Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Hanshaw Off Shoulder

Floral lace off-the-shoulder mini dress with stretchy smocked waist and lower skirt portion. Neckline and sleeve hems are also smocked. Dress is entirely lined except for the sleeves. Hems are raw edge.
overall average rating:
3.273 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Customer Reviews for Hanshaw Off Shoulder
Review 1 for Hanshaw Off Shoulder
Name:
Location:San Francisco, CA
age:26-30
body type:pear shaped
Way too large
8.23.2013
" Very large and also shapeless. Returned. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Hanshaw Off Shoulder
Name:
Location:New York
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Very big
6.29.2013
" The reviews about this dress were right--it runs huge! I ordered both colors. I'm usually a 2X, but I can fit in several FP Larges if it's a loose fit as well as their M/Ls, and the large was big on me, so I can only imagine how it would be on smaller girls. The waistband fell around my hips. I tried belting them but didn't lke how they looked. The ivory had a strange band about five inches from the bottom of the dress, giving the hem an odd bell. The black fit a little better, but there was something off about it, and it was too similar to another dress I own for me to keep, so they will be going back. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Hanshaw Off Shoulder
Name:
Location:Cleveland Heights, OH
age:21-25
body type:athletic
shapeless
6.14.2013
" I loved this dress in the photos but when it arrived it was huge. I was hoping the elastic waist band would give me a waist but unfortunately it did not. I ended up returning this dress but I am thinking about ordering it in a smaller size. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Hanshaw Off Shoulder
Name:
Location:NY
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
Gorgeous easy dress
6.6.2013
" Beautiful dress. Bought a small, I am a busty size 6, and it fit beautifully. It is supposed to be somewhat 'fluffy', a little voluminous, which adds to its loveliness. A perfect little summer dress for when I am tired of tee shirts. Will wear the black colorway with cognac color sandals. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Hanshaw Off Shoulder
Name:
Location:Edmond, Oklahoma
age:14-20
body type:curvy
good idea, poorly executed
6.2.2013
" I ordered this dress for an event, got it the day of, and was shocked to try it on and see how huge it was! I ordered a large (I am 5'8'' and am a curvy girl) and it was huge on me! Too big in the chest, the stomach, and it was way too long. If you still want to try this, I would go down two sizes.
Also, the ivory looks more to be a pale blush. Still pretty! "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Hanshaw Off Shoulder
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:31-35
body type:athletic
so much potential but it's HUGE!
5.18.2013
" I was so excited when i ordered this dress. I first ordered a S (im 5'4 140 lb and DD chest) because S usually works for me esp in this style but when it arrived it was swimming on me. I returned it to the store and they had an XS someone had returned. I tried the XS on and it was still enormous. Such a bummer because this dress has so much potential. "
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Hanshaw Off Shoulder
Name:
Location:Miami, FL
age:36-40
body type:slender
Love it
5.15.2013
" Ordered this dress in ivory. One word - it's beautiful! You can dress up or dress down - depends what accessories and shoes you choose. My only problem - the waist line does not stay on my waist (ordered XS), so would say - order a size smaller. The dress is really stretchy and gives you plenty of room. Shoulders could be made somehow to stay off . It keeps sliding up. But overall - I love it. Very chic, very feminine. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Hanshaw Off Shoulder
Name:
Location:Minneapolis
age:31-35
body type:slender
Cute enough to keep, but BIG!
5.10.2013
" I am usually a S in FP - I originally ordered a S and was swimming in it, so I returned it for an XS - if they made a smaller size I'd go down even further! I would say you could order 2 sizes down and be safe. Other than that, it's pretty - but as another reviewer said, there is an overabundance of fabric, so it looks baggier than it appears in the model photos even sizing down. For the price I kept it and will work with it! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Hanshaw Off Shoulder
Name:
Location:Temecula
age:41-45
body type:curvy
A few problems but overall cute
5.1.2013
" First off, the designer went a little crazy with fabric. They could have really cut unnecessary costs by using less. I had to take the dress to my seamstress and have her cut out a huge section, and that was on the XS. I'm 5.6, 125 and 34 DD, so it's not like I'm tiny. I'm willing to bet the model in the photo is wearing a giant clip on her back. So basically, after the dress is fixed it will look like the one in the image, but that's after spending an additional $25.00 on it. I wouldn't have said anything, if this didn't happen to me before. Knitted and crocheted items cannot be altered, so please who ever is designing take that into consideration. Square is not a good shape for women.
Other than that I absolutely love the clothes that Free People has in their store!
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Hanshaw Off Shoulder
Name:
Location:New Orleans, LA
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Runs big
4.29.2013
" Very pretty material, but so big! Usually a M in Free People, and I went down to an XS, and it still looked baggy on me... Just wasn't for me. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Hanshaw Off Shoulder
Name:
Location:Austin,tx
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Runs Huge
4.12.2013
" I love this dress on the model! I was so excited for it to come. It is beautifully made, but it runs big. Get a smaller size than you think you need. I am 5'5, 125 pounds (by no means a tiny person) and the small was hanging off me. Awesome dress, just buy smaller than you need. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large