Product Reviews

Brown Eyed Girl Dress

Cotton floral eyelet mini dress with scalloped short sleeves and bottom hem. Sheer neckline in front and upper back. Oversized bow back and sheer white fabric insert. Keyhole opening at upper back with clasp closure. The perfect little white dress. **Special Note: Actual dress is as pictured in the studio shots, not the catalog shot. Neckline is sheer and body is eyelet, not printed and lace as shown in the catalog. *100% Cotton *Hand Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 33" Bust (all around): 37 1/2" Sleeve Length: 5"
overall average rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Brown Eyed Girl Dress
Review 1 for Brown Eyed Girl Dress
Name:
Location:NY
age:14-20
body type:slender
classic free people
12.20.2012
" This dress represents everything I love about Free People-- feminine, sweet, flattering, and eye-catching. The dress itself is super adorable and comfortable but I love the sheer panel in the front and back-- it adds the perfect amount of interest. Funnily enough, when I first tried it on, I got it backwards and had the bow in the front. I didn't even realize that was "wrong." It was still so cute and I think backwards is definitely passable. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Brown Eyed Girl Dress
Name:
Location:Minneapolis
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Lace and Sheer
12.10.2012
" I got this dress in white and it is perfect for bringing in the new year. It is just the right amount of elegance with still being casual. The back opening however is rather shear fabric, so make sure you have a plan for tan undies or some nice white bloomers. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 3 for Brown Eyed Girl Dress
Name:
Location:California
age:41-45
body type:petite
Very sweet
11.23.2012
" I got this in the white and it is very pretty! It did not fit quite the way described - I was worried the small would be too big but it fit just fine. I am a size 4-6 and the length and fit were just right. Very sweet dress for Spring or Summer. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Brown Eyed Girl Dress
Name:
Location:Toronto, ON
age:26-30
body type:curvy
dainty =)
11.2.2012
" For reference I am usually between a size 10-12, 36DD, between M and L and i stand at 5'5".
I have to say that on me, this dress was ANYTHING but big. infact, I sized down because the reviews said to so I ordered a M. IT WAS TIGHT THROUGH THE BUST! The length of the dress was short also. The body of the dress fit well, but there was no room in the bust area. I ended up giving the dress to my mom and I am going to re-order a L. The dress is beautifully dainty and delicate. I'm excited that it's on sale because I have wanted it for SO LONG!
So ladies, if you are busty like myself, get your usual size. I know sometimes it's a hit or miss with certain FP tops/dresses but in my opinion this did not fit big AT ALL.
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 5 for Brown Eyed Girl Dress
Name:
Location:Australia, Wollongong
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Love the dress
11.1.2012
" I am an australian size 8 which is an us size 4 to 2, i ordered the XS and i do agree it runs large but for such a pretty dress it is nothing a few alterations can't fix. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Brown Eyed Girl Dress
Name:
Location:Canada
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Sweet as candy...size down.
10.22.2012
" I purchased this dress in peach as soon as it was released in July. I am 5'5", athletic frame, 38-26-36 and wear a 36C bra. I ordered my usual size M as there were no reviews at the time. I don't agree that it is huge or unflattering, but the M was a tad loose, even through the bust. The bust measurement on the M I received was 39". IMHO the dress is not supposed to be fitted. It is an A lined shift and fits as expected if you order a size down. I personally think this piece is perfect. I love the eyelet fabric, color, rear mesh insert & bow...all so girly. The length is on the short side, but still great for my height. The M measures 33.5" long. Even though it was bigger than I wanted, I was going to keep the M just to avoid a return. On closer inspection, I found that the stitching on the ribbon was defective. Thus I returned the M and have ordered a S to replace it. I attached a photo of the defective stitching. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 7 for Brown Eyed Girl Dress
Name:
Location:Nevada
age:14-20
body type:curvy
Looks Better Backwards
10.19.2012
" I purchased this dress yesterday when I randomly decided to go into Free People. I loved it the moment I saw it, but I actually thought that the part with the bow was the front, not the back. So I tried it on both ways and I feel like the back looks much better as the front. As for size, it runs pretty big. In most stores I'm usually a large, sometimes a medium. But I got this dress in a medium and it's still a bit lose on me. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Brown Eyed Girl Dress
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Eeeehhhh
9.29.2012
" Tried thsi on in the store and was NOT impressed. The fit is gigantic. I'm a solid 6 and the xs was too large for me. I guess there's a reason the model's legs are open in the far shots. The cap sleeve do nobody any favors either. The one thing I'll give the dress: It's NOT sheer. If you are one of the gals who wishes FP made "larger" sizes, this is your chance. Go down at least 1 full size. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Brown Eyed Girl Dress
Name:
Location:California
age:14-20
body type:petite
Runs Huge!
9.10.2012
" The ivory color is so pretty & the details are just so cute! I'm very short, 5'2, & the dress hit only about 2 inches above my knee. The XS felt like a M! The dress also flairs out so it created the most unflattering shape. Such a good idea, but it didn't suit my body type. Shame! "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Brown Eyed Girl Dress
Name:
Location:va
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Love this dress (:
7.26.2012
" This is so cute! I tried it on in the store & it was absolutely adorable. It's true, though, it definitely runs large. The XS fit perfectly, and I'm 125 lbs, 5'7", 32D. So size down, for sure. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Brown Eyed Girl Dress
Name:
Location:NY
age:26-30
body type:athletic
So pretty
7.25.2012
" I agree this dress does run a little bit loose. If you order it in white be careful, the sheer panel in the back is NOT lined. I plan on looking for a white strapless body con or the seamless mini dress to wear under it. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 12 for Brown Eyed Girl Dress
Name:
Location:New Jersey
age:14-20
body type:athletic
Great dress but runs big
7.23.2012
" I love this dress but it runs a little but big. The sheer top and lace is so girly and sweet. I'm five foot four inches and 123 pounds. I got the small and it was too big and looked boxy on me. I love the dress so much though that I'm going to try it in xs! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large