Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Beach Comber Short

Distressed denim cutoff shorts with a long inseam. 4-pocket style. Destroyed holes and stained detailing in areas for the most perfect rugged look and feel. Zipper and button fly closure. Bottom hems are frayed. Comes with detachable tassel hanging from the front belt loop.
overall average rating:
4.222 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Customer Reviews for Beach Comber Short
Review 1 for Beach Comber Short
Name:
Location:CA
age:26-30
body type:slender
Stylish, Long Shorts
10.16.2013
" Got these in 26 Garbage and they fit TTS. They look just like the pictures and are comfortable, even though they don't have a ton of stretch. The tassel isn't really my thing, so I took that off straight away. Looking forward to wearing these come warmer weather! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Beach Comber Short
Name:
Location:LR, AR
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Don't trust the photos
7.15.2013
" I like the fit, but the photos led me to believe the "Juno" color was white. It's not. It's more like a very light, bleached out wash...with a tinge of yellow. They look a little dirty. I probably wouldn't have purchased had I known this. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Beach Comber Short
Name:
Location:Edgewood, New Mexico
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
I Failed to Take . . .
7.15.2013
" . . . the descriptor "Garbage" seriously! These are the greatest long, denim cutoffs I've found. The design is both trendy and timeless, comfortable and flattering with its crescent-arc rising above the knee. The sizing is right-on-true. BUT, the distressing is over-the-top. (Or, at least on the pair I received.) I read mention of "stains" in the "Details and Shopping" section, which are not visible in the online photos, so, I assumed they were subtle. Well, mine arrived with oil stains that would embarrass a grease monkey; they also had flecks of straw on them as though someone had rolled around on a barn loft in them, plus, they stank like garbage!! Now, I don't know if this level of distressing is intentional or if I received an over-zealous version, but, I want to prepare folks who are considering purchasing these that they may receive more than they bargained for!
It's a shame, because I love the styling and fit, and would have kept them had they not been indecently filthy. Fortunately, I live in ranching country and I'm used to a variety of dirt and stinks, so, I wasn't appalled by this experience; just disappointed. I wanted to own these beach combers!!
"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Beach Comber Short
Name:
Location:NYC
age:31-35
body type:slender
Wow
7.13.2013
" Very very soft! Relaxed, worn in, molds perfectly to curves. Really feels as if you've had em 4eva. I'm normally a 27 but the 29 fits on me like it does on the model. LUV "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Beach Comber Short
Name:
Location:Maine
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
Meh
7.8.2013
" They're fine really, these shorts feel true to size and I'm sure I'll wear them, I do like the longer inseam--I guess there comes a time for all of us when that awful phrase "age appropriate" comes into play. For my taste though, the rise is a little high...age appropriate shouldn't have to mean mom jeans. Also, the tassel is an ugly reddish brown, not the turquoise pictured on the model. It looks like the tassel off a high school graduation cap. Fortunately, it's easily removable so I converted it into a keychain. An ugly reddish brown keychain yes, but I needed something to keep my hide-a-key on, and it's perfect for burying in the backyard under a rock. Sorry FP, I wanted to love 'em but I just don't. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Beach Comber Short
Name:
Location:new mexico
age:over 45
body type:slender
AWESOME !!
6.17.2013
" These shorts are simply awesome especially for those of us of a certain age who don't want t wear "short" shorts but don't want to keep "our " style moving forward !!!! They fit true to size, great to know and I am abut to happily order the Juno color. I HIGHLY recommend these to ANYONE who wants a longer length short that rocks at ALL AGES !!! "
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Beach Comber Short
Name:
Location:New York City
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
Will wear all summer
5.20.2013
" So far I've worn mine two or three times. They are really comfortable. I bought mine in the garbage color. My shorts have no oil stains but they are a little more distressed then what you see in the pictures. I think they are really cute with my sandals or with my Chucks. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Beach Comber Short
Name:
Location:Ontario, Canada
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Great Shorts
5.13.2013
" I like these. I bought the garbage wash and love it. It arrived with an oil stained looked but even though I washed them inside out, it came off, but that's so okay because I love the color, the distressing, the fit, the length - all good. Nice alternative to the shorter denim shorts I've been wearing. Thank you Free People, nice stuff! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Beach Comber Short
Name:
Location:Under Cover of Night
age:over 45
body type:petite
Juno Wash
5.8.2013
" I purchased these in my normal FP denim size, and they fit just a little bit on the looser side. The juno color way looks pretty close to the online images, lots of destruction on the front and no staining anywhere. The front length is shorter than the back length, which is fine for ease of movement. The tassel is reddish brown and not turquoise blue so maybe the color choice is random for the tassel. A nice change of pace from super short cutoffs. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large