Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Southern Girl Slip

Sheer dotted mesh slip dress with cropped top layer that has ruffled trimming. Bottom hem has contrasting embroidered design. Best to be worn with an extra slip or seamless romper underneath for coverage, or to layering underneath some of your shorter dresses for a peek of sheer fabric at the bottom.
overall average rating:
4.273 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Customer Reviews for Southern Girl Slip
Review 1 for Southern Girl Slip
Name:
Location:Canada
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Cute vintage style, but glad I got it on sale.
10.22.2013
"Like other reviewers have mentioned, this is a great layering piece. It's really quite delicate and the detail along the bottom is lovely. Because of the delicate nature, I am glad I got it on sale because it seems like it will wear out quickly. Overall very cute. I've worn it under a more formal black dress to give it a little bit of casual and I've worn it over a slip with other layers. Quite versatile. Fits okay a little big, I ended up ordering a M rather than S size, so that might be my problem (135lbs, 34B). I hope to get lots of uses out of this one :)"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Southern Girl Slip
Name:
Location:australia
age:over 45
body type:curvy
definitely vintage look
9.15.2013
"great throw on dress. very vintage looking in cream & roomy but this adds to the casual look. retro mid section frill could be a little high if u size down. Looks awesome with a belt."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Southern Girl Slip
Name:
Location:Ireland
age:41-45
body type:athletic
fab dress
8.28.2013
"loved this dress the minute I saw it, lovely with black slip underneath, roomy fit, usually take size large but medium fits good in this. lovely vintage feel. very unique."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Southern Girl Slip
Name:
Location:Texas
age:36-40
body type:athletic
very pretty. Looks vintage. great for layering.
8.27.2013
"I ordered this piece specifically to layer under some other dresses. I have worn it on its own with basic slips layered underneath a few times, and even slept in it on one very hot Texas summer night! the fabric is almost a dingy tea -stained color so it really has a vintage feel, and the black embroidery elevates the quality. Its really beautiful to see that bit of black peeking out of a sweepy gauze dress."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Southern Girl Slip
Name:
Location:London
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Vintage Doll
8.7.2013
"I was umming and ahhing over this dress for ages until I saw it paired with black lace convertible slip, which is when I decided I had to buy this and see what it was like in the flesh. I'm so glad I did as it's beautiful! The tea colour is a delicate creamy off white which gives it a great vintage look. The fit is roomy but I like it that way and ordered the Small ( just as a reference I'm 5'3" with a hour glass figure and I vary between small and X small with free people depending on what kind of fit I want) and was really pleased with the way it looked... something similar to the model although of course with my height it sits mid shin in length which I think actually looks nicer. I was worried that this would make me look pregnant as the top frill did look as though it might tent from my boobs (32D) but the cut actually worked so well that this did not happen. I have paired this with the black lace convertible slip and could not be happier; wear it with a belt for a more form fitting dressy look or without for a casual date out to the beach. So pleased I took the chance as this is a firm favorite in my wardrobe now!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 6 for Southern Girl Slip
Name:
Location:Australia
age:over 45
body type:athletic
great layering dress
8.7.2013
"I received this today in the blue and am very pleased. I usually take a size M but the S in this is perfect. Very soft and falls nicely."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Southern Girl Slip
Name:
Location:Michigan
age:14-20
body type:slender
I don't have any complaints...
8.5.2013
"I think this slip is true to size...
I usually wear a xs/small and bought a medium and it fits just fine! I'm not saying it runs small, though!
This slip is so versatile and perfect for someone who loves to style outfits.
The sale price is worth the buy but the regular price is not really worth it.
I say get it if you know you will have fun with it.
I have the purple and am so excited to style it for fall! Great staple for your closet.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Southern Girl Slip
Name:
Location:Canada
age:over 45
body type:petite
On the fence
8.4.2013
"I am on the fence for this one, I ordered XS and still it was wide and big, The dress is gorgeous though, colour is vintage dark ivory, beautiful embroidery on the bottom. Sadly, I may return the dress, because of the way it fits me,"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Southern Girl Slip
Name:
Location:Bellevue, WA
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Beautiful but big!
7.25.2013
"I've been eyeing this slip since it went on sale, and finally decided to buy it. My local FP store had it in my size (XS) at an even better price, so I was sure I'd take it home today. But when I tried it on, I just couldn't get over how wide it was on me, although I wanted to like it so much. I'm 5'6'', 108lbs (34A), and size XS was not flattering at all - too wide in waist, too much material all around, and revealing too much of the undergarment in the chest area. It also was a little too long to my taste.
Other than my personal mismatch with this item, there is nothing to complain of - it is beautiful, well-made, airy and comfortable. I just wish it was better fitting (more TTS).
However, I am sure it would look great on tall girls with a bit of curves.
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Southern Girl Slip
Name:
Location:Australia
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Southern slip is also big from east to west
6.27.2013
"This thing is huge so ladies size down,it's quite wide but like one previous reviewer "it looks great with a belt. love the embroidery at the hem , the length is great the colour is as described so overall I am pleased you can also wear this for winter over a long sleeve A- line style dress underneath with boots"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Southern Girl Slip
Name:
Location:Boulder, CO
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Beautiful!
6.20.2013
"I had been looking at this online for a while, and when I popped into my local store, I was lucky enough to find it on sale! I stuck with my usual size medium (for ref. 140, 5ft 7, 34D) in the cream color, and it looks great! Originally I was a bit apprehensive about buying it online as I have a larger bust, and crop tops tend to have a maternity effect on me. The drape on this is just right, so it doesn't look like a maternity dress, just dainty and flowy. The embroidery is also really pretty! I purchased a cream colored body con slip to wear under it, and it looks cute belted or with a denim jacket over it. I'm thinking about going back for the blue!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 12 for Southern Girl Slip
Name:
Location:New York, NY
age:21-25
body type:slender
Lovely Slip
5.22.2013
"I just purchased this slip in the tea color and am obsessed! It's a great midi length so it doesn't get caught on the ground. The lace and detailing is so beautiful! It looks perfect paired with the seamless mini in black underneath. I'm 5'8, 125, 34c and fit in the medium with a loose fit, which is what I wanted. I can't wait to wear this all summer!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 13 for Southern Girl Slip
Name:
Location:canada
age:31-35
body type:curvy
pretty silouhette
5.10.2013
"i love the vintage feel of this dress. i got this in the tea colorway, and it's definitely ivory as pictured. i sized down and it's still not skin tight and fits perfect. i'm 5'3" so this is a tea length for me and i happen to love this length. i find the the shape very flattering as it isn't too wide and it isn't too form-fitting. the ivory looks greatest with contrasting black underneath as it shows off the dots on the mesh. i'm able to wear a bodycon or loose slip underneath, and i can also wear a separate tank top and skirt. i think this is a great piece at this price point. one of my favs."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Southern Girl Slip
Name:
Location:Southern Cal
age:41-45
body type:petite
PRETTY BUT LARGE
5.1.2013
"I ordered the Ivory color in an X-Small but it is still one size too large for me. However, I can't let this go because it is just too PRETTY. I decided that I'm either going to find a way to make this work for me by trying on different slips, belted, or have it tailored to fit me. The flounced bodice is so sweet, the dotted Swiss fabric is awesome and the black trim at the hem is such a beautiful touch. Because of the flounce at the bodice, I think this will make a better dress than under a dress as a slip. The flounce might add too much bulk. I contemplated on returning this but I will keep it. This is a good price for a unique piece."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Southern Girl Slip
Name:
Location:NY
age:21-25
body type:slender
Just bought this today in store...
4.27.2013
"I tried this on in XS & S in the tea color. It's definitely an off white--I think it gives a vintage feel. I tried it on with one of FP's fitted/skin-tight slips--I love the look...it's sweet & sexy at the same time. I paired it with a white slip...you can just see your curves as the light shines through the mesh material.
When it comes to sizing with FP dresses, I never know what size I am. I feel like they like to put their models in a size larger to give that boho look. I'm 5'6", 109lbs, 32B...XS was more fitted, the S was looser, longer, more material all around, but looked like how it looks on the model: the edge of the top ruffle hits just around your true waist. The XS looked cute too, but I think the S flattered my small boobs better :P
And I agree with another reviewer, the dress length is a little awkward, but I love the dress over all. I might just go back for the indigo one :)
BTW, it also depends on how you want to style it; I'd go smaller if you want to style with pants, otherwise, with a larger size, it'll be long and too much material; it might make you look frumpy. It might be hard to see the difference in the pics, but when I tried them on, I definitely felt and saw the difference."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 16 for Southern Girl Slip
Name:
Location:Maryland, USA
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
LOVE!! TTS
4.3.2013
"First of all, there IS NO ERROR! The dress IS the slip. There is no other garment that comes with it to act as another slip. To the person who reviewed before me, I'm sorry to tell you that ordering a second one will not come with a slip. That being said, I am 5'6" 155lbs and have a large bust and wide hips. I DEFINITELY went on a limb ordering this because I thought it would look like a bad mumu. But it doesn't!! It drapes wonderfully and doesn't flare out from your wide parts. The bottom has a slight high-lo effect, and the top ruffle doesn't flare out on large busts. SO pleasantly surprised with the dress. It's just as beautiful in pics. The indigo is prettier in person and the tea is more off white than pictured. I know because I have both now!! SO HAPPY!!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Southern Girl Slip
Name:
Location:Champaign, IL
age:26-30
body type:petite
Beautiful, but no slip!
3.31.2013
"Ordered this in the Indigo color, and looks SO much better in person than the pictures online. My only disappointment was that it did not come with the slip as stated in the product description. Maybe this was just an error, but I ordered a replacement just to be sure. Fingers crossed!"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Southern Girl Slip
Name:
Location:Baltimore, MD
age:31-35
body type:pear shaped
Unfortunate.
3.29.2013
"Got this in a medium - I'm 5'5", 140 lbs. It was HUGE on me - and I'm comfortable with loose garments. This was just a giant sack, unwearable. Definitely size down at least once, possibly twice.
Also, despite the item description, this did not come with a slip-dress underneath. Very disappointing; the sheer dress itself is so pretty (if massive).
I'll be exchanging this for a small, and returning if I continue to have issues."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Southern Girl Slip
Name:
Location:NJ
age:31-35
body type:curvy
not a fan
3.27.2013
"i really loved this dress online - glad I was able to try it at my local store. As soon as I put it on I knew it wasn't for me. I think it would look better if you size down (maybe twice) and if you are of a slender/straight build without a large bust. I am curvy with a large (DD) bust and it had a maternity affect and an odd length (for ref. I am 5'7"). Did not come with a slip and for the amount of styling that this would need I didn't think it was worth the price."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Southern Girl Slip
Name:
Location:WASHINGTON D.C.
age:21-25
body type:curvy
very sheer but pretty enough
3.25.2013
"the tea color looks more like off-white, which doesn't looks like a new piece of clothes color, the dark blue one is prettier! but its very sheer and see-through, you def want to layer a slip underneath"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>