Product Reviews

Sugar Mountain Ankle Boot

Super cool rugged leather western slip-on ankle boots with removable buckled harness boot straps. Elastic around ankle. Full rubber sole. *By Jeffrey Cambell *Leather *Import *2" heel
overall average rating:
2.667 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Sugar Mountain Ankle Boot
Review 1 for Sugar Mountain Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:US
age:26-30
body type:slender
Fun boots!
9.28.2012
" I was hesitant to purchase these because other reviewers said the sizing was so off. When I saw my usual size "7" as the last in stock, on top of a VERY great sale price for a JC boot, I ordered. I'm so glad I did. They fit and I would say they are actually pretty comfortable. The versatility of the removalable strap is fun too because they look like different boots without. I would recommend! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Sugar Mountain Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:bay area
age:14-20
body type:petite
Disappointing.
7.30.2012
" Everything negative the previous reviewers have written is true. I usually wear a 5.5 and ordered a 7; it's a bit large but I could manage to get a comfortable fit with thicker socks. The leather is completely different from what the previews would have you believe. It's more of a suede-ish, non-shiny material in a slightly less red-hued and lighter brown. They're not very appealing in person. Idea is good, but execution leaves much to be desired. I'll probably return these. "
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Sugar Mountain Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:New York City
age:14-20
body type:curvy
So Disappointed!
7.13.2012
" First of all, I'm surprised that I was so disappointed with this buy, seeing as I've bought so much stuff in store and online, and have never ran into problems other than something not being flattering on me, unlike reviews I've seen others put up. The boots aren't as they appear - meaning, less distressed, lighter brown and the heel slightly tacky. But, overall they are cute, and I was still excited to try them on. I range from a 8.5 to a 10 in shoes, so I got a 9. The left shoe was snug getting on, but was fine once on. I was really happy that it looked cute and flattering on me, a girl with larger calves. I went to put on the right shoe, and then realized the attachment was missing. I'm so annoyed! I really want to keep them, but was really obsessed with the shoes because of the attachments, and their western feel. I want to return them, but want to avoid paying for shipping - and would take them to my local Free People but want to exchange them. That being said, I have yet to decide if I will exchange them. :( "
Response from Free People:By Free Peopleweb7.13.2012
Hi, Many of our stores don't stock shoes. However, if you got a defective pair, we're happy to waive the return shipping for you. Send us your order number at service@freepeople.com and we will be happy to help!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Sugar Mountain Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Utah
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Great boots!
6.29.2012
" these boots are great as long as you definitely order up a size to a size and a half. I normally wear an 8.5 to a 9 - depending on the width of the shoe. I ordered the size 10 and they fit perfectly. (Many thanks to the previous reviewers who mentioned how oddly small they run) They're comfy and great looking. If you're looking for a boot that has an edge yet isn't cowboy/westernish, then this is the boot for you. Can't beat that sale price either! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Sugar Mountain Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Oxford, MS
age:over 45
body type:pear shaped
Bettyoxford
6.24.2012
" Mine are black, undistressed but fabulous western motorcycle boots. Am size 7.5; trusted reviews and ordered size 9 and THEY FIT! FYI, have on-line ordered+returned JC boots before; totally unreliable sizing and product; however, will keep these. Crazy about the style (distressed or not), and the upsizing worked, as did the price. Got lucky! Still, risky business, FP; thus the price; and for that, I thank you! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Sugar Mountain Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Germany
age:21-25
body type:petite
Disappointing
5.25.2012
" I should have listened to the other reviewers.
My usual JC size is a 9 (and i own lots of Jc shoes), I got those boots in size 9 as well, they are way too small.
Also the color differs very much from what is shown in the picture. It doesn´t have that nice distressed look at all, it is more like a dark brown matt color than this shiny medium brown with the distressed details.
Since i live in germany and already paid customs, I can´t return them so I´m gonna take them to a shoe repair and see if the boots can be stretched.
"
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Sugar Mountain Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Hollywood, CA
age:26-30
body type:slender
broken hearted
5.21.2012
" It's true, they run freakishly small. This is NOT a size ten, although marked as such. It is more of an 8. I'm so sad since I cannot exchange- 10 is the largest size it comes in :( They are gorgeous and make my legs look amazing but I can barely wedge my feet into them. Also, the construction on the bottoms of the boot straps cpuld be much better for the price. I am going to take them to a shoe repair shop and see if it is possible to stretch them enough to actually ever wear them- I'm dying to keep them. If not, I will very sadly have to return them. I have had many problems with sizing from Jeffrey Campbell in general- it's always a crapshoot- but this is ridiculous. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Sugar Mountain Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Canada
age:26-30
body type:slender
They're okay but not as nice as in the picture
5.18.2012
" They look nice from a distance, so hopefully your friends won't look too closely at the all of the messy details like glue stains and such. They also are more of a suede sprayed material than hard leather. There are hard leather parts like the straps, but the main part of the boot is fuzzy and sprayed with color. They also smelled very strongly of whatever paint was used to color them. The smell dulls after a while if you leave them outdoors. They still look nice, but are poorer quality than expected since I am usually very happy with Free People products. I noticed in the reviews that most people said they run small--- mine ran large! They slip up when I walk, but are acceptable I guess. Also very loose around ankles. It's a toss up with these! "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Sugar Mountain Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Canada
age:14-20
body type:slender
Awful boots
5.14.2012
" These boots are so disappointing. I was so excited for them, but they look nothing as pictured. The leather is a dark unattractive brown and the quaintly is terrible! These are going back straight away! "
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Sugar Mountain Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Australia
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Bummer
5.3.2012
" These just arrived and i am really disappointed in them!
Firstly the color is way different to what is shown here, mine are more like a dark chocolate brown, rather than a medium color with darker accents.
Secondly i listened to the other reviewers and sized up,(im usually an 8) and went with a 9 and they were still too small.
Thirdly they are really cheap, the glue has leaked all over the heel of the boot and the harness strap was just falling apart.
Its a real bummer cause i was so excited for these and waited 2 weeks for them to arrive to australia.
I wouldn't recommend them even with the sale price! "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Sugar Mountain Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Bay Area
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Close, but no cigar
5.1.2012
" I read the reviews for these boots and ordered half a size up, buuut they were right and they were still too small! I can see them working out if i let a shoe repair really work on stretching that leather, but the boots are already so nicely distressed. Other than the fit, these boots were just way too chunky and heavy looking on my bird legs :/ "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Sugar Mountain Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, Ca
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Cute boots but run small
4.24.2012
" Runs really small like others have said but they are stretchable! I bought my exact size and used a shoe stretcher spray and wore some thick socks for a bit. Now they fit perfectly. I do wish that the heel was wood instead of man made and you can kind of see the glue around the soles. Leather wasn't as awesomely distressed as the photo but that's definitely something I can do myself "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Sugar Mountain Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:ny
age:21-25
body type:petite
wanted to love
4.13.2012
" Ran about 1/2 size too small. I wanted to love these but i could feel the harness under my foot when I walked. Super cute but can't justify the price for the lack of comfort. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Sugar Mountain Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Philadelphia
age:31-35
body type:slender
Very cute but cheap-feeling
2.19.2012
" I agree that these run very small, I'm a narrow 8 and bought a 9, which is snug and I'm hoping will stretch out as I wear them. I have been looking everywhere for a pointy-toed western ankle boot and the styling on these is great, which is why I'm keeping them despite the cheap-feeling synthetic sole and harness. They are pretty comfortable and hopefully will hold up as my everyday go-to boot. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Sugar Mountain Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Atlanta
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Love these boots
12.29.2011
" I love wearing these boots. They are very stylish and unusual. They are well constructed and comfortable. They run REALLY small. I wear a size 7-7 1/2 and had to buy a size 9. I own other Jeffrey Campbell boots and know they run small, but these,even smaller. I have gotten many compliments on the boots. They are a great accessory to an outfit. I think they are a bit pricey given the man-made soles and other points of construction, but I am glad to have them. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large