Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Estelle Maxi Dress

Flouncy maxi dress with pretty embroidered detailing. Short bell sleeves. Lace detailing down the front and back of dress, sleeves and the bottom skirt portion. Battenburg lace detailing at front of chest, back of neckline and waist. Bottom part of dress is tiered and lightly ruffled. Hi-low style. Slip included.
overall average rating:
4.222 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Customer Reviews for Estelle Maxi Dress
Review 1 for Estelle Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Jersey City, NJ
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Love bit ripped immediately
10.30.2013
" I bought this for only $49.95 in the store. I tried on the small and the saleswoman and another customer were raving about how it fit me "perfectly" and not to size up. It is indeed gorgeous. But when I took it home to show it to my boyfriend and my friend, the lace going down the back by the shoulders and back ripped apart immediately, I already took the tag off. I am hoping my store will refund me because 5 days after buying it, this dress is sold out. Very very sad!! I wish I had trusted my instinct and sized up. SIZE UP!! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Estelle Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:36-40
body type:petite
Adorable!
9.12.2013
" I purchased this dress on sale in a FP store, and is adorable! The navy is a beautiful color (though not as rich as pictured). I typically wear a size 0 or 2. I purchased the 0 and it fit a bit too loose in the waist area for me so I had it altered to fit better, and couldn't be happier with this dress. The lace detailing is adorable and the dress drapes beautifully and is very flattering. The chest area fits nice and comfortable (I am a 32C); however, the underarm area is a bit snug, meaning if you lift your hands above your head, it will pull and feel constricted/tight, but I don't plan on doing jumping jacks in the dress so it should be a non-issue. The dress is partially lined with a removable slip, which is a bonus. I'm between 5'2 and 5'3 and the length is perfect. I can easily be worn with flats or heels, and dressed up or down. Love wearing mine with my frye distressed boots. Perfect for a fall evening cozied up to an outdoor fire-pit. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Estelle Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:NYC
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Great dress
8.29.2013
" I really like this dress. I think it runs slightly large. It's very comfortable, I wish the back hem was slightly shorter, I'm thinking of having it altered, but otherwise no complaints. A slip is included but I don't think it's necessary to use it with the navy, which for me is a big plus. It's so great that I wish it came in other colors. It would be great in a really deep pinky-red, but not too light or it would be sheer - I hate having to bother with a slip on hot summer days! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Estelle Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Chicago, IL
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Size up for bigger arms
8.8.2013
" The color of this dress is what drew me in, plus I love hi-low hems. The detailing is pretty and I like how the sleeves bell out. Unfortunately, it is SO tight in the sleeves and under the arm pit. You can see it a little on the stock pictures with the hand on hip pose and my arms are much more athletic than the model's. I had to size up just for the arm issue, which makes it larger in the waist than I would like. I also found a rip on the back, which a FP employee happily gave me a discount for. Other than the arm and rip situation, I enjoy this dress and plan to wear it a lot once fall rolls around. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Estelle Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:
age:26-30
body type:slender
Boho Beautiful!
8.4.2013
" Reading the first review I was very surprised considering the Rust color is all sold out. Thankfully the FP retail stores got this beauty in. As a sucker for yellows and gold I loved the fall rustic color of the "Sienna". I knew it wouldn't look good on me and the sales associate Lauren brought me the Navy. Well WOW! I went from not going to purchase to must have. The rich deep navy looked so amazing with my super blonde hair and blue eyes.
The dress fits exactly as pictured. However the lace across the back could be problematic for someone with a wide or broad back. If this is you I recommend going up a size. I tried on the 2 and there was not much difference except in the back.
Def a purchase worth splurging for! Esp, if your a true boho babe!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Estelle Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:New York City
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
So flattering
8.4.2013
" I tried this on today at my local Free People store. I couldn't believe it was in stock but not online. Anyway, I found the rust color dress which really isn't the same color as what you see online. It's more of a brown but that's ok. Once this dress was on, I was blown away with how pretty it was and how perfect the fit was. Just gorgeous!!!!! I took one star off for the color not being what you see online. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Estelle Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Washington, DC
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Perfect Fall Dress!
8.2.2013
" I just picked up this dress from my local FP store in the Sienna/Rust color in my usual size 8. I think it runs pretty true to size as I am always an 8 at FP. As other reviewers mentioned, the color is not quite the same as any of the images online. It's a little les vibrant, but its still an awesome color for fall! For me, the fit looks exactly like it does in the studio pics. I am a 36D and the top portion fit with a little room to spare. I am 5'5 and its perfect length. The back part doesn't hit the ground, so there is no dragging. I highly recommend this dress! I can't wait until it gets a little cooler so I can start wearing it :) "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Estelle Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Southern California
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
Simply Lovely
7.31.2013
" Hmmm. I was so worried about this dress from the one review. However, I had all ready purchased the dress in both the blue and the rust. Here is the problem: I love them both. This dress is perfection. It fits nicely through the chest and then flares out.
Perfectly feminine.
I bought both dresses in a size 8. I am usually a 6 or an 8. I definitely could have sized down to the six. But I do not have a large chest. I am a 32D. Which sounds large, but it is not. Anyway, the slip was not tight at all. In fact, I was able to put on other slips underneath this.
I purchased this dress to layer with. I have layered the hazy days slip underneath the navy and I love it. I layered a simple long white eyelet slip underneath the rust and like that, too.
It is also perfect on its own. I will probably keep them both. I used my birthday discount for these. I also all ready used my August clothing budget for this purchase. It was worth it.
The rust is definitely lighter than either of the pics. It is a yellowish orange rust. I love the color. Faded antique rust. And the navy is very dark. Almost black looking.
Great Free People item! So very happy they made this. And happy I took the plunge. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Estelle Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:New England
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Nothing about this worked !
7.25.2013
" This is my 3rd send back in a row and i am wondering what is happening at FP. The dress is a very bland color , not the rich mandarin in the 1st pic or even the rusty one in the others , it is just blah ( the one i received actually looked like it had been washed and possibly shrunken? ) . It looks like it would hang a bit lose but is very tight in the bust, waist and sleeves. I ordered up 2 sizes as i wanted it to be flowing as pictured in the 1st pic. . It did not fit me anywhere and i am 5'8", 36B , size S/M in most FP styles. I ordered a 12 so i would get the look of the woman w/ the shawl on. The attached slip was even smaller and completely useless. I also think it has too much of a GunneSax (sp?) thing going on . The last 4 pics are more true to the actual tight fit w/ absolutely no room to move. The dress also came in a bag taped w/ masking tape / half out and w/ buttons missing. I wondered if someone else has struggled to put it on before me. I am trying to find something positive but i honestly can't. I sure wish it had been the color and fit of the lg. pic as this was ordered to wear to a fall wedding. Help !!! "
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large