Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

FP Velvet Extreme Wideleg Pant

Beautiful velvet super wideleg pants with two slit pockets in front and two pockets in back. Button and zipper fly. Velvet feels and looks luxurious and fashion-forward. *80% Rayon, 10% Nylon, 10% Silk *Machine Wash *Import Measurements for Size 28: Waist: 32 " Inseam: 33 " Rise: 9 "
overall average rating:
4.719 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Customer Reviews for FP Velvet Extreme Wideleg Pant
Review 1 for FP Velvet Extreme Wideleg Pant
Name:
Location:Canada
age:36-40
body type:curvy
Love, Love, Love
2.15.2012
"Crazy fun. This pant is amazing. I would size down one size. Amazing color and love the wide leg."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for FP Velvet Extreme Wideleg Pant
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Overwhelming
1.25.2012
"I'm 5'2" and a generally small person. These were overwhelming on my frame. They were a good 6 inches too long (why doesn't FP offer multiple lengths like everyone else???) and even at the very top of the thigh were baggy. I looked like I had pulled two trash bags up my legs. You need to be tall to not be taken over by these. Even hemming them would be bad because of the volume on the bottom. If you're tall and want to give these ago, the cut at the hips and rear is flattering, and the fit is TTS, I would say go up if between sizes."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for FP Velvet Extreme Wideleg Pant
Name:
Location:pgh
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
xoxoxoxoxoxox
1.9.2012
"Look just as pictured... feel so nice on. These drape very nicely, they are long enough for tall girls. I'm very happy. :)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 4 for FP Velvet Extreme Wideleg Pant
Name:
Location:Hermosa Beach
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Love
1.6.2012
"i bought these pants in rust. I wear them whenever possible. They are soh so soft, comfy, and definitely a conversation piece! I'm 5'1 so I have to wear 5" platforms with them and I also got them hemmed. These are truly amazing pants. They are almost sold out online, but if you check out the stores, they may have them in your size! Well worth it!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for FP Velvet Extreme Wideleg Pant
Name:
Location:nyc
age:21-25
body type:petite
amazing pants
1.2.2012
"I am 5 feet tall, but with the ophelia (Jeffery Campbell platforms) or any platform shoe, these pants are perfect and just barely graze the floor. These are a great statement piece and they are SO comfortable. I used to only wear skinny jeans but thanks to these pants, I am going to definitely be buying more wide legs. they are extremely flattering also! I usually buy a 24 or 25, but the 24 was perfect. a little loose but not too much. Definitely a must buy.
OH! and if they don't have these in your size, do call one of our free people stores! we have a new system where we can order your size, hopefully, as we have a different stock that isn't available to customers online. hope this helps!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for FP Velvet Extreme Wideleg Pant
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
comfy
12.20.2011
"These are comfortable and very long. They run true to fp sizing. If you want the hem to hit the ground then you will be fine with your size. Otherwise these can be easily hemmed. The velvet material is not too thick either. It also has a nice stretch to it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for FP Velvet Extreme Wideleg Pant
Name:
Location:California
age:41-45
body type:slender
Absolutely beautiful
12.15.2011
"I initially hesitated on buying these pants because I thought the price was a little steep but after trying them on I couldn't resist. They are soft, silky and really flatter your figure. The size is pretty accurate and wears well with heals. Love them."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for FP Velvet Extreme Wideleg Pant
Name:
Location:San Diego CA
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
AMAZING!
12.15.2011
"Very eye-catching. The flares are extremely wide but because the pants are more fitted around the waist, they look fabulous. Keep in mind that the fabric is very thin. This makes the pants feel very light and comfortable. However, I would caution against sizing down even if they fit a bit loose and drapey. I wouldn't want them to fit tightly like jeans because IMO that would put unnecessary stress on the seams. They don't stretch at all. So I bought a 26 instead of 25 (I fluctuate between these sizes in other pants/jeans)."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for FP Velvet Extreme Wideleg Pant
Name:
Location:USA
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Not for Curvy women
12.9.2011
"These pants are really cute and the material feels very nice - I love the color of the rust ones - it is almost a pink/orange color in some light. After reading the other reviews I was convinced they would fit, but they are just not designed for women with tiny waists and big butts/hips. The pants are too straight across the hips, so the size that fits my hips and butt, hangs off my waist by at least 6 inches in the back. Also, they are not as low-rise as they appear in the picture - waistband sits only slightly below my belly button - I'm 5'4''. Needless to say, I had to return them, but if FP ever makes a curvy version I will definitely buy them."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for FP Velvet Extreme Wideleg Pant
Name:
Location:Houston
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Best Pants Ever
12.5.2011
"These velvet pants rock! I get so many compliments when I where them... You probably wanna be tall in order for them to not drag on the ground. I am 5 10 and still have to wear my platforms ! Love them though."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 11 for FP Velvet Extreme Wideleg Pant
Name:
Location:canada
age:31-35
body type:curvy
luscious
12.2.2011
"the fit is identical to that of the fp vintage extreme flare jeans, which i find exactly true to size, and would size up for a comfier fit at the waist. the material is similar in that they're both very light, except that this is velvet of course. i got this in the moss color and it's true to its name. it looks darker on its own, but under light, it has the gold-ish shimmer. subtle, not too flashy. the length is shorter than the jeans, most likely because this one has a proper hem. with 5" heels, the bottom is just above ground for my 5'3" frame."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
FP New Romantics Sequin Button Down
4.6 out of 5(17)
 
 
 
Polka Dotted Boho Top
4.2 out of 5(26)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 12 for FP Velvet Extreme Wideleg Pant
Name:
Location:Northern Alberta Canada
age:36-40
body type:slender
So Beautiful!
11.23.2011
"Love, love, love these pants! I usually order m/29 in FP bottoms, but followed the advice of other reviewers and sized down to a 28. These fit wonderfully on the hip and accentuate the butt just nicely.
The inseam was much longer than I personally like, so I chopped them just above the hem and hemmed them again. I still have to wear shoes with height to bring them totally off the ground, but not five inch platforms.
The color I chose was the green and it is so beautiful in natural light! The sheen changes colors from a golden brown to a deep golden olive hue.
The drape is so lovely and when I walk the bells flow gracefully! Love the cut of these pants!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for FP Velvet Extreme Wideleg Pant
Name:
Location:Lancaster, PA
age:41-45
body type:slender
Superb!
11.22.2011
"I was reticent to get these. I thought the fabric would not hang as nicely as the denim version. WRONG! These are wonderful. I got them in the moss which is actually a warm brown - which I like better. The DO run large, sit nicely on hips but if you're looking for a tight fit these may not be the pants for you. OH and they are LONG. I'm tall... had to buy new boots to wear the. Such a pity, new JC shoes too. These are my new favorites."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for FP Velvet Extreme Wideleg Pant
Name:
Location:grand canyon, arizona
age:over 45
body type:petite
in luv!!
11.15.2011
"so glad i took a chance on these; absolutely gorgeous rust color; wonderful fabric, yes, they are long; just tried them on with my gewawa platforms; perfection; am 5'2; small all over; 24 waist fit perfect; am seriously thinking about either the green or the very cool wide leg velvet overalls ... thank you again free people!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for FP Velvet Extreme Wideleg Pant
Name:
Location:los angeles
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Very boho chic-to die!
11.14.2011
"For a fabulous chic boho look these are the pants to get!! Fit is perfection, fabrication is beautiful, & compliments are never ending! I die!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for FP Velvet Extreme Wideleg Pant
Name:
Location:austalia
age:over 45
body type:pear shaped
Love them
11.10.2011
"So comfortable & easy to wear these velvet pants are very thin but perfect. Sizing spot on. Please bring out more versions!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for FP Velvet Extreme Wideleg Pant
Name:
Location:San Antonio
age:26-30
body type:slender
A note to tall girls
11.10.2011
"Most of the reviews I read prior to buying these, were from average to short women and they mentioned that you had to wear this item with platforms due to the length. I am somewhat tall (5'8) so I thought these would be great for me. Not really the case. They just barely made it to my ankles. I know the other reviews say to get a size smaller than usual, but if you are 5'7 or taller, get your normal size, or a size larger so you can get more length. Now they are out of the size I need, as is the store in town, and so I am out of luck."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for FP Velvet Extreme Wideleg Pant
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:41-45
body type:curvy
LOVE
11.3.2011
"These pants are SO comfortable. Love the color and the fit. I may need to buy the other coloe I love them so much:)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for FP Velvet Extreme Wideleg Pant
Name:
Location:grand rapids, mi
age:14-20
body type:curvy
almost perfect!
11.2.2011
"these pants are everything i wanted and fit well too! i have curvier hips and the stretch in these pants make them sit nicey on my body, i wear a size 27 and am 5'4. a bit long, which means ill have to wear some cute wedges with them so they don't drag on the ground. oh and they are oh so soft!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for FP Velvet Extreme Wideleg Pant
Name:
Location:Hermosa Beach, CA
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Turn up the drama
11.1.2011
"I bought the Moss color and was instantly trying to find a thousand things to wear them with. They are so great! Better than a skirt, more dramatic than jeans. I love the shape, they way they fit and hang, and the material reflects light so beautifully. First time I wore them I wasn't out 5 minutes and I had people asking me where I got them. Instant love!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>