Product Reviews

Drippy Jersey Dress

Marled jersey knit oversized high-low tee. Button detailing at front of neckline. Rounded neckline. This dress is a comfy and casual essential that can be dressed up or down in a cinch.
overall average rating:
3.902 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(61 Reviews) 61
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer Reviews for Drippy Jersey Dress
Review 1 for Drippy Jersey Dress
Name:
Location:Sydney Australia
age:21-25
body type:slender
Great item!
10.2.2014
"I bought the dress in amethyst, the colour is a bit lighter than it looks in the picture. But im really happy with it. The dress is flowy and roomy, but the arms are quite fitted, which is good as it still shows your figure. The fabric is light and really nice. Im really happy with this purchase, I think its a great item for in between seasons, as a dress.
I bought the small, im around a size 10-12 and busty, but im glad i went for the small as its still very roomy in the dress.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Drippy Jersey Dress
Name:
Location:SD
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Love This Dress!
9.5.2014
"I wasn't sure what to expect as the dress looks so different on all the models (in the various colors), but I got it in my usual size (M) and love it!
I was afraid the sleeves might be too tight based on the other reviews, and while they are not loose, they're not too tight either. I got it in white and it looks exactly the same on me as it does on the model. I like it belted or loose. The white is definitely semi sheer, so I layer a slip underneath."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Drippy Jersey Dress
Name:
Location:Atlanta, GA
age:21-25
body type:petite
Favorite Free People piece!
8.30.2014
"I've been eyeing this dress for a long time... I'm an employee at Free People and wished we carried it in store so I could see if it was flattering on.
I decided to give it a shot and ordered the XS in the Ivory color and I am SO happy I did. It's absolutely gorgeous and flattering on. It's simple, but I got so many compliments while wearing it the first time today.
I am 5 foot 4, slim build, and wear a 32B bra size. The dress is definitely sized determined by your bra size... the arms/sleeves, and chest area are very fitted and clingy, and then the dress becomes very flowy right below breast-level. So order based on your shirt size.
This is definitely my favorite, simple, staple piece from FP. It's very versatile and I will be ordering one or two more in different colors."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Drippy Jersey Dress
Name:
Location:Illlinois
age:over 45
body type:curvy
My 2nd Jersey Dress!
7.10.2014
"Own this in the light peach in a M, but as others have mentioned, the sleeves are really snug (not a good thing on a curvy lady). Purchased this in the L & works great. Body a little loose, but I'm fine with that. Ordered the Hulton Heeled Chelsea boot & peach floral lace trim half slip to go with & it creates an awesome boho, summery look. My daughter had purchased me a hat similar to the one pictured to make the look complete. Some had mentioned the ivory had some tones of pink or peach in it but mine is totally ivory. Great job, FP, keep it up & I'm a customer for life!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Hulton Heeled Chelsea Boot
4 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 5 for Drippy Jersey Dress
Name:
Location:Minnesota
age:31-35
body type:petite
Too long and wide at the bottom
7.9.2014
"I recently purchased this dress in the ivory color and while the potential is there for it to be really cute, I was just disappointed. I am 5'4" and 115lbs. I like the way it fits on the top, the sleeves are tighter which I like, but the bottom is really big and looks like a sheet on me. The back is too long compared to the front. I would like this if the back came up higher and it was taken in a little more so it wasn't so wide. The proportions just look goofy on me since I am short."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Drippy Jersey Dress
Name:
Location:los angeles
age:36-40
body type:petite
Weird Dress
7.1.2014
"It is too long in back and too tight in arms. i'm 5'1" and order an xs in all FP items but the arms on this were way too tight and the rest of the dress in xs is way too loose. Not worth it as it is like a nightgown so unless you are going to sleep in it, don't bother."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Drippy Jersey Dress
Name:
Location:Montreal, Qc, Canada
age:over 45
body type:petite
Very nice!
6.18.2014
"Bought the grey heather one and really like how it flows under the waist line. The top part is a little smaller than I'd like it to be, but still fine. Nice fabric suiting all season."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Drippy Jersey Dress
Name:
Location:New Orleans
age:26-30
body type:pear shaped
comfortable & flowy
6.15.2014
"I can see this dress working great for all seasons, wearing it as is during the spring and layering it for the winter! I am 5'-3" and about 140 lbs and ordered the size small. I have a hippy figure and the loose and flowy flare of the dress wears well on me. But as some of the other reviews state, the sleeves are built small so even with pretty slim arms it fits a little tight. I'd size up if you are in between sizes because the bottom will be lose regardless! I love the mars red color and the fabric is heavy yet soft. I'm very happy with this purchase."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Drippy Jersey Dress
Name:
Location:Nova Scotia, Canada
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Love this in the mars red color
5.29.2014
"As others have reported this top has pretty tight sleeves but that doesn't keep it from being fabulous. I also ordered it in white but it is too sheer so I am making a hi-lo slip to wear underneath it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Drippy Jersey Dress
Name:
Location:Utah
age:36-40
body type:petite
Cute, comfy - tight on top!
5.15.2014
"I just received my dress in the mail. The color & cut are so cute but I'll be returning it due to fit. I'm 5'4" 120 lbs and a 32D and the arms, shoulders & chest are too tight on me in the XS that I ordered. The dress starts to flare our at the top of the bust so it would work if the shoulders weren't so tight. I could even deal with the tighter arms but the shoulders make everything pull in a uncomfortable and awkward looking way. I have somewhat defined arms and shoulders from doing a lot of yoga but they definitely aren't "big". I would consider my upper body to be generally small. The blue color is gorgeous (and now sold out in small). The length hits me exactly as it does on the model for the size XS I currently have."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Drippy Jersey Dress
Name:
Location:Maryland
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
Gorgeous & Flowy but size up
4.20.2014
"I'm 5'6, tall, slender, small waisted, small chest and fluctuate between 105-110lbs. If you want a fitted tunic, size down. Otherwise, size up. I purchased the ivory in a medium and layered it with a tulle chemise to add length to the front. I wore a slim fitting cotton tank under the chemise which both the tank and chemise were thin and not bulky. I then paired it with leggings and knee high boots (The FP Heartworn boots if you are lucky enough to snag a pair in your size but size up on those too because they run narrow in the toe area.). I always size up with anything containing cotton because ultimately it will shrink just a bit even on a cold setting and line drying. I wish I would have ordered many more colors. I love thus flowy, bohemian look. Great year round piece!!!!!! I've added some pieces that I purchased for this dress. You'll have to choose colors based on the color dress you ordered. I hope this helps. I couldn't add the Parisian slip but it pairs great with this dress too. I got the French vanilla."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 12 for Drippy Jersey Dress
Name:
Location:Penticton, BC, Canada
age:41-45
body type:slender
Love It!!
3.23.2014
"I bought the medium in cream and absolutely love it! It's plenty long enough to be a dress, but I wear it with skinny jeans and boots. It fits great and hides a multitude of whatever!! Perfect addition to everyone's wardrobe. Get one! I am normally a size 6 to 8 and I wanted the large but it was out of stock. The medium fits fine and it stretches out a bit as you wear it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Drippy Jersey Dress
Name:
Location:Austin, TX
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
more of a long shirt than a dress
3.17.2014
"I am usually a S-M in FP and I got this in a small in the amethyst. It fits good but if I wear a real bra with it, which you will probably want to since it's thin material, you can kinda see the bra lines across your chest. The sleeves were not as long or baggy as pictured and I don't have macho muscles or anything. Also, if you have a long torso or are tall (I'm 5'7") it really can't be a dress or you would be exposed down below! But I love wearing it with leggings/pants/scrunch skirt/or slip under neath and think it's a great piece."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Drippy Jersey Dress
Name:
Location:Tempe
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Love!
3.3.2014
"I just got this dress a week ago, and I really do love it. I decided to go with the mars red in a medium after reading other reviews. I'm 5'7" 130 lbs and it seems to fit perfectly. The front is rather short, so when I wore this to work, I paired it with white jeggings. It's just so comfortable and looks really cool. Now I really want it in another color!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Drippy Jersey Dress
Name:
Location:Nashville TN
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
absolutely love!
2.18.2014
"I just got this today and am absolutely obsess@ I am 5'4" and was skeptical that it would look good on me. I figured it would either be too full around the body or an awkward length . I absolutely hate seeing my legs in dresses right now(i'm a fair skinned redhead) but everything about it was perfect and so flattering! I only took one star off b/c the arms run super tight but unless you have abnormally unproportionate arms compared to your body it's great!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Drippy Jersey Dress
Name:
Location:Santa Monica, CA
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Simple and Comfortable
2.8.2014
"I found the amethyst (purple heather) color at my local FP store last month. The dress is very simple, but the material is soft and stretch, so it is quite comfortable. I got the XS, I am 5'7 33-24-35, and the arms and chest area just fit, and the material does stretch a little, however if my arms or chest were any bigger I would have sized up. Also at my height, it is fine as a long shirt, but borderline short as a dress in the front, so I must wear something underneath. I have been having fun layering this piece with faux leather jackets, or ponchos, over leggings, skinny cords, or a seamless mini dress and tall socks with boots… & of course lots of necklaces. :)"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 17 for Drippy Jersey Dress
Name:
Location:New York NY
age:26-30
body type:slender
great all-season dress
1.27.2014
"Love this dress. I'm 5'5, 112 lbs, and I bought an XS in gray. Sleeves are tight, as other reviewers have noted, but they still fit fine for me. The front of the dress hits my upper thighs, but isn't indecently short; back is about knee length. Lightweight jersey, but not sheer. Loose and flowy, but not shapeless."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Drippy Jersey Dress
Name:
Location:Texas
age:21-25
body type:petite
wanted to love it!
1.18.2014
"I had originally saw this online and thought it was so cute but when I was in the store and tried it on, I was so disappointed. I'm 5ft 100 lbs so it completely swallowed me and looked like a nightgown. I didnt have a problem with the arms being too tight like the other reviews, the arms were just right. Definitely recommend if you're on the taller end of the spectrum."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Drippy Jersey Dress
Name:
Location:Kansas City, MO
age:over 45
body type:petite
Not what I imagined
1.17.2014
"I received this item yesterday, tried it on today, and stuck it back int he mail to return it. I wear a size medium in everything, but wow. I'm 5'4", 135 lbs, with a 36B chest. The entire chest section (boobs on up) and the arms were so incredibly tight I couldn't believe it. I don't even know that a large would be any better. I don't have a large chest, so to have something fit this tight was unbelievable. If I hadn't have seen the tag, I'd have sworn they sent me an XS. It's on its way back, with no request for exchange. Really disappointed. Such a cute shirt."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Drippy Jersey Dress
Name:
Location:USA
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
You have to work with this one
1.2.2014
"I have a love-hate relationship with this dress. In some model photos, it looks loose; in others, it looks more fitted. On me, it's loose. If I'm not careful, it can look like a maternity dress or a night gown. I have wide hips and a small waist, so admittedly this isn't the best shape for me. When I belt it, it just looks OK, but still a bit baggy around the middle. However, pair it with a cropped vest and BOOM - I have a shape again. Depending on the style of the vest, it can create a bunch of different looks. My current favorite is a cropped light denim vest, bare legs, riding boots, and a chunky knit scarf. Try it with a vest if you're undecided, you might fall in love."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 3 4 next>>