Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Patterned Diamonds Dress

Knit bodycon tank dress with squared off neckline and Egyptian print. Slim fit. Scoop neck in back. Fully lined. *Machine wash *Import Measurements for Size Medium: Length:34 1/2" Chest: 30 1/4" Waist: 28"
overall average rating:
3.727 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Customer Reviews for Patterned Diamonds Dress
Review 1 for Patterned Diamonds Dress
Name:
Location:Perth, Australia
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Not as narrow as Id hoped
5.24.2011
"39" 33" 38" and 5'9. Normally would get a M but brought the L as only size left. I was hoping the dress would be narrower, as I have skinny legs - but not as narrow around the legs as pictured so a little loose. The fit is flattering but still had to pull on the spandex for the tummy area. I can see how smaller busted women would find the straps long but they are fine for me - 14D (Aus). Material is very nice up close but looks plain from a distance and it is a bit thinner than expected although it is lined."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Patterned Diamonds Dress
Name:
Location:Brookline-MA
age:26-30
body type:petite
The shoulder straps.... is a problem
4.3.2011
"As told by others, the shoulder straps runs large (I bought the XS, I am 5 feet, 98 lb), On the body, it is absolutely perfect. My boyfriend just told me "You are very sexy with this dress""
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Patterned Diamonds Dress
Name:
Location:nyc
age:14-20
body type:slender
great! except...
1.3.2011
"i really love this dress. I'm very slender (5'6", 105 lbs) and found this dress to be flattering. However, i did have to take it to get the straps shortened."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Patterned Diamonds Dress
Name:
Location:Boston
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Distant cousin of the downtown date dress
12.22.2010
"Before trying this on I suspected it would fit much like the downtown date dress, and after trying it on, I can say it fits EXACTLY like it. soo-- yess the straps are a **little** long, but not too bad, and definitely not a problem if your well endowned (im a 36C, 140lbs). I love the way it fits, and it has a nice stretchy lining that is very smoothing, but definitely doesn't hide everything, so if you have some bumpy spots this might not be perfect for you, but I found it very flattering. The only bothersome thing was the color-- the navy combo is really more black, and the pattern is barely noticable unless your an inch away or the light hits it in the right way. If its the pattern your drawn to, definitely go for the pink!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Patterned Diamonds Dress
Name:
Location:bozeman
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
great, with some issues.
12.2.2010
"i had been eyeing this dress online for awhile and was so excited when i was finally able to try it on in a boutique. i grabbed my usual medium (5'4", 125 lb, 34 D) and it was very fitted. i'm not fat by any means, but it hugged me in certain ways that accentuated parts of my body in an unflattering manner. when i sized up it fit great except the length of the straps is slightly too long. regardless, i bought it because the pink color is just too pretty and i can live with it being a little low cut. but if you're extremely busty/curvy i would shy away from this one."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Patterned Diamonds Dress
Name:
Location:florida
age:31-35
body type:petite
Great but shoulder straps too long
11.25.2010
"Wasnt sure if I should try this this but based on reviews I thought I might be in luck. I sized up to a small and it fit great except for the shoulder straps were too long. I would have to take the liner completely out to alter. The pink wasnt really pink like I thought it looked in the photos. I usually wear an XS but there is not a whole lot of stretch in this dress. For reference Im 34-26-33 100lbs. I am short so as usual this body con doesnt fit in the shoulder area."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Patterned Diamonds Dress
Name:
Location:DC
age:21-25
body type:slender
great basic, wear alone or layer!
11.15.2010
"I have this dress in the tan/pink small, which I like because the graphic pattern is there but takes a back seat.
The fit of this dress is great - I'm slim, but some clothing isn't particularly flattering in the tummy region. This dress must have magical spanx or something, because it fits like a glove and makes me look amazing! It does have a liner, so no worries about that. Some people have expressed concern about the bust. I think the neckline is cool, and I am size 34D and it worked out with no problems. Wear a strapless or demi cup.
I've worn it with a long cardigan, tights, and boots and also have dressed it up with black heels and a blazer. You could even go a little traditional with a string of pearls.
This is my FAVORITE item in my wardrobe, and I love that it's machine washable."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Patterned Diamonds Dress
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
So cute!!
11.9.2010
"I bought this dress in the pink because I wanted a good basic layering piece, and I got it! The print is soo cute and fun, but I also like to turn my dress inside out to use the plain side. The fabric is soft and stretchy, and the garment is fully lined. It fits snug to the body, but it is very comfortable. I love it!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Patterned Diamonds Dress
Name:
Location:New York
age:26-30
body type:slender
Wanted to love this but the neckline is cut weird
10.24.2010
"I really loved this dress. Esp Under the Curtain Call tunic, but I just didn't like the neckline. It was way too low for me. I can't seem to find a bra that does not peak thru either. I am a 32B and this made me look flat as a pancake. Since I've got a booty I don't really like things that make my butt bigger and my chest flatter. The pattern is a bit darker in person. It also is a pain to wear if your walking around a lot as I found the underslip kept riding up on me. I really wanted to like this one.! It would def work on someone with a nice set of boobies! Lol."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Patterned Diamonds Dress
Name:
Location:Canada
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
exactly what i hoped for
10.21.2010
"As soon as I saw this dress and it's pattern I was drawn to it. I got the pink, and I would say it's the same as shown or a bit deeper, but definitely for the better.
Fits perfect, didn't have any issue with the length of the straps like other comments. I'm 5'7" size 0/2 and got the XS, also is flattering for small chest. I'm not sure about pairing with tights but def with a black or grey cardi
Also loved that it's lined - can't wait to wear out!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Patterned Diamonds Dress
Name:
Location:Hawaii
age:26-30
body type:petite
Yay! Love this!
10.18.2010
"I'm petite, but I'm also pear-shaped, meaning body-con dresses don't work on me. I'm usually between sizes. If I size down the bottom is too tight (and puts my thighs & butt on display for everyone to see), and if I size up, the top is too loose. HOWEVER, I took a chance with this dress and am so glad I did. I went with the small and it fits as pictured!..even on me! It works and I am not rail-thin! I don't have the same problem like previous reviewers did with the straps being too long, they're fine for me, just get a good strapless bra. I got the pink and the fabric is just as pictured also, so no surprises there. This will be my go-to dress. Only thing is I need to hem it since I'm only 5'0" (and 105 lbs). Not a problem. You're bound to turn some heads in this! Thanks FP!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Patterned Diamonds Dress
Name:
Location:New York, NY
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
beware of "pink" color!
10.17.2010
"I expected a soft, dusty rose color (like in the picture), but it is much darker and more tan than pink. Honestly, it looks like cheap tan stockings.
I have gotten other dresses from Free People in size Small and they fit perfectly: this is meant to be snug, but watch out if you rock anything bigger than a B!
The fabric is kind of lame, too."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Patterned Diamonds Dress
Name:
Location:Orlando
age:21-25
body type:slender
I actually really liked this dress
10.16.2010
"This dress is the same cut and fit as the downtown date dress, minus the strips of fabric, it's just smooth and patterned. For me I feel it fit the same and everything. I love the dress in both the pink and the navy color, but I opted for the pink, I feel it's more appropriate for day wear. I love the dress, I think it's super flattering and cute."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Patterned Diamonds Dress
Name:
Location:new york
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Oh well
10.11.2010
"This is absolutely beautiful in person, the black color is stunning. However, it just didn't fit me right. It emphasized the tummy pooch and love handles. The straps were too low, but when I pulled the dress down it exposed too much cleavage and not enough leg. However, it was a medium, and for my height at 5'3, I should be wearing a small, I'm just not teeny enough haha. But to those with great bodies, buy this!"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Patterned Diamonds Dress
Name:
Location:cali
age:21-25
body type:petite
continued from below
10.5.2010
"I originally wanted the ivory color, when I spotted it online at the store however, the black/blue color caught my eye. The blue is subtle and I immediately thought of the perfect outfit for thanksgiving dinner... already! Both the ivory and the black are gorgeous. The fit is true to size. I was happy that I was able to wear a bra with straps instead of a strapless. The neckline is a bit low but hey show of em goods. The material looks delicate but it is more sturdy then it looks. Highly recommend."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Patterned Diamonds Dress
Name:
Location:philly
age:26-30
body type:slender
same as reviewer below
9.29.2010
"I was so excited to receive this dress in the mail... but like the reviewer below, I thought they got the order wrong! The dress that arrived was actually a very dark blue/black. It's not a bad color, but it's not what I was expecting, and definitely not what was pictured. The fun pattern doesn't pop as much and I already have a few tops in that color, so I will be exchanging it for the pink (unless the light blue reappears?). It fits just like the model, true to size."
Response from Free People:By EmilyWeb9.30.2010
Hi There!

There was an issue with our stock in the blue color. It turned out much, much darker, almost navy. You can certainly exchange for the pink, and we should have the issue sorted out as soon as possible!

Thanks!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Patterned Diamonds Dress
Name:
Location:WI
age:14-20
body type:athletic
does not look same in person
9.28.2010
"I saw this dress online and it looks silver/light blue and the design is very clear and sticks out. I recieved this dress in the mail and i thought they screwed up the order. This dress looked black to me. I could barely see the design. Looks nothing like it does online. I guess when they say blue they mean really really dark navy blue. i would be careful when ordering this dress. The white lines you see on the dress are actually black and there is dark blue in the background. I will tag a picture later."
Response from Free People:By EmilyWeb9.29.2010
Hi There,

It sounds like you may have received the incorrect color or a defective dress. We will reach out to you via email to figure out what has happened!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Patterned Diamonds Dress
Name:
Location:Virginia
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
beautiful dress
9.27.2010
"The print is exciting and the dress fits like a glove. There's a little extra fabric in the stomach area, but the rest of the dress clings to the body, creating a really sexy, exotic look. The material is stretchy, too."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Patterned Diamonds Dress
Name:
Location:Dallas, TX
age:31-35
body type:slender
Cute aside from neckline
9.27.2010
"I picked this up in blue in the store back in August. I love the print and I bought this to go under the ivory ruffle riding jacket but I've also worn it over jeans with a white cardi vest thing. It's a nice tunic but I wouldn't wear it as a dress because it rides up on me and ends up above my butt.
This is a lined, by the way, so sheerness is not an issue.
I think the fit is true to size. I bought an XS, my normal size, and I'm 5'6", 120lbs, 32B. It fits fine other than the neckline/shoulder straps, which are a little too long for me, however this is always the case with FP body con pieces- the shoulder straps are always too long. The first time I wore this I didn't wear a bandeau underneath and I had to constantly check and make sure my bra wasn't showing. But again, I have this problem with many FP tops so while it would be nice if FP made their dresses to fit better it isn't a deal breaker.
I don't necessarily care for the cut of this dress at the bustline area- it's too straight for me but this is still a cute piece that I would just wear layered with other items to make it more interesting, which is why I deducted one star.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Patterned Diamonds Dress
Name:
Location:Boston, MA
age:14-20
body type:petite
beautiful!
9.25.2010
"beautiful dress and looks AMAZING on. I got an XS (32C size 0 usually) and it fit like a bodycon dress should. ONLY problem is that the blue stitching pulls really easily. I exchanged mine at the Free People store 2 times. Even the one on the mannequin and in the picture have pulls. Not to discourage you though. I still kept mine. It is just something you're going to have to deal with when wearing this dress. Overall, I LOVE IT!!!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>