Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

FP-1 Prairie Sunrise Knit Dress

Drapey tube dress with gathering at bodice. Asymmetrical shape is shorter in front.
overall average rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Customer Reviews for FP-1 Prairie Sunrise Knit Dress
Review 1 for FP-1 Prairie Sunrise Knit Dress
Name:
Location:Venice
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Not all that
5.12.2011
"I got the pink, and would have gotten in black had I known the material would be cotton (t-shirt material). I still used it and felt very sexy - but should be cheaper for what it is...."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for FP-1 Prairie Sunrise Knit Dress
Name:
Location:Canada
age:21-25
body type:petite
gorgeous!!
5.2.2011
"I bought the fuchsia version in XS (I'm 5'3", 34B). Due to the rouching and construction, the dress molds to your body perfectly. It stays up pretty well (to my surprise, since my chest is a bit small). The lowest "tendril" in the back just barely grazes the floor, so if you're shorter like me, you'd need wedges or heels to keep the dress clean :P. The fabric is a bit heavy as others have mentioned, but I find that it drapes very flatteringly. Overall, the dress is very unique and definitely worth the sale price!! So pick it up while you can ladies!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for FP-1 Prairie Sunrise Knit Dress
Name:
Location:South Carolina
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Wow!
5.2.2011
"Purchased this on sale in the pink. I was unsure about the color, but thought I would give it a try.
Holy Moly! This is super sexy, without being "trashy". Fits amazing, and the hubby was super dazzled by it :)
Great purchase! :)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for FP-1 Prairie Sunrise Knit Dress
Name:
Location:Kansas
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
So hot!
4.24.2011
"I bought this dress to wear for easter and for a wedding I will be attending this summer. It is soooooo hot. I bought a medium which fit me well 36b-28-36 132 lbs. I am in love with all the layering ruffles. It is just beautiful. I am curvy and it really showed off my curves. Especially my backside. I got tons of compliments on it. The only issue I had was the bust part staying up. Not too badly though. I highly recommend it!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 5 for FP-1 Prairie Sunrise Knit Dress
Name:
Location:fl
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Awesome Possum
4.20.2011
"Amazing dress, better than expected, gives a princess feel. Exactly what I'd hoped itd be. Pefection in fusha, probably very sexy in black. Beautiful dress"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for FP-1 Prairie Sunrise Knit Dress
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
SEXY!
4.17.2011
"I got the black in a large and it is such a sexy, classy, pretty dress. This is the little black dress gone wild, and a little longer. The roughing on the dress makes it super flattering. The length hit my 5'9" frame just like it does the model. The fabric is really soft and stretchy. This dress is a show stopper for sure!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for FP-1 Prairie Sunrise Knit Dress
Name:
Location:Florida Panhandle
age:41-45
body type:petite
Beautiful and Versatile Dress!
3.24.2011
"Oh Happy, HAPPY DAY! I ordered this dress and it came today! Okay, so I have been eye balling this dress in black for awhile now, but all the sudden the black sold out in my size - YIKES! As soon as I realized it was gone in an XS black, I talked myself into buying the pink before it sold out as well. I didn't want to miss out completely on this dress! Well....things have a way of working out for the best sometimes. The pink is FABULOUS, and I'm so glad I ordered it instead of the black. Either color would have been great, but the pink will look really great with a tan in the summer with a pair of metallic colored sandals. It's a beautiful shade of pink - sort of like a deep Azalea. The pink would flatter ANY complexion I think - whether you are white, olive, tan, brown, black or Asian. And the surprising thing for me is the fit! I'm pretty slender and petite (5'0 tall, 85 lbs, 32B bust) and XS fit me very well. I can wear this dress with FLATS believe it or not! The back length almost touches the floor, but not quite. It also looks great with heels, so this dress will be a very versatile piece. It can be worn casual with sandals, or u can dress it up with some long earrings and heels for evening. It will be a great dress to take on vacation because of it's versatility. The fabric is a very nice weigh knit - not too thin, but not too heavy - it drapes very nicely and is surprisingly flattering to the figure (hides my poochy tummy very well), although it does show off my bubble butt more than I wish (I need to exercise ). Girls with smaller butts will like this dress I think. The top part of the dress could be a little more snug, but don't necessarily go by my review - I'm only a 32B and am pretty narrow up top and around the back (I carry most of my weight in my tummy, butt and hips). All and all I am VERY excited about this purchase. I shop A LOT, and this dress HAS to be one of my most favorite pieces I've bought in a long time. Sorry for the long review. I just couldn't say enough positive things about this dress! Hope this helps anyone who is thinking about buying it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for FP-1 Prairie Sunrise Knit Dress
Name:
Location:Lakeside, MT
age:31-35
body type:pear shaped
Fun
3.20.2011
"I am 510, 140lbs, a small 34b with larger hips. I bought the small because I tend to need smaller sizes on top. The material has enough stretch, and combined with the ruching, the dress still sits well over my hips. It's still cold out here in MT, so I've been wearing it with a tight turtle neck underneath, and tights. Super cute though slightly concerned that without the shirt under I may not be able to keep the top up without adding straps."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for FP-1 Prairie Sunrise Knit Dress
Name:
Location:New Jersey
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Love it
3.12.2011
"I'm 5'6", i'm 110 pounds, 32A bra size, and i ordered an XS. it fit perfectly, and i had no issues. The black looked stunning at a formal event and it was a real statement piece."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for FP-1 Prairie Sunrise Knit Dress
Name:
Location:Austin, TX
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Little Black Drape..
2.28.2011
"When I first tried this dress on i fell in love, its drapes your whole body in all the right places. I'm 5'10", 34B, 24 waist, and 34 hips, its a very complimenting piece and is a statement piece considering its unique shape!! definetly recommend it to someone who loves to be sexy and different! :)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for FP-1 Prairie Sunrise Knit Dress
Name:
Location:AV
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Amazing but...?
1.31.2011
"Gorgeous dress but, where do you wear this? I tried this on in the Free People store and while it was amazing, I was puzzled as to where to wear such a dress. The black was by far my favorite (6'0", 135lbs., 32B, sz. small) but it did look weirdly formal. The pink looked less formal but it was too bright for my taste. The top is nicely fitted, so no worries of it slipping down, and the length was a couple inches off the floor in the back for me. I'm sure on a shorter girl it would graze the ground and honestly had it been floor length on me I would have purchased it for the wow factor. Overall a very pretty dress and of good quality."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for FP-1 Prairie Sunrise Knit Dress
Name:
Location:northern california
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
a flirty little number
1.30.2011
"I tried on the fuschia number at the Walnut Creek, CA store (maybe a return?) and instantly pictured myself frolicking in a field in the sun, but it could easily be paired with either big, fancy skyscraper heels or simple flip-flops and big hat for a summer farmer's market. It's a bit long in the back, so shorter folk will have to go the heel route, probably. I also recommend a strapless bra, but it stays up really well for being strapless."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for FP-1 Prairie Sunrise Knit Dress
Name:
Location:Chicago, IL
age:31-35
body type:curvy
If I had a different butt?
1.18.2011
"Just got this in the mail and tried it on. I ordered a small, since FP smalls seem to fit me best, even though I'm up to 135 (5'5").
I had imagined the material would be more gauzey, but it's a really great, thick (but breathable), well-draping (and stretchy!) t-shirt fabric.
The hanging piece of gathered fabric looks alternately odd and tacked on, then blends in with the ruching. I'm not quite sure how I feel about it, but it does, at times, look separate from the rest of the dress, which you can't see so well in the photos here.
I agree with the other reviewers as far as this being a dress that might have a hard time fitting in everywhere. Not quite formal, due to the material, but not quite playful enough to be beach. Still, I imagine you could go ahead and wear it in any/all situations and pull it off.
The main reason I'm sending it back is because, well, my butt. The ruching in the torso is figure flattering, but the butt is left without any detail. With my butt, in a long dress like this one, it doesn't flatter. It looks adorable on the model in the side view, but it just won't hang that way on my body!
The shorter length and ruffled edges in the front are not as playful as I had hoped. The dress, while being really well constructed, and of a great, very forgiving and versatile material, ends up looking more formal than the pics might suggest.
I would buy this dress if it were a lot less expensive, and if I were losing weight. But, there are so many other FP items I'd rather have, so back it goes!
If you're a model, or if your boob/butt proportions would cause the dress to fall on you like it does on the model here, I would tell you to try this one out. Like, if your a** looks good in jeans with no pockets, this could really be a favorite for you.
I would like to see this dress made with a gauzier fabric, maybe a little shorter in back, for summer. FP?"
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for FP-1 Prairie Sunrise Knit Dress
Name:
Location:Calabasas,CA
age:14-20
body type:petite
Loveydovey ........LOVELY
1.17.2011
"Love this dress i went to try it on in the store with my friend and we both fit into it!! im 5'1 and 32A and weigh about 84, and this fittes me perfectly, i got it in a XS!!!! couldn't belive it!,becasue im sooo small. But need to where likr6inch heals because it drags on the floor otherwise.
I recomend it to small girls like me, in a xs!!! :)
BEST!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for FP-1 Prairie Sunrise Knit Dress
Name:
Location::)
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Beautiful... probably better in black though
1.14.2011
"I tried this on in the bright pink and it fits great and is really pretty. However I agree with the other reviewers in that I have no idea where I'd wear it. The bright pink makes it more casual than the black but it's still long and too dressy for the typical night out. Maybe I would've opted for the black had it been in store. Fit TTS (small, 117lbs 5'5")."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 16 for FP-1 Prairie Sunrise Knit Dress
Name:
Location:Encinitas, CA
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Great Versatile Style
1.12.2011
"I got this in black and it is lovely. The other reviews were right when they say the knit is a bit heavier. This makes the construction sturdier and I am not worried about the dress slipping down like some cheaper designs might do. I can see wearing this all year--even to the beach. I have so many black dresses and feel guilty getting another one, but what do you do? I like the way it is form fitting through the body but with a bit of fluff in the front to not make you self-concious about it. I did find the body part somewhat stretchy but not as expandable as some designs. That is okay with this dress because I think that is what you want with it being strapless and all."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for FP-1 Prairie Sunrise Knit Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:41-45
body type:slender
Fuchsia Always On My Mind
12.27.2010
"Went to the store and tried on the black, then the fuchsia., both in XS (5'4", 32A, 100lbs) It just grazed the floor in the back, barefoot.. The runching and top stayed up, but just barely...the fuchsia fit tighter (thus better- more security on top) than the black, but I found the fuchsia a bit too pink...nice for Spring and Summer, the black-classy and a bit formal....I had trouble making up my mind, wanted to get both.! I had never seen a design like this, the material is soft, drapey, substantial, and because it is so stretchy, it just molds (forgivingly) to your body. The highest the hem went on me was knee length, which was fine...I ended up getting the black, because it has the more sophisticated look, but can't get the fuchsia out of my mind...it is that great a dress! My boyfriend thought the fuchsia would be better if the color were a bit deeper, more red in it...then it would be more age appropriate for me, because, you know, I am like 100 years old..."
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for FP-1 Prairie Sunrise Knit Dress
Name:
Location:Houston
age:31-35
body type:curvy
amazing!
12.24.2010
"This dress is amazing... and so versatile! Nice thick fabric, and very forgiving. One of my favorites already! I am 5' 4, 124 lbs, and a B cup, the XS fit me perfect... any bigger would have fallen down on my bust!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for FP-1 Prairie Sunrise Knit Dress
Name:
Location:Santa Monica
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Amazing!!!
12.22.2010
"I saw this dress online and when right to the store to buy it... I was really lucky because they had just got it in and had one of every size. I ended up with the small and it fits like a glove ( I'm 5'9 and have a 32F bust and usually wear a 4)! It shows off all your best spots and the gathering hides any little imperfections. The fabric is so soft and beautiful and drapes so nicely. One other thing I love about this dress is you can put a cute jacket on with it in the winter and it will look great in the summer with nothing over it... It's a year round dress."
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for FP-1 Prairie Sunrise Knit Dress
Name:
Location:So Florida
age:over 45
body type:curvy
A GREAT DANCING DRESS
12.20.2010
"What I love about this dress is the way the fabric moves... I purchased a medium at 5'4" 36 TOP and 38" widest part of hip and the medium was perfect including the length. I must have a half dozen or more little black dresses in my closet but this one is different from all the rest in the way it moves with and against your body...the short length in the front vs. long in the back adds to it's dramatic effect. The fabric is very soft and stretchy and it's extremely comfortable. A GREAT New Years Eve dress to dance the night away in!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Uncovered Treasure Necklace
3 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
 
 
1 2 next>>