Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Mason Slouchy Tote

Woven cotton tote bag with real suede trim. Drawstring closure at top. Adjustable shoulder strap. Inside is fully lined with one zipper pocket. *Cotton *12 1/2" depth, 14 1/2" width across front, 7 1/2" thickness at bottom *27" total strap length
overall average rating:
3.609 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Customer Reviews for Mason Slouchy Tote
Review 1 for Mason Slouchy Tote
Name:
Location:Melbourne Australia
age:over 45
body type:slender
Versatile
8.12.2013
" Great colour, washed out black,
goes with almost everything and heaps of extra storage. I bought this bag when it first came out before any reviews, so I hope my silver things stay on! I will def. let FP know if they start falling off, but so far, no issues. Except for the handles, they seem too close and come off the shoulders easily, strange. But you can put so many little things all around the outside of the bag where you're not meant to, I found it great for tissues, and other little things I want to find quickly.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Mason Slouchy Tote
Name:
Location:Canada
age:36-40
body type:petite
Another quality issue here :(
7.21.2013
" I saw this bag in the store and had to get it right away as I just fell in love with it. (I've got light brown color). After using for the first time, I noticed that 3 sliver parts near the pockets were missing!!! I should have read all reviews while I was in the store! This is the 4th product from Free People I have had some quality issues with. I never left reviews until last month for a Jacket repair issue and I've got a response "We're sorry to hear this. Our team will be reaching out to help! xoxo" Nobody has contacted me since 06/26.
I have purchased lots of Free People products in store as well as online since last fall despite their quality issues. I'm really disappointed and feel sad as I was very happy to find this brand last year and wanted to stick with them for a long time. :( "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By Free Peopleweb7.22.2013
Hi, We emailed you earlier today about your jacket. If you didn't get our message for any reason you can always reach us at service@freepeople.com Our store team will be happy to help with a return of this tote too. So sorry you're having trouble! We are always happy to help!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Mason Slouchy Tote
Name:
Location:Michigan
age:14-20
body type:petite
Disappointing
6.18.2013
" I was really excited to get this bag, but was really disappointed when it came. The studs on it are all chipped, like it was a damaged return...which I think it was since there was no tag anywhere on it when I got it. The tassels look cheap in person as well. This bag is unfortunately not a keeper. "
Response from Free People:By Free Peopleweb6.19.2013
We're so sorry to hear this! We'll be happy to help with a return or exchange! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Mason Slouchy Tote
Name:
Location:virginia
age:14-20
body type:slender
love this bag but it's falling apart already :(
6.17.2013
" i recently got this bag in the light brown color. i love everything about it. it can fit a TON of stuff and it just goes with everything. the only things is, it's slowly starting to fall apart. the bottom has a tear that i just noticed and one of the metal things that keeps the strap together fell off so the strap keeps coming off randomly. overall i think this is a great bag but it won't hold up if you carry a lot of stuff. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Mason Slouchy Tote
Name:
Location:San Diego, CA, USA
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Awesome bag!
6.6.2013
" Had this bag in my basket on line wasn't sure due to mixed reviews of quality. I visited the store saw it in person and looked it over. It's made well ! Very durable ! Has great pockets and inside room as well as comfortable on shoulder and adjustable strap. I bought it, think its very rock n roll , yet sofisticated great texture and color combo , very versatile piece. That's what I need I'm not one to change bags it has to go with my wordrobe and stand the test of time , I think it will. Buy it!!!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Mason Slouchy Tote
Name:
Location:North New Jersey
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Perfect for everything
6.5.2013
" I got it in the light brown color with the lace detailing and it is PERFECT! Was a little disappointed with the packaging it came in but all in all the wrinkles of the bad were straightened out quickly. I have not been trying to keep that much stuff in it because of other reviewers reports but so far so good!
It goes perfect with every single outfit! Could not have asked for a better product!
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Mason Slouchy Tote
Name:
Location:US
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
Great design, but already falling apart :(
6.1.2013
" I love this bag. FP has a fantastic bag design: the fabric, materials, layout, details, pockets, size, strap width/drop, details -- all thoughtfully designed to not only look super cool, but be functional as well. I have been wanting this bag ever since I first saw it.
I couldn't wait to use it! I quickly put in my phone, wallet, sanitizer, altoids, small cosmetic case, and a lip balm and got ready to go.
That's when I noticed that it is already ripping. On the back, one of the pockets is already tearing away from the suede and you can see the stitching is loose. On the front, the seam between the front two pockets is stretched and ready to split apart as if it has been pulled in two directions. :(
I can't express how disappointed I am. I love this bag. I wanted to love this bag. I want this bag, but not one that is in such poor shape. Maybe it's a fluke? Maybe I just got one that wasn't well-made?
I have thought it over for a couple of days and toyed with the idea of trying to fix it myself, but for $98, should I have to? I want this bag so badly, but I can't stomach the idea of paying that much for something that I already need to fix without actually using it, and something that obviously isn't going to last.
Maybe I just didn't get lucky and get a well-made one. So disappointing.
"
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb6.3.2013
So sorry about this - we'll be in touch! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Mason Slouchy Tote
Name:
Location:New York, NY
age:26-30
body type:petite
Simple, Versatile Bag
5.22.2013
" This bag is exactly as pictured. Great quality, simple and versatile. The brown suede trim and dark grey base make this bag perfect for any number of casual outfits. Outside pockets great for items that need to be easily accessed (e.g., cell phones, metrocards, keys) and it's a good size, for carrying a light sweater, or a pair of flats when you go out in heels. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 9 for Mason Slouchy Tote
Name:
Location:Virginia
age:14-20
body type:athletic
Mixed Blessing
5.19.2013
" I love love love my purse- I waited almost an extra month for it because it was on back order! It matches with almost anything, I bring it everywhere! But that brings me to the downside. The strap is about to break and I have hardly owned the bag for a month! I don't put heavy things in the purse or throw it around, it isn't holding up to the test of day-to-day use. Also, the little metal things that hold the pockets closed tend to get loose, luckily I have noticed before any fell off and were gone forever! "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Mason Slouchy Tote
Name:
Location:Edmonton, AB
age:14-20
body type:slender
AWESOME!!!
5.10.2013
" I loveeee this bag! I just got it today, so I can't say much for how its going to withstand the elements and such, but i am already in love with it. I've been wanting to buy it ever since it came out, but they kept on selling out the natural colour so i just had to wait. and I'm SO glad I did. I would wait to buy it all over again!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Mason Slouchy Tote
Name:
Location:California
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Horrible quality, cute bag
5.9.2013
" For 100 bucks I would have expected much better quality. While the bag is a great shape and fit, half the studs and knobs fell off within the first week, and within 2 weeks the handle ripped off the bag. I'm a frequent FP shopper and have gotten many friends hooked on their clothes, but this bag really disappointed me. "
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb5.9.2013
So sorry to hear this -- we'll be in touch! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Mason Slouchy Tote
Name:
Location:Buffalo, NY
age:36-40
body type:slender
Just get it
5.2.2013
" I wish I got this sooner. I Contemplated buying this and held off, I finally went ahead and did it, and so glad I did! Love it! So Bohemian, and big enough to put everything in it! I always bring a light weight sweater with me, just in case, and this bag can hold it with no problem. I bought it in the tan color with the lace on the outer pockets. Just get it! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Mason Slouchy Tote
Name:
Location:phoenix, Az
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
pretty awesome
5.1.2013
" I've been wanting this bag for a long time, it went out of stock for awhile so i had to wait even more! then i finally ordered it! it is an expensive bag for ME personally and i got 2 day shipping, literally came in 2 days :O i was a bit shocked. but i like it!! i think its pretty nice, but i havent had it for a long time so i cant say anything about how long it will last. so far its good quality and money well spent! it is pretty big in the inside, i can fit a lot in it and the front pockets fit a lot in too. the pockets in the back kind of serve no purpose personally. but i still love it :) "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Mason Slouchy Tote
Name:
Location:Bellevue, WA
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Great bag!
4.18.2013
" I initially wanted this bag in Denim, but by the time I was ready to but it, they were all sold out. So I decided to give the Black a try. I'm glad I did, because I LOVE it! It looks great with almost anything. The bag's material has a slightly 'coated' finish, and the suede trims have a deep brown color that adds some visual interest. The bag itself is pretty roomy, and the outer pockets are deep and comfortable, however it doesn't look bulky at all. The strap is wide and comfortable, and doesn't slide off the shoulder. It's a great back, and I'm sure it'll ger a lot of wear1 "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Mason Slouchy Tote
Name:
Location:Oxford, NJ
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Very cute but the some of the pieces fall off
4.18.2013
" I love this bag and found it is pretty handy for holding everything. However, one of the reviewers above mention the same problem I am having: "After one month, two studs that are used to close the pockets and strap have already fallen off." Exactly. If you catch them when they fall off, great. You can easily screw them back on. If not, well, you now have spot on your bag that just has a hole in it. I've caught a couple (like walking out of a movie theatre or on my car floor) but a couple I didn't, unfortunately. As everyone who knows me knows, I LOVE Free People and will pay more for their stuff. But I do lose my patience when I pay a lot and something doesn't stand up to the test of repeated use. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Mason Slouchy Tote
Name:
Location:LA
age:31-35
body type:curvy
LOVE this bag!
4.4.2013
" This tote reminds me of one of my favorite bags that I used a ton from FP around 06-07.. So happy they brought a similar bag back into the line!
I purchased the bleached denim/camo/studded back in Feb. (They were out of the camel/crochet/blue floral colorway when I purchased- that was my first choice).. but I am so happy with my selection. The bleached denim adds something nice that the other colorways don't have. Tons of pockets, the strap reminds me of a camera strap or guitar strap- it's nice and wide.. stays on the shoulder.. great function.
I get tons of compliments too. Good price for a great slouchy bag.. enjoy! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 17 for Mason Slouchy Tote
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
awful
3.30.2013
" I've had this bag since Christmas and the handle has broken more times than i can count. It's such a cute bag, but definitely not worth it at all "
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb4.2.2013
We're sorry to hear that -- we will be in touch to see if we can get a replacement out to you. xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Mason Slouchy Tote
Name:
Location:Washington DC Suburb
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Surprised to be Happy
3.15.2013
" I purchased the denim in a FP store on March 5. I had been debating looking online for several days. The style pics and FP employee (VA) sealed the deal. Hanging on display I was not that impressed and was still on the fence when at the counter to make purchases. The bag has lots of pockets and room inside. The FP employee said it really looked great and was really functional when you got all your stuff in it. SOLD and so far very happy! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Mason Slouchy Tote
Name:
Location:canada
age:31-35
body type:curvy
slouchy tote
2.17.2013
" i got this in the natural color is it's as pictured. there's one zipped pocket on the inside. there're 2 open pockets on the outside at the back, which seem to be more decorative as they're too narrow. there're 2 open pockets in the front which are more usable, and 2 closable pockets in the front which are more practical. the bag is quite roomy the top cannot be closed completely as there's only the drawstring. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Mason Slouchy Tote
Name:
Location:Philly
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Not bad
1.27.2013
" Very roomy and very cute. The photo makes the trim look brown, my bag is very obviously gray and very bleached denim. Every bag is different. After one month, two studs that are used to close the pockets and strap have already fallen off. They screw on and I have to tighten them all the time. Annoying, but still ok for an everyday bag. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>