Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Sparrow Chelsea Boot

Distressed suede Chelsea-style ankle boot with leather toe, bottom back heel and leather boot strap across the back of the heel. Boot strap has etched metal embellishment. Elastic band at each side of ankle for easy slip-on wear. Rubber sole. Low heel. *By Free People
overall average rating:
4.524 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sparrow Chelsea Boot
Review 1 for Sparrow Chelsea Boot
Name:
Location:Dallas, TX
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Awesomeness!!!
6.20.2014
"I first ordered these in black and just loved them. I'm a 7and a half so I ordered the 38's to fit comfortably with socks. They are just too cool! So when I found the beige back on sale, the last one too, i snatched them up. So pretty!!! Only thing I can nitpick about is the packaging. The blacks came loving packed with the tissue in the shoe...just so new. The beige came thrown in the box with only these cardboard sliders in the boot. Must have been a return but still....looked just thrown into a spare box. At least they dont looked used. i love both!!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Sparrow Chelsea Boot
Name:
Location:aspen
age:21-25
body type:slender
Amazing, but.....
6.12.2014
"First off, these boots are incredible. Extremely stylish, comfortable, and go with literally everything. I love them. My only issue with this boot is the buckle on the back of the boot. A previous review said the the buckle doesn't hang as low as pictured, which is/was true. As I've worn them, which has only been a few weeks, the buckle has started to hang lower and lower to the point that they are dragging on the ground. I'm worried that the buckle will get ruined eventually. Only time will tell I suppose. Other than that, I LOVE THEM!!!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Sparrow Chelsea Boot
Name:
Location:Toronto
age:26-30
body type:slender
great boots!
5.30.2014
"i've been lusting over these boots for a while now and the orginal price is a little bit high for me. so when i see them on sale, i bought a pair immediately. great quality and super cute, goes with everything . so glad i made the purchase.love them!!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Sparrow Chelsea Boot
Name:
Location:Northern California
age:over 45
body type:petite
Cool, but not great!
5.26.2014
"I love the style of these boots but they were not the quality I was expecting. The back metal trim sagged so low that they would have worn through immediately. It is a very poor design. The shoe shop could have changed it for a pretty penny, but I felt it was not worth it. Returned even though the price was very reduced."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Sparrow Chelsea Boot
Name:
Location:louisville, ky
age:31-35
body type:slender
the perfect ankle boot
4.22.2014
"These are absolutely perfect. Incredibly comfortable, well made, and totally cool. As other reviewers noted, the back part does not drag on the ground nor is it that close to the bottom of the shoe as shown in photos. I wear a size 6-6.5 normally, so I ordered the size 37 and they fit perfect with just the right amount of room inside. Highly recommended! Would buy the brown if they still had my size!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Sparrow Chelsea Boot
Name:
Location:California
age:21-25
body type:slender
Perfection!
4.10.2014
"I love this boot! It runs true to size and they're SUPER comfortable! For someone who's on their feet all day I totally recommend this shoe!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Sparrow Chelsea Boot
Name:
Location:New York/New Jersey
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Lovely
4.7.2014
"I love these boots. Although I do not like ordering shoes online, I took the plunge and I am glad I did!
First of all, they look exactly like they do here in the photos. They are very comfortable and so stylish!
I get compliments every time I wear them here (Manhattan). They look like much more money than they are, which works for me.
I sized them up because of the fact that there is no zipper or else to help put them on. I got a size 9 (my foot length is 7.5) and love the fact that they do not look like I am wearing clown shoes."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Sparrow Chelsea Boot
Name:
Location:US
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
ON SALE. GRAB THEM NOW.
4.3.2014
"I took a chance on these, and I am so glad I did. [Actually bought these to replace a lesser, but well-loved pair recently lost during a house flood.] I bought a size 40, which fits my US size 9 foot perfectly. Mine are black and the heel ornament does NOT drag, as it does in the sample photos. New boots, thy name is Awesome. So awesome, in fact that I almost want to buy the other color too! I put them on and they were immediately old friends with my feet. Get you a pair too, before they slip away."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Sparrow Chelsea Boot
Name:
Location:Ireland
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Love! Love! Love!
3.18.2014
"I bought them in colour brown, and I'm in love! they are perfect fitting,with a cool edge.i couldn't find boots like that in any other shop.True to size,lovely made.Great for early spring time. :) thank you free people for all those great boots! ;) I'm sure this isn't my last pair from you!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Sparrow Chelsea Boot
Name:
Location:Ohio
age:41-45
body type:petite
Did not hold up
10.18.2013
"I bought these boots a few weeks ago and love them dearly. I get many compliments, and they are very comfy. However, today the back buckle broke, so that the leather belt surrounding the back of the boot is hanging on the ground. I can't fix this problem, so will have to find a shoemaker."
Response from Free People:By Free PeopleFree People10.21.2013
Hi Diana, We are sorry to hear this happened, we will be in touch to make this right.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Sparrow Chelsea Boot
Name:
Location:Melbourne Australia
age:over 45
body type:slender
Great boot, great price!!
10.15.2013
"OMG was so excited to receive these in the mail. Only concern was sizing. I wear a 7 1/2 Australian which normally equates to a euro 38. Perfect fit!!! Even room for socks! I am beyond happy with these boots. Purchased the brown, distressing is great, detailing is great. I have a number of ankle boots and this is the winner by far.
Seriously looking at the black however purchased the black buckle back boots a few months ago and have to justify to myself why I need another pair of black ankle boots:)
Free People make great boots always with an added twist. I can't find boots or clothing like this in Australia and now purchase 99% of my shoes and clothing from this site.
Do yourself a favour and purchase, you will not be disappointed."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Sparrow Chelsea Boot
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Almost Perfect
10.8.2013
"I have been wearing these now for about two months. I LOVE the way that they look! Super cool and pretty comfortable. My only complaint is that the rad little star metal strap in the back hangs so low that you step on it with every step. It the metal is bent and and the star detail is broken. And so is my heart! Whaaaaa :("
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Sparrow Chelsea Boot
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Love These!!!
9.20.2013
"These looked adorable online and have been in my shopping cart for a while now. I really wanted them but something was holding me back. Since I'm an 8-1/2 I usually order a 39 if it's Euro sizes. These were actually available at my local FP store so I was able to try them on and I instantly fell in love. The 39 fit just right with a little extra room which will be perfect when I wear thicker socks this winter. The brushed suede is a really nice touch and I love the metal details. I wasn't expecting to love them as much as I do. My new favorite booties!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Sparrow Chelsea Boot
Name:
Location:Sydney
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
i live in these boots
9.9.2013
"i ordered the black in size 41 and i live in them. true to size. i broke them in with thick socks and now they feel a bit loose if when i have summer socks on. no need to change from your true size. they are comfortable and look hot with every kind of jeans (and cut-offs!) i get lots of comments on them. if you're after a classic ankle boot at a great price i imagine you'll be as happy with these as i am."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 15 for Sparrow Chelsea Boot
Name:
Location:Brooklyn
age:26-30
body type:slender
Happy feet!
9.6.2013
"I was so excited when I found these bad boys online a few weeks ago! However, I got a little worried waiting for them to come in the mail, as FP clothes/shoes have a sneaky tendency to look way more distressed in their photos than in real life, especially catalogue shots, and I've been bummed out by this more than once. Let me tell you, though - these are true to photo YAY! They are an awesome smashup of boho/biker/western all in one amazing chelsea boot, which never goes out of style. The distressing is perfectly started and not over or underdone, leaving ample room for real world wear and tear. Not a single blister and I've been pretty much wearing them every day since they arrived. Only super minor pitfall worth noting is that the leather of the faux "spur" on the back is a teeny bit flimsy compared to the rest of the boot, not enough of an issue to dock a star though from this thisclosetoperfect boot."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Sparrow Chelsea Boot
Name:
Location:Sydney
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Order 1/2 Size Up
8.23.2013
"I always order boots 1/2 size larger as I like being able to wear with wool socks in winter. I ordered a size 38 & I am usually a size 36-37. These are a snug fit but are quite comfortable & no breaking in required. I like that the cap toe has been finished with contrasting leather as i think it dresses up the suede. The heel strap detail is cute too."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Sparrow Chelsea Boot
Name:
Location:Bethesda, Maryland
age:14-20
body type:slender
Perfect Fall Necessity
8.20.2013
"These boots are amazing. I bought them yesterday and they're so comfortable and very well made. I'm usually a size 8 (38) and they fit snug, so I bought them one size bigger so I would be able to wear thicker knee high socks with them throughout the fall and in to early winter. Definitely worth purchasing :)"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 18 for Sparrow Chelsea Boot
Name:
Location:utah
age:21-25
body type:slender
love these shoes
8.19.2013
"I just got the black ones in the mail and I am in love. I wear a size 7 and ordered size 38 and they fit perfectly. Get them! So cute."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Sparrow Chelsea Boot
Name:
Location:Australia
age:41-45
body type:petite
coolest boots ever
8.19.2013
"I bought the tan in these boots. The texture and style are well worth it. Great style with a bit of extra flair. The added trim around the back of the heel makes these boots stand out. Personally I love shoes and boots that are a bit different I do not like looking like evryone else and these absolutley do that. These are fab!!! must buy."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Sparrow Chelsea Boot
Name:
Location:Fresno, CA
age:14-20
body type:slender
Cutest shoes ever!
8.10.2013
"I love these shoes. A friend of mine had the same pair and not to mention, it's great we have the same size. I loved how they felt, the style, and they go with a lot of my outfits. Just wish it also came in a dark brown. Oh well. Can't wait to see them in the mail! :)"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>