Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Obi Belt

Heavily bead, coin, stud, and embroidery embellished velvet waist belt. Ties around waist. *Velvet, Cotton (not including embellishment) *Import *3 3/4" width, 28 1/23" length, 10 1/2" length of each tie
overall average rating:
3.474 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Customer Reviews for Obi Belt
Review 1 for Obi Belt
Name:
Location:Florida
age:over 45
body type:athletic
cool Bohemian belt
6.12.2013
"I like this belt a lot, so I purchased 3. However, I'm not too found of how it puckers. Even if I wear it low on my hips, I have to adjust the belt, pulling it down, so that it doesn't pucker. It's really pretty, more so than what the pix reveals. This is a great Bohemian piece and looks great with a lot of outfits. I don't have the belt with the large medallions so it doesn't look good worn in the front."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Obi Belt
Name:
Location:Germany
age:21-25
body type:petite
whish you could chose the color
4.29.2013
"So I decided to take the risk and ordered the Obi Belt.
I really did not care what color I would receive, I was only hoping and expecting to get a color which is easy to combine. Unfortunately I got a green one, and not a nice dark green one, but more of a neon, not very pretty grass green. I have no idea what color to wear with this belt and since I live in Europe and already paid customs, I probably will give this to a friend who is really, REALLY into green.
I would only recommend buying this belt if you don´t live overseas and have the possibility to easily return or exchange it.
Maybe, if this belt goes on sale, I will try my luck again. :)
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Obi Belt
Name:
Location:saratoga springs ny
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
fail
4.18.2013
"I was very excited about this purchase, as it looks so beautiful in the pictures! However, when i finally got it in the mail, it had stains on it and looked old. not in the cool vintage way, in the dirty mistreated kind of way. This is the third thing in a row that I'm returning from freepeople and am loosing faith in the quality of their merchandise."
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb4.18.2013
We're sorry that your belt arrived in this condition. We'll be in touch! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Obi Belt
Name:
Location:New Jersey
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
<3333333
4.12.2013
"One of my all time favorite purchases. I really recommend picking up this one in store to avoid color disappointment. Definitely more of a low waist/hip belt to be worn with pants & shorts than a natural waist belt."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 5 for Obi Belt
Name:
Location:uK
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Assorted colours!
4.6.2013
"I read other reviews but being optimistic ordered hoping I would be the lucky recipient of a decently coloured belt. Oh well! It was not to be! Mine is a peculiar mix of neon and nylon!"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Obi Belt
Name:
Location:san fernando valley ca
age:41-45
body type:slender
great belt
3.23.2013
"i ordered two of these belts praying i didnt get the one w the gold and i did not, sometimes you have to ignore w others say and get what draws you , and this is TOTALLY my style im bohemian an artist, and i design cloths very simular to free people and i just had to have this blet dont hesitate to buy its awesome"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Obi Belt
Name:
Location:Hong Kong
age:41-45
body type:slender
how can you ship this?
3.14.2013
"The belt is of course very beautiful as you can see in the photos: the coins, the colours, the beads, just awesome. And i know that each belt is different. But the one i received, the black cloth at the end of the belt was coming apart at the seams and was not even properly aligned with the shape of the belt. I could have easily got my sewing kit out and fixed this, but i returned it on principle... how can FP charge so much and then actually SHIP an item that so obviously needs fixing? And what is that saying about about their opinion of their customers? We have to put up with this because......?
It cost me US$12 just to ship it back all the way from Hong Kong.
Very disappointed since FP is my absolutely favourite brand. Would be nice if they cared about their customers as much as they say they do.
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb3.15.2013
So sorry to hear about the condition that your belt arrived in. A member of our service team will be in touch to provide additional assistance! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Obi Belt
Name:
Location:canada
age:31-35
body type:curvy
luck of the draw
3.12.2013
"when i saw these in the store along with the feliz obi belts, i liked the other ones more. i've also seen ones with stains on the belt from the coins. but i guess i got lucky, as the one i received in the mail turned out to be the one i liked the most out of all the ones in store, pix online and from fp me. so the moral of the story here is either you check them out at a store to pick the one you want, or order multiples online so you get to pick. as for fit, i'm not petite and this fits just fine as a hip belt, so it could be long for others. i also don't find that it jingles."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Obi Belt
Name:
Location:New York
age:36-40
body type:petite
jingle, jingle little coin
3.7.2013
"This belt is def long - i am petite with narrow hips and if i wear it low on the hips on top of jeans/short it is fine, tied shortest possible...was hoping for a light color combo - the one that arrived is purple and black...it is really really nice, though, and totally pops when worn outside a shirt...one star off for dang long and no color choice option..i love mine, though:)"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 10 for Obi Belt
Name:
Location:ny, ny
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
A Challenge...
3.2.2013
"to find the right one! I ordered about 16 of these belts in the span of 2 months - I'm not joking, trying to find a color combination that I liked and that also fit me. I LOVE this belt, I'm so happy it was rereleased (FP sold it in their 2010 November Catalog too). I would give it 5 stars, except a lot of the belts I received had stains on the fabric from the coins, some were too loose, some were too tight, and some were just right. I understand these are all unique and one of a kind, but I wish you had the option to pick a range of color (reds/yellows, blues/greens, neutrals) and to pick a s/m or m/l even if those sizes aren't all exact, at least it would be close. Anyways, very happy with my purchase once I found the right one! This can be paired with so many things. I suggest reinforcing the string ties though - one came loose on the one I kept ...another reason why I gave this 3 stars..."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Obi Belt
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Unique Belt
2.26.2013
"I saw this online and put it in my cart to order but I wasn't sure if I'd be happy with the color of the belt sent to me since they are all different and what they send you is so random. I was happy to find a few in the FP store near me and they are so varied I was glad I had a choice of colors. It is a really cute and unique belt, but delicate as well and the one I liked actually had a coin missing so they gave me a discount, and I am just going to take one from one of the ends and sew it where the missing one was. The belt I chose has mostly black, navy, yellow, turquoise, and white colors."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 12 for Obi Belt
Name:
Location:Washington, US
age:21-25
body type:slender
Gorgeous, but I wish they came a size down.
1.20.2013
"I love this belt. With its worn look to it, its color, the coins, the details, etc., I don’t know whether to wear it or use it as a decoration. I love the sound of the coins clacking around my hips and how it all adds such statement to an outfit. I bought it to go with a plain maxi dress (and oddly, it showed up in the pinkish color, matching the dress perfectly—if this was on purpose, thank you, Free People), and it really pulls everything together. My only complaint is that the belt is pretty large. Originally, I wanted to use it to cinch my waist and give my dress more shape, but unfortunately, at its tightest, I can only get it to sit on my hips (I’m 5’6” and around 110lbs). It’d be nice if Free People would consider making these belts in a size or two smaller."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 13 for Obi Belt
Name:
Location:Southern California
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
So cool!
1.19.2013
"I bought my belt in a store, because I did not want to chance getting a bad color or bead work online. They only had two belts to choose from at the store I went to, but I loved one of them. I got a dark grey background with yellow and pink beading. It is really different looking. I immediately cut (okay, ripped my tags off ; )) and wore it for the day. I got three compliments within the hour. I think this is such a fantastic price for such a unique item. Definitely worth the splurge! I have a 28 inch waist and it looks fine tied in the back. The two ends do not meet on me."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Obi Belt
Name:
Location:PA
age:31-35
body type:petite
$60 belt and you can't choose the color?
1.1.2013
"The red/blueish example was in the store, and I loved it. Had to order online, and... yeah... Got a "peachy" looking color. Hope I can return it. Fewer details than FP's pictures. (No beaded medallions, minimal detail) Color is virtually impossible to match with my clothes. Tassel detail already unraveled (NEVER WORN), mistakes in the studs. What a disappointment. Nothing like what is pictured."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 15 for Obi Belt
Name:
Location:Richmond, VA
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Gorgeous!
12.12.2012
"I ordered my belt online & received a lovely white variation. You can tell it is hand made & there are unique characteristics to each belt. Some of the studs on mine are rusted which is quite cool actually. I am petite & usually wear a 24 or 25 in Free People pants & this belt is a bit loose on me. I should go to a store near me & exchange it for a slightly smaller one that does not fall off so easily. It is a beautiful bohemian gypsy piece. I recommend trying it on at the store to be sure it fits."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Obi Belt
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Fantastic!
12.12.2012
"This belt is so completely beuatiful. Like another reviewer, I wanted this belt when it came out years ago. The price for this item is beyond fair. This is such a unique, special, well made interesting belt. My inner gypsy can't get enough of this item. I wore this with the keep me tee tucked into my Annie Oakley lace skir.t and joe boots. I love the fact that all of these are one of a kind. Sooo special."
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 17 for Obi Belt
Name:
Location:Montreal
age:36-40
body type:petite
Nothing like those on the picture-awfull!
12.5.2012
"It's hard to even give one star.The belt I had received is simply ridiculous cheap version of those on the picture... !? Very disappointing!!! It is very easy to loose confidence ...with merchandise like this!"
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 18 for Obi Belt
Name:
Location:United States
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
Oh Soooo ME!!!
12.4.2012
"This belt is sooo beautiful and fits me perfect but I recommend getting it at one of the stores because they are all different. I bought mine in Dedham, Ma. and there were three different lengths and colors. It says assorted on the web and I don't get this because you roll the dice as to whether it's going to fit or not. Aside from that it's beautifully made and if you're in to Native American things this hits a home run. I put maine together with the crocheted cuff henley in cobalt blue and jeans. My waist is 26 in. and the smallest one fits just right!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Obi Belt
Name:
Location:ga
age:21-25
body type:petite
Obsessed
11.20.2012
"FP had this belt, or something very similar 2 years ago and I wanted it so bad but never got around to purchasing it. So of course, when I saw it was back I jumped on it immediately and I'm in LOVE. It's so beautiful, well crafted, super cute addition to any outfit. I would even buy another one in another color variation"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations