Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

We The Free Retro Softball Layering Tee

Distressed wash softball tee with cool cutout detailing at front of chest, shoulders and upper back. Ribbed stripe detailing down each waist and trimming neckline. Button opening at front of chest. We the Free brings us back to our down-to-earth, All-American roots, made mostly with casual cottons that have a lightly distressed and perfectly worn in feel. *100% Cotton *Machine Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 25 1/2" Bust (all around): 30 1/2" Sleeve Length: 16 5/8"
overall average rating:
3.714 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Customer Reviews for We The Free Retro Softball Layering Tee
Review 1 for We The Free Retro Softball Layering Tee
Name:
Location:South Dakota
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
beautiful peice!
4.17.2013
"This piece is very comfortable, the colors are GORGEOUS (I got the blue one with the orange/red stripe). I would say the pictures online are relatively accurate as to the color and fit. It does not fit tightly like most thermos, and has a softer feel than the thermos. The shoulders are a little snug, but that is the styling of the shirt. I would definately recommend this shirt!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for We The Free Retro Softball Layering Tee
Name:
Location:england
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
L O V E
4.14.2013
"i bought this quite recently and i was mming and aahing between this and a few other thermal/layering tees! so glad i opted for this one though cos the extra detailing on it makes it so beautiful and everybody notices and i've had quite a few comments its been great!! the stripe down the side is very complimentary to the colour too! (i chose the indigo)
oh also, when i first put it over my head i got scared cos the arms and chest felt very tight but as soon as it was i realised it was just the way it had been sewn and it was still very comfortable to wear so dont worry!
great!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for We The Free Retro Softball Layering Tee
Name:
Location:Ontario, Canada
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
So-So
4.2.2013
"I really liked this shirt when I first got it but once I washed it I found it lost it's shape and became a bit over sized (I followed washing instructions). Also, the material on the upper part of the shirt becomes bunched and I find I have to adjust the shoulders quite a bit. It's unique but I wouldn't recommend it."
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb4.2.2013
We're sorry this didn't work out for you -- we'll be in touch. xoxo
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for We The Free Retro Softball Layering Tee
Name:
Location:Virginia
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
Different item
3.12.2013
"I like this top very much because it is different and truly has become a conversation piece when I wear it. Recommend to size up because it is a snug top. Which I could get the red top, but I missed out on getting my size."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for We The Free Retro Softball Layering Tee
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA
age:26-30
body type:petite
ugly, too much going on
2.21.2013
"This top is really, really ugly. I love FP and have never written a review less than 3 stars, I've definitely never called anything from FP ugly. But this top is REALLY REALLY UGLY.
I got the blue, and the colors are drab, there is WAY too much going on, the seam down the center makes it drape funny, and overall it's just a strange, ugly shirt.
maybe if they had stuck with one of the many design elements it would have been ok."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for We The Free Retro Softball Layering Tee
Name:
Location:THE GARDEN STATE
age:31-35
body type:curvy
MARVELOUS Mixed media
2.16.2013
"i am so glad i didnt pass up on this 1 cuz of the neg remarks..i took the suggestion of f the reviewers who suggest to size up and was PERFECT advice..this is a QUINTESSENTIAL fp we the free top and is one of the reasons i LOVE we the free ;) the quirky details,mixed media (love the contrasting fabrics i guess since i sized up it is not tight on my shoulders/upper arms like others)..ts & the fit that is spot on as not too tight to show every bump and lump but fitted enough & not too loose to be frumpy & unflattering. mine had some spots of color here and there, almost like bleach spots GR8 touch ..all in all I LOVE this top..i purchased in the blue combo and the red stripes contrast soo well with the top and the dye on the upper eyelyet half is SUPERB not overly done gives it a great vtg effect...DEF a 5+++++++ star purchase for me ;)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for We The Free Retro Softball Layering Tee
Name:
Location:Anchorage Alaska
age:over 45
body type:petite
mis-matched fabric choices
1.10.2013
"I kept this top because it's cute. But they made a poor fabric selection for the lace inset on the shoulders and back. The shirt is stretchy but the inset is cotton with no give. You have to keep adjusting your shirt or it bunches up on your shoulders. It also makes it feel a little odd, like there is something tight on your biceps."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for We The Free Retro Softball Layering Tee
Name:
Location:Florida's Sunny Gulf Coast
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
disappointed
1.4.2013
"Glad I saw this one in the store, before purchasing. I thought all the colors looked cool on line, but in real life they looked pretty blah and half done. The style is perfect, but the colors and fit were not executed well (IMO). All of the cute details did not pop, and looked overall faded and dull. The fit ( size up) wasn't as casually sexy as I wanted, more...just casual. Perhaps the blue at a sale price, but not now. And the yellow was very unattractive."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for We The Free Retro Softball Layering Tee
Name:
Location:Madrid, Spain
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Weird color...
12.15.2012
"The yellow has a greyish kind of color...the top part is bright yellow as in the pic, but the bottom part is yellow-greyish...looks as if you washed this with dark colors...
It is smaller than true to size, so get one size bigger. I have a 36C and took the M, it's so so... Maybe should have taken the L.
"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for We The Free Retro Softball Layering Tee
Name:
Location:USA
age:41-45
body type:petite
Cute, but....
12.12.2012
"I'm sending this back. I sized up to a medium, based on other reviews and the measurements listed online. The yoke in the back felt weird and it was too snug across bust/under arms. I would debate re-ordering in a large if it goes on sale, but the medium was just awkward on me. Love the striped side seam detail."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for We The Free Retro Softball Layering Tee
Name:
Location:greensburg, pa
age:over 45
body type:curvy
cute
12.7.2012
"ordered this top online so wasnt sure how the sizing would be. most of the medium tops are a little bigger than usual but this one was not. it fit me nicely but a little smaller than i would have liked as i am worried how it will fit once i wash it. i received several compliments on it the first day i wore it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for We The Free Retro Softball Layering Tee
Name:
Location:New York City
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
So cute
11.28.2012
"I saw this as I was checking out at my local Free People last week while it was being unpacked from its shipment and decided not to purchase it right away since it hadn't showing up online yet. (Yes... I shop at Free People to much. :-) ) Anyway, while I was in the store I noticed how small this shirt runs as I was being nosy and poking through the new merchandise. I normally wear a medium but it look like it would be entirely too snug over my chest. So when it came to placing my order, I decided to get a large. I'm so glad that I did because that fits perfectly and is very comfortable. Both of the colors look as depicted in the picture. I choose the blue with the red strip and I love it. Thanks Free People for the less then 24 hour delivery. I'm amazed!!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for We The Free Retro Softball Layering Tee
Name:
Location:New York
age:36-40
body type:petite
funny fit but beautiful colors
11.28.2012
"Tried this on today and passed on it...its a funny fit, the cutout is a bit stiffer, like a yoke and the shirt did not lay nicely on me...its a thin thermal, sweet colors..."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for We The Free Retro Softball Layering Tee
Name:
Location:USA
age:over 45
body type:slender
Very Cool Tee
11.27.2012
"Love this - it is thin but the details on the top and sides really make this shirt. A little pricey, but it fits fantastic and it's flattering. I bought size medium in the indigo color. Glad I did because I think the sleeves would be tight in a small. I would love to buy the yellow but it would be too see through since it's a thin shirt."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large