Product Reviews

Sunbelt Ankle Boot

Hand distressed, oil-stained suede slouchy ankle boots with wrap around buckle straps. Hardware is antiqued. Leather outsole is given a hammered treatment that adds to the overall vintage look and feel. The most perfect worn in boot. A Free People twist on color and distressing. **Fits true to size. If you are in between sizes, then it is recommended that you size up. For example, 37 1/2 = 38. *By Free People *Suede *Import *7 3/4" shaft height, 3/4" heel height
overall average rating:
3.975 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sunbelt Ankle Boot
Review 1 for Sunbelt Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:new york, new york
age:41-45
body type:slender
Underwhelmed
4.7.2014
"Listened to reviews and ordered up a size--too big. The red color is more orange and not very nice, really. A lot of black marks on the suede. Perhaps the black is the best choice, true to size."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Sunbelt Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:finland
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Nice once you remove the hardware
4.1.2014
"Definitely go a size up.
I am a 39, went for 40, fits perfectly.
The hardware jingles so much, my dogs all ran away.
I removed the jingly bits. Easily done. See photo.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Sunbelt Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:26-30
body type:slender
LOVE THESE!
3.25.2014
"I ordered these beauties in the terra cotta color. It is a bit more orange than it looks in the pictures but I still love them. They fit a bit snug but I still wear my same size and just wear thin socks when I wear them. So if you like thick socks or you are in-between sizes I would size up for sure. I always get compliments on them and people love the fun color. The only down sides is this: the buckles are very loud. I took the metal tube piece off (using pliers) so that they are fine now but you may not be as committed to boots as I am. Other than that I love them."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Sunbelt Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Orlando
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Cute boots
3.5.2014
"I wear a solid 7 1/2 in shoes, I have several shoes from the FP brand that are 37 and some that are 38, decided to go with the 38 in these boots based on these reviews. These shoes run SMALL. It was a struggle just to get them on my feet. I will be keeping them just because I know this material will stretch the more I wear them and nothing is worse than boots that are way too loose. Aside from the fit they are incredibly cute, I ordered the blush color and it is a lot more PINK, well blush, than the picture shows, one could probably call them pink boots. Hopefully with more wear they will become more tan but still amazing shoes. I will be wearing them with everything!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Sunbelt Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Florida
age:41-45
body type:athletic
They are cute but they STILL jingle
1.30.2014
"I just received these boots today and had read all the reviews before I purchased them. The consensus seemed to be that the jingling issue was fixed with these boots...Let me tell you that is not the case :( These boots sound like I'm a reindeer on Santa's sleigh and I mean jingle, jingle, jingle with every step. Also the black is not black at all and kind of a brownish charcoal even. Weird color. They are cute, but not with the extra sound effects!"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Sunbelt Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Northern NJ
age:26-30
body type:petite
Favorite boots ever.
1.16.2014
"I absolutely adore these boots. Mine came exactly as pictured and have had no problems with jingling (I'm pretty sure FP fixed this problem). I wear a 6.5 and ordered the 37 and not only do they fit me perfectly, they are truly one of the most comfortable pairs of boots I own. I'm ordering them in black and terra cotta next! The construction is very high quality - these truly are amazing. Not sure why so many reviews say they run small - I didn't find this to be true at all. Thank you FP for making such a perfect boot :)."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Sunbelt Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:21-25
body type:curvy
runs small!
1.12.2014
"These boots are amazing and I love them however they run EXTREMELY SMALL. I wear a 7.5 in everything so I got the 38 in these, too small. Luckily the second color I wanted finally got restocked in the 39 so hopefully those aren't too big. I have very narrow feet so it was weird the 38 didn't fit. Anyways, besides the sizing issue, love these!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Sunbelt Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Hong Kong
age:31-35
body type:petite
colour discrepancy and jingle all the way
12.17.2013
"full of expectation on getting the charcoal boots but disappointed when receiving it. the colour is totally different from the pic on web. also, it is a bit tight when putting it on. lucky i get narrow feet. if you hv wide feet, please size up in no doubt. the style and shape are good. the fabric is perfect but still cant offset the colour discrepancy!! it is misleading. this is the 3rd times i found colour difference on freepeople website. also, the buckles jingling all the way while walking or even a tiny move; some will like but some will feel annoying."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Sunbelt Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:MASS
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Definitely size up!!!
12.13.2013
"I ordered these boots in my normal size 39, which is 8.5 and It was so hard for me to get my foot into them and once my foot got into the boot my foot started hurting. I have narrow feet so I was surprised at how tight they were all around. I reordered them in a size40 and they fit perfectly. They are really cute and really comfortable. They seem like they will go with a lot. I only gave them 4 stars because free people should make their shoes fit true to size. I had to size up to a size 40 in the heart worn boots too."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Sunbelt Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Chicago Suburbs
age:31-35
body type:petite
Adorable but...
10.16.2013
"This is kind of an odd review...So I ordered these in a 38 and I'm typically a size 7 and even on occasion a 6-1/2. Going by the reviews, it's difficult to get your foot into the boot unless you get a size larger, and since I have wider feet that's what I did. This did not work out for me. I felt like I had clown shoes on with how long they were, which was nearly 2 inches past my toes. I ordered these online and returned them to a store, but they didn't have any of these boots in stock. I found a pair of pants I wanted in the store, so I exchanged them. In the future I'd like to try my actual size because these boots are gorgeous! Seriously adorable but sizing up was not an option for me. I only put true to size because larger wasn't better."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Sunbelt Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:louisiana
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
love the look, but they run so small!
8.7.2013
"i love love love these boots and had been wanting them for months now. my husband ordered them for my birthday and i just got them and couldnt even get my foot in! i was so disappointed that they ran so small. judging by the bottom sole it looked like i would have no problem getting my feet in the boot, but i just couldnt get my heel past the heel part of the boot, so definitely order a size up when ordering these! they're super cute and i hate that i have to wait like 3 weeks for my exchange!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Sunbelt Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:New York
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
my new favorite boots!
7.27.2013
"I just received these in the mail today, and I absolutely love them!! After reading the reviews here, I was a little nervous about how they would fit, but I listened to the recommendations about ordering a size up, and that's just what I did. I wear size 7 in shoes, but ordered these in an 8 and they fit perfectly - no problem pulling them on at all, and they are so comfortable! And also, unlike many of the reviews here, my pair do NOT jingle! Maybe they have changed the design or hardware, but mine do not make any loud or annoying jingle noise. Occasionally a buckle may hit against another buckle, but it is not really noticeable - at least to me. And I was only paying attention to it because of the other reviews. The color is perfect (I ordered the beige) and these will go with so many items in my wardrobe. Very happy!!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Sunbelt Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Chicago, IL
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Going to order a second pair!
7.12.2013
"I wear a 9 in regular shoes, a 10 in boots because I like a little room. I ordered a 10 in these and they are perfect. I know that a lot of reviewers have said they are way too small, and that they make jingling noises, but mine are the right fit and don't make any sounds. I waited a long time to order them because so many of the reviews were bad. I have all sorts of problems with my feet, I get blisters and the soles of my feet hurt a lot if there isn't enough cushioning, so I'm very picky about what I buy. I put these on and right out of the box they feel great. I have a part time retail job where I am on my feet for 8 or 9 hours, and these even work for me at the job. I saw the blush and the tan ones at a Free People store in NYC, as well as the black. There really seems to not be a very big difference between the blush and the tan. And the black is more of a washed charcoal gray. So the colors might be a bit off. But I think I'm going to get a second pair, I like them THAT much. I think they are well made and worth the price. The height of the boot and slouchiness works really well with skinny jeans and with maxi dresses"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Sunbelt Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Michigan
age:21-25
body type:petite
returning.
7.8.2013
"I finally took the plunge on these and ordered them in beige. Apparently "true to size" means "a size down" because they were so tight i could hardly get them on. Then I ordered a size up, and they're a struggle too. I'll be returning both of them, and I'm so disappointed. I had high hopes and the reviews sounded good. They also feel sturdy, I'm just disappointed about the size."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Sunbelt Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:albuquerque, nm
age:21-25
body type:slender
so confused
6.13.2013
"these are gorgeous! ordered blush AND beige and they're almost IDENTICAL in color. way disappointed and confused about that i almost wonder if i got a wrong item shipped or something but don't think so because the beige is baaaarely darker. i always wear US 8 for boots and after reading all the reviews i ordered a 39 and they looked like clown shoes on me due to the extra length. of what i gather they may be narrow and hard to get on but length seems to maybe be accurate. i'm going to try 38 if they're too small i'll have to pass bc the 39s were so so long. they fit like a legitimate 9. i think they're true to size."
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb6.14.2013
We did check the Beige and they are lighter in color -- we are having this corrected and will be in touch. xoxo
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Sunbelt Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:San Diego
age:over 45
body type:athletic
So cute!
6.3.2013
"I was definitely lucky the first time around when ordering the beige because there is hardly a jingle at all! I like them so much, I ordered another pair in the lighter color and had to return them because of the noise. My only complaint is that they are very difficult to put on, but once they're on they are comfortable and cute and will go with practically everything in your closet!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Sunbelt Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Philadelphia
age:21-25
body type:slender
so bummed
5.29.2013
"I paid overnight shipping to get these to wear them on a trip. I got them today and I was able to get the right boot on, even though it was a pretty snug, but I couldn't even get the left boot on! I'm a size 8 and got these in the 38. SO bummed that I overnighted these and now I can't even wear them for what I wanted to. The boot is cute but definitely SIZE UP"
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb5.30.2013
We're so sorry these didn't fit - we'll be in touch Jade_Gal! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Sunbelt Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Sydney
age:21-25
body type:slender
In love with these boots!
4.8.2013
"I've eyed these off for nearly 6 months now and I took the plunge and bought them. I'm in Australia, so it was an anxious wait. I've just received them and they're awesome. I did question whether they had actually been worn before me, but then I remembered that they're meant to look that way anyway! The sole is in perfect condition so i know they haven't been worn before me. I took the advice of many reviews and went a size up to a 39. I have pretty narrow feet and don't seem to have fitting issues and these fit well on me, with a little bit of extra room so I'd definitely recommend going a size up, if I'd bought my regular 38 I don't think they'd have fit.
The only criticism I'd say is that I've had a pair of boots with a similar sole to these and when they get worn out it needs to be replaced, they're the kind that can be a bit slippy, and not the best quality (my shoe guy told me this). But these are so beautiful that I don't even care, I'll do it when if that time comes! These will be perfect for winter in Sydney.
And the jangle is pretty slight on mine, maybe it gets louder as they get more worn in. I like the idea of a jangly boot anyway! Thanks for making my first FP experience a good one :)"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Sunbelt Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Melbourne, Australia
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Love my Jingle Jangle Boots!!
4.2.2013
"I'm in Australia so I was a little worried about sizing as this was my first purchase from Freepeople.com. I need not have worried, the boots run true to size (although a little tight to get on at first but I think due to style of shoe and possibly my wide feet!). I LOVE my boots, they make this gorgeous jingle jangle sound as I walk and i've had so many comments on how cute they are. They look great with everything and are wearing in beautifully. If you love your footwear with a bit of movement and sound then these are a perfect addition to your wardrobe! In LOVE with my Jingle Jangle boots!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 20 for Sunbelt Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Australia
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Check the Soles!
3.24.2013
"I had a very long wait with these boots, not just due to the fact that I am in Australia. I had to return the first pair I was sent as FP sent me a pair that had been worn.... ALOT!! So disappointed, the soles were completely worn, the actual boot had stretched and although they come worn and scuff looking, these boots looked a couple of months old. :( so make sure you check the soles when you receive them. True to size, unless you have a wide foot, upsize. Only 3 stars as I was sent a well worn pair."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>