Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

FP X Film Noir Dress

Gorgeous and sleek maxi dress with ruffled fabric at each shoulder. Top layer at shoulder is a sheer chiffon. Intricate crochet detailing at front of neckline. Low crisscross "V"-back drop. Tiered ruffles run down the entire middle back. Fitted at waist.
overall average rating:
4.739 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for FP X Film Noir Dress
Review 1 for FP X Film Noir Dress
Name:
Location:Dallas, Texas
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
It's worth it.
7.20.2014
"This dress is heavy! And will need to be altered since it's long. It will drape the floor if your height is anywhere below 5'7". My bust is rather large, so I suggest wearing pasties, as I did in the picture, or buy a bra that cinches to the lowest part of your back. The fabric is versatile, wear it on a casual day or for a fancy event. Buy and enjoy! -Malu"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 2 for FP X Film Noir Dress
Name:
Location:Shanghai
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Awesome Dress !!!
6.10.2014
"I am very happy with this dress !
Very elegant and wonderful at the touch !
It fits my wife perfectly !
The delivery was fast , the package perfect , a little bemol about the present card writting , which had some mistakes ...
I would have put 5 star if the dress wasn't so long .... from shoulder to toes its about 165~170cm...so if you are not 1m85 , the dress will be cleaning the floor ...
PS : I choose size S
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for FP X Film Noir Dress
Name:
Location:San Francisco
age:21-25
body type:athletic
beautiful dress
11.3.2013
"I wore this dress to a banquet-in the hunter green-
It was lovely and unique. I am 5''6 and about 128 lbs.
I had to shorten it by about 3-4 inches. Also, next time I wear it I'll wear spanx, because it's very thin material and if your stomach isn't extremely flat (hey! I'm on vacation people!) it's not the most flattering in the green color (I imagine black would have been less noticeable.
Also, you have to be creative with undergarments. I had to wear a nude bra and sew the back slit up to cover it which worked great. The nipple petals did not work for this dress because it is too thin. You will need a nude seamless thong as well.
I LOVE the green color, but I think the black may have been more flattering/easier to work with (just because of the undergarment issues, etc.
Overall, great dress for the price.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for FP X Film Noir Dress
Name:
Location:georgia
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
elegant
8.28.2013
"wore this to phantom on the opera on broadway - it was perfect! My seamstress modified the back for me just a touch so it wasn't quite as revealing. plan to wear this a lot - would be perfect in a lot of situations. I am 5'9" and weigh 145, double D chest. I have just a tad of a baby tummy (those of you who have it know what I mean), this dress performed admirably for all of my measurements"
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 5 for FP X Film Noir Dress
Name:
Location:Littleton, CO
age:41-45
body type:petite
Drop Dead Gorgeous!
8.1.2013
"I bought this in black. I got the XS. I'm 5'3", 117 lbs with a 32D bust.
It fits like a glove and is dramatically friggen' GORGEOUS.
I'm extremely happy with this purchase."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for FP X Film Noir Dress
Name:
Location:New York
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Gorgeous and Long
7.4.2013
"I bought this to wear in my sister's wedding and it was beautiful. Nice and heavy, the fabric clings to your body and the modest front is perfectly complemented by the low back. I was unable to find an appropriate bra to wear so I ended up not wearing one (wonderful!). Since I'm taller (5'9") I rarely find long dresses that actually hit the floor- I ordered the medium and was even able to wear heels! I adore the slight, ruffle train and the fact that I could wear this all year long. If you're petite you may need to hem it, which is a way easier fix than it being too short."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 7 for FP X Film Noir Dress
Name:
Location:California
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Heavy in a good way!
7.2.2013
"So I bought this in a (M) in the black and it fit like a glove (literally). The material is stretchy and comfy, yet heavy. I'm only 5'5 and it was about 6ins longer so I know I would've had to wear heels or platforms. It's a beautiful dress however between the heaviness and the fact that I looked like I was going to a formal funeral, it went back."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for FP X Film Noir Dress
Name:
Location:NY
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
dramatically gorgeous
6.9.2013
"its a very very pretty dress and im happy i bought the red colour be4 it was all sold out:))) its relatively inexpensive 4 what it is. its too long tho, but could be hemmed and the waist of this dress is higher than my natural waist. im 5.9" and ordered a size M, even tho its a bit loose on the waist. i could either take it in -in the waist area or possibly use a belt. and will need some kind of bralette too:) worth it anyway:)"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for FP X Film Noir Dress
Name:
Location:Long Island
age:41-45
body type:petite
Lovely, but...
6.5.2013
"I am 5'1" at 110lbs. This dress IS everything the reviewers say it is; beautifully detailed, lovely cut, gently woven fabric, BUT I am 32D, 26, 33 and this shows EVERY imperfection imaginable! I do not have dimples or flab, but the XS was WAY too clingy in the stomach area and fell against my outer thigh as well. I have a shapely but athletic body. I also would be wearing 5.5" heels but would have to take about 4" off the hem. Otherwise, I cannot say enough about this dress. I LOVE it but it is going back. I also got it in the Crimson color which looked amazing against my olive skin/dark hair. Would've been perfect for my friends upcoming wedding. :( Oh, well, maybe one of you out there will get the best of it. Enjoy!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for FP X Film Noir Dress
Name:
Location:Jacksonville florida
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Shoefiend
6.1.2013
"I ordered this dress in crimson size large and was very pleased. I'm 6' tall and the length is perfect with heels. I wore this dress to church with a taupe blazer because of the v- neck back and received several compliments on the dress. I can't wait to wear it out somewhere. I love this dress, it's very comfortable and the extra details of this dress dress makes it pop more than your average maxi dress. Nice job free people."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for FP X Film Noir Dress
Name:
Location:Yonkers, NY
age:21-25
body type:slender
so pretty!!!
5.28.2013
"The dress is gorgeous and looks so pretty! It is very long though. I'm 5'8 & should find very very tall heels!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for FP X Film Noir Dress
Name:
Location:Tampa
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Pretty but runs big and a bit see thru
5.23.2013
"I loved this dress the moment I saw it. I'm a 34D,27,37 5''8" dress size 2/4. I ordered the crimson in a small - it's Long enough I can wear 5" heels with it and its still a bit long. The overall fit is that it run large. The major issue I has w the dress was the fabric the top Area isn't lined at all. So u could see thru it! Plus if you're cold you can tell and if u wear a nubra u can see it. I really love the dress I plan to exchange it and have my tailor line the top and I may consider the black. But either way I need to exchange for XS."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for FP X Film Noir Dress
Name:
Location:New England
age:21-25
body type:slender
So beautiful but LONG!
5.22.2013
"This dress reminds me of old Hollywood, it's so classy and elegant. Fit is true to size, the colors are as pictured, material is so comfortable and as an added plus it makes your waist look smaller! You can't wear a bra with this but with the black that's not a problem. Only negative part for me was the length! Usually maxi dresses/skirts do run a tad longer on me but this one takes the cake, you'd need to be able to reach the height of ~5'11 for it not to tread the ground!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for FP X Film Noir Dress
Name:
Location:Nashville
age:26-30
body type:petite
Absolutely love!!
5.13.2013
"This dress is so gorgeous and amazing! I am in love! I ordered an extra small and it fits so well. It's a little long, so I'll need it taken up a bit, but well worth the money. Very, very well made. I am about 5'6" and 110lbs. This is a must buy!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for FP X Film Noir Dress
Name:
Location:Australia
age:14-20
body type:curvy
lovely!
5.13.2013
"A beautiful and comfortable dress. I'm around C-D cup and 172 cm tall (5ft 7) and i bought the medium. Fit perfectly (not too clingy) but was very long- need to hem it or wear heels. I live in australia and shipping took around 2-3 weeks...
Otherwise no complaints, can't wait to wear it out!
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for FP X Film Noir Dress
Name:
Location:Canada
age:over 45
body type:curvy
beautiful dress!!
5.5.2013
"I was waiting for this dress to be restocked and ordered it immediately, both because it looked lovely on the site and the reviews were so good. The dress is stunning and fits beautifully. I found it true to size but it is very long so had to get it hemmed. I love this dress and can honestly say that I have never received so many compliments! Best purchase so far from Free People."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for FP X Film Noir Dress
Name:
Location:Australia
age:41-45
body type:curvy
soooo glad i bought it
1.26.2013
"This dress is so nice , the knit material is quite of good quality not light but quite heavy that it falls nicely. The only thing I have found this dress to be quite long but everything is long on me 5 ft 3 I bought the large as it was the only one avialable and I didnt want to miss out (size 12 australian) and that fitted me quite well , the back is is quite stunning and Im actually going to wear it like the "Satya Lace maxi" with the yellow /fluro belt and do my own take"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for FP X Film Noir Dress
Name:
Location:Chattanooga
age:36-40
body type:petite
L.O.V.E.
1.23.2013
"I am so in love with this dress!~ My husband got it for me to wear out on my birthday. Just received it yesterday. I normally wear an extra small in most fb tops and s in dresses. I got this in a small as I looked at the measurements on the model that were size small and they seemed to be dead on. I will say that it is a bit loose through the mid section and fell off my shoulders a bit, but with some minor alterations and a bit of shortening (I am 5'3 112 lbs) it will most definitely be my new favorite and I have several fp dresses!~"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for FP X Film Noir Dress
Name:
Location:San Diego CA
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
A winner!
1.16.2013
"This dress is stunning. The material is light and soft and falls beautifully: not skin tight or clingy or oversized. It accentuates the waist and is a very flattering. However, this dress is loooong. I'm 5'10" and it touches the floor without shoes on. I bought an XS and it fits me perfectly."
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for FP X Film Noir Dress
Name:
Location:Intercontinental
age:26-30
body type:slender
Stunning!
1.7.2013
"I'm 5'8" 125lbs and ordered the XS. It fits like a dream.
Very flattering is an understatement.
The material is slightly thin and flouncy.
Despite being an XS it clings gently but doesn't stick and show any aspects of the figure that could be unflattering.
It's beyond comfortable.
The back tiers aren't so dramatic as to be distracting - I do feel like seductive Italian contessa, perhaps on vacation in Pamplona and dreaming of studying the art of flamenco.
The layers of fabric that cascade from shoulder to upper arm caress the front and back of arms and make the arms look graceful and slender.
xx
"
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>