just too much going wrong to try to sort out for the price. I can't say if this was a problem with other colors as the dress seems to be popular enough. I think this dress would maybe work best for flatter chested girls who could afford to size down and still have the top portion fit. As usual though FP was great and prompt with my return so no complaints!!! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for San Jose Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Australia
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
stunning but big
5.27.2013
" I ordered this in medium going off the size chart for dresses, it was a beautiful and great quality dress but I have had to send it back because it was at least a size to big definitely buy the size down if you are considering this dress. that said it was very sexy and if it fitted better had a very flattering silhouette. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for San Jose Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Houston
age:36-40
body type:petite
Warning! Dress does SHRINK! (yay!)
4.23.2013
" I've read all the reviews about how long the dress is and have been meaning to submit my own review. When I first tried the dress I also thought it was way too long on my 5'4" body and considered altering the length, but I am SO GLAD I washed first. It shrank *several* inches (maybe even half a foot?) after washing on cold and hanging to dry.
I got all three colors -white, black, and army. I returned army because of a major smell to the fabric, specifically at the crochet detailing. Not sure what that was about because the other two dresses didn't have that issue at all.
I ended up keeping only the black, and I wear it with the seamless honey tupelo top underneath. This is a really gorgeous dress, I hope they come out with similar silhouettes in the near future. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 10 for San Jose Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Sam Francisco Bay Area
age:36-40
body type:curvy
Retro, yet modern look
4.21.2013
" Ordered this maxi in a med, and had to return it for a small. Is a little long, but still love it & will wear a higher heel. The white is striking in it's simplicity yet the beautiful embellishments on the sleeves, down the sides and the top as well as the beautiful crochet back strikes the right balance. Beautiful! Feel Romantic and lovely in this dress.. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 11 for San Jose Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Sydney Australia
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Nice but too long for petite girls
4.8.2013
" I got this dress in black size Medium. I'm a 38 B/C and the Medium fits a bit loose on me. I'm a petite 5"1'and this dress is wayyyy too long for my figure, but nothing a seamstress can't fix. Overall it is a very nice and figure flattering for busty girls. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for San Jose Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:philadelphia, pa
age:14-20
body type:slender
prom dress
3.26.2013
" I got this in XS for the Army color, for my senior prom (I hate traditional prom dresses). I'm 5'5, 125 lbs, and skinny torsoed. The dress is a bit long, and It is pretty roomy, especially around the waist. In the pictures, the Army color looks very fitted, but in the other colors, it looks looser. So from certain angles it can look like a maternity dress. SO to solve that, instead of going to a tailor, I'm using ribbons to cinch in the waist, since its crocheted, which seems to work but it might rip the crocheting. The color is a muted olive green, but has a subtle shine to it and it'll look amazing with brass/copper jewelry. It's airy and billowy and overall lovely! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for San Jose Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:New York
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Awesome dress
3.21.2013
" Absolutely love it. Thought about ordering all three colors, but then just ordered the black. Now I want the other two. It's a great dress with a great fit. I was sort of worried about what I was going to do about a bra, but with the black at least wearing a normal nude bra will be fine as the crochet detailing makes it barely noticeable. Ordered my usual FP small and it fits perfectly--nice and loose. Might prefer the dress about an inch shorter as it is a tiny bit long with a flat shoe (I'm 5'7), but will only get it altered if it proves to be an annoyance when wearing. Great transitional piece that I will definitely be wearing through the fall. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for San Jose Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Southern Cali'
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Versitile
3.14.2013
" I bought this in all 3 colors...I think that say it all. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for San Jose Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
So excited about this dress
2.18.2013
" I am 5 feet tall 115 lbs (and 5 months pregnant. Not only is this dress gorgeous now, but there is enough fabric to get me through to my due date (in July). I love the fact that it is also amazing on people who are not pregnant. I saw a couple of other ladies try it on too, it it looked gorgeous. The extra fabric from the draping isn't evident (but extremely lucky for those of us who wish to still dress cute and be pregnant) :) fabric is extremely light, very comfortable. I got an extra small. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for San Jose Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Vegas
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Beautiful
2.17.2013
" I was hesitant to buy this dress (a little pricey for me) but I am so glad I did. I love how versatile it is. I can wear it to a wedding or to the mall, depending on accessories. Great fit, too. I am 5'7, 140 lbs, 36C, and small fits perfectly. If I had gone with my usual M, there would be too much fabric and it would be too long. Size down. I got the black. Now I want the white... "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for San Jose Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Oakland, CA
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Gorgeous boho maxi
10.30.2012
" I bought this dress in black and it is perfect for this transitional weather. It is fitted in the top and billows out from the empire waist making it an easy silhouette for most body types. It can be dressed up with Litas or dressed down with Frye boots and a printed scarf. I'm in love! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for San Jose Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Arctic Tundra
age:over 45
body type:petite
Do you know the way...
10.30.2012
" Beautiful super long maxi dress that drapes unbelievably well! I purchased this in black and it looks exactly like the online photos. I'm a short petite at 5'2" and the hemline is a bit long, but nothing that a pair of heels won't fix. The crochet is very nicely done and the metal sequin trim is perfect. There is no stretch to the fabric. Because of the open crochetwork, undergarments are a must unless you are daring. Here are the measurements for an XSmall:
length from back of neck: 57"
bust all around: 35"
armhole drop: 8.5"
"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 19 for San Jose Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:MINNEAPOLIS
age:over 45
body type:slender
DRAPES GORGEOUSLY!
10.24.2012
" I LOVED WEARING THIS DRESS !!! IT FIT BEAUTIFULLY-- COULD PERHAPS SIZE DOWN, NOT SURE. . I FELT LIKE AN ANGEL IN THIS DRESS. AND THAT WAS,, IN FACT, THE COMPLIMENTS I RECEIVED WHEN WEARING IT. IT IS LONG-- TO THE FLOOR. IT FLOWS AND DRAPES WITH BEAUTY. I THOUGHT THE PRICE WAS EXCELLENT FOR THE GORGEOUS FEEL AND LOOK OF THIS STUNNER OF A DRESS. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for San Jose Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Cali
age:31-35
body type:petite
Wait until it goes on sale
10.24.2012
" On-line, I fell in love with this dress. So I bought the black in a small. I'm 5'3" and a 34D. The top is snug, but fine to live with. HOWEVER, the bottom part is EXTREMELY huge! I took both sides and pulled in the back to give it silhouette, but even then, there was still A LOT of fabric. If I could, I definitely would return it, but since I cannot, it's time to seek out a great seamstress. I am really disappointed. "
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb10.24.2012
We are sorry that this didn't work out for you -- there shouldn't be any problem returning the dress for a refund. A member of our support team will be in touch to offer assistance!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>