Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

In a Pinch Tunic

Semi-sheer dropwaist tunic with crepe-like shoulder straps. Drawstring waist tie. High-low hem. *60% Cotton, 40% Polyester *Hand Wash *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 23 " Bust: 36" Waist (cinched): 27"
overall average rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Customer Reviews for In a Pinch Tunic
Review 1 for In a Pinch Tunic
Name:
Location:Washington, DC
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
In a sexy Pinch Tunic
1.31.2012
" I love this tunic. It's again another favorite piece for me from FP. It's so pretty and so adorable. I wore it last night for the dinner party and everyone asked me, where I got it from. I love to share with people my favorite brands, so now I suppose a lot of people will follow FP. Thank you so much for yet another beautiful, unconventional piece. I love you guys! Your designers need a promotion!!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for In a Pinch Tunic
Name:
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Not for bigger hips
12.17.2011
" I wanted to love this top SO much. Unfortunately, with my hourglass shape, it only looked frumpy and awkward. This would probably look best on someone with smaller hips and a smaller body type (I'm 5'7, 36C-26-35). "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for In a Pinch Tunic
Name:
Location:California
age:26-30
body type:petite
Very Nice
12.15.2011
" I love this top. It's very unique and I love that about free people. I always get an xs, 5'2, 110lb and this shirts fits great, just as the model in the picture, not tight and not too loose. The color is also very nice. The reason I didn't give it 5 stars is the string tie part is snug. Most shirt with ties can be adjusted easy when you make one loop prior to tying a bow. This shirt, if you make one loop and pull it too tight you have to unloop it to loosen it. The loop will not loosen on its own or even by pulling on the sides. Not a big deal tho. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for In a Pinch Tunic
Name:
Location:Western USA
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Had to go back for it...bought it today.
11.29.2011
" Tried this top on in our FP Store a while ago and didn't understand it--I thought it was sewn crookedly at the right arm hole. Then I found it online and realized it was sewn differently on the right side so that it can be worn off the shoulder (in other words don't wear it like the model in the video and do wear it as shown in the photo). It looks good with the spaghetti strap hidden and the one sleeve "just falling", as well. It is feminine, cool for hot weather, or great for layering now. In my opinion it's really unique without being over the top because the fabric is a sheer T-shirt-like knit and the hem is unfinished. Just bought it today in stone, XS (I chose to size down. For reference I am 34C, 5'8" and 130 lbs. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 5 for In a Pinch Tunic
Name:
Location:Austin
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Fun!
11.26.2011
" This is a great item for jeans or shorts. Love the look! The one side falls off the shoulder too much sometimes but it is worth the look. I got the small and it fits great. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for In a Pinch Tunic
Name:
Location:Mill Valley, CA
age:over 45
body type:slender
Love, Love, Love It ! ! ! !
11.23.2011
" I bought this top yesterday. Had tried it on a few months ago. After reading all the reviews here, I went to the store to see if any were still in stock. Upon trying it on, it still didn't look right until I figured out why it looked odd. The drawstring is ALSO ASSYMETRICAL.....that's why it always looked weird on....and could be why a few 'negative' reviews are posted. More info was needed " in the description of the item". Now that I know this, I am REALLY happy and glad I gave it another chance.
Best way to explain this is:
Hang it on a hanger like how it is in the photo (spaghetti strap on one side and ruched shoulder on the other side of hanger, with the the waist string tied loosely so you see more widith. As it's hanging you will see the string channel low on the left and higher on the right, opposite of shoulders. Then tie it to the same width of your hip or more (so you can pull it over your head).
While hanging, even out the fabric so the folds are evenly distributed all the way around,
Voila!
Try it on, tighten strings again so it hits just below your waist, and your butt won't look big, hips will not lok wider, etc. Very unique! Love the stone color and it is sheer. I usually wear tank top camis so as long as it's the same color as your leggings, jeans, etc it matches fine or wear whatever you want (bra). Tie string area is fragile, so less messing with it, the better. Love it!!!
I'm 5/3...127 lbs.. The XS fit perfectly. If you want both shoulders the same (no spaghetti strap) the arm hole is too small, unless you get a medium. M was too long in back for me (below back of knees).
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for In a Pinch Tunic
Name:
Location:Boston
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Beautiful, gauzy fabric
11.5.2011
" This tunic is cut so beautifully, with the back longer than the front, and it looks gorgeous with skinny jeans or leggings. I'm a curvy girl that normally wears a size 6, and even though this top is loose, it doesn't make me look big at all. The price is a little high, in my opinion, but I really loved the look on me, so I bought it. I got a size S, (5'10, 145 lbs) and it was plenty big enough. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for In a Pinch Tunic
Name:
Location:pacific grove, ca
age:21-25
body type:curvy
really wanted to like it but...
10.27.2011
" I really wanted to like this tunic but it was just not working for me...The uneven neckline just looked weird on and the drawstring waist was an awkward length on me as well. I'm thinking it would be better on tall, slender women..I'm more curvy, so it just didn't work out, ended up returning it. Loved the Stone color though! "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for In a Pinch Tunic
Name:
Location:Austin
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
draping airy tunic
10.22.2011
" This is one of those romantic type tunics that looks great over something with a slim fit pant and perhaps a bandeau. Only worth the sale price and even then the fabric seems cheap but the style is unique so that's why i'm keeping it.
I usually wear a small at FP but with this I exchanged it for a large simply because it looked silly with the neck line being smaller. The small didn't drape off my shoulder and there's not that much difference in the length between sizes. I have big boobs 34D so I look extra top heavy with this since it gathers at the hips and not the waist. The bottom of it doesn't add extra to the hips since the fabric is so thin it drapes nicely like it shows in the photo. If you want to have it loose and flowing, get a bigger size than what you normally wear. I would say it's better on tall girls..I'm 5'9" so it's great but something to consider if you are short.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Even Dots Bandeau
4.7 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 10 for In a Pinch Tunic
Name:
Location:SoCal
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Romantic
9.19.2011
" Very pretty tunic. It is full, however the drawstring waist helps to modify that. It will look best paired with slim or skinny bottoms. A fuller pant/skirt would make the look too heavy. The colors are beautiful and as pictured. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for In a Pinch Tunic
Name:
Location:Phoenix, AZ
age:31-35
body type:petite
Lovely, but too much for a petite girl
9.11.2011
" I love this and wanted it to work with leggings, but I'm 5'4" 115 lbs., and this was too long and big on me. If you were a couple inches taller I think this would work. Also, ladies with a bit of a butt, beware! The blousing at the hip adds some inches there. I bought the darker version, which is really more of a dark grey (NOT black), it is not too sheer, and really sexy off one shoulder. Oh well, curse my short stature! Tall, skinny girls, enjoy! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large