Product Reviews

Tangier Maxi Poncho

Amazing, multi-colored handspun maxi poncho sweater with fringe detailing. Super soft. This piece is partially composed of leftover handspun yarn from India. Each piece will be slightly different as a result. *40% Acrylic, 25% Wool, 15% Mohair, 10% Cotton *For Best Results Dry Clean *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: Approx. 47" Sleeve Length (from neckline): 26" Width of Armhole Opening: 9"
overall average rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Tangier Maxi Poncho
Review 1 for Tangier Maxi Poncho
Name:
Location:Marin County
age:over 45
body type:curvy
FP All Star Piece......
2.17.2012
"with a few qualifiers. I've read the negative reviews & obsessed about it. It became Unavailable...OH NO! Then 2 became available!
Based on the reviews of color blandness vs vibrancy, I ordered THEM BOTH! Then, theoretically, I can choose my favorite. I held my breath.....and they arrived today! Yes, they both have different color shades, I would say 1 is vibrant & the other is more vibrant. One is bigger than the other, one is longer than the other, one is cooler than the other, but they are both fabbo. Yes, there are differenceds from the dreamy catalog pic, but this is due largely to styling the shot. In the ONLINE pic, you can see she had the ponch hiked way forward so it was much longer in front than back, etc. I am 5'6" and one hit my knees and the other hit my calves. It is roomy which I love, softer than it looks and yes, the fringe is much shorter than the desert pic. I will do 'surgery' on it with long colorful strands from the fabric store!
So I will be returning the more vibrant, shorter version shortly. Best wishes to the lucky gal who snags it!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Tangier Maxi Poncho
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
NICE
1.26.2012
"I read the reviews before buying this, so I was prepared for the color issues, only I had no issue. I really like the colors of my poncho and I do not find them murky or unappealing. True, the poncho is not as long as pictured, but it is still amazing."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Tangier Maxi Poncho
Name:
Location:Portland
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Always gets compliments
1.13.2012
"First off, i'm 6'1" so it fits me more like how the pictures look. Secondly, I bought it in the store after someone returned it so I knew exactly what I was getting. But i LOVE this sweater. Its so unique, it looks like something my cool aunt/grandma/crafty friend would have made. Yes the colors are quite as vivid as in the picture, but mine is still a total eye catcher. I love it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Tangier Maxi Poncho
Name:
Location:MASS
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
ALL WRONG
12.31.2011
"Even though this poncho had bad reviews, I had to see for myself how it looked in person. I really wanted to love it......but it looks nothing like it does online. The colors are bland and boreing and its way shorter. Im 5'4 and it was 6 inches past my knee. The most i would pay for it would be 50 bucks.BIG DISSAPOINTMENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Im in love with all of my free people sweaters but this one had to go!"
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Tangier Maxi Poncho
Name:
Location:Georgia
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Not So Great
12.15.2011
"I got this piece and hoped for it to look like the one in the pics. The fit is like a bulky blanket. The colors are not anything like the one in the pics. So sad but kept it and wore it because I love the uniqueness of Free People:0( Even at the sale price it is not at all like the picture and not worth the money."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Tangier Maxi Poncho
Name:
Location:NM
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Sorta Bogus
11.30.2011
"So, the one I received is sooo muted and the colors are murky. As stated in other reviews the fringe is short and the actual poncho is short in length. I want to love it but..... I think I will return it to a FP store and try to get a more vibrant one. SIGH."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Amazing Crochet Bubble Cardigan
4.7 out of 5(10)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 7 for Tangier Maxi Poncho
Name:
Location:The Windy City
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Uh Oh
11.25.2011
"So I am a true FP Girl and couldn't wait for this especially after seeing it in the catalog I went to my local free people store to try it out and I was underwhelmed especially with the quality of this piece to be 398 dollars :(. Unfortunately the colors are not as vibrant and the fringe is not as long as it is in the catalog and just not as pretty in person. I really wanted this for a christmas present to myself but unfortunely I just have to keep looking and wait for another beautiful piece from Free People. - coco"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Tangier Maxi Poncho
Name:
Location:New York
age:36-40
body type:petite
beautiful and huuuge
11.17.2011
"tried this one in the FP store, beautiful beautiful colors but too big for me. Its an awesome piece, though."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Tangier Maxi Poncho
Name:
Location:Michigan
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Tangier Maxi Poncho
11.14.2011
"Ideally like this poncho, but not as neat looking as the one the model is wearing mine is not as long and the fringe is way shorter also the colors of yarn on mine are not very vibrant."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large