Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Winter's Child Cardigan

Slouchy nubby knitted cardigan with knitted rib sleeves. Slightly oversized fit and dolman-style sleeves. Two front pockets. *99% Cotton, 1% Nylon *Hand Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 24 1/2" Bust (all around): 48" Sleeve Length: 29"
overall average rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Customer Reviews for Winter's Child Cardigan
Review 1 for Winter's Child Cardigan
Name:
Location:pittsburgh
age:over 45
body type:curvy
LOVE LOVE LOVE
6.5.2013
"I debate over buying this because all that was left was the orange color. but i couldn't pass it up for the price and the look. i have been looking for a sweater i can wear on cold nights. i have the long hooded cardigan but it is not always perfect especially in spring weather. I missed the one i wanted ad it is outta stock so i went with this and i am so happy i purchased it! even tough it is orange it is a dark burnt orange and it fits so nicely. i got a medium and it fits slouchy and very roomy. the sleeves are really long on me but i don't care about that i think it is better if my hands get cold. even though it has pockets. my other one has no pockets and i need pockets. so this is perfect, the fit is great the color works on me even though i never buy orange anything. i wish they had the gray cause i would have bought that originally but then i would have wanted both either way. its just perfect for my closet and me i can see me wearing this any cold night and every cold winter day indoors and out. i also like it came with extra hooks i think i will add them even though it is suppose to only hook in the middle. it will be perfect with all of the hooks on it to close all the way. love this item. perfect staple piece for my closet."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Winter's Child Cardigan
Name:
Location:Bellevue, WA
age:26-30
body type:athletic
LOVE!
5.7.2013
"I have this cardi in Rust, and I love everything about it - from color to texture to fit. I normally wear XS, but decided to go a size up for this cardigan for a slouchier fit. XS also fit fine, but was a little too short to my taste. The Rust color looks really unique and flattering for any complexion. It also accentuates the knit texture and livens up any outfit by making a color statement. I like to pair it with the denim shirt (same as worn by the model) - looks awesome! - and a Voile Trapeze Slip in Black or Tea. It also goes great with all kinds of olive hues. It's definitely one of my favorite FP pieces!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 3 for Winter's Child Cardigan
Name:
Location:Washington DC Suburb
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Sweet Sweater
5.6.2013
"The is a really sweet sweater and great buy on sale! I have both the oatmeal and red/rust. I was originally hesitant about the red/rust color but it really pops. I've washed the oatmeal (in a sweater bag on delicate -flat to dry) with no problems. Boyfriend fit with a feminine touch!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Winter's Child Cardigan
Name:
Location:Melbourne Australia
age:over 45
body type:slender
Great cardigan
4.29.2013
"Now have both colours and couldn't be happier with both. I would say they run true to size and can't wait to wear the red colour which is a rust colour just as pictured."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Winter's Child Cardigan
Name:
Location:South Dakota
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Gorgeous
4.14.2013
"This sweater is my new staple peice of clothing. The fabric is very soft and comfortable. The color is GORGEOUS. Length is perfect, and it lays quite nicely over anything. I throw it over thermos, t-shirts, and tanks, and it looks AMAZING. I am more than satisfied with this purchase. My only caution is that the sleeves run quite short. If you have long arms and are looking or a longer length, this sweater is not it. I roll the sleeves or push them up to accommodate the length."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Winter's Child Cardigan
Name:
Location:orlando, florida
age:14-20
body type:pear shaped
LOVE LOVE AND LOVE
3.17.2013
"Ahhh where to begin? I am absolutely in love with this cardigan and never want to take it off! From the second I received it in the mail and tried it on for the first time, I knew it'd be a staple piece in my wardrobe. I purchased the ivory, which is definitely more cream colored in person, which is fine by me since I only wear neutrals anyways. The sizing is obviously meant to be slouchy and oversized, so I stuck with my usual medium and it's perf. Not too baggy or long. It looks great with the sleeves down or rolled up. The material definitely looks delicate so I'm not sure how I'll be washing this since there is no instructional tag on the cardigan...never the less I adore it. I was skeptical at first at the price, and hoped it would go on sale, but eventually I just took the plunge and bought it. Worth every penny. It really feels like the quality is there. This is an amazing basic cardigan and I hope that FP comes out with it in other colors like grey or black!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Winter's Child Cardigan
Name:
Location:boston, ma
age:26-30
body type:petite
good basic piece
2.15.2013
"i needed a layering open sweater, so i went with this cardigan in ivory. It's a bit "old manly," with low armpits and definitely needs to be worn open.
i paired it with the electric juxtaposition top."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Eclectic Juxtaposition Tunic
4.8 out of 5(4)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 8 for Winter's Child Cardigan
Name:
Location:Tofino, BC
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Comfy and Stylish
1.28.2013
"When I first opened this sweater I wasn't sure what I thought of it. I ordered the M (I'm about 5'6, 145lbs) because I wanted an oversized fit and the back of the sweater seemed a little shorter than I had anticipated. However, I started wearing it anyways (because I didn't really have another cardigan) and got SO many compliments! Now I wear this with pretty much anything from yoga pants/jeans and a tank to a dress and heels (like in the picture below). It's my favourite purchase from free people this season!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 9 for Winter's Child Cardigan
Name:
Location:Providence, RI
age:14-20
body type:petite
Perfect!
1.2.2013
"This cardigan is perfect for everyday use. It is a loose knit, but the material is thick and beautiful. The bottom half of the sleeves are knitted thicker, so the sweater's sleeves stay tight on your arms no matter where you place it. I wear this sweater with the sleeves pulled up, like the model. It seems that is how the sweater is supposed to be worn, because the sleeves are on the shorter side. If you have long arms it will run short. But it is literally the perfect sweater for everyday use; it goes with everything. It does stretch out with use. The material is not itchy at all. Everyone should own this sweater!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Winter's Child Cardigan
Name:
Location:Laval, Qc
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Really not nice
12.11.2012
"I am sorry to have to return this as I am really disappointed in this purchase. It looks sloppy and the fabric is really not flattering. I was hoping it could help me alternate with another FP sweater that I love but unfortunately doesn't compare at all. Really low quality as well for the price."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Winter's Child Cardigan
Name:
Location:Santa Barbara, CA
age:26-30
body type:pear shaped
Not your ordinary grandpa sweater...
12.8.2012
"So glad that I ran into this beautiful slouchy oatmeal cardigan today at my local fp store. Since, I am a skinny jean, white tee shirt type of gal, this will compliment my every day look! It is warm and NOT itchy. I bought my usual size medium and fits loose the way that it should. Do buy before they sell out fast!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Winter's Child Cardigan
Name:
Location:los angeles, ca
age:14-20
body type:petite
Great!
11.25.2012
"I saw this cardigan in the catalogue and fell in love with it! I purchased the ivory which as the other review mentioned is more of an oatmeal color. Other than that this cardigan is cute, comfy, and great for this fall weather!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Winter's Child Cardigan
Name:
Location:St Joseph, MO, USA
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Super sweet and comfortable!
11.23.2012
"I love this sweater, I was drawn to t because I have the flannel dress shown underneath. It is such a super soft and comfortable cardigan. It has this relaxing quality to it when you pull it on. It is adorable with the plainest of FP dresses to the dressier tulle pieces. Runs large, has that boxy vibe about it. Sleeves run just a little bit short, but I do have long arms."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Winter's Child Cardigan
Name:
Location:chicago
age:over 45
body type:petite
Very nice!
11.8.2012
"I honestly haven't ordered anything from FP that I have not been absolutely satisfied with. And this cardigan is no exception. I expected a somewhat slouchy fit, but honestly it has a very elegant drape to it. It would be great for casual use, but could also work at the office. It is soft (not incredibly "oooo" soft, but a nice non-itchy soft : ) ) and the Ivory is more Oatmeal. The texture is unusual and striking, not smooth but kind of nubby and natural. It makes you want to reach out and touch it. I fly a lot and will be taking this along for in-flight. Very comfortable. Love it!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large